Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC

Phone: (210) 698-9790 Fax: (210) 698-9550 24123 Boerne Stage Rd Ste 205, San Antonio, TX 78255 http://www.tpdtx.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2009 Business started: 06/05/2008 Business started locally: 06/05/2008 Business incorporated 06/05/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Dixie K. Bishop, President Mr. Norwood Davis Bishop, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dixie K. Bishop, President
Principal: Mr. Norwood Davis Bishop, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heater - Tankless Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
TPD Plumbing
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 24123 Boerne Stage Rd Ste 205

    San Antonio, TX 78255 (210) 698-9790

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/8/14 Texas Plumbing Diagnostic sent *** ***** to stop a water leak in my garage. He promptly fixed the problem; however, he made it very clear the leak came from inside the house and he needed to find the second leak. He started in the laundry room by making a big hole in the wall, but no leak was found. He proceeded to the master bathroom making another hole under the lavatory, destroying the cabinet and wall beyond repair. There was NO LEAK and NO MANIFOLD. *** insisted the leak was under the floor too small to be detected, and he needed to re- route the water line through the attic to prevent further water damage, mold, mildew. Mr. ***** never informed he charges $48.00 per foot or attic fee. Mr. ***** came back 8/13/14 to finish the job with *****, his assistant, arriving late like the first time. When he finished he presented me with his illegible description of the job that I could hardly read. After I signed the invoice he asked his assistance for the White Out erased and made changes without my approval. I found his actions fraudulent and illegal, and I refused to pay him $2,352.00 in addition to $1,429.00 paid the previous week. He angrily threatened me to call the police and yelled:”I will put a lien on your house, you will hear from my lawyer". I thought he was going to hit me. I need to clarify that when he arrived on 8/8/14 he said he will not charge me $ 149.00 for the diagnosis and assessment if I agreed for him to do the job. He will charge me $75.00 an hour He charged for cutting 2 manifolds where there was 1 in the garage $466.00. Plus 2 water leaks @ $ 175.00 an hour. There was only 1 leak in the garage . There was NO SECOND LEAK DETENTION. Furthermore, Mr. ****** **** came and used an electronic devise capable of detecting traces of humidity, water leaks, mold/mildew beneath the floor and walls. There were none except humidity in the garage area of my house where the leak started. In Addition to $3,781.00 that Texas Plumbing Diagnostics is asking me to pay, Mr. ***** left me to repair/paint three wall plus the replacement of the bathroom cabinet. Cost: $1,500- 2,000. Two days later I called Texas Plumbing to complain. They reply with an invoice for $2,352.00.

Desired Settlement: Since I already paid $1,429.00 On 8/8/14, I believe the only amount owe to Texas Plumbing Diagnostic is$852.00. Total $2,281.The 1-1/2% was never discussed. In my opinion, *** ***** is a liar and a crook to say the least.

Business Response: We are within our rights to file a Theft of Service report with the Police, and have been considering this since the job was performed and Ms. ** ** ***** refused to pay; we do not wish to file charges, but we feel that Ms. ** ** ***** is not holding to her agreement to pay for services rendered.

Two of our technicians worked on this job.  A Journeyman plumber, *** *****, was accompanied by an Apprentice, ***** ****. They arrived at 9:15 a.m. on the 8th, and were there on site till 5:00 p.m.

I am attaching a copy of Invoice No. ****, which shows the work performed on August 8th.  Please note that Ms. ** ** ***** signed both an authorization for the work and acknowledged responsibility for the work and stated charges.

When customers have a water line leak, we typically find the manifold (where the water enters the house, then is split to several fixtures) by cutting a hole in the wall.  We know where manifolds should be located, but they are not always where we expect them to be, and there are times when we do have to cut more than one access hole to find the manifold.  After locating the manifold, we then perform diagnostics on the manifold to locate the leaking line.  At that point, we cap off the leaking line.  Apparently, Ms. ** ** ***** thought that this "fixed the problem."  However, when a line is capped off, the fixture/s it formerly served is/are no longer receiving water.  A water line reroute is required to restore service to the affected fixture/s.

Ms. ** ** ***** is disturbed that holes were cut in her wall.  Please notice that "cut access hole, no repair included," is written on the Invoice.  Also, please note that, on page 2 of the Invoice (also attached herewith), it is clearly stated, "TPD assumes no liability for walls, cabinets, countertops or flooring damaged during removal, repair, or installation of plumbing fixtures."  Ms. ** ** ***** signed her acceptance of all terms.  Beside the signature line is the statement, "Please see reverse side for additional terms."  So, the fact that we do not repair access holes was stated both on the front and back of this Invoice.   Ms. ** ** ***** was also given a copy of Invoice No. ****, which she was free to read at her leisure, and before she held the second appointment to have the reroute performed.  She never called our Office with any questions or comments after having leak detection and diagnostics performed on August 8th and receiving a copy of the Invoice.  She did call and speak with ******* ****** to schedule a second appointment for repairs.  She had no complaints or questions, and expressed no problem with our work or the explanation on Invoice No. ****.  She seemed to understand everything, and wanted to schedule the reroute.  Our schedule book shows she requested a 40 ft reroute at that time.

The technician also discounted the charge for both the manifold diagnostics and the second access hole.

Our technicians are not authorized to tell customers that they will work for $75 an hour.  We could not stay in business charging this rate, and our technicians are all well aware of this.  They have all been given a base rate that we must receive for any hourly work.  In fact, the charges on Invoice No. **** clearly show a $700 charge for leak detection.

Further details will follow.


Thank you,



Business Response:

This is my second response to Complaint No. ********.  I will refer to work performed by Texas Plumbing Diagnostics, Inc.’s technicians, and recorded on Invoice No. ****, dated August 13, 2014. 

 

I am attaching a copy of the above referenced Invoice.  You will notice that Ms. ** ** *****’s signature is on the line authorizing the work, acknowledging responsibility for the work and stated charges, as well as the line at the bottom, where she signed that she was 100% satisfied with the work, stated charges were satisfactory, and the work area was left in good condition.

 

Our technicians arrived on site at 9:30 a.m.  Ms. ** ** ***** complains that they arrived late; however, my technician informs me that they were trying to contact her with no result, and later learned that Ms. ** ** ***** had left her phone in her car.  The technicians were, in fact, eager to get an early start, as they knew they would be performing a water line reroute through the attic.  They worked on site until 5:45 p.m. on August 13th.

 

Our technician, *** *****, related to me that he went over the pricing beforehand.  He told Ms. ** ** ***** that, if she wanted to save money, they could run the water lines exposed.  He said that it would be more expensive to run them through the wall.  She was very clear that she wanted the lines run through the wall to conceal them.

 

Ms. ** ** ***** states that *** gave her an illegible description of the job that she could hardly read.  At this point, if she had questions concerning the description, or the charges, she could have asked him to go over it until she did understand.

 

The two technicians who were on this job are the two quietest technicians that I have.  *****, the Apprentice, states that, even though *** raised his voice to be heard, “that was short of a yell.”  He stated that, “the customer was exclaiming loudly most of the time.”  His description of the conversation was that it was, “SLIGHTLY (his emphasis) heated,” and that, “both sides were upset.”

 

As for Ms. ** ** *****’s claim, “I thought he was going to hit me,” ***** says that neither Ms. ** ** ***** nor *** appeared at any time to be physically aggressive in any way.  *** states, “Never once was I aggressive.”

 

Ms. ** ** ***** states that *** used White Out on the Invoice after she signed it, but I can not discern any place on Invoice No. **** where White Out was used.  He did rewrite over his writing, which is not unusual, especially if a customer complains that he or she cannot read the technician’s writing.  You are more than welcome to inspect this Invoice for yourself, to see if you observe any area that may have been altered.  Generally, when you hold a document up to the light, any area touched by White Out will be obvious.  Both ******* and I have checked the document for any corrections by White Out, and found none.

 

The only addition *** made to the Invoice was the words at the top, “Not paid 8/13/14," which Ms. ** ** ***** initialed.

 

The charges on this Invoice are standard charges for performing a water line reroute.  Our technicians are highly skilled plumbing technicians with many years of experience, working under very difficult conditions.  This particular technician gets very high compliments on a regular basis for his detailed descriptions and clarity concerning the work to be done.  To call him a liar and a crook is reprehensible.  He performed plumbing repairs as requested and stole nothing from Ms. ** ** *****; in fact, she is being considered for theft of services for failure to pay when services were delivered.

 

Ms. ** ** ***** later called our Office and complained; she said that she was unable to read the Invoice.  ******* listened to her complaints, and asked when she would be able to pay for the work.  She stated that she would not be able to pay until September 1st, when she was paid.  Because she had stated that she could not read the Invoice, he had a copy typed for her and mailed it to her.  There was no mention at this time that she would not pay the full amount.

 

******* called her again after September 1st, approximately on or about the 5th of September, and asked about payment.  At that time, she stated that she had already sent payment.  In fact, she mailed a check for $852.  This is unacceptable.  Ms. ** ** ***** received plumbing services (a 40 foot water line reroute) in the amount of $2,377.  She was able to use a coupon for a $25 discount.  We expect payment for the full amount due of $2,352.

 

Ms. ** ** ***** may “believe” the only amount owed by her to Texas Plumbing Diagnostics is $852, but she signed our Invoice and agreed the charges of $2,352 were satisfactory.  We are sorry she now feels she does not understand the value of the work performed at her home.  If she was unclear about the work, she did not display any concerns before scheduling the water line reroute to be performed.

 

Another possible area of concern:  Apprentice ***** Ross wrote two notes regarding insurance coverage, or lack thereof.  These notes (a sticky note attached to Invoice No. **** and a written note referencing both Invoice No. 5859 and ****) are also attached to this correspondence.  Please note that, on the sticky note, ***** wrote that Ms. ** ** ***** “claims her insurance is responsible for payment.”  *** and ***** both attest that *** talked to the insurance adjustor for Ms. ** ** ***** on August 8th, and the agent said that labor charges would not be covered.  The agent, Dan Smith, whose contact information is on the attached note, stated that the call was being recorded, so you should be able to verify this information with him.  Agent Smith also spoke with Ms. ** ** *****, so she should have understood that the work was not covered, but she may have been putting us off in hopes that she could get some money from insurance.

 

As stated previously, Ms. ** ** ***** received exactly the work described on Invoice No. ****, with two technicians working all day long to perform a water line reroute for her.  We expect to be paid in full.  The amount due is $2,352.

 

Thank you,

 

 

***** ******

Texas Plumbing Diagnostics, Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Texas Plumbing Diagnostics L.L.C failed to respond to the fradulent illegal action on Journeyman plumber *** ***** when he erased part of invoice after I signed it on 8/14/14. In addition to all the unnecessary extra work in search of a leak tha never was found just to charge more money, and his disrespectful, abussive behavior toward  a retired senior citizen.
I talked to Mr. ****** on 8/16/14 and complained about Mr. ******. I never scheduled/requested appointments, and never received a respond concerning my complain.
I hope to find a reasonable solution to this problem, if not I will be forced to report TPD to the Office of the Attorney General and seek legal advice.

Regards,

****** ** ** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Texas Plumbing Diagnostics LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart