Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Affordable Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Affordable Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA Affordable Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jesse James Tobar, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesse James Tobar, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
AAA Affordable Plumbing AAA Affordable Plumbing "The Affordable One to Call"
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called AAA Affordable plumbing to unclog blockage in my sewer clean out, the owner *** came out ran his auger for about 10 minutes, said it is the city's problem and that I would need to pay an additional charge so he could run his camera down the line and wrote it up as a DEFECTIVE pipe...he then charged me $127.00, told me to call the city to fix it and promptly left. Leaving me unable to wash dishes, to do laundry, without use of my showers and toilets. I called the city the ran their auger down the main line AT NO CHARGE and said it was not on their end and if it is from the sidewalk or beyond that the plumber I had out NEEDED to mark the exact spot where the clog is. It took me over a week to find another company to come out and they fixed the problem by running the auger correctly and then ran their camera down the sewer clean-out and have confirmed there is NO DEFECT in my pipe, in fact they said it looked NEW. They charged me $200.00...I feel this man just took our money and ran. I feel I have been the victim of a scam artist. I have three young children and am currently unemployed so every penny is crucial to our continued existence... something needs to be done about this man, he charged for a problem he did not fix and left it up to another company to clean up his mess, as well as leaving me shell shocked over the whole affair and extremely apprehensive to hire anyone else fearing they will take my money and do exactly what this man has done.

Desired Settlement: I feel he should refund the $127.00 I originally paid him or pay me for the additional expense of $200.00 I incurred for having to call out a second company considering: A. He did not fix the problem B. We were left without service for over a week C. We have incurred additional expense due to him not completing the job he was hired to do D. We have the testimony of a REPUTABLE company stating that he lied about the defect in the pipe E. The nonchalant way he just blamed the city, said it was their problem, took my money and left!!!

Business Response: The plumber arrived at customers home and the customer informed the plumber that the sewer line has backed up before and that the previous plumbing company had pulled out roots in the line the plumber ran his cable down the line and recommended a cammera ran down the sewer line customer said that he didn't have the money for the camera so the plumber completed running the cable and left the plumber charged a price customer agreed and signed contract and was satisfied with completion of work and told the plumber that he would call back once he had the money to run cammera the plumber did