Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Leak Detection

Phone: (432) 520-5811 Fax: (432) 520-5468 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 80370, Midland, TX 79708 http://www.americanleakdetection.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Leak Detection meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Leak Detection include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Leak Detection
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rickey Lemons, Owner Ms. Lana Lemons, Office Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lana Lemons, Office Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Rickey Lemons, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair Water Leak Detection Leak Detection

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check Credit Cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
Should a leak not be where we have marked, call our office at 432.520.5811, and we will return to relocate. 
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 80370

    Midland, TX 79708 (432) 520-5811 (888) 571-5325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $250 to find a leak at my house. I was told that I got leak in the middle of my kitchen tile floor. The leak spot was marked with a big tape, in order to know EXACLY where to dig and fix the leaking pipe. I hired a plumber to fix the leak. After digging, the plumber show me that there was no any leak at the marked spot. I called AMERICAN LEAK DETECTION office to ask what do I suppose to do, but there was no answer all day long. The following morning, I talked with the office and the same person came back to my house to see the big hole with no leaks. He was surprised and start all over to check my house with his equipment . After searching again, he point on other spot in my kitchen, and put another tape on my tile, suppose he found the leak. He asked me to call back the plumber to dig at the new spot, and to fix the leak. After paying extra money to the plumber , for him to dig in different place, once again, there was no leak at the marked spot. 2 big holes in the middle of my kitchen, and no leaks found. AMERICAN LEAK DETECTION came back to my house and saw it, he was surprised again, and suggested that it will be better to "stop guessing" where is the leak coming from,and it will be much better to re pipe all my house. I asked him to refund my money for his service, not to mention the money that I paid to the plumber and the fact that I missed 3 working days, and he refuse doing it. He agree to give me back $150 but no more because of his 3 trips to my house. I told him that I wish that his diagnose was correct at the first time, but it was not. Also on the second time, and that the reason he had to comeback . I was completely upset with the whole process and the answers I got.

Business Response: We were called out to the home of Mrs. ********* after she called our office. She explained to our office that she was going to remodel and wanted this repaired prior to remodeling.  Sonar did indicate a leak in her kitchen. After locate and shutting off the hot water valve we found the water meter to still be running. We rechecked the home and sound for a possible cold water leak. This sound was indicated at the same location for the hot water leak. ( This is not unusual). I explained to Mrs. ********* on this first trip that the sound was not very good and as she was going to remodel her kitchen, I did advise her to repipe this line overhead and not to repair this leak. It would be easy to do at this time. She called her plumber back, he opened another small hole and the leak was not there. I returned, and rechecked the sound with this being a few feet to the east, with the ground wet below the second hole. I advised her again to have her plumber repipe overhead as this line is in gravel and the entire line may be faulty. Her plumber again opened another location with a small hole and found mud. I returned again, with the sound continuing at this location. This leak could have been under the kitchen sink with the sound. She was advised (third time) to cut and cap this line to indicate if the leak is under the kitchen sink or toward the bathroom before any more jackhammering was done. Advised her highly to reroute this line overhead and her plumber agreed. (The plumber was in a regular truck with no license number on this truck, so unsure of him being a licensed plumber). 
She called our office within a couple of days requesting her money back. I explained to her I had been out to her home three times, and my time was as important as hers was, so I would refund her a part of her payment, however she refused. I explained that I had advised her on the first trip to reroute this line and this was not done. When the lines are in gravel it is better to reroute the entire line.
(She told the office Stephens Plumbing had been out the first time. She was not using this plumbing company to repair this leak.)

Thank you
****** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason of hiring AMERICAN LEAK DETECTING was to find where there is leak at the house and no other reason.
the reason that ****** visit my house 3 times is simple. 1st visit, to find the leak. 2nd visit, to show him the big hole in my kitchen,but there is no leak under the marked area according to ******. 3rd visit, after being competley surprise that there was no leak at the marked spot, he checked again, and marked a new spot in the kitchen as the leak spot, the plumber dig again, second hole, but...no leak....and that's EXACLY why ****** had to stop by again.
just to be clear, after detecting suppose the first leak, I asked ****** how much he charge to fix the leak, he told me and wrote on the paper $1300. He advice that the house is old and it will be better to re pipe the whole house, and it will cost $5000.
Of course, re pipe is much better solution , but it's also cost a lot of money. I decided to fix the detected leak for the moment in order to avoid keep paying very high water bills, and later on to get more estimates for the re pipe.
The respond of ****** is not relevant for the reason he came at the first time. His job was to find the leak,and he messed it up twice. It very nice to give a client advice that his motor in his car makes noises, and it will much better to just get brand new car, I think we all know that brand new is better than old and used, but let's not forget the money factor.
Before and after, his job was just to find the source of the leak and all the rest is not his job or decision .
The leaks spot that was marked by him twice was wrong, and even a person with many years of expireance can make mistakes , but at least to be honest enought to admit it and just to refund the money after all. 
By the way, I have no idea who is Stephens plumbing, I never hired them, and there was not any other plumbing company at my house beside ****** and the plumber that was suppose to fix the leak, so I have no idea where he got this information.

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response: We offered her back $150.00. She refused. There is no way to explain to someone that it was recommended to reroute this one line from the very beginning. Most people will take the advise of an experienced plumber when lines are in gravel etc.

Thank you
****** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
once again, I paid $250 to find where is the leak. To give me advice was very nice, and I also accept it, just not able to afford it at the moment, that's why I decided to fix the leak. Why to give me back $150 if I paid $250 for something that was not correct after all? Mr. ****** focus on his advice and not on the service that was suppose to do. Again, he did his job, but he was wrong with his diagnosed, if I accepted the fact that I paid plumber $600 to dig twice for no reason, why he can not accept the fact that there was no leaks at the two spots where he indicated as the problem.

Regards,

***** *********