BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Elite Exterminating, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (361) 853-8370 Fax: (361) 855-1735 2101 Saratoga Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78417

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company also offers lawncare, weeds, mosquito spraying, and real estate termite inspections.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elite Exterminating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elite Exterminating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1990 Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated: 10/28/1992 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Aguirre, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Aguirre, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping Graffiti Removal Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls Deodorizing & Disinfecting

Industry Tips
Choosing a pest control company When to use a Pest Control Professional

Additional Locations

  • 2101 Saratoga Blvd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78417

  • PO Box 71327

    Corpus Christi, TX 78467

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a termite warranty contract with the company and renewed it yearly for many years. It was due for renewal in August, I had my inspection and paid to renew the contract. We had the house for sale and when the house went under contract, we informed the new buyers that it had been treated for termites and was under contract that was transferable if they were interested. We sold the house and the buyers showed no interest in transferring the contract. I called Elite and told them that the house sold and I had paid for a one year contract, but the contract terminated because of change of ownership and asked for a prorated refund, as I paid for one full year and sold the house 44 days later. I was told that I could not have a refund, that all fees were non-refundable. I checked my contract and it does not state that fees are non-refundable. The company understood that I was only asking for a prorated refund, not refund in full, but refused.

Desired Settlement: I would like a prorated refund, since I paid for the full year, and sold the property 44 days later with the buyers not interested in transferring the contract.

Business Response: We thank the BBB for helping us address this concern.

Please know that we value all customers and take seriously any issues they may have regarding service agreements.  It is for this reason that all agreements, warranties, proposals, and invoices are in writing with clear and concise language in hopes of avoiding such confusion.
 
Attached you will find the customer’s signed proposal and service agreement.  As well as the renewal inspection invoice that was provided as part of the annual renewal.

The customer paid to renew her annual dry-wood termite service agreement on August 14, 2013.  The contract may be renewed every August, annually at the sole discretion of the customer. On August 13, 2013, the customer took advantage of her annual inspection which is provided as part of the annual renewal fee.  The first issue with this customer began on this day when an Elite inspector discovered active carpenter bees during the course of his inspection; which is a wood destroying insect and
documented it on his paperwork.  This created an issue with the customer as she expressed frustration with the inspector who documented the wood destroying insect on his report; saying that “he knows she is selling her house.” The Elite inspector explained that he is required to document any wood destroying insect issue for our files and to
inform the consumer in writing.

On September 25, 2013, the customer called our office to inform us that she had sold her house and demanded a refund of the paid annual renewal.  Staff explained to the customer that the renewal paid is an ANNUAL fee not a month to month fee or a quarterly fee.  The customer requested to speak to the owner.

On September 26, 2013, I returned the customers call and attempted to resolve the issue.  During the course of our conversation I asked her if the buyers of her home had a termite inspection performed and the customer responded with a “yes, of course.” I then asked if she disclosed that the property was under a service agreement to protect the home from dry-wood termites.  She again responded with a “yes.” She also explained that she paid the annual renewal assuming the new buyers would transfer the warranty and pro-rate or refund her the unused portion of the renewal she paid; but the buyers declined.  So, her alternative was to get a refund from Elite.

The facts are simple; the customer paid the ANNUAL renewal fee at her sole discretion.  The customer called and scheduled her annual inspection.  The customer became
upset at Elite’s inspector for documenting an issue with a wood destroying insect.  The customer contracted another pest control company to treat for those wood destroying insects.  The customer used to her advantage the existing termite service agreement to promote the existing warranty to potential home buyers. Because at the time of the sale of her home, the home was covered under the termite warranty her home was “cleared” of the dry-wood termites making the sale of her home problem-free. 
Elite’s agreement and proposal clearly state that the fee paid is an ANNUAL fee.  The problem for this customer is that the buyers of her home choose NOT to continue the agreement. But, had the termite inspector hired by the new buyers found a problem with active dry-wood termites Elite Exterminating would have honorably re-treated by
a full-tent-fumigation the customer’s home; as this is what the customer paid for.

We value this customer’s past patronage and hope this matter is resolved amicably. 
But we do not issue refunds for ANNUAL service agreements paid; as it was her option to renew the annual agreement. 
At any time prior to paying her renewal fee the customer could have called our office and we would have gladly informed her that the fee is non-refundable.  If at this time the customer would have selected not to renew; be assured that the inspector for the new buyers would NOT have cleared the home because of the history of the dry-wood termite infestation and because no warranty was in place; this is a fact as no termite inspection company would incur such a liability. 
Because of this and the inspection performed by Elite the customer has received the full benefit of the paid annual renewal fee.


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1