BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial pest and termite control, tree and lawn maintenance, A/C and heating, plumbing, electrical, and remodeling services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABC Home & Commercial Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABC Home & Commercial Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ABC Home & Commercial Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 31, 1951 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated: 01/04/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. L.J. Cohen, President Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner Mr. Les Stobart
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. L.J. Cohen, President
Principal: Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner
Principal: Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Irrigation Consultants Lighting Systems & Equipment Lawn Installation Service Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Pet Transporting Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Weed Control Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Electricians Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Insulation Paint Removing Painting - Faux Finishing Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Handyman Services Property Maintenance Switches - Electric Water Conservation Fuses - Electric Propane Gas Plumbing Water Heaters - Dealers Energy Conservation Products & Services Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Air Conditioning Repair Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls Christmas Lights & Decorations Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Insect Control Devices

Alternate Business Names
ABC Handyman Services ABC Pest & Lawn Services ABC Pest & Lawn Services of San Antonio, Inc. Pest Fog
Business Management

Bobby Jenkins, the owner of ABC Pest Control Inc of Austin, is also the owner of Chem-Free Organic Pest Control. Please see the Related Businesses section for information about that company.

Industry Tips
Advice on choosing a lawn care company Air conditioning repair tips Choosing a pest control company Landscaping tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor When to use a Pest Control Professional

Additional Locations

  • 1010 College St

    Bastrop, TX 78602 (512) 308-1274

  • 10644 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 599-9500

  • 1424 Bonita St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78404

  • 1702 Fm 1431

    Marble Falls, TX 78654 (830) 598-4800

  • 202 S Austin Ave

    Georgetown, TX 78626 (512) 819-9140

  • 9475 E Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78724 (512) 837-9500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (361) 884-8214(Phone)
  • (512) 392-9500(Phone)
  • (830) 386-0200(Phone)
  • (830) 625-4777(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC Home & Commercial Services was contacted my me (***** *****) on May 23, 2013 to have them get rid of squirrel's in my attic. They came placed traps only to pick them up the very next day without catching any of the squirrels. I ask them to leave the traps in place, because they didn't catch any squirrels, The tech stated he couldn't that I had to call the office, I call the office to have them come out and replace the traps and the did, only to come back the next day to remove the traps again. I ask the tech why was he taking the traps when there wasn't anything in them. He said call the office again so I did and the same thing happened no squirrels were ever caught. No trap were place so squirrels could get out and not be able the get back in. The problem was never resolved by ABC Home Commercial Services. I had paid them $255.50 the amount charged was $511.00 and still had the problem with the squirrels in my attic. They are trying to get paid for a job not done. Thank you, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount I have paid $255.50 to ABC Home & Commercial Services for not doing the job they were suppose to do. Remove the squirrels. Thank you, ***** *****

Business Response: ABC did in fact propose Rodent Removal (specifically, squirrels) service to Ms. ***** and the total amount of the service was $511.00.  This was in May of 2013.  As per our normal business practices, we asked for half of the money upon finalizing the agreement, with the other half to come a time of actual service.  It is very important to understand that with the service program Ms. ***** selected, there is a one year warranty with it.  Meaning, as long as the account is fully paid, ABC will come out as many times as necessary, at no additional charge to a customer, to ensure no rodents or wildlife are entering the structure.  Additionally, Ms. ***** was informed at time of initial consultation that she could elect to also have an ongoing pest control plan to provide coverage for crawling insects – roaches, ants, etc.  She declined that opportunity.  
In June, a number of traps were placed inside the home in the attic and the entrance points into the attic were sealed.  This is normal practice and encompasses preventing animals from further entering the structure and capturing any that may be in the structure when the “sealing” occurs.  Since squirrels typically leave the structure in the morning and return in the evening, it’s not uncommon for them (unlike other rodents and wildlife) to be out of the structure when it’s sealed.  It’s specifically for that reason that it’s not a certainty that there will ever be animals caught in the traps.   The traps were left for the prescribed time (three days of being armed) and removed after approximately three days of being armed.  No animals were captured.
After that, we began to attempt the remaining balance owed by Ms *****, for the sealing and attempted trapping.  It is worth nothing that the customer also requested that we treat for ants, even though that service was not ever contracted or paid for.  As a courtesy, since we were working with her on the squirrel issue, we did a one time, free, fire ant baiting service in the yard.  However, Ms. ***** never paid the remainder of the balance, despite ABC attempting to collect that balance for approximately 6 months.  As we have repeatedly told Ms *****, if she will pay the remaining, originally agreed upon amount, we will continue to provide warranty service including checking the sealing and reintroducing traps to the home if believed necessary.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with ABC Home and Commercial Services in late December 2012 for services including pest control, rodent elimination, and lawn enrichment. The services I am complaining about relate to lawn care only and are stated in the contract as "Turf Enrichment" Provides 4 services of soil amendments to optimize turf health and 1 core aeration service annually to reduce soil compaction to turf area; one irrigation check of the controller and inspection and adjustment of the nozzles." [Note that we do not have an irrigation system so this last "service" was mistakenly in the contract.] On January 11, 2013, an ABC employee "applied granular fertilizer to lawn front and back." On April 12, 2013, an ABC employee applied "22 gal *******, 22 gal *****, 22 gal ******** ******, and 22 gal ******." At the time, I did not review the service report. Since my yard is not primarily St. Augustine or Bermuda, the ***** killed all of my grasses and wildflowers. By mid-May, I noticed that my wildflowers and grass were dying. **** ****, the ABC supervisor, acknowledged that herbicides were wrongfully applied to the yard. He agreed to refund me the money I paid for the lawn services and to refund me for the cost of soil and seed that I had to purchase to rehabilitate my yard. I was not able to reestablish the yard in the summer and brought in soil and seed in August. My inquiry to the Travis County Extension Agent resulted in advice to apply 2 inches of soil to act as a buffer as new seed is established. The heavy rains in September and October eroded the yard, and I had to purchase two pallets of sod to prevent further damage. The yard is "checker-boarded" and still has a long way to go to return to its state before ABC poisoned it. I requested to settle the matter for my out-of-pocket costs to date for soil, seed, and sod in the amount of $2,910.93. This offer of settlement was refused.

Desired Settlement: Payment for my out-of-pocket expenses of $2,910.93 for seed, soil, and sod (not included are increased water bills, personal labor in sodding the yard, cleaning up the erosion, and loss of enjoyment of my front and back lawns).

Business Response: While ABC does acknowledge the original error resulted in the lawn being harmed, at no time did ABC agree to cover the cost of 24 yards of soil or new turf.  ABC is still willing to help cover related expenses and our offer to issue you a check in the amount of $308.02 for the items we detailed in our earlier communications, is still valid.  Also as a sign of good will, we agree to put forward an extra $191.98 to defray a portion of the turf costs, and to bring the total cash compensation to an even $500.00.   Since we were not given the opportunity to discuss or have input into the appropriateness of the sod & dirt project in advance, we will not agree to pay in full for it.  Additionally, ABC did offer to reseed and add soil to these areas during our earlier communications, and you declined.
 
It is also worth noting that ABC has already issued you credits of $366.46 for cancellation of contracted services and $100.00 for water bill assistance.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The actions of ABC Lawn Service were grossly negligent.  The service technician breached the contract by applying an herbicide that was not contracted for.  Furthermore, the technician showed that he had no knowledge of the vegetation in the yard.  The product he applied was an herbicide designed to kill weeds in turf lawns of St. Augustine and Bermuda.  I did not trust ABC Lawn Service to restore my yard since it had shown no expertise in lawn management.  I filed this complaint to provide ABC an additional opportunity to settle this complaint outside of court.  I only asked them to reimburse me for some of my out-of-pocket expenses.  I am entitled to recover damages to restore my yard and may seek additional relief as provide in the Texas consumer protection laws. 

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After detecting the odor of skunk for approximately four days, I contacted ABC Pest Control for a home inspection and professional advice. A Licensed Inspector was scheduled to check our premises. Upon his arrival he immediately commented that he could smell the strong odor of skunk in our home. My partner and I discussed our concerns about thinking that it was living somewhere on our premises. He told us that it was very doubtful that it was living anywhere in near our home. But that it was just passing through both day and night. We attempted to show him the area where we thought he should check, but he said it was not necessary. Instead, he offered us a contract for trapping. Reluctantly, we agreed to a trapping service for three days. He made a call to the office and let someone know that the service was imminent. We were quoted a price of $297.69 and we provided our credit card information for the charges. The next day, a Technician arrived at our home with the traps. Before, placing the traps we asked him to check the premises and a specific area of the house. It was then that our suspicions were confirmed; there was a skunk wedged between the exterior walls in the front of the house. The Technician was at a loss as to what to do. He was able to chip a part of the concrete, but could not extract the (dead) animal. He did not call his supervisor or the Inspector whom we contracted the services from initially. He pulled the animals tail out, but said he could not remove it. At that point, he shoved the tail back between the walls and sealed the opening with a hardening foam. He handed us some deodorizing bags and informed us that we could expect the smell of the decomposing skunk would only get worse and we should buy plenty of air freshener's. In addition, he mentioned that we would probably start to have flies in and around the area. I told him that I was going to contact the Inspector who refused to check the premises and doubted what he suspected. Because a diligent inspection would have revealed the dead animal and services for removal would have been the proper course of action, instead of just pecuniary interest. He said that he would notify the Inspector and his Supervisor. But he never did, I had to make some follow-up calls and inform the of the situation. My calls for help were not given any priority, until I spoke to someone in customer service. Someone did come by and remove the dead animal, but by this point not all the carcass was removed and the smell was unbearable. It was necessary to hire a professional cleaning and restoration company. Our home environment was restricted and potentially bio-hazard. As a result, it became necessary to seek lodging for eight days.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of expenses

Business Response: This complaint does not belong to ******** **** *** **** ******** ** ******.  It is an ABC Home and Commercial Services complaint out of *** *******.

Business Response: Once the original diagnosis by the inspector was determined to have missed the already dead skunk carcass, ABC voided the agreement and no money was collected.  An ABC Supervisor met with the homeowner after speaking to the treating technician. The technician had previously provided her with odor control products, at no charge, until a solution could be determined. A skunk had managed to enter below the slab of the home, because of the slab shifting the opening closed trapping the animal beneath the slab where it had died. Upon the Supervisor’s inspection, it was determined that the opening around the slab had closed down to about 3/4 inch. The ABC Supervisor explained to the homeowner that to remove the dead animal would require foundation demolition which would be extensive and expensive. He further informed her that approximately 8 feet on the right hand side of her home had shifted along a cold joint spanning the entire depth of her home, and the drop was 2 to 3 inches. The ABC Supervisor explained that if the foundation was opened for retrieval it would likely cause further damage to the slab and he offered to remove as much of the dead animal as possible, through the small opening. Using a tool, he was able to remove about 75% of the carcass, including the scent gland. An aerosol deodorizer was placed into the opening and closed off with surrounding dirt. ABC, also supplied her with odor control products to use on the interior of her home, letting her know that odors can linger even after the removal of the source.  

All work and materials were performed at no charge to the homeowner, despite the fact that the skunk was dead prior to ABC’s initial visit.  Since the skunk was dead prior to ABC’s arrival and did not die as a result of ABC procedures or practices, and ABC did provide service to alleviate the homeowners unpleasant situation at no charge, ABC does not feel it owes further/additional compensation to the customer.

Consumer Response: On May **, 2013, ABC Pest Control’s Licensed Inspector (*** *******) came to our home to inspect the premises at our request because we suspected that a skunk was living on our premises. We told him there was a crack on the concrete exterior wall and asked that he take a look there and in the attic. But, he stated that it was not necessary because skunks do not crawl upwards and he could assure us that it was not in the attic. As far as the crack on the wall he said that the opening was not wide
enough for an animal that size to enter. He did not inspect the area, but instead recommended that we contract a three day trapping service for $275 (plus tax). If the animal was not trapped the cost would be an additional $45.00 per day.  In response to the company’s statement that the agreement was voided:We provided our credit card information and were told that charges would not be applied on our credit card until the end of three days or if we decided to keep the traps and for any additional
days once the job was completed.    
 
On May **, 2013, a Technician (**** *****) came by to set the traps. Before setting them, we told him that the “Inspector” refused to look at the area where we suspected the skunk may have entered and asked if he would “humor us” and take a look. He took his flashlight and took a look. He then confirmed that there was an animal trapped between the walls. He put on his gloves and attempted to take it out, but was unable to do it. He asked to borrow some tools to excavate the soil.  He was
then able to pull the tail out.  He told us that the animal was fat and too large to extract. We asked him for options and he said that he could try digging a deeper hole, but it could also be necessary to chip some of the concrete and he did not want to damage the structure. We informed him that we were having foundation repairs and digging a hole or chipping that part of the wall to remove the dead animal was permissible. We told him that if he was not comfortable with that, then he should call a Supervisor. He said he had a better idea and he went to his truck and brought some type of spray. He proceed to shove the tail back in and sprayed the opening. The spray
turned into  a hardening foam and the opening was sealed. He advised us that the smell was going to get worse for a few days and provided us with deodorizing bags. He told us that he would let the Inspector know that he had misdiagnosed the situation, notify his Supervisor and someone would follow-up with us.  But, after numerous calls to the company to inform them of the situation, I spoke to the Inspector and he was unaware of the outcome.  In response to determining a misdiagnosis it took several
calls from me to let them know.  In their statement the company also failed to mention that the Technician gave us deodorizing bags because his actions only exacerbated the situation. In response to the idea that no money was collected **** ***** was paid cash.  

In response to the animal being dead I have no proof or idea when the animal died. I believe with great certainty that when the Technician tried to remove the animal it was swollen because it was beginning to decompose, I doubt that  the slab shifted and closed.  Although, the damage to the structure  did exist the Supervisor never discussed the issues with us. No aerosol deodorizer was used, it was some type of temporary sealant. The scent gland was actually removed by a professional mitigating company. 

ABC Pest Control did not provide service to alleviate  the situation, they made matters worse,  if  they had assessed and handled the situation properly they might have determined  that this was not a job that they could handle and they could have notified me. 

ABC advertisements and website promotes various lawn care and pest control service and there is a side note from CEO, ***** *******, stating his commitment to customer satisfaction encouraging dissatisfied customers to contact him directly. Yet, my letter of concern has gone unanswered. 

****** ** *****
************

Business Response: ABC Home & Commercial Services stands by our previous explanations and statements.  We will gladly reimburse the the customer for the money she paid to ABC, if she will provide us with proof of payment.

Consumer Response: I have read the latest response from ABC Pest Controls’ representative. First of all, as I previously indicated to Mr. ***** on our telephone conversation of October **, 2013; **** ***** was paid cash.

Secondly, the amount that we paid does not began to cover the extensive amount of expenses that were incurred as a result of the actions taken by their less than
competent employee. We hired ABC for their claimed expertise. Therefore, it remains unclear to me why instead of removing the dead skunk, the company is satisfied with having sealed the dead skunk into the structure. We were experiencing triple degree temperature's which worsen the pungent odor. After deciding to seal the dead animal the technician could have placed a screen or mesh, or told us that we needed to call someone else to do the job.

Thirdly, Mr. ***** called and informed me that “they” were not aware that **** ***** had been paid and I suggested that he confirm this information with him. But, he told me that he is no longer an employee of their company. Therefore, unless he can produce Mr. *****, it’s even moot to ask me for proof. I am unfamiliar with consumer law, but it appears to me that ABC is relying on my ability of proving payment.  Maybe the fact that the original charges were cancelled prohibits me from pursuing legal action. I don’t know.

Fourthly, when Mr. ***** asked how much I would be willing to accept for compensation I informed him of the fact that our entire house had to be professionally restored and mitigated, when bleach and other disinfectors were not enough. The  carpet and curtains had to be removed. Contents were either replaced or destroyed.  We had to seek food and lodging elsewhere. We lost use of that room.  And, now he wants proof of payment. I don’t understand why he asked how much it would take to compensate us, if they have no intentions of paying for the damages. I value my time and my money. I’ve already lost a lot of money because of them. Now, they further insult me by wasting my time.

Fifthly, on their website, where ABC Home and Commercial Services provides information about  their “professional” services they also have invaluable information about Rodent Contamination.

It indicates that rodent-borne diseases can spread to humans through various ways, which include breathing in germs. In addition, ABC Pest should consider amending  their website which shows Mr. ***** *******’ personal commitment to customer satisfaction indicating that consumer’s can  contact him directly (please see attachment). The mishandling and neglect to follow-up with a better course of action from the very beginning is what brings us to this stage. The embellishment
on their response to the Better Business Bureau is indicative of the misleading way that this company performs.     

This incident occurred six months ago. And, these last few weeks is the most contact that I have received from their company. Therefore, I have no regret that I contacted the Better Business Bureau for assistance. 

BBB representative~ I believe that other consumers should be made aware of ABC Pest Controls’ manner in which they wrongfully represent their expertise and concern for customers satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up in April, started in may. They did one round and finshed the next week. In June we had an outbreak of one type of bug and called to see if they could come out. They scheduled and and called while I was outside. I called right back and they could not come. They would come out on the original schedule date of july ***. That day came and went, I called and they said mix up and would come the following tuesday. That came and went and said opps wrong info, it is next week. Give us an email for confirmation. I said no, why not call. I want this cleared up. I ended up spraying myself to get rid of the 19 scorpions that were in the house. I thought it was their job.

Desired Settlement: Since they are not able to keep the dates and all they can say is sorry, I do not beleive it will get any better. I want out of the contract.

Business Response: We have spoken with the customer and we have a technician scheduled to be at their home today - 7/**/13.  It is our belief that the customer is satisfied at this point and as long as the service today goes to their satisfaction, they are no longer seeking cancellation of the contract.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Communication issuses, rude, argumentative, insulting the customer, falsely accused customer of not being able to please.

Desired Settlement: Apology, take responsibility for their unacceptable actions towards customer, do the job acceptable to customer satisfaction.

Business Response: We truly apologize for any inconvenience and communications issues and we attempted to satisfy the customer per the terms of the pest control agreement.  However, it appears as if Mrs. ***** has cancelled service and I'm not sure how she'd like us to proceed.  Again, we apologize for the communication issues.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I have done business with ABC Home and Commercial Services for 2 years. When we initially contacted them we stated we would like a years service for our lawn. We paid for the service upfront and were satisfied. At the end of the first year we got a bill stating we owed for next year. We specifically called them and stated we did not want a quarterly renewable contract and said could we simply have a years worth of service and pay for it up front. The rep told us that would be fine and sent us a different bill for the yearly amount. The rep never told me or my husband that the contract automatically renews and we thought because we stated we did not want such a contract that we have a year contract and everything was fine. We paid again upfront on May 9th of 2012 for what we thought was a years service. In April (the start of April2013) ABC performed another service at our house. The representative did not once mention this was a new contract, in fact it appeared to be part of the end of the year we had paid for. A few weeks later we got a bill. my husband called and asked about it, was on the phone for 15 min. The Representative stated they dint now what the bill was for and someone would return his call. The never returned his call. Another bill has arrived and this time my husband called and was told that we signed a contract that auto renews and that we have to call prior and cancel it. They seem prepared to continue and try to collect this. We specifically told them we did not want such a contract, or billing history supports this as we have never made a quarterly payment ever. We have made 2 payments to them both for 1 years worth of service. We feel that this type of business practice of tell the customer one thing and then bury the auto renewing wordage in small print even after the customer specifically says that's not what they want is unfair business practices.

Desired Settlement: We want the bill cancelled. Had the representative told us this was for a new contract(period) there is no way myself or my husband would have accepted the work. We have already cancelled the service so no more bills should be coming. My husband is unemployed and we are trying to stretch our dollars. Since he is home he is managing the lawn himself. There is no way he knowingly signed for a continued service knowing those 2 facts.

Business Response: We thank the ******** for their past patronage of ABC and we wish them good luck in the future.

In regards to the complaint, we apologize for the inconvenience and have in fact cancelled the Lawn Service contract.  Their account reflects a zero balance and they will not receive any future invoices.  We appreciate the ******** comments about the "automatic renewal" language not being stated clearly and will change that on the next set of contracts we order.  That particular language has always been in place before on the contracts and in recent past updates & changes to the language in the contracts, that particular language was accidentally omitted.

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them because we just moved from Las Vegas to Round Rock, unfortunately the house we rented had been vacant for some time and had quite a few spiders and different kinds of bugs along with wasps outside... anyway to make a long story short I contacted them because we needed to get rid all the spiders in house immediately. They sent out a sales rep who hurried through the sales pitch and was more interested in my pets than providing me detailed information about the service. The next day the pest control guy came out and did his thing in and outside of the house (which only took about an hour to do everything they charged me for??). One thing that concerned me is that I have pets and he sprayed for fleas (that’s what the service report stated). He should have let me know that he was going to do this, mainly because I have a dog and the sales rep stated that the chemicals used to take care of the fleas are harmful. The dog didn't sick which made me think, did he really spray for fleas?? Also, I signed up for the landscaping under the pretense that the shrubs would be trimmed (small yard so it shouldn't take long) when the lawn was mowed. When the guys showed up and mowed the lawn (which didn't need it) they didn't trim the bushes... I went out and they called their manager, he informed me at that point that wasn't part of the package. Well when I was talking to the sales rep I asked him at least three time, if the trimming was part of the package and he said yes. Obviously I should have taken the time to really scrutinize the contract instead of taking the sales reps word for it. Why would I pay $70 to have someone come and mow my lawn every other week??? The yard is small! Needless-to-say POOR POOR service from their sales as well as their customer service. I tried to get a refund as they charged me around $270 and was will to take a small refund and they refused. I told the customer rep… “think about it, why would anyone pay $70 to get their lawn mowed!!” I'm so frustrated with them, not a good way to welcome some new into the community. I will definitely be posting everywhere I can about their service.

Desired Settlement: I asked them for a fulll refund and then asked them to bill me for the services they actually provided. They didn't want to do anything, no refund at all. I said ok, well I realize that some service was done, but I know I should have been charged $270 plus for what I did get. I suggested that they refund me a protion of it. I called the customer service/accounting dept and they put me on hold for over 10 minutes both time. The first time, when they came back on the line I was told they would call me back, they didn't so I called back again. I called back and they told they hadn't come to a decision and would call me back. They called me back but put me on hold for over 10 minutes again, finally I hung up and they didn't call me back with any type of resolution.

Business Response: We have the complaint and will be looking into the statements and facts of the incident.  We will respond after investigating.

Business Response: Company Response:

There are two issues referenced – one being Pest related and
the other being Lawn related.  I’ll
address them separately to reduce confusion and in a good faith attempt to
answer both, well.

Pest:

While the primary request may have been for spider relief,
the customer was offered and accepted, treatment for fleas.  It’s common to offer flea treatment when the
Pest Inspector notices the presence of pets in a home.  The service was properly noted on internal
paperwork and the treatment was performed by an experienced, licensed pest
specialist.  The specific treatment (for
fleas) when performed properly, should NOT result in sick pets.  The products used, when used in accordance
with the manufacturer’s written instructions, while resulting in the
elimination of fleas around the exterior of the home, should NOT cause pets to
become sick.  So, the belief that the pet
not being sick after the treatment equates to no treatment being performed, is
erroneous.  The report prepared by the
treating specialist has been reviewed and it is ABC’s belief that the treating
products and methodology were proper, and did in fact happen.  The fact that the pet never became sick is
not evidence of anything other than perhaps the application skill of the
specialist and the accuracy of the manufacturer’s instructions.

Lawn:

The Lawn Inspector prepared the mowing pricing (based on
square footage and type & amount of landscaping) and presented the written
proposal to the homeowner.  While
“trimming the bushes” may have been discussed, it was not reflected in the
pricing, nor did the homeowner pay for it. 
We very much regret the miscommunication and in order to show good
faith, ABC offers to return one time under the supervision of an ABC Manager
and trim bushes at no charge.




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Please have them contact me to set up a time to have the shrubs done and I would like to continue the pest control.


Regards,

****** *******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service