BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pools, spas, supplies and pool furniture.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary's Pool and Patio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gary's Pool and Patio include:

  • 19 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gary's Pool and Patio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gary's Pool and Patio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 11/26/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Zars, Owner Mrs. Pat Carter, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Pat Carter, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary Zars, Owner
Related Businesses
Fiberglass Pools of Texas
Business Category

Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Gary Zars Pool & Patio, LLC
Business Management

Mr. Gary Zars is the President of Gary Zars Fiberglass Pools Inc. dba Gary's Pool and Patios and is not affiliated with Gary Pools, Inc. which is owned by Mr. Leif Zars. A separate BBB report on that business is available at: http://www.bbb.org/central-texas/business-reviews/swimming-pool-contractors-dealers-design/gary-pools-in-san-antonio-tx-10684?gid=1&gen=1&lid=1.

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 13800 San Pedro Ave Ste 2

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-5002

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 822-7405 (Fax)
  • (361) 853-3642 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a fiber glass pool back in February, the contractor that is putting in concrete and flagstone works one day a week when I was told it would take him two weeks. Here it is the middle of May and the work is not any where near completed. Gary's pool will not help and his contractor has lied says he will be here one day and never shows up...lie after lie..please help. I have paid over 50,000 in cash.. I know first mistake

Desired Settlement: Finish the work as promised

Business Response: I am so sorry that the customer feels this way she is a very nice person. I do not show any calls made to my office in ref to her complaint. We have been signed off of the job the customer did have her sub contractor do allot of extra concrete work with special features that he is working on the customer has a separate contract with him for that work. The customer spoke to there sales person several weeks ago asking for tile on her pool she thought that it was included in her contract but it was not this did not make her happy she was going thru a health issue with her daughter and was very upset. I checked with the owner and explained what she was going thru and what she was asking for, the owner had worked with her on her job he felt he did not want to upset her because of what she was already going thru and he authorize standard tile to be given at n/c to the customer, she would need to contract her deck sub to put it on. When the customer looked at the book to choose a tile she had chosen a special designer tile that cost more than double so again I asked the owner what he wanted me to do and he said he would approve it. I then place the order for her upgraded glass tile and it should be in next week.  Thanks***

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: First and foremost I did not write a complaint regarding the pool that is being installed by Gary's pools.  I don't know who started this complaint however.... This has been ongoing for 3 months.  I purchased the pool the first of February and then waited on the home owner's association to approve it.  It started the first of March.  A selling feature was the time necessary to complete this type of pool would be 30 to 45 days maximum. Gary's cannot be "signed off" on pool since it is not completed by either the contractor or Gary's.  I am still missing a wall and two water shears, internal pool tiles, flagstone, and Gary's has never come out to even show me how to operate the pool because it is not completed far enough for them to do so.  During the entire process I have never had a phone call from***.  Not one.  I have talked with*****, the salesman which has always been professional and tried to handle any situation that came up, and **** the project manager.  The contractor is***** ****** and***** **. calls and reports continually, but not Gary's Pools.  

What should be an exciting time has turned into a mess with working one day a week.  My yard is still a mess, my fence is still down, and the HOA wants the fence back up. Unfortunately, I bought into the sales pitch but will Not be able to recommend the pool company to anyone.  I had originally told my sister about them but she will not purchase from them now due to the one day here and one day there a week that they work.  I understand that there are several jobs going on at once, but complete them before they start too many. 

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: I have never received a message to return a call from the customer I am in the office everyday and I never leave untill I have taken care of all calls. I have had the salesman ask questions about her job and then would return her call when he got the answer that was needed. When I said that we were signed off I meant that we were on to the next phase she has a contract with a deck sub that met with her on our 3' free deck program and also any extras that she was wanting I do not show any sheer's or walls that would of been on her contract with her deck sub. if she had purchased it. The only thing I got approved that was not on her contract was the tile and again she would need to get with ***** on the installation. I will check with him also in ref. to the fence. When we installed her pool we were there everyday till it was full of water and running I had the men stay at a hotel nearby, then we got signed off that phase and she started with her deck sub. I know she had allot of extras which does take time to get materials in, then there were several times that the weather held them up. The tile that was approved to give her is again a special order glass tile and it takes time to get it in. I was very surprised to see a complaint from this customer then I was told she did not make a complaint and that she would get to the bottom of it and have it removed. I will call the customer myself tomorrow when I get back to the office to go over her job. Thanks *** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fiberglass pool from this company in early 2012. The installers used caulk to seal around the skimmer where it connects to the pool. The pool has separated from the skimmer and I am not able to fill the pool enough to keep the water pump running. I called Gary's Pool and Patio about the issue. Gary's Pool and Patio told me that the installers should have used an expoxy that is impervious to water instead of using caulk. Gary's Pool and Patio arranged for the service department to come out to my house almost a whole week later. Meanwhile, my pool is unusable and filled with green water. The service department showed up and did absolutely nothing and didn't follow up with me even though the person called me from his cell phone to tell me they had arrived at my house to inspect the pool. The next day I called Gary's Pool and Patio and I was told the service department said it didn't "appear" the pool has separated from the skimmer. I told Gary's Pool and Patio that the separation is only visible on the interior of the skimmer using a mirror. Gary's Pool and Patio told me the service department is out of town and that it would be another four days before they could come out again to inspect the pool. This delayed response and poor customer service is unacceptable. My pool will have been unusable for almost two weeks due to Gary's Pool and Patio poor product installation.

Desired Settlement: Fix my pool properly and expeditiously.

Business Response: We are sorry that the customer feels this way his pool was put in a couple of years ago from looking at the repair ticket he had called in for a leak. The service mechanic did go out and felt that he had some ground movement probably due to our weather conditions he could not see what the customer was wanting because the skimmer still had water in it so he felt to save the customer money he should call ******** **** so they could pressure test the system and determine where the loss was coming from. We did not charge the customer a service call fee for that visit. The call came in on 3-26-14 we went out on 4-2-14 the service mechanic that was scheduled had a death in the family so this delayed his service call by a few days we are sorry for that but it was beyond our control we always try to take care of our customers in a timely manner. If the customer wants we can go back out and he can show us what he is seeing and at that time we can determine if he would still need to call a leak company or if we are able to locate and fix his leak. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The person that came to view the pool did not bother to consult me so that I could show him the gap where the water is leaking from. The skimmer has water in it because the leak is NOT in the skimmer but between the skimmer and fiberglass pool. There has beenno shifting of the ground because the pool is sitting on solid rock. In addition, if the leak is coming from another source then the water level would've sunk to the level of the leaking source. However, the water level only sunk to the level of the gap in the skimmer. That is VERY obvious and could've been easily pointed out had the repair person simply called me.

I don't understand the lack of communication because the repair person called me when he arrived and he had my cell number. This lack of effort shows a no regards for customers that have purchased products/services in the past.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: I had not heard back regarding my answer to the customers complaint we had offered to meet with the customer again at the job site to see the area he is looking at with his mirror. I know a week has gone by I was trying to see if we needed to call the customer or not to set up a appointment this week. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: No action needed on behalf of company.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fiberglass pool from this company. They subcontracted with ****** trucking to do the decking around the pool. This decking has cracked and the painted surface has flaked off. They came to repair the cracks once. I have contacted Gary Pools and **** ****** trucking to return to fix cracks and the coating flaking off and they have not returned. Thus a breech of there 1 year warranty.

Desired Settlement: Repair cracks and resurface decking

Business Response: The warranty work on the customers free deck program would be done thru his contractor ***** ****** I know the customer was told he would be taken care of to fix the shrinkage cracks. I also feel that they should of done this months ago for the customer. We were told that they wait till the off season to do this type of work. I have sent a copy of the customers complaint to ***** ****** since the customers warranty for this would go thru them. I had one of the supervisors call the customer on Friday when I received the copy of the complaint on my e-mail he was told that the customer had sent us a letter stating that his work had not been done I did not get that letter at my office when I get back in town on Thursday after the holidays I will call the customer myself. Thanks Pat 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Gary's Pool put in a fiberglass pool the end of May 2013 to the first part of June. Our original salesman had made some verbal representation to us about the spa surround, but unfortunately, he was fired *** ***** ***** (according to *** *****). The first crew that came to install the pool did just fine until they all walked off the job and we never saw them again. Eventually another employee was sent out to keep us quiet, but only showed us how to use some of the equipment (he had to return to the office to find out how to use it himself first). We never saw him again either. After about another month and a half and MANY phone calls to Gary's, we were finally called by a company out of San Antonio who said that Gary's had told them to call and come get the concrete work done. Their work was horrible and they have destroyed the overflow that should go into the pool from the spa. We have had leak issues and I feel that we still do, yet, Gary's continually sends out people to look at the problem, but no one to come and fix the problem. They are going through more employees that any business I have ever seen. Gary himself called and promised that he was going to come over himself on 9-16-13. After he did not show by 5:00 pm, I called and found out that he was on his way back to San Antonio. Concrete people never cleaned up any of the mortar that was in the pool either of the times they have been out to fix their shabby work. I have done nothing but clean up messes and call to try to get this taken care of. I am afraid that my only choice will be a lawsuit to get my problems solved. We have had our pool for several months, but it has never been actually completed correctly. We have had six different people come out to look at the problem. They have all agreed that it was done poorly, then never come back. We have been told that many of them have either quit or were fired for a variety of reasons. I WANT MY POOL FINISHED!!

Desired Settlement: Have someone come fix the spa as well as pressure test the line that I believe is leaking. We are losing water from the pool. No one is listening. We have been keeping a journal of all people we have talked to and feel that we are getting no consideration on our complaints.

Business Response: We contacted the customers deck company they said there were some delays because of the weather they tried to set it up for this past Wednesday but the customer was going out of town and requested for them to come next week the weather is supposed to  be nice so they should be able to check for the leak and finish. Thanks ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When installing my pool, they cracked the bottom corner. They subsequently tried to cover it up and lied about it. I finally got the job foreman to tell me what really happened. **** **** assured me that they would fix it properly, but I cannot get him to return my phone calls now that he has my money. They also sold us a salt water system, it's even on the contract, but refuse to install the salt and start the system. *** **** has been very deceiving during this whole process. I've really been disappointed.

Desired Settlement: All I want now is for them to PROPERLY repair the damage to the pool, start the salt water system, and show us how to properly use and maintain out $36K investment as promised. And an apology to my wife would be nice for all of the hell he has put us through.

Business Response: *** ****** was given the salt water system at n/c we do not use or recommend this system but the customer wanted it so it was given at no cost to him it did come with a owners manuel it would be up to the owner to put the salt in the pool and to monitor the unit. In ref. to the blemish a work order was written up and explained to the customer that this would be taken care of during the off season since the water would need to be drained. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The reference to the salt water system is a flat out lie.  We were never told they "didn't do salt water systems" until we asked when it was going to be installed.  So far as the "blemish", it's not a blemish.  It's a structural crack in the pool.  I have repeatedly made calls to Gary's Pool and ***io and never get a return call.  I want the damage repaired immediately and I want the salt system up and running as promised. 

It's funny they say they don't do salt systems, they installed our neighbor's pool a couple of years ago and installed a salt system there.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: *** ******* made a demand that he really wanted a salt system for his pool we n/c the unit we do not put them on our pools unless the customer is requesting it because salt is corrosive and can cause damage to the equipment and the deck, I am sorry that we do not add the salt the customer is responsible for starting up the unit the only thing we do is plumb the unit to our system. The repair that is needed we originally agreed to repair at the end of the season so his wife would not miss rehab. time but if *** ******* is wanting it now it is not a problem we can get it scheduled for next week the pool will be down for approx. 3 days I am always available if he wants to call me at ************ I will get the repair scheduled for next week. Thanks *** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Why were we not informed of the issue with the salt system when we talked with **** ****?  When we said we wanted a salt system, he said "no problem" and moved right on selling us a pool.  Now that he has our money it is all of the sudden an issue.  They sold it, they need to install and back it up just as we were promised.

Next week is fine for the repair work.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This in regards to a repair that has been in need since September 2012. We have called several times to have a crack in the pool repaired caused by a subcontracter to the company. We have been given excuse after excuse. They have no record of us calling, well I do, they said that their fiberglass repairman was out of town and when he returned we would be put on list, well no list, no repair, we called again in October of 2012 and a man by the name of **** told us how to temporarily repair the pool until the fiberglass man could, **** says they have no record of the call, I do. We have called every month to see when the fiberglass guy would be showing up, we either get "not back in town yet" or no one returns our calls. In March, we took a larger step and made phone calls everyday for a week until someone came out and assessed the damages that have now worsened due to the crack. Due to being so persistant, **** came out. Now they are saying it is not their problem, that the crack was caused by settling of the ground, well thanks to a few other contractors who came to give us new estimates of the repairs, it has been proven that the pool was put in incorrectly to begin with, several things were not done and now we have an even larger problem then just a crack!!! We have continued to call on a weekly basis to at least have the cracked fixed and no one returns our calls!! We are hoping that our homeowners will help with the costly repair that should be getting fixed by Garys Pool and Patio but in our opinion they are a very untrustworthy business and we will not be letting them do any other repair except for the fiberglass, which is through a subcontractor also. We have plans in the works to also have this business "BLACK LISTED" with all the military posts so that business with any military family is impossible. They do not hold to their work policies or ethics under the BBB and should not be allowed to have an A- stamp. We are utterly discusted with this company and feel that they are worth a relook and should not be a member of the BBB. F- should be their rating!

Desired Settlement: Repair of entire pool due to improper installation on Garys Pool and Patio's part.

Business Response: We put the customer's pool in 5/22/2006 more than 7 years ago we only recieved a call about the repair at the end of 2012 or the beginning of 2013 ago **** from our production office met with Mr. ******* he was asking for help to fix the crack it was explained when the cutomer first called in that he would need to patch it with 2part epoxy then allow the water that is underground dry up that can take several months depending on our weather. The owner will be back next week I will see how he wants to move forward with this. We as a company have always put our customers first I am sorry that the *******s feel this way since we never heard of a problem till the pool was over 7 years old we do not know if the problem was due to draining the pool and having underground water that caused the crack or to ground movement. I will have an answer for the customer next week when the owner gets back. Thanks ***  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Like stated before, just because they have kept extremely poor records doesn't mean we have!!! We have called Gary's Pool and Patio several times upon what they are stating and no one has returned our calls!!! As stated before, there has been nothing but lying, scheming, and very bad business conduct!! WE ARE MILITARY PEOPLE!!! We keep records of everything!! This company has been contacted about every problem our pool has had and just because they no record of it doesn't mean that it didn't happen. That is on them, not us. IF NEEDED WE WILL BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO SHOW AN ATTORNEY ALL OUR RECORDS!!
 
Regards,

**** *******




























Business Response: As stated before I will give it to the owner when he gets back next week as I had said to Mrs. ******* when I spoke to her the last service ticket that I have is in 2010 where they called in that the light was out they paid a service call of 136.88 and signed the ticket nothing was said at that time to me when I wrote the ticket up thats all I was going by I know they are frustrated I had talked with them several times I then had a death in the family so I asked **** to meet with the customer and see what was needed he went out and looked at the site and went over what he felt was needed. Our warranty is for one year after that they would have a manufactures warranty on the fiberglass. I will see when the owner will go out next week and let the customer know the date and time.  Thanks ***    

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


As stated before....we have been home now for 5 weeks since said vacation, I have called Gary's Pool and ***io 3 times and was 1st time told *** was on the phone and would return our call, never called back!, 2nd time, was out of the office and would return our call, never called back and the 3rd time, she was with a customer and would call us back, never called back!!!!! LIES, LIES, LIES!!!! Even after typing the sorry excuse for messages through the BBB they still have not contacted myself or my wife!! This company does not deserve an A- RATING!!!! They should not be a part of the BBB at all!!!!! They do not understand what the meaning of Better Business is, maybe the other people suing the company and people who are having mutiple issues (such as vendors and subcontractors) need to look more into a business that doesnt have any morals or values or their lack of support for military families, because that is how we feel this company works and how poorly we are being treated!! We are not even sure if we want a company with such disregard for their costumers to repair our pool anyway!! This has been taken to the ****** ******* ****** ** *** *******, **** *** ******* and our attorney!

Regards,
**** *******


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2012 Delivery Issues
12/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1