Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bulwark Exterminating LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bulwark Exterminating LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bulwark Exterminating LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 1999 Business started: 02/27/1999 in TX Business started locally: 02/27/1999 Business incorporated 04/20/1999 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Russell Shoffner, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Shoffner, Branch Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Industry Tips
Choosing a pest control company When to use a Pest Control Professional

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bulwark Exterminating LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17316 Bell North Dr

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • 209 E Ben White Blvd Ste 115

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 291-1200 (512) 444-9844 (210) 402-0492

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ********** ****** I was a customer of Bulwark while living in Austin. I moved to Edmond OK in August of 2015. Since then I have been billed for services that I did not receive since August. I finally got the service terminated on December 17th 2015. I was told at this time that I would not be billed going forward. That was not the case, I received two 80.11 charges on January 25, 2016. I am not happy about this and feel like that I have been taken advantage of. I was told that they had a problem with there 3rd party billing people and that it was not a problem with Bulwark it self. They refused to refund me any money. Even read notes to me that showed they were talking to other people at the house that i was renting and they wanted to switch to a different type of service and still continued to bill me for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for all charges after August 2015.

Business Response: *** ***** was a Bulwark customer from July 2014 until his request to discontinue services on December 17, 2015.  During his time as a customer, Bulwark would contact him as a courtesy at least one day before services were to be performed and he would be informed of the three-hour window of time that a technician would arrive to perform pest control treatments.  *** ***** had set his account up on an automatic payment from a credit card and the charges would be placed on the account the day after services were performed.  *** ***** made Bulwark aware that he no longer lived at the residence on December 17, 2015 and no services or charges from Bulwark have been added to the account since that date.  Bulwark has been in touch with the credit card processing center and we have been informed that charges sent to them by Bulwark were listed as "pending" from customer credit cards even though Bulwark showed the customer had paid.  These "pending" credit card payments all went through the processing center on January 25, 2016.  I will, in good faith, request that the amount of $160.22 be sent to *** *****, if he will contact Bulwark and give us his address in Oklahoma. 

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bulwark Exterminating has aggressively advertised to me on weekly basis wanted me to have them exterminate. I told them I did not need exterminating and would call them when I was ready. This request was dismissed by them and they continued to email me and even called me saying they were on there way to my property. I never agreed to have them come out again. I called ************ after they called me late at night wanted to discuss exterminating service. I talked with a Service Manager "*****" and he stated that I could not cancel my service or cancel any future appointments. I never agreed to a year contract in which he stated. I agreed to one treatment and nothing more.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Bulwark to stop emailing me, calling me or contact me or give me any service in any form.

Business Response: San Antonio Bulwark Exterminating terminated Mr. *** ******** pest control account on 9/28/2015.  San Antonio shows that *** ****** signed and initialed a 1 year service agreement. Bulwark Corporate office is looking into what ***** said to Mr. ******.  We at Bulwark do not want to force anyone to stay with our pest control services against their will even if they legally committed.  The San Antonio Bulwark office will no longer contact Mr. ******, however, our corporate office may attempt contact to bring peace and look into the situation.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10831073

I am rejecting this response because: Luckily, I found the contract and have attached it to this message. No where does it show I signed up for a one year agreement.  A one year agreement was never discussed or agreed to.  The way the service was presented to me was that there was an initial charge and for every service after that would be at regular price.  Then they recommended the months that would be good to exterminate.  I knew I would be getting calls regarding more services but I felt I was in control of when those services would take place.  It was my intention to use yalls service again at the end of October.  But with the aggressive emails, and calls saying yall were on the way to my house with out me knowing of an appointment, late night calls, and then my conversation with ***** I felt yall were a forceful company that I did not want to associate with.  This is my first house and first exterminating experience and I will be more cautious in the future.  I think yalls sales tactics are tricky, misleading, forceful, and is not representative of a respectable business.  While I appreciate you canceling my service the process has left me weary and I am not interested in any more phone calls or emails.  However, I will give yall the opportunity to call me one time to discuss this situation and to help yalls service moving forward and tell you exactly my side of the story.  After that as stated before I would like no further contact.

Regards,

*** ******

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See below email sent to the office and Branch manager: To whom it may concern, I specifically asked for my next appointment to be AFTER June 23rd but you guys came on that day. Reason being is because we were out of town on a cruise so I did not have access to emails or missed calls. I wanted to be at the house when the tech arrived because I have become significantly disappointed in the service and even more so after your supposed treatment on that day. I have attached the several pictures of spider webs, egg sacks, and wasp nests that still exist around my home, one of which is on the interior in my own bedroom. This is unacceptable and I am requesting that you refund the service charge as you guys have not supplied a full service as described on your website and when I talked with one of your representatives on the phone when I switched to your company. My previous provider did not have the "sweep" service so that's why I chose you but this has rarely occurred on any of the times you guys have come out. Also, ants have not been properly treated in the yard and my dog (in the included image) has gotten bit all over his body from laying in the grass. If you are interested in keeping my business, after you have refunded my money, please have a manager contact me immediately. I have previously worked with Mr. ****** and not had a good result. I would like to speak with someone higher than him. If you are not interested in keeping me as a Bulwark customer, simply process the refund and i'll find a different company that will do the job that I pay for. Thank you, ***** ******* I have not received a response from either the office personnel or branch manager from this location. I first contacted them on June 26th and then the branch manager on June 30th.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my last service charge as the services were not fully completed in the amount of 80.11.

Business Response: Just want to make the BBB aware of where this stands.  I have left messages for Ms. ******* on 7/7, 7/8 and 7/10.  I sent her a message via e-mail on 7/10 since I hadn't been able to speak with her.  I offered free return visit, which is what we offer all of our customers.  I also offered her 1/2 off of her next two visits to equal her request for refund as 1/2 off of two visits would equal the whole of one treatment.  We are trying to speak with her, but so far haven't heard anything back.
?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I no longer want to do business with Bulwark. I shouldn't have to submit a complaint to get a response from any business. For documentation purposes, I will not be answering any phone calls from Bulwark. I maintain that I am requesting a refund of the last month's service charge, although I have experienced unsatisfactory service for several months and gave multiple chances for the service to improve. I was told by the service technicians that it takes time for the chemical to be effective. I have not seen the results of any treatments and found the service provided to be lazy and incomplete every time.
Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:  I do understand the frustration exhibited by Ms. ******* concerning insect and pest issues in and around her home.  Bulwark provides pest control to thousands of Austin area homes in which power spraying pesticide around the perimeter of the home is sufficient to control most pest populations.  It is our policy to return for FREE to any customer that is not satisfied with our perimeter treatments and requires additional work inside or outside of the home.  It is also our policy to refund the last regular treatment charge, if the customer has allowed us to attempt to resolve any concerns and they are still not satisfied.  It is not our policy to close accounts and refund a customer without having the ability to remedy a situation or perceived problem.  The vast majority of Bulwark's pest control customers are not home during our regular visits and do not have to be home for the treatment because outside perimeter spraying is usually sufficient.  If Ms. ******* would like interior service at her home, we are willing to provide interior treatment(s) for free until she is satisfied with our work.  Ms. ******* should be aware that Bulwark is more than willing to work with her to solve ALL of her pest control concerns, but without communication, there is very little that can be resolved.      

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: again, I no longer wish to do business with Bulwark. Again, I shouldn't have to open a complaint to get a response from any company. I have reached out and tried to get a response but didn't get one until I submitted a complaint here. Again, this is not the first time I have had issues with Bulwark and have communicated with them. More specifically, I have already worked with supervisor Mr. ****** and he said the same thing, that they would come back out for additional treatments. But it's not the re treatments, it's the unfinished job of not supplying a full service as they should in the first place. Again, this is not the first time that a half assed job has been done but now I am fed up. Bulwark should have responded when I reached out weeks ago. Too late, refund my money!

Regards,

***** *******

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that we can pay as we go for service in which we chose quarterly. We have been unhappy with their service and we are still having major scorpion and spider problems here. This exterminator said to call them in between appointments if needed. We are unhappy with their service and the contract specifies a money back guarantee if they are unable to resolve the problem. I called to cancel the last quarter and the service manager wants to continue to charge us $107.17 even though we no longer want their services. this company is not abiding by the contract.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I cancelled their service and we should not be billed for the last quarter which will cost $107.17. I spoke with a woman at their office and she said we could pay as we go. The service manager tells us otherwise. The employees at this extermination company are very rude and are not obiding by the terms of the agreement.

Business Response: We believe this customer is mistaken.
They signed a 1 year agreement for quarterly pest control
services. We provided 3 of the 4 services to them.
They will not be charged for the fourth service. However,
the 3rd quarterly service on 9/30/2014 was rendered, with
their permission. We find the balance to be honest and just.
We also waived their early termination fee; though they were
given a $71.00 discount the day they signed up. It is our
legal right to charge the early termination fee which we
will not as a polite courtesy. We ask that our customers pay
as they go. We take great pride in taking honest care of our
customers. Bulwark's Money Back Guarantee states:  If you
are not happy with our service, please call us and we will
gladly re-service your home free of charge. If we are unable
to resolve the problem, we'll refund your last charge.

7/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised services that were sold at my door step that were not done. We advised we would not be home when the service were to occur, and the services promised did not occur. When I called the company they said I had to give them a second chance to correct thing to get a refund. They did not provide a refund for service that were not rendured that were promised in the contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back as they did not complete the services they promised.

Business Response: *** ****** did not request a refund from us and has not had any communication since June 24, 2014 when he prematurely closed his pest control account after a single service.  Bulwark Exterminating does offer a money back guarantee for payment made when we are able to perform free return visits to address pest control problems that where not taken care of with a single visit.  *** ****** made contact with Bulwark Exterminating three days after an initial service was performed at his residence and cancelled the future services.  *** ****** was given a very substantial discount on this visit because he had agreed to a signature pest control service through the next twelve months.  Regardless of these facts, I have requested a refund check to be mailed to *** ****** via the corporate office in Arizona.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was no better selection for the primary nature of my complaint as it was for exterminating services performed. A Bulwark technician came out to refill bate in mouse traps, and left bate out in the yard which my dog came in contact with. We had to take the dog to the vet so that vomiting could be induced and antidotes could be given. This is the second time this technician left out poison. This is also the second time this technician left the property without closing the back yard gate. My husband called Bulwark to find out what type of poison was used so that he could tell the Dr. at the animal hospital to be told the manager will have to call the tech and find out. The tech did not answer, which delayed the start of treatment for our dog. The manager did call me back to tell me the type of bate, and the proper antidote was prescribed. Thankfully, our dog is fine. However, not once did anyone at Bulwark apologize for the serious nature of this oversight or put in a follow up call to see if they killed our dog. I have been a customer of Bulwark for almost thirteen years, and am deeply disappointed at the situation and the way it was handled. I am asking that Bulwark refund the amount that was spent at the animal hospital for treatment due to their carelessness. The amount was $194.80.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Bulwark refund the amount that was spent at the animal hospital for treatment due to their carelessness. The amount was $194.80.

Business Response: I am deeply sorry to hear that we have failed in our efforts to provide the best possible service to our customers and apologize for the stress and anguish caused by our actions.  I was not aware of this situation or would have been very involved in its resolution.  I have addressed this complaint with the service manager, ***, and the technician, ****** and can assure Mr. and Mrs. ******** and their dog that nothing like this will happen again.  I have requested a reimbursement check for the charges incurred by the veterinarian and will have it hand delivered to the ********** home.  I am glad to hear that the dog was able to be cared for quickly. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since I returned to my apartment in May after being in Austin I've had pest control agents out atleast twice a month to spray mostly for spiders as well as an array of insects. I myself have even sustained a spider bite. Each time I have tipped the agents and they spend less than 10 min here since they're only spraying a 550 apartment. They do not ask me to move things or move my stackable unit in the bathroom where most of the insects come in and I continue to have issues with bugs. I am very clean being I work in the medical field, and had no issues with Bulwark for first 9 months of service. I pay full price eventhough they are only spraying a 550 sq foot apt. To top it off I was told they would spray behind appliances and in cabinets, but I have never seen this done. Furthermore, the last 3 appointents I was rescheduled to another time frame without being notified or my pest control agent was almost 2 hours late. The last appointment two weeks ago the agent was rescheduled two hours later and I was never notified. Meanwhile I just got done working a 24 hour shift and could not go to bed until they arrived. In addition, the office makes appointments and does not call back until the night before to give you the appointment and confirm it.

Desired Settlement: I think the agent needs to come out at my convience on my day off during a time frame I choose not one that is chosen for me or rescheduled later without me being notified. I think I should recieved a partial refund or discount on next months service not only due to the size of my apartment, but for the inconvienence of having to have so many follow up visits to address the issue.

Business Response: Ms *******,

We apologize for the untimely manner of providing service. Unfortunately the technician that was assigned to perform your service had a family emergency, therefore the closest technician we had available to your area was dispatched to cover the route. In our haste there appears to be some confusion as to which services were completed. Regrettable your service was not provided on the appointed day. We will be more than happy to schedule an appointment for you at your convenience. Please let us know what day & time works best for you and I will make sure we have someone available to provide you w/ the highest quality service. 

Thank you for informing us of this matter. We will await your call,

**** ******
San Antonio Branch
Service Manager
************ (press option 1)

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This is not the first time the tech was late. The previous time I was reschedule to another time without being notified and I called and they changed the time, but the tech was still late for that time frame. Back in Feb before I left for Austin for two months the tech came out several hours late and even attempted to reschedule me to Sunday. This last visit I was never even notified of the time frame and kept calling and leaving messages. I finally called the day of to learn my time frame. I was told the tech was running on time. When the tech was late I notified that the tech lost his license so another tech would be coming out. Then the they called back saying that tech had a family emergency and it would be several hours before a tech showed up.. I got in the shower and suddenly the tech is at my door. This is very unorganized and two of these visits I was post 25 hour call trying to go to sleep and had to be up waiting for a tech on my one day off. I have been inconviencd several times and paying full price to spray a 550square foot apartment and around outside the apartment.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Dear Ms *******,

I understand your frustration and give you my utmost apology for the untimely service. We did not mean to inconvenience you. More techs are being hired to help increase our availability. Several are currently in training so that we can help ensure quality service at the time of arrival. We will work harder to improve on punctuality and communication. 100% satisfaction guarantee is our policy. If you are not happy with our service we will gladly re-service your home free of charge. If we are unable to resolve the problem, we'll refund your last charge. Please let us know which direction you would like to go. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the situation.

Sincerely,

**** ******
San Antonio Branch
Service Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bulwark Exterminating LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart