Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (210) 227-1776 Fax: (469) 742-2350 View Additional Phone Numbers 4711 Shavano Oak Ste 102, San Antonio, TX 78249 http://www.punctualplumbersanantonio.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2010 Business started: 03/14/2000 Business started locally: 03/14/2000 Business incorporated 03/14/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Amber Gaige, VP of Marketing Ms. Keresa Richardson, Owner Mr. Nick Srader, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amber Gaige, VP of Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Powell, Plumbing Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Water Leak Detection Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Filtration & Purification Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Powerhouse Plumbing, L.L.C.
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4711 Shavano Oak Ste 102

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 656-3610

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Benjamin Franklin to install a cleanout to assess a plumbing issue. After they installed the cleanout, they quoted us pretty high to complete the repairs, so we had 2 other plumbers come out to assess the problem - CPR Plumbing and Vamvoras. Both plumbers told us the cleanout had been installed incorrectly and was useless. We contacted Benjamin Franklin twice, once at the end of Feburary and once about March 7 to try to resolve the issue. Both times we were told someone would get back to us. No one ever did.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the work completed as the cleanout has been completely useless to us and was installed incorrectly/poorly. It was approximately $300 paid to install the cleanout. If Benjamin Franklin responds, we can workout the refund amount at that time (I don't have the receipt on-hand at this time).

Business Response: I will be inspecting the work, should there be any error on our part or improper work a refund will be issued immediately. 

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to service a pipe leak to the hot water tank. I was told they would have a service tech at my house between 3PM and 5PM on a Friday. A few minutes to 5 when I had heard from no one I called their office. I was told they had overbooked and did not know when the tech would arrive and they could re-schedule for Sunday between 8AM and 10PM. I received a call Sunday morning around 7:30AM to let me know the tech would be there around 8:15AM. The service tech finally arrived at or around 11:30AM. I hired this company because of their advertisement "The Punctual Plumbers" guaranteed to arrive on time or they will pay you $5 a minute up to $300.00 and my time is valuable. It was very difficult to take that time off on a Friday afternoon and Sunday was a family disaster because of how late they were then. I cancelled a client appointment Friday afternoon and missed an important family gathering Sunday. I was told by their office and the service tech that the late policy would be honored and I would get a check. I have sent an email and called their office to no avail. I have been told a ******* (****-I believe) would call me but that was just another false promise. I trusted this company because of the advertisement on **** which I don't believe will continue to associate with them if they hear this type of complaint...

Desired Settlement: I expect them to honor their advertisement. While it wont erase what I went through; it will ease my anger and frustration!

Business Response:

This was addressed last month, a check was sent out on the 26th of march in the amount of $300.00 as promised.

 

9/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a clogged toliet. Ben Franklin Plumbing told us that they could fix this for $59. When the plumber arrvied he told us that it would $199 to fix the toliet or $59 for the service call. After some discussion and a take it or leave it statement from the less than presentable plumber, my wife agreed to have the toliet fixed. Ten minutes later the plumber was done and out the door. It took him longer to write the ticket than to fix the clogged toliet. Don't believe their advertisements or their phone people. Beware. Product_Or_Service: Clogged toliet fixed

Desired Settlement: We would like BF Plumbing to honor their quote of $59 for the work. They should not be allowed to quote one price, then charge 3 times more.

Business Response: BEN FRANKLIN PLUMBING.
4711 SHAVANO OAK
SAN ANTONIO TX 78249 SUITE 102
PHONE 210-302-2642

ATT: COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT

This is in regards to a customer complaint on 8/07/13 from *** ****, **** ****** ******* *** ******* ** *****. I called the customer to resolve the issue, customer assumed the trip fee of $5g was for the repair. I explained the service fee and repair fee are two different charges. I also refunded repair fee to satisfy the customer of $140.00


Thanks, **** ******



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is very satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****