Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gary's Pool and Patio

Find a Location

Phone: (210) 494-5002 Fax: (210) 494-8145 View Additional Phone Numbers 13800 San Pedro Ave Ste 2, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.garyspoolandpatio.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pools, spas, supplies and pool furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary's Pool and Patio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gary's Pool and Patio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Gary's Pool and Patio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 11/26/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Zars, Owner Mrs. Pat Carter, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Pat Carter, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary Zars, Owner
Related Businesses
Fiberglass Pools of Texas
Business Category

Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Gary Zars Pool & Patio, LLC
Industry Tips
Lawn Care and Lawn Care Services Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gary's Pool and Patio has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13800 San Pedro Ave Ste 2

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-5002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1211 E Expressway 83

    Donna , TX 78537

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed an in ground pool on 3/22/16. They had to file a water drainage plan in order to get a Pool permit from the town of Portland. Well the drainage plan did not drain the rain water properly. The problem is they had to raise my pool two and 1/2 feet to be level with the highest part of my yard. When it rains the water drains from around the pool , flows onto my patio and floods my garage. My Wife & I are both disabled and cant deal with this flood issue. When they submitted a drainage plan they should have added drainage pipe to channel the water away from the home

Desired Settlement: I would like them to get the rain water to drain away from my home. I didn't have this issue like this until the pool was installed and the drainage plan should have never let this become an issue

Business Response: The owner has contacted the customers deck contractor and he will be meeting with the customer Thanks ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They did install the drains pipes. We will be getting storms over the next several days and that will determined if this will solve the issue. I also have 3 cracks along the 3 foot cement walkway around the pool. One crack goes from the inside of the pool across to the outside,crack 2 goes from the inside to the skimmer cover, crack 3 runs from the outside half way to the inside. I need these repaired the walkway was part off the pool purchase

Regards,

****** **********

Business Response:  FROM WHAT I WAS TOLD THE CUSTOMERS DECK CONTRACTOR HAS GONE OUT TO DO THE DRAINAGE FOR HIM I WILL TRY AND CONTACT HIM TODAY AND GET AN UP DATE THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They did come out and install two drainage grates and connected them to an existing drainage pipe they discovered in the ground. The pipe had a cap on the end so it was removed and the new pipe was connected to it. It rained hard and the garaged flooded again. I watch the rain in go into the grates but after a while the grates overflowed and water enter the garage. The existing pipe in the ground could have a cap on the other end so when it filled up with water it cause the flood. I spoke to the person who installed the drain and she said she will come back and disconnect the new pipes from the old pipe and conect to a new pipe that will drain into my ally way. She also told me that ****** ***** will be coming out to repair the 3 cracks in the walkway around the pool. Its bben about a week since I spoke to her so I dont know whats going on. 

Regards,

****** **********

7/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I could have chosen several of the options for the nature of this complaint as I have had been lied to, had bad customer service, and poor workmanship since day one with this company. Now I have a guarantee or warranty issue and once again I've been lied to and kept waiting for answers and return calls that seldom were received. I have tried working directly with Gary's Pools, but after so many lies and no follow-through on their part, I'm no longer willing to continue without filing this complaint. After all the issues I've had with them in the past, now I have a crack in my pool that I want fixed properly. I reported it to ****** ******** and he came out to look at it. I sent a picture him as he requested. Then I just kept waiting for a answer. Weeks kept going by. One time ****** told me he asked about this at the office and found out no one had ever written a work order for it, so he said he wrote it out right then. We continued to wait. I asked for status several times. I even called the regional manager Freddie, and each time I was told they were waiting to hear from Viking to see what they were going to do. ******* finally sent someone to fill in the crack with some white putty in case water was leaking through the crack. We waited several weeks more. I called ******* again and left a message which was never returned. Eventually my husband got a call from someone at Gary's Pools and the guy told him that Viking refused to fix it. He suggested that the pool is OK with the white putty or that we could hire someone to repair it properly. My husband told him this is unacceptable and said they need to do something about this. A few days later I called the office and spoke to another new guy I had never spoke to before named *****. I told him someone called my husband and told him Viking said they wouldn't fix it and I wanted to know why. He couldn't give me any exact answer and said he would call Freddie. I told him ******* had not return my call from over a week before. He called me back and he mentioned possible ground settlement. He asked if I had contacted Viking. I told him I had just recently written to them via their website and just got an email back from someone wanting pictures. He suggested I call them. So, I called them and I found out that they had no record of any work order or contact about my pool. The guy I am dealing with knew about Gary Pools and there turn-over issues, even knew ****** ******** by name. He checked everywhere to see if there was any contact about my pool anywhere, and found noting. This did not surprise me one bit after all the lies I've been told by this place. I have now sent some pictures to Viking and will see what they say. However, I was already told that if they determine the crack is from poor installation or ground settlement, which he said shouldn't be a problem so soon for my pool which is now right about 1 year old, that this would not be a warrant issue for Viking, but for Gary Pools. I truly believe this crack is because of the poor workmanship on the part of their employees, who for the most part during my install were all inexperienced and didn't care if they did the job right or not. The ones that did care and tried to do the right thing would get in trouble by the company. I heard this from employees on the job and from ones that left the company. I told ****** and other workers my concerns with the sand not being packed very good, about the landscaping rock from my yard being mixed in with the sand that they back-filled the pool with, and after water was added to the pool and we finally got to get into it, you can feel and hear a hollow area in the floor of the pool which I mentioned to Darren. He assured me the pool was fine because he is the one that was there during the install. Viking sent me instructions on what to do before draining a fiberglass pool and about repairing them. They said the pool will need to be drained for them to come inspect the crack. This information also said fixing something like this could cost $6000 to $8000. I cannot personally do what is needed to drain this pool for them to inspect it. Right now I've sent the pictures to Viking and the man I spoke to said he was going to be contacting Gary's Pools. I'm now waiting to hear from Viking and/or Gary's Pools to see who is going to fix this. I already know from my experiences with Gary's Pools that I can't believe anything they tell me until I see it get done and this is too big of an issue to sit back and wait for them any longer.

Desired Settlement: I want this pool fixed correctly and the fiberglass repaired to the same color as the rest of my pool, which is blue. I want Gary's Pools to take care of the draining of the pool along with the repairs and I want it done timely. Viking says a repair job can be done in a couple of days. Not weeks or months, which I am already anticipating from Garys if they do anything at all. If they don't, I will be contacting my attorney. I did not pay this much for a pool to have this happen at all, let-alone within the first year.

Business Response:

WE ARE CHECKING ON THE CUSTOMERS COMPLAINT IT SEEMS THE FILE THEY WERE LOOKING AT WAS FOR A CUSTOMER THAT WAS OVER 8 YEARS OLD WE DID HAVE SOME ONE THAT WAS NEW AND

HE DID NOT UNDERSTAND THE PROCESS. I SPOKE WITH VIKING THEY ARE WAITING ON A FORM TO BE FILLED OUT SO THAT THEY CAN PROCESS THE REQUEST WE WILL FILL IT OUT TODAY FOR THE CUSTOMER THEY HAVE THE PICTURES ALREADY THAT ARE NEEDED. THEY WERE CORRECT TO PUT THE 2 PART EPOXY SO THAT THE LEAK WOULD STOP. THERE HAS BEEN QUITE A BIT OF GROUND MOVEMENT DUE TO THE WEATHER. IT IS ALSO ADVISABLE NOT TO DRAIN A POOL TILL IT DRIES OUT SO THAT WE DO NOT HAVE UNDER GROUND WATER. I SPOKE WITH VIKING AND THEY WILL GET WITH THE CUSTOMER AFTER THEY RECEIVE THE FORMS TODAY TO SEE WHEN THEY CAN SET UP FOR SOME ONE TO GO OUT.  WE WILL ALSO CONTACT THE CUSTOMER TO GO OVER THIS .THANKS *** 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They cannot just assume and say this was from ground movement and I see this as a setup to push the responsibility on me. We have not had any water sitting or puddling around the pool. They have not inspected the ground and do not know that this is what caused this and I know Viking will not cover the repair if it happened because of this reason. Gary's Pools was advised of our concerns about the workmanship on the backfilling among other things during the install. I do not want this complaint closed until this has been fully resolved. I know how slow they are to finish anything and always have many excuses for the delays. 


Regards,

***** ***

Business Response: WHEN I SENT THE FIRST RESPONSE I DID NOT SAY THAT VIKING WAS NOT GOING TO REPAIR IT IT IS A FACT THAT THERE HAS BEE ALLOT OF GROUND MOVEMENT. WE HAVE SENT THE PAPERWORK TO VIKING ALONG WITH THE PICTURES AND WE WILL HAVE AN ANSWER FROM THEM ON WHEN THEY WILL BE IN THE AREA. THERE HAS BEEN ALLOT OF WATER AROUND THE POOL  DUE TO RAIN THAT IS WHY THEY PUT THE EPOXY ON THE CRACK SO THAT IT WILL ALLOW THE GROUND TO DRY UP BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE RAIN IT WILL DELAY THE REPAIR BECAUSE THEY NEED THE GROUND TO DRY OUT SO THE WATER CAN BE REMOVED FROM THE POOL.  THE CUSTOMER IS STILL ABLE TO USE THERE POOL. THANKS *** 

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Edinburg, TX. I have a pool that had built up calcium and as a result had turned white (original color Mayan blue). I had been in contact with the representative for RGV and he had me try fixing it with chemicals; however, that did not work. This took months to do and the pool just kept getting worse. He finally decided that the best thing to do would be to sand and buff the pool. He had stated that this was going to be an easy fix, working time about 2-3 days. It has been close to 4 weeks now and the repairs have not been completed. I have to constantly call to find out what is going on with the repairs on my pool. The workers are very unreliable, showing up to start their day past noon time, then leaving about 3-4 hours later. Most of the time, they do not even come to repair the pool. They have averaged about 2-3 days in a week where they would continue with repairs on the pool. I have to call everyday to follow up. Every time I call, I get a different excuse as to why the pool was not serviced that day. Every week I am told that the pool would be completed by Friday, well it has been almost a month now and I'm still getting a roundabout answer. I have walked in to see only 1 person working on the pool on numerous occasions. I have walked once to see two workers, however, one was asleep on the job. This week, the pool was worked on Monday and Friday. Nothing was done from Tuesday-Thursday. It seems things only happen when I call and get upset at the representative. I have had to cancel my housewarming party 4 times now due to their tardiness, and this has cost me a lot as I have had to pay caterers. They tried to tell me that my pool was done last week and when I inspected it, the walls were still patched in white calcium and the floor was all white. The quality of the labor being done is very substandard.

Desired Settlement: I need this repair completed with the following resolutions: People to be working on the pool on a daily basis No sleeping on the job Not just 1 person handling the job No more excuses Timeliness with work (work 8 hours a day) The finished product to be of quality A set timeline of completion with follow through (no more than one more week) Daily updates as to what was done with the pool once the workers have left for the day An official apology from the company for substandard practices as well as compensation for all materials I may have to buy as a result of this repair (chemicals, filter, etc)

Business Response: THE DONNA STORE HELPED THE CUSTOMER HIS POOL HAD SURFACE ISSUES BECAUSE OF HIS WATER CHEMISTRY WHICH IS NO FAULT OF OURS HIS POOL WAS OUT OF WARRANTY ALSO, BUT HE HAD CALLED AND SAID HOW FRUSTRATED HE WAS THAT HE COULD NOT GET THE SCALE OFF SO THE DONNA STORE WAS VERY GENEROUS TO THIS CUSTOMER THEY HELPED AND DRAINED THE POOL AND SANDED ALL OF HIS SCALE OFF WHICH TAKES ALLOT OF TIME THE BILL WAS OVER 1000.00 WHICH THE CUSTOMER SHOULD OF BEEN CHARGED BUT HE WAS NOT. WE ARE SORRY THAT IT TOOK LONGER THAN HE FELT IT SHOULD BUT SCALE IS NOT EASY TO GET OFF AND HE WASNT EVEN BILLED FOR THE THIS WORK THAT THEY DID FOR THE CUSTOMER TO HELP HIM OUT.  THANKS PAT

7/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has been 3 months and my pool is still not finished. You cannot blame the rain anymore because there has been plenty of nice dry days to finish the project. I now have a crack-repaired pool instead of a new one with no cracks because of your many delays to finish a project that you should have finished 2 months ago. Because you walked off of the job after you initially set the pool, rain came and shifted the pool in the hole and cracked the shell. I noticed as soon as you got the majority of my money, work has slowed and/or stopped and I seemed to have moved to the back of the line.

Desired Settlement: I want my pool finished and I don't think that I should have to pay the last installment of $1800 due to me having a crack-repaired pool due to your negligence.

Business Response:

IT HAS BEEN A VERY HARD SEASON BECAUSE OF ALL THE RAIN THAT TEXAS HAS GOTTEN THIS YEAR. EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE A DAY OF SUNSHINE IT STILL TAKES A WHILE FOR THE GROUND TO DRY AND IN CORPUS IT HAS RAINED EVERY WEEK. THE CUSTOMER IS VERY IMPORTANT TO US WE HAVE BEEN OUT THERE THIS WEEK AND THE OWNER WILL BE IN CORPUS ON MONDAY AND HE WILL CHECK ON THERE JOB. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

These are the same excuses I have been getting for 3 months.  It does not change the fact that I have a crack repaired pool.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: THE OWNER WILL BE CHECKING ON THE CUSTOMERS PROJECT. IT WAS AN ACT OF GOD WITH ALL OF THE RAIN THAT CAUSED THIS THE GOOD PART IS THAT FIBERGLASS IS STRONGER WHEN REPAIRED IT DOES NOT WEAKEN THE STRUCTURE . WE DO CARE ABOUT OUR CUSTOMERS BUT THEY HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THAT TEXAS HAS HAS RECORD RAINS HOPEFULLY WE WILL BE ABLE TO GET THEM TAKEN CARE OF SOON SO THEY CAN ENJOY THERE POOL.THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

If the workers would have finished the job that day (i.e., setting the pool properly), the rain would not have mattered.  And although I am glad to hear that the repair is strong (although I have my doubts about that after watching him repair it), the repair looks horrible and sticks out like a sore thumb.  Although I realize that you are using the "Act of God" excuse because I'm sure that is in your contract, I am asking you as a good faith gesture to waive my last payment of $1800 for all we have been through.

Regards,

****** *******

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** Pool and ***io advised in their sales pitch they would fix my sprinkler system. I signed a contract with them to purchase and have installed a fiberglass pool. They finished the pool installation, primary pump, then wanted me to sign a contract saying the whole job was complete. First it took begging and five months for them to complete the bulk of the job in the first place. It's a small wading pool and shouldn't have taken that long. During the process of having someone here clean the pool after almost two months after installing the flagstone, they advised the gauge on the pump was bad. He ask asked me to sign saying the job was complete. I refused because they still had to install a "natura" mineral filter they sold me on, repair my sprinkler system they destroyed, fix ruts in the yard, and remove debris. The crew that came out to paint concrete tried to put an elbow on the pipe from the sprinkler in the backyard thinking that would fix it. It didn't. After i refused to sign, he left. Two weeks later, their employee returned advising if i didn't sign the contact saying the job was completed, he was instructed to leave and not finish the job....even though That paper i was signing said the job was complete when it wasn't. I again refused and he left instructed by his manager not to return. I still dont have a mineral filter, yet am obligated to pay for it, my sprinkler system is destroyed, now the substandard paint they used is lifting and peeling up after three weeks. On top of that the gauge doesn't work on the main pump sthe and the employee who was here trying to get me to sign paperwork looked at it and knew this but wasn't allowed to fix it unless i signed a job completion form. The chlorine dispenser has never operated and the same chlorine tablets they put in it a month ago are still there not circulating. I had the owner **** **** sign a form saying they still had those things to complete for me back when i was begging them to complete the job. I have this form and i plan to use this for litigation if i can't get help through utilizing the BBB. I have called them several times to resolve this. Even both called and texted **** **** and no one calls back. They have my truck title for the balance i owe and make payments on. If they can't finish my job as agreed, i want that title back. I paid cash for half of the job prior. I don't want to pay for equipment that didn't work when they installed it and i don't want to pay for equipment they refuse to give me. They are not true to their word and refuse to work with customers once the pool is sold. My pool shouldn't have taken five months to install and they certainly shouldn't refuse to finish the job because i wouldn't sign the completion form BEFORE they finished the job. Very shady business practices. I have wasted alot of time and anger and my life savings over something that was supposed to bring my family joy.

Desired Settlement: Finish job and if they don't want that, return my truck title and excuse what i owe and i can hire another company to finish the job and fix my sprinkler.

Business Response: WE VISITED THE SITE AND AGREED TO REDO HIS ACRYLIC DECK COAT THAT HAD SOME SCRATCHES FROM THE FURNITURE, THE OWNER HAD ALSO AGREED TO DO 2 OTHER SMALL ITEMS THAT THE CUSTOMER WANTED DONE. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The paint that is pulling up has nothing to do with furniture rubbing on it.  I took pictures of the area of most concern, and it has never had furniture on it.  I attached these photos.  There are other areas around the pool similar to the attached photos which have never had furniture on it.  I'll be glad to go around and take photos if needed.  I have only had furniture on top of the area outside the backdoor. 

However, this is the chain of events regarding them coming out here Monday, 6/8.  **** and a helper showed up.  **** is the manager.  They never rang my doorbell, or called to let me know they were heading here to my home.  For all they knew, I was gone, because my wife had the car and was gone.  So, our main car was not there.  I was dealing with my child inside and looked out the window and saw two guys in my backyard.  I ran outside and saw it was them.  I asked them why they didn't knock, ring the bell, or even call me.  They just walked into my backyard.  They told me they were going to repaint the patio, etc.  I showed them the spots and they admitted that it could have been done much better so the paint wouldn't peel.  We got to discussing the main problem of them not finishing the sprinkler system and the other components.  I told them that part of the deal they promised me was to fix the sprinkler system after the pool was put in.  They argued with me, told me that they had to "speak to management about it" (even though **** is the manager, and he was the one I was talking to at this time), and then they left. 

Therefore, what still hasn't been fixed is the following:  1) chlorine dispenser never worked to begin with, 2) the natura filteration system was never installed and is part of the original contract when they talked me into that component instead of salt water,  3) the ruts in the front yard are still there however have grass covering them now because it has been so long, 4) the sprinkler system which worked perfectly when they started is non-functional (remember - this was originally agreed by them it would be operational after the pool was put in), 6) large Styrofoam debris pieces that have been sitting in my backyard since January, and 5) the paint, which I already addressed above.

I have photo records that show various stages of the construction process and the fact that it has taken now six months, should this proof be needed.


I don't know what other "two small items" were that they agreed to.  I told them what I expected.  They said they had to talk to management and left.  That is all that has occurred since I started this complaint.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: I HAVE GIVEN THIS TO THE OWNER HE WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH THE CUSTOMER AND GO OVER WHAT WE ARE ABLE TO DO. THANKS ***

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gary's pool and patio came and installed a fiberglass pool on my property and after at least 7 months of haggling back and forth and workers not showing up the pool was complete. This was supposed to be a 3 month job at the most! Now that it is complete my deep end stays green all the time and I've had a few companies out to tell me what the problem is and they conclude there is not enough circulation in my deep end which makes since because there are only 2 return jets down there. Now I an going to have to come out of pocket to have more jets installed and possibly a bigger pump also. I would like a refund from Gary's in the total amount that it will cost to fix their mess!

Desired Settlement: A refund in the amount to cover the new jets and pump if needed and also a refund on the cement work around the pool if it messes up when they have to go under it to install the new jets. Something that should have been handled by Gary's but was not!

Business Response: THE OWNER HAS CALLED THE CUSTOMER BECAUSE WE HAD NOT SEEN ANY CALLS FROM HER AND HE KNEW HER FROM WHEN THE POOL WENT IN. AS OF TODAY THE CUSTOMER HAS HAD A DIFFERENT COMPANY COME OUT AND THAT TECH TOLD HER AND SHOWED HER THAT SHE HAD 6 RETURNS AND THAT IF SHE NEEDED TO HAVE MORE PRESSURE SHE COULD CHANGE OUT THE EYEBALL TO A SMALLER DIAMETER IN THE DEEP END TO INCREASE THE PRESSURE SHE AGREED AFTER HAVING HIM INSTALL ONE TO SHOW HER. THE OWNER HAS AGREED TO PURCHASE 3 OF THE EYEBALLS TOMORROW FOR HER AND CHECK HER CHLORINATER. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
They say they will send someone out next week but in the past when people were supposed to show up they never did so I would like to wait before closing out my case.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

THE CUSTOMER HAS A YEAR WARRANTY ON HER EQUIPMENT WE HAVE ORDERED HER PARTS AND WILL BE OUT AS PROMISED WEATHER PERMITTING. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I am waiting on them to come out and fix things as they say before I accept a response.

Regards,

******* *******

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with ****'s Pool and Patio in February 2015. To this day we still do not have a complete pool set-up. We received a damaged pool with a crack on the bottom and multiple blemishes around the entire pool. We were told this was a brand new pool, but upon further research we found the pool was made in 2011 (according to the serial number on the pool). At this point we have a big hole in our backyard that has a pool shell with a crack and a bunch of dirt piles surrounding the backyard. The pool pump they brought us is not the correct one, it is way to small for a pool our size. **** and the entire office and crew refuse to take or answer our calls. The communication is the worst I have ever endured with a business. I can't believe this is how a company would operate and treat customers.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund based on the fact that the job is no where near complete and they definitely delivered damaged goods/wrong pool. We would also like to see their license be revoked due to felony fraud.

Business Response: THE WEATHER CAUSED ALLOT OF DELAYS  AND GROUND MOVEMENT WE ARE HOPING TO HAVE IT FINISHED FOR THE CUSTOMER ON FRIDAY AND THE INSTALLATION CREW WILL CHECK THE JOB ON  SATURDAY SO THEY CAN GO FORWARD WITH THERE CONCRETE SUB AND GET IT FINISHED. WE HAVE ALREADY GIVEN THE CUSTOMER THERE MONEY ON THE FREE DECK PROGRAM SO THEY CAN USE THERE GUY THAT IS DOING SOME OTHER WORK AT THERE PROPERTY. THANKS ***

5/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Gary's pool and patio in Nov 2014. We were told by **** the pool once stared would be done in 10 days during the off season. The pool was put into the ground in Feb 2015. The pool still is not finished. We still do not have the heater or mineral system we paid for. We also do not have concrete around the pool. The pool is starting to cave in around the edges. We call almost daily to the company ,**** and **** the owner we keep being told they are behind and someone will be out or the concrete contractor will be out. We wait for them to show up and so far EVERY time no one has shown up.

Desired Settlement: We want Gary's pool and Patio to get over here and finish our pool! Have the concrete contractor come and put in the concrete. We promise once the job is finished to never contact Garys pool and patio again. We will use another pool company for future needs.

Business Response: WE CAN UNDERSTAND THE FRUSTRATION IN THE DELAY OF THE CONCRETE WE HAVE HAD SO MUCH RAIN OVER THE LAST SEVERAL MONTHS THAT IT DOES CAUSE DELAYS WITH THE DECK CONTRACTORS AND THE CONCRETE COMPANYS THIS IS NOT ANYONES FAULT WE ARE TRYING TO GET THE CUSTOMER TAKEN CARE OF AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. WE HAVE BEEN INTOUCH WITH THE CUSTOMER. THANKS PAT

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2014 we entered into a contract with Gary's Pools and ***ios here in Corpus Christi, Texas. It is now April 2015 and the installation is still unfinished. We had to make the final pool payment at the time the pool was delivered, which we did without problem. They delivered the wrong pool color and the pool equipment was damaged, we accepted the pool and the equipment in good faith for additional products in trade. From that moment on we call daily to try to get the products promised us and the completion of the pool. They do not return phone calls nor show up as promised once we are able to speak with them. It has been months of us calling and them saying we will take care of it and then they do not show up. Their office manager has told us that when they see cars pull up to the store, they all go out back and hide to avoid the customers. He further stated that there are about 40 customers who are also in a state of unfinished construction because once they are paid they move on to the next customer and haven't finished the jobs. On top of not being able to get Gary's to honor the contract and finish the job, the project has been riddled with mistakes, the pool is the wrong color, the pool equipment is damaged, the crew broke 6 sprinkler heads and 2 sprinkler lines, they put the lights in the pool in incorrect places and had to drill additional holes to move them, concrete delays due to them not paying the concrete contractor, electric for pool incorrect and flagged by city inspector that still is unresolved, fence tore down and not repaired (leaving me liable to an injury if a child were to get back there and fall in the pool), my yard is destroyed and sod not replaced. The company will not contact us and as stated previously we call almost daily to resolve this issue. This is a horrible company that should be shut down. They get paid and then do not contact or respond to your inquiries anymore.

Desired Settlement: Project completion and refund of portion of cost for all the mistakes and complete avoidance that we have endured.

Business Response: WE HAVE SPOKEN TO THE CUSTOMER AND GONE OVER SOME ITEMS THAT HE WANTED  TO BE TAKEN CARE OF THERE WAS A CREW THERE TODAY TO PUT UP THE CUSTOMERS FENCE WHICH WAS ONE OF HIS ITEMS. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Gary's Pools and patios did repair my fence and did a good job of it. I am satisfied with this item, however there are still outstanding items that have yet to be addressed and completed. So my rejection is just due to I do not want this complaint closed or resolved until the complete project has been finished.

Regards,

*********** *******

Business Response:

OUR CREW WENT OUT YESTERDAY TO FINISH SOME ADDITIONAL ITEMS. THE DIRT WORK WILL NEED TO WAIT TILL AFTER IT QUITS RAINING. THANKS *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The only thing that I can see was done when the crew came out was packing dirt around the pool equipment, they did not fix the leaking nor did they level the pad. The pad still leans toward the house, the pump is not secured to the pad which will cause problems due to vibrating that will lead to further leaks. The job they did packing dirt around the equipment is unprofessional and looks bad. The electrical work that was flagged by the city is still unresolved and the grading of the yard is also still unfinished. I know they are waiting for the rain to stop and understand this point. Plus promised supplies offered due to mistakes by the company have yet to be delivered. There are still unresolved issues that will continue to cause me to reject the resolution.

Regards,

*********** *******

Business Response:

I KNOW THAT THEY ARE NOT DONE ALL I WAS SAYING IS THAT THEY WERE THERE DOING SOME ITEMS AND THE OTHERS WOULD HAVE TO WAIT TILL THE WEATHER CHANGED BEFORE THESE OTHER ITEMS CAN BE ADDRESSED. IT LOOKS LIKE THIS WEEK SHOULD BE DRY ENOUGH TO COMPLETE THESE ITEMS THE OWNER WILL BE IN CORPUS TOMORROW AND HE WILL CALL THE CUSTOMER AND GET HIS CREW SCHEDULED OUT. THANKS ***  

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: only to make sure this stays open until the problems are resolved. I will wait for the call from the owner, as noted in the business' response.

Regards,
*********** *******

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 16, 2014, an agreement was signed with Gary's Pool and Patio, aka Pacesetter Pools, for the installation of a new pool. A down payment of $5,000 was given. In the days following, company personnel stopped returning phone calls. Construction never began on the pool. After 71 days of waiting for agreements to be made and work to begin, **** ****, owner, called and verbally cancelled the contract. He had decided his company could not make enough money on this installation. He stated that his office in San Antonio would issue a refund of the down payment promptly. This call took place on February 25, 2015. On March 27, 2015 a letter of Demand for Money Owed was delivered to the business with a repayment deadline of April 10, 2015. As of April 13, the down payment has not been refunded. The current balance owed under the Agreement is $5,000.

Desired Settlement: As stated in the Demand for Money Owed, a principal balance of $5,000 is owed for refund of a down payment. Further, an additional $50.00 in late charges must be paid for each day after April 10, 2015 that the amount due remains unpaid.

Business Response: The Customer’s Statement is incorrect. **** **** met with the consumer on
site and went over the installation in full. After this meeting the
swimming pool, fiberglass shell, was purchased for the job, approximately
a $10,000 purchase.

Mrs. ****** presented her own written contract to Gary’s Pool and Patio,
instructing that she would only work with our company if we would do it on
her terms and on her contract, **** **** advised Mr. ****** that this
would not be possible and that once the pool shell was purchased by
another customer both the ******’s and our company could recoup their
moneys from this relationship. Mr. ****** understood once the pool is
sold the ******’s will receive $5000.

Mrs. ******’s construction contract is available upon request. It is
obvious after reading the contract why our company would not do business
with her.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The customer met with **** **** (owner) onsite on February
16th to discuss the details of the installation.  This meeting was two months after the initial
contract was signed (December 18th) and the down payment check was
cashed.  Before February 16th,
no work had begun on the pool installation and the customer had continued difficulty
seeking answers on the progress.  During
the meeting with Mr. **** on location, the customer provided a Scope of Work
and Standard Construction Contract detailing the work that had been previously verbally
agreed upon.  These documents were
created by the customer out of necessity to provide a clear understanding of
what was to be expected and to protect both parties due to a prior communication
problems along with a lack of written commitment by the company on verbal
agreements.  Mr. **** respectfully
decided to personally oversee this project and asked that the Scope of Work be
updated by the customer to reflect the changes agreed upon during the site
visit and submitted to his office via fax. 
He committed that preparatory work could begin on February 18th.

Updated documents were submitted via fax the day following
the site visit.  When work did not begin
on schedule, the customer began calling for a status update.  The local office told the customer that no
employees were allowed to discuss this job and all inquiries must go directly
to Mr. Zars.  No response was provided
until February 25th when Mr. **** called to regretfully decline the
job.  The reason given was that the contractually
agreed upon amount of $20,000 was a pricing mistake by an employee.  At that time, Mr. **** was apologetic and told
the customer that a refund check would be sent from the San Antonio
office.  No mention was made of this
refund being contingent upon the resale of a pool shell until March 27th,
after several more phone calls were made to track down the refund.

The customer does not wish to seek legal action,
but feels it may be necessary if a refund of the down payment is not issued
promptly.  If legal action is taken,
penalty fees and court costs will be included in the suit along with the amount
already due.


Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:  
We have never had a consumer do their version of a contract
for us to sign in order to put their pool in. 

Mrs. ******e’s construction contract is attached and is the
sole reason for us declining the job, because we had purchased the pool in good
faith of performing the work that was on there on our signed contract.  Their money was already invested, along with
ours, in the pool shell.   

Afterwards Mrs. ******e’s construction contract and demands
were placed upon us.  The $5,000 amount
will be returned within 30 days or earlier if their pool shell is sold.  

Thank you



Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The customer did not "do their version of a contract" until two months had passed after the original contract was signed and down payment check was cashed.  The new contract was presented in order to provide a clear scope of work, timeline and better liability protection.  It is the customer's belief that previous unsatisfied customers of Gary's Pool & Patio could have reduced or eliminated their problematic experiences with this company had a better scope of work and contract been in place for those projects.  
As for the contract being "the sole reason for [the company] declining the job;" the customer was told during the cancellation of services phone call that the low bid and loss of revenue was the primary reason for cancelling the contract.  Regardless of the reason for cancellation, it is apparent to the customer that the company is not admitting fault for its failure to render services; therefore, the customer will no longer engage in correspondence via the Better Business Bureau and will begin filing suit immediately.

Regards,

***** ******

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool from these guys sold on the whole idea that it would be installed and complete within 10 working days. Nate the salesman (manager also) was the one we spoke to and told us that they were so slow this time of year that it would be done within 10 working days minus the concrete because they were a separate contractor but they typically run 10-14 days out after the pool is installed. The installation of the pool required the dismantling of the fence between my yard along with the neighbors. Nate assured me that they would replace the fence along with all sod that was damaged from their equipment in both yards.We applied for the loan got approved and contacted them stating we're ready to move forward. I had our bank cut 2 separate cashiers checks for the pool, not wanting to give it all upfront until the job was completed. Once I explained this to Nate he told me that they required it in full upfront. So needless to say I gave him both checks. They installed the pool in the ground and filled with water in 3 days. We were very excited to see this happening so quickly....1 month later, after several attempts to contact him and see what the hold is he finally returned my call and told me that the City of Portland was the hold up, so I went there to find out what the hold up was. They informed me that his permit was just approved so he could start with the installation of the pool. I told them that the pool is already in the ground? I was then informed that it was done without a permit so they can have them pull it out! I then contacted their head office in San Antonio and shared this information with them. They pled their case and told me that they were going to look into it. Long story short I am paying on a $21,000.00 loan and the pool still isn't complete. I had to contact the electrician myself and schedule him out to connect the pump and filtration system which cost me another $500.00. Next I'll be scheduling the concrete guys too.

Desired Settlement: I just want my pool to be completed along with the sod in mine and my neighbors yard to be replaced as we were promised soon. After all they REQUIRED the full $21,180.00 upfront.

Business Response:

WE CALLED THE CITY OF PORTLAND FROM THE SAN ANTONIO OFFICE TO SEE WHY THE BONDING INSPECTION WAS TAKING SO LONG. WE WERE INFORMED THAT THEY REQUESTED A INSPECTOR TO CHECK THE SET BACKS ON THE PROPERTY, THIS WAS DONE SO KNOW THEY WILL BE ABLE TO GET THE BONDING INSPECTION DONE THIS WEEK EITHER TODAY OR FRIDAY THEY SAID. WHEN THIS IS COMPLETE WE CAN FILL IN THE TRENCHES AND PROCEDE TO THE CONCRETE PHASE. WHEN THE GARDEN CENTERS GET GRASS BACK IN STOCK WE WILL TAKE CARE OF HIS NEIGHBOR FIRST THEN AFTER THE CUSTOMER GETS IN HIS CONCRETE WE CAN DELIVER A PALLET TO HIM AS WELL. THANKS *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I just met with another unsatisfied customer from the same business. They've been waiting since August and have already been down this road and told me to expect nothing. They are also here in Portland on ***** ***

Regards,

******* *******

12/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Gary's Pool and Patio in May of 2014 for a pool to be installed at our home. There were numerous delays but communication was good up until the final flagstone coping was to be installed. The flagstone was ready to be installed early October 2014 as the concrete was completed. I called Gary's to have the flagstone installed. October 29, 2014 was the installed that we agreed upon. October 29th came and I heard nothing from Gary's. I called and spoke to N**e and he told me that Gary's was having financial issues and could not complete the job. He further stated that Gary's had some more pool installs to complete and once they received their money, they could buy the flagstone for our pool. He stated that it would be the first week in November and they would come deliver the flagstone and get started. We are now at the end of November and we still do not have flagstone installed.

Desired Settlement: I want Gary's Pools to come and complete the job as promised ensuring it is done correctly.

Business Response: WE ARE VERY SORRY FOR THE DELAY THE FLAGSTONE WORK REQUIRES A ***** THE ONE WE HAD BEEN USING BEFORE IN THE CORPUS AREA WAS BOOKED UP WE TRIED OTHER COMPANYS BUT THEY WERE ALSO BOOKED AND WITH ALL THE RAIN AND COLD WEATHER IT MADE THE DELAY EVEN LONGER . I HAVE CHECKED WITH THE OFFICE IN CORPUS AND THEY SAID THEY HAD ALREADY CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO LET HIM KNOW THE ***** WOULD BE THERE TOMORROW MORNING. THANKS ***

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello On June 5th, an employee came to my house to change out a booster pump for my swimming pool. Immediately after he switched it out he left. He ****** I think was his name), went to his car after I gave him a check and then returned to give me a receipt. He didn't check the install to see if it worked. I called Gary Pool and spoke with *** several times about this. ***** was supposed to come back (he came once when I wasn't home). I ask *** to ensure he calls first. I called again and again and finally gave up in August. This is poor service. I have not been able to use my pool because after the install when I turned the pump on it did not work.

Desired Settlement: Fix or switch it back to the old pump.

Business Response: WE ARE VERY SORRY THAT THE CUSTOMER FEELS THIS WAY. WE DID NOT SELL HIM THE BOOSTER PUMP I BELIEVE HE BOUGHT IT ON LINE ALL WE DID WAS HOOK IT UP TO THE ELECTRICAL. WHEN THE CUSTOMER CALLED IN THE MECHANIC TOLD HIM HE COULD POSSIBLY HAVE A ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH HIS TIMER. WE TRIED ON SEVERAL TIMES TO SCHEDULE A TIME BUT WE WERE UNABLE TO. WE HAPPENED TO BE IN THE AREA SO THE MECHANIC KNOCKED ON THE DOOR AND HIS SON WAS HOME HE TRIED TO CALL HIS DAD BUT DID NOT GET AN ANSWER SO HE DID NOT WANT US TO CHECK OUT THE TIMER. IF THE CUSTOMER HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE PUMP HE BOUGHT HE WOULD NEED TO CALL THE PLACE HE PURCHASED IT FROM TO GET THE WARRANTY THRU THEM. SINCE WE HAD NOT HEARD BACK FROM THE CUSTOMER WE HAD PUT HIS TICKET IN A HOLD FILE TILL HE CALLED US BACK. WE WERE NOT TRYING TO IGNORE HIM. WE ARE VERY SORRY HE FELT THIS WAY. THANKS ***  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: *** knows I spoke to her many times and their personnel were in the "busy" season. Yes I bought the pump from another company. That does not mean they don't ensure it works. Yes, I was told the electoral may not work. the guy who put the booster pump in left without testing it. Yes he did show up when I was at an appointment. My son didn't 'want to get involved and asked him to come back. I called again, several times. *** if I had a copy of my phone calls and your phone records you will see that, how you don't know I called many times is beyond me. 

Why should I be happy about something that docent work and not having someone test or check out the reason why. He was guessing it is electrical. Without testing how can you or anyone know.



Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

WHEN THE MECHANIC WAS OUT TO HOOK UP THE PUMP THE CUSTOMER WAS THERE THE MECHANIC TURNED ON THE POOL PUMP THEN THE BOOSTER PUMP QUICKLY TO SHOW THE CUSTOMER THAT HE HAD FINISHED AND HOOKED IT UP CORRECTLY TO THE ELECTRICAL, HE COULD NOT TEST HIS SYSTEM FURTHER BECAUSE THE WATER WAS SO LOW IN THE POOL THE CUSTOMER AGREED TO FILL IT. THE CUSTOMER COULD ALSO BY PASS HIS TIMER TO SEE IF IT IS A NEW PROBLEM WITH THE TIMER OR IF ITS THE BOOSTER PUMP THAT HAS AN ISSUE AND IF SO THEN HE COULD CALL THE PLACE HE BOUGHT IT ON LINE AND SEE WHAT THE WARRANTY IS. I CAN ALSO SCHEDULE ANOTHER SERVICE CALL IF THE CUSTOMER WANTS AND THE MECHANIC CAN ALSO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS WITH HIM THERE.     THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

10/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We began the process of getting a pool installed with this company back in May and now we are in October and the job is still not completed! The flagstone has not been installed around the pool. On September 15th we were told it would be installed later that week and no one showed up, then we were told sorry it will be the next week, and so on and so on..... The latest excuse was that they could not find anyone to install it at the price they are willing to pay and no future date was given.

Desired Settlement: Hire a skilled person at whatever cost they require and get them to finish the job ASAP!

Business Response: I CHECKED WITH THE CORPUS OFFICE  MANAGER NATE WHICH HAS BEEN IN CONTACT WITH THE HOMEOWNER ALMOST EVERY DAY THE CUSTOMER HAD ALREADY SPOKEN TO THE COMPANY THAT IS DOING THE FLAGSTONE WORK AND THEY SET IT UP FOR 10-15  WHICH IS TOMORROW. I AM SORRY THAT THERE WERE JOBS AHEAD OF HIM WHICH CAUSED A DELAY. WE WERE LOOKING FOR ANOTHER COMPANY INCASE THEY COULD GET OUT TO HIS JOB QUICKER BUT THE ONES WE CONTACTED WERE ALSO BUSY. THEY SHOULD BE ABLE TO COMPLETE THERE WORK THIS WEEK. THANKS PAT

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Gary's Pool and ***io in ****** Christi, Tx back in May 2014 for the purchase and installation of a fiberglass swiming pool. As of today Spetember 18, 2014 the job has still not been completed and has stood untouched by Gary's for more than two months! Everytime we call to see when someone will be out to finish the installation of the pop-ups (which is the only thing holding up the installation of the cement around the pool) we are told they will be out tomorrow and never show up. The next day we call and they say they will not be able to ge to it and that it will be another day and so on. The owner is not available for contact and we must deal with the staff which keeps putting our job on the back burner. I believe they messed up the pool when they cut the hole for the pop-ups and don't know how to fix it so they just think we will go away.

Desired Settlement: Send someone out right away who knows what they are doing, install the pop-ups with accuracy and make sure they look clean and unscratched so that we can go forward with the cement install.

Business Response: I CALLED THE ****** LOCATION TO CHECK ON THE STATUS OF HIS JOB FOR THE CUSTOMER I WAS TOLD THEY HAD GONE OUT ON THIS PAST FRIDAY AND THAT THE CONCRETE WAS SCHEDULED FOR THIS MONDAY. I WILL FOLLOW UP MYSELF ON MONDAY TO CHECK THE JOB. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Someone did come out Friday and only took pictures. Saturday they came by and put in one of the pop ups but he did not have tools or a drill with him to complete the the second one so I was told he would have to be out Monday to do it. Have not heard when the concrete is scheduled.
Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

I CHECKED ON THE JOB TODAY THE POP UPS WERE FINISHED ON MONDAY WE UNDERSTAND FROM HIS CONCRETE SUB THAT IT IS SCHEDULED FOR 9-25 THEY ARE AT THE MERCY OF THE CONCRETE COMPANYS SINCE THERE HAD BEEN SOME RAIN THERE WERE SOME DELAYS. WE SPOKE WITH THE MANAGER OF THE ****** OFFICE AND HE SAID HE HAS BEEN IN COMMUNICATION WITH THE CUSTOMER. THANKS ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed contract for purchase/installation of a pool on April 18, 2014. We were told the pool would take approximately 3 weeks to build and 3-4 weeks to install after delivery. When the pool came in, the company ordered the wrong pool. After much hassle and convincing the manager we wouldn't except a smaller pool, the correct pool was ordered. The company then sent out a crew that did not know how to properly excavate for the pool to be set. The hole was too small and they proceeded to lift the pool, one chain at a time, to dry to dig under it. This has caused 3 cracks in the pool, 2 on the edge and one in the bottom. Currently, we are still waiting for items to be finished. These include moving the dirt around the pool so the concrete decking can be set, a transformer to hook up the lights, repair the cracks to the pool, buff out the marring done from incorrect setting, running the ground wire, and covering the plumbing ditch. Each time somebody has come to the house, the items weren't completed because they forgot to bring the necessary materials to the job. At this point, the orginal office manager has been replaced and we are continuing to get the same excuse from the new manager. Equipment failure etc. They rented a skid steer to move the dirt, however only had it to the end of the day so by the time they came to our house, only a half day was left. The manager says he is waiting for the other machine (one that has been parked in front of our house for 2 weeks) to be repaired before he resumes work. Except for the very first day the company came to excavate, there has not been a full day's work done. At times, there are full weeks when nobody comes out to complete any work. We have been in contact with the branch in Corpus as well as contacted the main office in San Antonio still with no resolution or completion.

Desired Settlement: We want the job finished and the account marked paid in full. The company has 95% of 39,995 and we feel they should be responsible for the final 5% due already taking almost 5 months on a job that should have taken no more than about 2 months.

Business Response: THE PRODUCTION MANAGER FOR THE CORPUS LOCATION MET WITH THE HOMEOWNER ON MONDAY SEPT. 8TH THEY WENT OVER THE JOB AND SEEMED TO AGREE WITH THE WORK SCHEDULE. ALL OF HER ITEMS OF CONCERN WILL BE TAKEN CARE OF 10 DAYS FROM TODAY'S DATE. THANKS PAT 

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a fiber glass pool back in February, the contractor that is putting in concrete and flagstone works one day a week when I was told it would take him two weeks. Here it is the middle of May and the work is not any where near completed. Gary's pool will not help and his contractor has lied says he will be here one day and never shows up...lie after lie..please help. I have paid over 50,000 in cash.. I know first mistake

Desired Settlement: Finish the work as promised

Business Response: I am so sorry that the customer feels this way she is a very nice person. I do not show any calls made to my office in ref to her complaint. We have been signed off of the job the customer did have her sub contractor do allot of extra concrete work with special features that he is working on the customer has a separate contract with him for that work. The customer spoke to there sales person several weeks ago asking for tile on her pool she thought that it was included in her contract but it was not this did not make her happy she was going thru a health issue with her daughter and was very upset. I checked with the owner and explained what she was going thru and what she was asking for, the owner had worked with her on her job he felt he did not want to upset her because of what she was already going thru and he authorize standard tile to be given at n/c to the customer, she would need to contract her deck sub to put it on. When the customer looked at the book to choose a tile she had chosen a special designer tile that cost more than double so again I asked the owner what he wanted me to do and he said he would approve it. I then place the order for her upgraded glass tile and it should be in next week.  Thanks***

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: First and foremost I did not write a complaint regarding the pool that is being installed by Gary's pools.  I don't know who started this complaint however.... This has been ongoing for 3 months.  I purchased the pool the first of February and then waited on the home owner's association to approve it.  It started the first of March.  A selling feature was the time necessary to complete this type of pool would be 30 to 45 days maximum. Gary's cannot be "signed off" on pool since it is not completed by either the contractor or Gary's.  I am still missing a wall and two water shears, internal pool tiles, flagstone, and Gary's has never come out to even show me how to operate the pool because it is not completed far enough for them to do so.  During the entire process I have never had a phone call from***.  Not one.  I have talked with*****, the salesman which has always been professional and tried to handle any situation that came up, and **** the project manager.  The contractor is***** ****** and***** **. calls and reports continually, but not Gary's Pools.  

What should be an exciting time has turned into a mess with working one day a week.  My yard is still a mess, my fence is still down, and the HOA wants the fence back up. Unfortunately, I bought into the sales pitch but will Not be able to recommend the pool company to anyone.  I had originally told my sister about them but she will not purchase from them now due to the one day here and one day there a week that they work.  I understand that there are several jobs going on at once, but complete them before they start too many. 

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: I have never received a message to return a call from the customer I am in the office everyday and I never leave untill I have taken care of all calls. I have had the salesman ask questions about her job and then would return her call when he got the answer that was needed. When I said that we were signed off I meant that we were on to the next phase she has a contract with a deck sub that met with her on our 3' free deck program and also any extras that she was wanting I do not show any sheer's or walls that would of been on her contract with her deck sub. if she had purchased it. The only thing I got approved that was not on her contract was the tile and again she would need to get with ***** on the installation. I will check with him also in ref. to the fence. When we installed her pool we were there everyday till it was full of water and running I had the men stay at a hotel nearby, then we got signed off that phase and she started with her deck sub. I know she had allot of extras which does take time to get materials in, then there were several times that the weather held them up. The tile that was approved to give her is again a special order glass tile and it takes time to get it in. I was very surprised to see a complaint from this customer then I was told she did not make a complaint and that she would get to the bottom of it and have it removed. I will call the customer myself tomorrow when I get back to the office to go over her job. Thanks *** 

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fiberglass pool from this company in early 2012. The installers used caulk to seal around the skimmer where it connects to the pool. The pool has separated from the skimmer and I am not able to fill the pool enough to keep the water pump running. I called Gary's Pool and Patio about the issue. Gary's Pool and Patio told me that the installers should have used an expoxy that is impervious to water instead of using caulk. Gary's Pool and Patio arranged for the service department to come out to my house almost a whole week later. Meanwhile, my pool is unusable and filled with green water. The service department showed up and did absolutely nothing and didn't follow up with me even though the person called me from his cell phone to tell me they had arrived at my house to inspect the pool. The next day I called Gary's Pool and Patio and I was told the service department said it didn't "appear" the pool has separated from the skimmer. I told Gary's Pool and Patio that the separation is only visible on the interior of the skimmer using a mirror. Gary's Pool and Patio told me the service department is out of town and that it would be another four days before they could come out again to inspect the pool. This delayed response and poor customer service is unacceptable. My pool will have been unusable for almost two weeks due to Gary's Pool and Patio poor product installation.

Desired Settlement: Fix my pool properly and expeditiously.

Business Response: We are sorry that the customer feels this way his pool was put in a couple of years ago from looking at the repair ticket he had called in for a leak. The service mechanic did go out and felt that he had some ground movement probably due to our weather conditions he could not see what the customer was wanting because the skimmer still had water in it so he felt to save the customer money he should call ******** **** so they could pressure test the system and determine where the loss was coming from. We did not charge the customer a service call fee for that visit. The call came in on 3-26-14 we went out on 4-2-14 the service mechanic that was scheduled had a death in the family so this delayed his service call by a few days we are sorry for that but it was beyond our control we always try to take care of our customers in a timely manner. If the customer wants we can go back out and he can show us what he is seeing and at that time we can determine if he would still need to call a leak company or if we are able to locate and fix his leak. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The person that came to view the pool did not bother to consult me so that I could show him the gap where the water is leaking from. The skimmer has water in it because the leak is NOT in the skimmer but between the skimmer and fiberglass pool. There has beenno shifting of the ground because the pool is sitting on solid rock. In addition, if the leak is coming from another source then the water level would've sunk to the level of the leaking source. However, the water level only sunk to the level of the gap in the skimmer. That is VERY obvious and could've been easily pointed out had the repair person simply called me.

I don't understand the lack of communication because the repair person called me when he arrived and he had my cell number. This lack of effort shows a no regards for customers that have purchased products/services in the past.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: I had not heard back regarding my answer to the customers complaint we had offered to meet with the customer again at the job site to see the area he is looking at with his mirror. I know a week has gone by I was trying to see if we needed to call the customer or not to set up a appointment this week. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: No action needed on behalf of company.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** ******

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fiberglass pool from this company. They subcontracted with ****** trucking to do the decking around the pool. This decking has cracked and the painted surface has flaked off. They came to repair the cracks once. I have contacted Gary Pools and **** ****** trucking to return to fix cracks and the coating flaking off and they have not returned. Thus a breech of there 1 year warranty.

Desired Settlement: Repair cracks and resurface decking

Business Response: The warranty work on the customers free deck program would be done thru his contractor ***** ****** I know the customer was told he would be taken care of to fix the shrinkage cracks. I also feel that they should of done this months ago for the customer. We were told that they wait till the off season to do this type of work. I have sent a copy of the customers complaint to ***** ****** since the customers warranty for this would go thru them. I had one of the supervisors call the customer on Friday when I received the copy of the complaint on my e-mail he was told that the customer had sent us a letter stating that his work had not been done I did not get that letter at my office when I get back in town on Thursday after the holidays I will call the customer myself. Thanks Pat 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Gary's Pool and Patio
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart