Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Legend Plumbing Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 340-8700 Fax: (210) 582-2708 View Additional Phone Numbers 542 N WW White Rd, San Antonio, TX 78219 http://www.asklegend.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Legend Plumbing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Legend Plumbing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legend Plumbing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 09/01/1986 in TX Business started locally: 09/01/1986 Business incorporated 06/12/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin TX 78711
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 239-1000

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bret G Brown, President Renee M Brown, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bret G Brown, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Sewer Contractors Propane Gas Plumbing Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Excavating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Legend Enterprises Inc Legend Plumbing Legend Plumbing & Rooter Legend Service Company Legend Services Rooter
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 542 N WW White Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (512) 346-3335 (877) 930-3335 (830) 303-3335 (210) 340-8700 (830) 609-3335

  • PO Box 310

    Marion, TX 78124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Legend Plumbing and Rooter completed an inspection on a ****** system at **** *** **** **** on 11 March 2016. I called for an inspection to be completed because I was purchasing the home and my VA loan requires said inspection prior to approval. Legend ****** and Rooter suggested that I have the system pumped to better asses the system in its entirety (additional cost—the inspection and pumping of waste totaled $750.00). Once the inspection was complete, it did not identify any discrepancies with the system except for one sprinkler head which the owner of the house replaced prior to the sale. I purchased the home and moved in on 23 Mar 16. The ****** system had a bad odor so I opened the tank to add chlorine tablets—the tanks were full and the system was not operating. I then called Legend ****** to ask for their advice (since it had just passed inspection less than 2 weeks prior). The individual offering help was “**”. He asked me to look at the red light on the box to see if it had failed. A red illuminated light identifies a fail in the system. I informed him that the light was out. I then opened the control box only to find the light disconnected. He had no explanation and informed me that his company would not be at fault. I then looked at the OFF-ON-Auto-Test switch and found it to be on OFF. I informed him of that too and he only offered to send someone back out to look at the system for an additional 89.00 dollars. I was extremely dissatisfied with their service and told him I was going to get someone else to come out and give me a second opinion on the system. I then contacted “**** ******* ******** (*** ****** ****** ******* ** ***************** ********* and that company came out on 25 Mar 2016. Mr. **** identified several inoperative parts on the system and fixed them. The total for those repairs were $138.50. He advised me to have the tanks emptied. I then informed him that I had just done that 2 weeks ago. He then went to the clear water tank (last tank in a three tank ****** system) and showed me 8 inches of waste material at the bottom of the tank. I asked if this was normal for a 2 week period and he said, “no way”. Bottom line: the inspection did not identify the problems for the system and the tanks were not pumped (emptied) as the service should have provided. I had to pay extra money on the ****** system within 2 weeks of the purchase of the home. I called “**” at Legend again and explained what the findings were (By **** ******), and all he could say was that it was not any of their fault and that they were not in the business of going back out to look at work they had completed 2 weeks ago. He said that the company would only go out 1 day after the work. I explained that the 1 day after the inspection would never apply to home buyers because they would not have access to the house while still in the purchasing process. He then told me that those were the standing procedures.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the following: Inspection and pumping of the ****** tanks. The inspection did not identify any discrepancies with the system yet it required them. Pumping of tanks. The tanks were not properly pumped and they will require it. NOTE: the total for these two services (Legend charged me $750.00) I also want the money I spent on fixing the ****** system ($138.00) with (**** ******)—the company that came out for the repairs. The total that I want from Legend is ($750.00 + $138.00=$888.00) I would have not incurred these repairs if they would have been identified. The person selling me the home (previous owner) would have had to fix them by law. It is a safety hazard to have a faulty ****** system.

Business Response:

Here at Legend Plumbing and Rooter we take pride in our work and customer satisfaction. Mr *******’s Inspection was performed on March 3rd 2016 “Attached is Invoice# 160081, Waste Manifest for the disposal and Inspection report. Our office was not contacted again by Mr ******* until March 31st 2016. (Twenty Eight Days after the initial system inspection and pump out). Our Office advised Mr ******* on the phone that the alarm going off was a high water alarm and there was a chance the system was left off after the inspection since the home was up for sale. Once the customer located the on and off switch and turned the system on it started spraying correctly. Mr ******* did mention he noticed the wires to the red light were disconnected/broken possible, even by our company at that time. He was informed that due to the time lapse there is no way to say who is at fault and it would be a chargeable call to come back out and that he also needed a Preventive Maintenance Provider to inspect the system quarterly and an appointment was made for April 1st 2016 the following day. On April 1st Mr ******* contacted our office and canceled the appointment. Our office did not here from Mr ******* again until April 5th (Four days later) and said someone was out on his property and said the system has sludge in it and that we needed to pump it out. We advised Mr ******* that we would take care of the issue but first needed to send our own Specialist out there at no charge to verify the statement being made before we send a Vacuum Truck out. Mr ******* got upset and said the only way we could come out was to pump out for free. 

It is clearly stated on the attached copies the customer signed that “****** ******** * ****** has not been retained to warrant, guarantee, or certify the proper functioning of the system for any period of time In the future. Because of the numerous factors (usage, soil characteristics, previous failures, etc.) which may affect the proper operation of a ****** system.”

Inclosing we stand by our previous statement to send a Specialist back to give a second option. However, due to the almost month lapse in time since the original pump out and inspection, it would be a chargeable call. 

Tell us why here...

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Legend Plumbing advertises that it provides 24 hour Plumbing service. I called with a plumbing emergency at 11:26pm on 3/18/2015. The representative that answered the call (*******) ensured me that he would be able to send a technician out to help me with a water leak that was dripping from my ceiling in the kitchen and a leak that was flooding my carpet in my bedroom. He mentioned that the technician would be calling me. I called back around 12:24 am inquiring when the technician would be coming. ******* mentioned that he sent the request in and that he would check on the status of the request. He mentioned that he would be leaving in a half hour (1 am) and he would call me before he left. I never received a call and the technician never came. I had tried to contact several "24 hour" plumbing companies prior to contacting Legend Plumbing with no luck. As a result of the technician not showing up, a portion of the ceiling in my kitchen collapsed and I have additional flooding in my bedroom.

Desired Settlement: I called Legend Plumbing and the ******* apologized and mentioned that ******* was new and informed me of their 24 hour service policy. This does not help my ceiling or carpet. If ******* would have explained the policy last night, I could have continued searching for another "24 hour" plumbing service at 11:26pm to help me. I think that companies that identify themselves as offering 24 hour services should have the staffing that would allow for them to adequately provide that service. I would love for Legend Plumbing to cover the costs of my plumbing service that I finally got today from another company. That is the least that they could do for not keeping their word.

Business Response: Our Management discussed this customers Conplaint in great detail and we were just over booked that evening.  The Customer can call as many companies as they want.  Sincerely Management

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I called several companies that night but when this company stated that they were coming, there was no need to contact another company. It is not my fault that they were overbooked. If this was the case, they should not have made the appointment. They should just own up to their mistake.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: This evening we were very over booked with calls and not knowing how long some of these call can take will delay service.  We try hard to get to everyone but we are only human and can make mistakes. Our office staff including ******* was trying to help but we just can't give exact time are ETA after Hours.  As described there were other companies that had been called prior to Legend with no luck after hours work can frustrate everyone involved.  We are sorry for your inconvenience 
  
                                                             Sincerely, Management

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The problem that I have is that ******* told me that someone would be coming that evening. If he would have told me that you all were busy and could not send someone that evening, I could have moved on to another company.  All of the other companies that I called prior to calling your company were up front with me and told me that they could not send someone until the next day. I understand that everyone makes mistakes, but as you make them, own up to them. The inconvenience that you caused was my ceiling collapsing because of the leak that should have been fixed that night.

Regards,

******* *****

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sent out plumber to check septic system on first call due to stopped up commodes. He was unprepared on all counts, I had already snaked out pipes except for one and he used our equipment to finished the last one (10 minutes) and the blockage was taken care of or so we thought. He charged us $49.50 Response Fee and $140.00 Diagnostic Charge but did credit us $25.00 Total $164.50 for using our snake machine. He said, telling us about the blockage being at septic tank was evaluating and justified the $140.00 which I thought was excessive. He said we needed a clean-out put in and that it would cost $750.00, I said I'd wait. So when the same problem reoccurred last then 30 days I called them back on Aug. 1 and they sent the same person on Aug 4. Again he came unprepared and used our tools, shovels and pickax, and our latter. He did have a snake that was smaller then mine and used it to check out the breather pipes on the roof. My wife told him that I had already done them all so we both dug looking for the pipe around the septic tank till he found it. He said he need the pipe camera and that it would cost $300 more, I said ok but there weren't any available at his shop so he did without. He snaked it and the tip came out against the wall. He dug there and found the original clean-out where the pipe had broken off at the the joint, this had caused the blockage of all 3 commodes, he cut the pipe but left it there cause he still hadn't dug out the dirt along the length of the pipe (about 5' left) the pipe was about 10' total from wall to septic tank. He then proceeded to install the new clean-out near the septic tank and said that to replace the pipe to the wall would cost an additional $600. This would be digging out about 5' of dirt and joining 3" PVC pipe to the original pipe on both ends. At this point I told him to finish the clean-out and that I would finish the installation myself. This I did and I also had to redo the cap to his clean-out because his was to far above the ground. This with a trip to ***** cost me $40 and my time and labor, about 4 hrs. I don't understand how this company can profess to do a professional job and not have the tools at arrival and charge as you go. People should be made aware of their methods.

Desired Settlement: I care more about their methods as wanting a bill adjustment. An explanation and an honest justification for their charging as you go would be nice.

Business Response: Mr, *****

Thank you for your concerns and we appreciate your business. We sent a second technician out to the job site to assist *** and we would have been happy to complete the task for you, however you requested to finish the work yourself.
We are sorry about your system having so many issues.

Please see attached invoices for customer satisfaction signatures on for both visits.


Thank You,

**** ****** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

 
I'm amazed that Legend Plumbing & Rooter didn't address their lack of preparedness (lack of tools and borrowing ours and asking to use our latter on his second visit and still not having the correct tools), exorbitant prices ($600 for finishing digging out pipe & replacing it, $140 for diagnostic charge on the first visit), the use of a camera for $300 in addition to the $750 for the clean-out, not to mention any of the parts needed.  The second technician sent out was a helper that said he only brought out the parts he was told to and did as he was told to in reply to my wife's complaint as to their unpreparedness.
 
Our system didn't have many issues as this company claims, just the one, finding the pipe and installing the clean-out after eliminating all causes for the stoppage which he did on his first visit according to his own paper work (stoppage between the house and the septic tank, hance the need for a clean-out).  For a company that's suppose to have been in business for so long you would think that they would have figured out that clean-outs are put right next to the house (where the original one was found which the tech didn't mention on his report and that's where the separation of the pipe was).  He install his clean-out right by the septic tank sticking up above groung where it could easily be broken, hence me having to redo the cap as I stated in my initial complain.  Finding the pipe should have been a minor problem for a qualified technician but it took a half day to find it.  For this reasons I decided to finish the job myself, of course they would have been happy to complete the task for an extra $600 dollars.
 
An explanation and an honest justification for their methods and charging would have been nice, but instead chose to ignore it.  My complaints stand on their own merit.
 
Regards,

**** *****

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Legend Plumbing out on 3/8/14 to unclog a toilet. Service person showed up and gave my wife a verbal estimate of $49.50 to unclog toilet or $150 if he had to use the "machine". No written estimate provided. He could not unclog the toilet with the hand snake, so he opted to use the "machine". He removed the toilet, ran the machine snake down the line a couple times and replaced the seal and toilet. The he said we owed him $675.51. He had given no indication that the estimate was false nor at any time did he inform us that the bill was increasing. He spent about 2 hours at the house albeit most of the time talking. His breakdown on the bill: $49.50 to show up, $195.50 to pull and reset toilet, $139.50 to run the machine, $250.95 for the 'use' of the machine, $38.00 for additive solution, $2.06 tax. Oh and he gave a "discount" of $30.00 when my wife found a coupon in the phone book. $645.51 final bill.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their original verbal estimate of $150.00 plus the additive solution $38.00 which I agreed to for a total of $188.00 and refund $457.51 to me.

Business Response:  
 Mr ****

  Thank you for bring this to our attention we have discussed this by phone and I agreed to adjust your bill once your check cleared the bank.  Your job was a lot of work and I am sorry if there was any communication break down.  I reviewed the bill and it was correct for the amount of work done at your home. For customer satisfaction we will credit you back 139.50 and the 38.00 for additive.  Let me know if you will except this and I will forward you a check back  as a token of our customer service  Thank  *

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: We agreed to the refund and it takes 60 days to process back to the customer, I will try to help speed this up a bit. Thanks ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Legend Plumbing did not act in good faith. It didn't take me 60 days to pay you. Upon further review and consultation with other contractors, I categorically reject this settlement and am opening this claim again.

Regards,

*** ****

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Legend Plumbing for septic tank pumping and stated they could send a truck out the same day. Instead of sending a septic pump truck they sent a plumber. The plumber looked at the system, after, touched the electrical wires with a tester and stated the pump and the aerator needs replacing. I knew the pump was broken, this is why I called for septic pumping prior to replacing the pump. After a few minutes of calculations the plumber came up with a cost of over $1,800 of work needed which did not include pumping. This service was declined and the plumber tried to sale a rebuilt aerator for less and later even called back to try to sell a cheaper pump. Next I was hit up for $250 dollars. $49.50 for a response fee and $175 dollar diagnostic charge. Remember, I knew the pump was broken, I called to have my septic tank pumped in order to correctly replace the pump in an ideal condition the following Monday. I understand the response fee, however I did not call for a plumber, I called to have my septic tank pumped. I paid the requested amount but received no benefit from this company. After calling another septic company I was informed that the aerator automatically turns off in high water conditions and to replace the pump would be about $500.

Desired Settlement: The response fee and the diagnostic fees should be refunded. I called for a septic pump tank and they sent a plumber. I already knew the septic tank pump was not functioning.

Business Response: There are 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They have not even completed a sentence in their response.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: I agree with the customer and once there check clears the bank I will refund them all the funds with exception of 50.00.  I know there is two sides to this Story but to us the customer is the most important. Sorry my first reply slipped on my ****. Thank you for your consideration ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Legend Plumbing Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)