Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elite Exterminating, Inc.

Phone: (361) 853-8370 Fax: (361) 855-1735 2101 Saratoga Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78417 http://www.elitebugkillers.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawncare, weeds, mosquito spraying and real estate termite inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elite Exterminating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elite Exterminating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elite Exterminating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1990 Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated 10/28/1992 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Aguirre, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Aguirre, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control Mosquito Control Animal & Wildlife Removal Graffiti Removal Mothproofing Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls Deodorizing & Disinfecting

Industry Tips
Choosing a pest control company When to use a Pest Control Professional

Additional Locations

  • 2101 Saratoga Blvd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78417

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a termite warranty contract with the company and renewed it yearly for many years. It was due for renewal in August, I had my inspection and paid to renew the contract. We had the house for sale and when the house went under contract, we informed the new buyers that it had been treated for termites and was under contract that was transferable if they were interested. We sold the house and the buyers showed no interest in transferring the contract. I called Elite and told them that the house sold and I had paid for a one year contract, but the contract terminated because of change of ownership and asked for a prorated refund, as I paid for one full year and sold the house 44 days later. I was told that I could not have a refund, that all fees were non-refundable. I checked my contract and it does not state that fees are non-refundable. The company understood that I was only asking for a prorated refund, not refund in full, but refused.

Desired Settlement: I would like a prorated refund, since I paid for the full year, and sold the property 44 days later with the buyers not interested in transferring the contract.

Business Response: We thank the BBB for helping us address this concern.

Please know that we value all customers and take seriously any issues they may have regarding service agreements.  It is for this reason that all agreements, warranties, proposals, and invoices are in writing with clear and concise language in hopes of avoiding such confusion.
 
Attached you will find the customer’s signed proposal and service agreement.  As well as the renewal inspection invoice that was provided as part of the annual renewal.

The customer paid to renew her annual dry-wood termite service agreement on August 14, 2013.  The contract may be renewed every August, annually at the sole discretion of the customer. On August 13, 2013, the customer took advantage of her annual inspection which is provided as part of the annual renewal fee.  The first issue with this customer began on this day when an Elite inspector discovered active carpenter bees during the course of his inspection; which is a wood destroying insect and
documented it on his paperwork.  This created an issue with the customer as she expressed frustration with the inspector who documented the wood destroying insect on his report; saying that “he knows she is selling her house.” The Elite inspector explained that he is required to document any wood destroying insect issue for our files and to
inform the consumer in writing.

On September 25, 2013, the customer called our office to inform us that she had sold her house and demanded a refund of the paid annual renewal.  Staff explained to the customer that the renewal paid is an ANNUAL fee not a month to month fee or a quarterly fee.  The customer requested to speak to the owner.

On September 26, 2013, I returned the customers call and attempted to resolve the issue.  During the course of our conversation I asked her if the buyers of her home had a termite inspection performed and the customer responded with a “yes, of course.” I then asked if she disclosed that the property was under a service agreement to protect the home from dry-wood termites.  She again responded with a “yes.” She also explained that she paid the annual renewal assuming the new buyers would transfer the warranty and pro-rate or refund her the unused portion of the renewal she paid; but the buyers declined.  So, her alternative was to get a refund from Elite.

The facts are simple; the customer paid the ANNUAL renewal fee at her sole discretion.  The customer called and scheduled her annual inspection.  The customer became
upset at Elite’s inspector for documenting an issue with a wood destroying insect.  The customer contracted another pest control company to treat for those wood destroying insects.  The customer used to her advantage the existing termite service agreement to promote the existing warranty to potential home buyers. Because at the time of the sale of her home, the home was covered under the termite warranty her home was “cleared” of the dry-wood termites making the sale of her home problem-free. 
Elite’s agreement and proposal clearly state that the fee paid is an ANNUAL fee.  The problem for this customer is that the buyers of her home choose NOT to continue the agreement. But, had the termite inspector hired by the new buyers found a problem with active dry-wood termites Elite Exterminating would have honorably re-treated by
a full-tent-fumigation the customer’s home; as this is what the customer paid for.

We value this customer’s past patronage and hope this matter is resolved amicably. 
But we do not issue refunds for ANNUAL service agreements paid; as it was her option to renew the annual agreement. 
At any time prior to paying her renewal fee the customer could have called our office and we would have gladly informed her that the fee is non-refundable.  If at this time the customer would have selected not to renew; be assured that the inspector for the new buyers would NOT have cleared the home because of the history of the dry-wood termite infestation and because no warranty was in place; this is a fact as no termite inspection company would incur such a liability. 
Because of this and the inspection performed by Elite the customer has received the full benefit of the paid annual renewal fee.


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Elite Exterminating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)