Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial pest and termite control, tree and lawn maintenance, landscaping, irrigation, pool cleaning and repair, window cleaning and power washing, appliance repair, A/C and heating, plumbing, electrical, and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABC Home & Commercial Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for ABC Home & Commercial Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on ABC Home & Commercial Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1951 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 01/04/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
http://www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner Mr. Mark Ambiose, Gen Mgr Mr. Les Stobart, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby Jenkins, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Les Stobart, Director of Marketing
Related Businesses
Chem-Free Organic Pest & Lawn Neal Air Conditioning LTD Termi-Mesh Systems
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Mosquito Control Window Cleaning Irrigation Consultants Lighting Systems & Equipment Lawn Installation Service Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Weed Control Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Electricians Gutter Cleaning Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Insulation Painting - Faux Finishing Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Water Heaters - Repairing Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Handyman Services Property Maintenance Switches - Electric Water Conservation Fuses - Electric Propane Gas Plumbing Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Water Heaters - Dealers Energy Conservation Products & Services Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Air Conditioning Repair Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls Christmas Lights & Decorations Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Insect Control Devices

Alternate Business Names
ABC Handyman Services ABC Pest & Lawn Services ABC Pest & Lawn Services of San Antonio, Inc. Pest Fog
Industry Tips
Advice on choosing a lawn care company Air conditioning repair tips Appliance repair tips Before You Build Your Home Choosing a pest control company Landscaping tips Lawn Care and Lawn Care Services Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor When to use a Pest Control Professional

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ABC Home & Commercial Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1010 College St

    Bastrop, TX 78602 (512) 308-1274

  • 10644 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 599-9500

  • 1424 Bonita St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78404

  • 1702 Fm 1431

    Marble Falls, TX 78654 (830) 598-4800

  • 202 S Austin Ave

    Georgetown, TX 78626 (512) 819-9140

  • 4202 State Highway 6 S

    College Station, TX 77845 (979) 361-0500

  • 9475 E Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78724 (512) 837-9500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were hired for the remodel of a commercial space for a restaurant, they did work without approval, they overcharged in almost every trade they did, it took them 5 more months to do the work and it was defective so I had to hire another company to finish the work, they did a fraudulent lein on the building and my company

Desired Settlement: I want from them, First to dismiss the lein, then to compensate all the loses the business have suffered because of the delay, the costs to repair their defective work, the lease payment we had to make without being open because of their delays, that the restaurant had to open without all the equipment needed because we had no money left to buy this items so the success has been very limited because of this.

Business Response: ABC stands by it's actions and intends to sue for non payment. That is why the lien is in place and will remain in place. ABC would be glad to share the associated documentation and records with the BBB, if the BBB seeks to gain a detailed understanding of the work and billing in question.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: In their invoices they are either ovebilling or fraudulent

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: ABC is happy to sit down with the party involved and BBB representatives, and have the BBB arbitrate the case. We're anxious to proceed as quickly as possible.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the pest control and termite service for our home. ABC came out twice over the span of 4 months and over the 4 months we did not have any better situation when it came to bugs. There were still roaches in our kitchen, silverfish in the laundry area and in the bathrooms, fire ants throughout the home, and spiders, one of which bit me and happened to be venomous. My calf swelled up where the spider had bit me and it was very painful. That happened in my bedroom. ABC is now asking me to pay around $277 for the services. I have made numerous attempts tell them what had happened over the 4 months that they were supposed to be controlling pests. They are still demanding that I pay for the services that were ineffective. I do not believe I should pay for services that were not effective. They were supposed to be controlling the bug situation and the sprays were supposed to keep them out. I have already paid for the termite portion of the treatment (over $500) but they still insist that I pay for ineffective services.

Desired Settlement: I want ABC to stop billing me for the amount of the ineffective services, cancel my services and write off the amount they say I owe.

Business Response: We offered to return as many times as was necessary to get any pest problem under control.  That's the guarantee we make to all customers.  Since we cannot guarantee that all pest control problems can be solved with one visit, we promise to return until the customer is satisfied and that any return visits are at no charge.  That protocol is fairly standard industry practice.  When the customer declined the offer of return visits, we credited the money back to the account. 

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted ABC to have a quote for repairs on a house in June of 2015 and received it. Contacted ABC today December 2nd to see if they can update the quote or redo the quote, **** ******* from ABC, said ABC will have to charge $175 for a quote. That was the one free lifetime quote, they won't come out again without charging.

Desired Settlement: Please advertise that any one is allowed one free quote and any after will be charge even though the 30day quote guarantee has passed on your websites and TV/radio advertising and to let employees tell their customers when visiting.

Business Response: While we certainly appreciate ** **** choosing ABC for an estimate on his home repairs, we’re not sure he’s being entirely reasonable in his request.
 
As per his description, ABC did provide a detailed estimate for work that ** **** described, back in June of 2015.  In the preparation of the original estimate, our estimator, **** *******, met with ** ***** looked the home over, took notes, asked questions pertinent to the project and then returned to the ABC office to work on the written estimate.  He prepared the estimate and emailed it to ** **** for his files.  In the preparation of the estimate, ** ******* spent the equivalent of one full day’s work – six hours on site & detailing the job estimate and another three hours in travel time to and from ** ****** home and the ABC office.  ABC and ** ******* undertook all these actions, even though when he was onsite, ** **** informed ** ******** he had no intention of having the work performed, he simply need a written estimate for a lawsuit he was involved in regarding the house.
 
Subsequently, ** **** contacted ABC again, and said that the estimate for the original scope of work needed to be expanded to include more work.  The best way to provide an accurate, revised estimate would be for ** ******* to visit the site a second time and spend additional hours amending the original estimate.  
 
The decision was made at that point that since ABC was being asked to perform as a consultant, as opposed to a contractor in the pursuit of a possible job, that at least some of ABC’s time be recouped.  Hence, the request for payment for preparation of the second (and possibly other) estimate.
 
While we regret ** ****** dissatisfaction, ABC stands behind our actions and those of ** ********

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got home from work and noticed that instead of removing loose grass that the lawn crew allowed or caused grass to blow all over my porch and siding of my house. The green grass stained the siding of my home. They also made ruts in yard when they came to mow on a wet and rainy day.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay to have siding professionally cleaned.

Business Response: My name is **** **** the division manager for ABC Home and Commercial services. I have spoken to Mrs. **** shortly after this issue arose and I offered to send our team back out to clean the area in question but she declined this offer. We understand the frustration caused by this much needed rainfall but it can make mowing difficult at best. We accept full responsibility for the clippings getting our her home and patio and would love the opportunity to clean these areas but will need the customers permission.

**** ****
Division Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had brought a groupon for ABC Lawn Service. The dispatcher claims of him calling multiple times. I dont see any missed calls nor voicemail. But i left couple of messages requesting for service and left voice messages. Finally he calls on wednesday 4/22/2015 and says he is on the way. I waited for few minutes and had to leave for another appointment. After 30 min, he shows up and ask for Groupon code and additional $20 for additional area before the service. My wife calls me and gets the groupon code and confirms if she can pay him. Once I confirmed, she paid the money and locks the door. Within 2 minutes she comes back to check if he has started service, He has disappeared without performing any service. I call the dispatcher next week and he claims that the service is complete. I asked him to come and check for which he asked me to pay him additional service fee. I told him if he prove that the service is done, i will pay him. SO instead of 3PM CST, he shows up at 12PM and my wife shows him the lawn. there is no trace of any fertilizers except for the place where his truck is parked where he was seen cleaning up him truck. My wife shows him entire lawn and he tells either he can reimburse the money or come back to perform. I have been calling him with no response. It does not look like he will refund nor do the service. Kindly take action against this scammers.

Desired Settlement: I need either for him to refund the money or come back to perform the service.

Business Response: We're not the "ABC" that offered the Groupon the person refers to.  It's this company - http://www.abclawnservices.com/.  We have no ownership or anything to do with this company. 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/29/2015 To Whom It Might Concern In mid April 2015 I’ve contacted ABC Home & Commercial Services, because I needed multiple services offered by this company, and I thought it would be more convenient to choose a single provider and have them all under the same umbrella. I) Pest Service 1) First I’ve contacted the rodent department because I had the suspicion that I had rodents in the attic which I clearly specified to the operator. The inspector Lori shoed up without a ladder, which I had to borrow from I neighbor and carry it myself to the attic access. The inspector climbed on the ladder, opened the attic access, didn’t go in the attic, but claimed that the visual inspection from the entrance to the attic is sufficient to establish that they’re no rodents in the attic. Also, after completing the inspection around the house, the inspector suggested a pest service which I accepted and paid in advance for. The inspector also told me there are some lose soffit vents that could be a pest hazard, but the technician hired for the pest service WILL GO IN THE ATTIC AND FIX THE PROBLEM. 2) On 4/25/2015 at 8 AM, the pest technician showed up with a pump and house with a nozzle, to pulverize insecticide in and around the house. Since he also showed up without the ladder, I asked him if he would go in the attic to take care of the vent problem, and he answered he doesn’t know anything about this issue. I told him to contact the inspector, which it turned out was out of town at that time, so the technician left without doing anything, saying he was not prepared for this kind of job, and that an appropriate person will take care of this. 3) On 4/28/2015 the inspector Lori called me, inquiring about the pest service not provided, and I quoted her promise that the pest technician will fix the vent problem, which he didn’t do it, and I still expected this service to be provided as promised. The inspector didn’t easily admit that she promised that the PEST technician will seal the vents, stating this time that this type of service is provided only by rodent department, but she will contact her management for a final decision in this case. 4) Finally, on 4/29/15, she called me again, saying that her management disagreed to provide the vent sealing service, unless I would hire the rodent service. I would like to reiterate that the vent sealing job was initially offered to me by the inspector Lori, as part of the pest service, and they broke and came back on their promise, which is unacceptable for a serious business. II) Lawn Service I also asked the inspector Lori about lawn service, and she suggested I contact the appropriate department which I did. I requested some information about the sprinkling system, and whirlpool, and I was told that the lawn inspector will be capable to advise. On 4/25/2015 at 9 AM the lawn inspector Jo showed up, and I told him that I need mowing, edging, bagging and grass removal, and I believe also weed treatment. A asked about sprinkling system and he said he doesn’t know anything about this, and for the whirlpool there is an appropriate department in the company that could be hired for that purpose. For the services I asked, he quoted an absolutely preposterous price of around $625 for a medium sized yard and front yard. After I obviously refused, he left without saying a word. The job was done later by another company with $163. I am extremely displeased with the services provided by ABC Home and Commercial services. I wasted my time staying at home for the appointments, nothing was accomplished, no promise was kept, no job was done, a complete waste of time for me. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Fulfill the initial agreement.

Business Response: We've had extensive conversations with the homeowner and we believe we've come up with solutions and agreements to satisfy the homeowner.  We're scheduled to perform work at their home on Saturday 5/2 and believe that work will lead to to customer being satisfied.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a one year agreement with ABC for Rodent Stand Alone Agreement for EOM baiting signed 8/19/2014. I have called ABC four times and have been told someone would call me back. I have not heard from anyone. I continue to have rodents in walls and attic and no one has ever come by to bait the traps. I paid extra for this service and they have not honored this agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology and a refund for the Rodent Stand Alone Baiting.

Business Response: We regret the inconvenience the customer experienced and apologize for the difficulties in communication.  We have credited the remaining balance of the customer's account and there is no money owed.

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a cancellation of services from the local office in ****** ******* since July 2014. I have contacted the local office as well as the Austin office numerous times to notify them of this cancellation and request that they stop contacting me and scheduling service without my authorization, but I keep getting harassing calls, emails and mailings saying that they've scheduled service and I have to constantly keep calling to cancel same. I specifically requested to be put on the DoNotCall list and they have not honored it. I had to block their number from my phone, but the emails and postcard mailings continue. I had quarterly services at 2 locations and ever since the company was bought out by a different one, I started having problems with communication, therefore, I cancelled my service.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop harassing me and stop ALL contact.

Business Response: We have taken the steps Ms ******** has requested and all pest control services (including termite service) have been cancelled.  We regret and apologize for the inconvenience caused to Ms ******** from the communication and scheduling issues that have arisen as we've merged the vastly different operating systems of ABC and the previous ownership of that office.

11/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late October of 2013 we experienced a pvc pipe breaking on the water line from our well to the house. We called ABC for a plumber, told plumber before he arrived of the problem and the size of the pipe so he could bring it with him. Plumber arrives and states he has to drive to ********** (20 miles away) to get PVC pipe??? Plumber returns and makes the repair-replacing a apx. 12 inch section of PVC pipe. Plumber presents me a bill for close to $1000-I immediately told him that amount was plainly excessive even though this was an evening call. When I called for the service I was told it would be a after hours charge of $150-no problem. I estimated the time of the repair to take no more that an hour and the total bill would be around $300 to $350 high side!!! I stated to the plumber that this amount was really excessive-since I was going to be billed for the repair I told myself that I would take up the matter with his supervisor when billed. I went to bed-less than an hour later got up for a drink of water-no water-discovered the pipe the plumber had repaired had come apart where it was glued.Next day had another service come out to re-repair.Never received a bill from ABC for the plumbing-I am a regular customer for pest control and received and paid those bills.ABC supervisor called me much later-told him the story and faxed him my invoice-he stated he would make it right and send me an invoice-never did.Later another ABC person calls unaware of the previous conversation-faxed her same info-she says she will fix it and invoice me-never did.

Desired Settlement: On 10/21/14 almost a year later I am contacted by a COLLECTION AGENCY!!!! I am a regular pest control customer and I am invoiced and pay when invoiced-further I have been a customer for close to ten years-ABC did work for me -plumbing and pest control at a rental property I had. At one point I had them do termite treatment on rental property.They came out and did numerous drilling into the slab-all of the sudden I have a water pipe break in the slab??I am told the slab shifted??I paid them over $1000 to fix it because I could not prove they caused the break. I am just telling that story to illustrate my loyality to this business and my character -I meet my obligations. I told ABC both times I spoke with their people I had no problem paying the $150 after hours fee for the well repair-even though the plumber's repair lasted about one hour. The collection agency ABC has employed threatened to damage my credit rating- so I was forced to agree to a settlement of $650 or damage my credit rating of 750. I want ABC to release me from this settlement and agree to a settlement of $150-Since they repaired nothing I believe this is more than a fair settlement.

Business Response: ABC was contacted on the evening of October 29 and we dispatched our plumber who was on-call at around 7:30 PM.  Our plumber, ****** ******, then called Mr. ***** to confirm the scope of repair.  During the phone call, Mr. ***** told him that a 1” PVC pipe was broken on his well pump assembly. On all ABC plumbing vehicles, 1” pipe and fittings are the largest carried in our standard truck stock. Upon arrival, ******, discovered that there were actually two 1¼“ pipes in need of repair.  That necessitated a trip to the closest supply facility that was open.  In this case, Home Depot.  Mrs. ***** was made aware of the total anticipated charges for this job, in writing, on a service form.  Included on the service form were line items detailing the cost of the parts trip and the after-hours fee.  The service form listing all the total expected costs was signed by Mrs. *****, in advance of all work.
?  
The repairs were completed and the appropriate amount of cure time was given for the PVC cement to seal and hold the repaired pipes.  Importantly, it was also noted on the service form in writing that an oil leak had been occurring at the well pump, and that there was a possibility that the pump itself had problems that should be addressed. Mrs. ***** re-signed our service invoice which still included the total detailed charges from before the work began.  It was in the amount of $1101.29.
Mr. ***** indicates that the repair failed later the same night and that a different service company was called the next day.  We asked Mr. ***** to send us a copy of the invoice from the other company (Alpine Water Well Service).  Reading of the invoice indicates the pump and several other parts were replaced by them.  This was work that was not part of the scope of work ABC completed, but it is the same pump that was noted on the original ABC service form that referred to the pump as needing “to be anchored down” and “noticed oil around pump house in grass and also oil inside the pump house.”  In other words, the work performed by the second company was for a completely different scope of work from what ABC had been asked to repair.  As to the alleged “failure” of the pipes, we can’t answer to that since we were not given the opportunity to re-examine the repairs and if necessary, make it good under our standard warranty, which would have resulted in no additional charges to the *****’.

However, after Mr ***** called to question the service form (which his wife had signed twice) we had our Plumbing Service Manager undertake a review of the service call, and in the spirit of good customer service because of the existing customer relationship, he agreed to make an adjustment and reduced the total amount to $881.29.
?
We made numerous attempts to contact Mr. ***** by phone and left voice mail messages to offer reduced price.  Additionally, ABC sent monthly statements that reflected that reduction and no response or payment was received from Mr. or Mrs. *****.  ABC also sent a letter on 02/13/2014 indicating that the account would be sent to collections due to non-payment.

While we regret the dissatisfaction of a longtime valued customer, we stand by our original work, subsequently reduced price, and still wish to be paid in full by the ***** family.

3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC Home & Commercial Services was contacted my me (***** *****) on May 23, 2013 to have them get rid of squirrel's in my attic. They came placed traps only to pick them up the very next day without catching any of the squirrels. I ask them to leave the traps in place, because they didn't catch any squirrels, The tech stated he couldn't that I had to call the office, I call the office to have them come out and replace the traps and the did, only to come back the next day to remove the traps again. I ask the tech why was he taking the traps when there wasn't anything in them. He said call the office again so I did and the same thing happened no squirrels were ever caught. No trap were place so squirrels could get out and not be able the get back in. The problem was never resolved by ABC Home Commercial Services. I had paid them $255.50 the amount charged was $511.00 and still had the problem with the squirrels in my attic. They are trying to get paid for a job not done. Thank you, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount I have paid $255.50 to ABC Home & Commercial Services for not doing the job they were suppose to do. Remove the squirrels. Thank you, ***** *****

Business Response: ABC did in fact propose Rodent Removal (specifically, squirrels) service to Ms. ***** and the total amount of the service was $511.00.  This was in May of 2013.  As per our normal business practices, we asked for half of the money upon finalizing the agreement, with the other half to come a time of actual service.  It is very important to understand that with the service program Ms. ***** selected, there is a one year warranty with it.  Meaning, as long as the account is fully paid, ABC will come out as many times as necessary, at no additional charge to a customer, to ensure no rodents or wildlife are entering the structure.  Additionally, Ms. ***** was informed at time of initial consultation that she could elect to also have an ongoing pest control plan to provide coverage for crawling insects – roaches, ants, etc.  She declined that opportunity.  
In June, a number of traps were placed inside the home in the attic and the entrance points into the attic were sealed.  This is normal practice and encompasses preventing animals from further entering the structure and capturing any that may be in the structure when the “sealing” occurs.  Since squirrels typically leave the structure in the morning and return in the evening, it’s not uncommon for them (unlike other rodents and wildlife) to be out of the structure when it’s sealed.  It’s specifically for that reason that it’s not a certainty that there will ever be animals caught in the traps.   The traps were left for the prescribed time (three days of being armed) and removed after approximately three days of being armed.  No animals were captured.
After that, we began to attempt the remaining balance owed by Ms *****, for the sealing and attempted trapping.  It is worth nothing that the customer also requested that we treat for ants, even though that service was not ever contracted or paid for.  As a courtesy, since we were working with her on the squirrel issue, we did a one time, free, fire ant baiting service in the yard.  However, Ms. ***** never paid the remainder of the balance, despite ABC attempting to collect that balance for approximately 6 months.  As we have repeatedly told Ms *****, if she will pay the remaining, originally agreed upon amount, we will continue to provide warranty service including checking the sealing and reintroducing traps to the home if believed necessary.


12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with ABC Home and Commercial Services in late December 2012 for services including pest control, rodent elimination, and lawn enrichment. The services I am complaining about relate to lawn care only and are stated in the contract as "Turf Enrichment" Provides 4 services of soil amendments to optimize turf health and 1 core aeration service annually to reduce soil compaction to turf area; one irrigation check of the controller and inspection and adjustment of the nozzles." [Note that we do not have an irrigation system so this last "service" was mistakenly in the contract.] On January 11, 2013, an ABC employee "applied granular fertilizer to lawn front and back." On April 12, 2013, an ABC employee applied "22 gal *******, 22 gal *****, 22 gal ******** ******, and 22 gal ******." At the time, I did not review the service report. Since my yard is not primarily St. Augustine or Bermuda, the ***** killed all of my grasses and wildflowers. By mid-May, I noticed that my wildflowers and grass were dying. **** ****, the ABC supervisor, acknowledged that herbicides were wrongfully applied to the yard. He agreed to refund me the money I paid for the lawn services and to refund me for the cost of soil and seed that I had to purchase to rehabilitate my yard. I was not able to reestablish the yard in the summer and brought in soil and seed in August. My inquiry to the Travis County Extension Agent resulted in advice to apply 2 inches of soil to act as a buffer as new seed is established. The heavy rains in September and October eroded the yard, and I had to purchase two pallets of sod to prevent further damage. The yard is "checker-boarded" and still has a long way to go to return to its state before ABC poisoned it. I requested to settle the matter for my out-of-pocket costs to date for soil, seed, and sod in the amount of $2,910.93. This offer of settlement was refused.

Desired Settlement: Payment for my out-of-pocket expenses of $2,910.93 for seed, soil, and sod (not included are increased water bills, personal labor in sodding the yard, cleaning up the erosion, and loss of enjoyment of my front and back lawns).

Business Response: While ABC does acknowledge the original error resulted in the lawn being harmed, at no time did ABC agree to cover the cost of 24 yards of soil or new turf.  ABC is still willing to help cover related expenses and our offer to issue you a check in the amount of $308.02 for the items we detailed in our earlier communications, is still valid.  Also as a sign of good will, we agree to put forward an extra $191.98 to defray a portion of the turf costs, and to bring the total cash compensation to an even $500.00.   Since we were not given the opportunity to discuss or have input into the appropriateness of the sod & dirt project in advance, we will not agree to pay in full for it.  Additionally, ABC did offer to reseed and add soil to these areas during our earlier communications, and you declined.
 
It is also worth noting that ABC has already issued you credits of $366.46 for cancellation of contracted services and $100.00 for water bill assistance.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The actions of ABC Lawn Service were grossly negligent.  The service technician breached the contract by applying an herbicide that was not contracted for.  Furthermore, the technician showed that he had no knowledge of the vegetation in the yard.  The product he applied was an herbicide designed to kill weeds in turf lawns of St. Augustine and Bermuda.  I did not trust ABC Lawn Service to restore my yard since it had shown no expertise in lawn management.  I filed this complaint to provide ABC an additional opportunity to settle this complaint outside of court.  I only asked them to reimburse me for some of my out-of-pocket expenses.  I am entitled to recover damages to restore my yard and may seek additional relief as provide in the Texas consumer protection laws. 

Regards,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on ABC Home & Commercial Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart