BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom decks and spas, outdoor kitchens and fireplaces.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paradise Decks & Spas, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paradise Decks & Spas, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated: 02/13/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rick Hogue, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Hogue, President
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Deck Builder Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Products & Services

Paradise Decks & Spas, LLC sells the following brand(s): Fiberon, Kamodo Joe Grills, L.A. Spas, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, TimberTech, Trex

Paradise Decks & Spas, LLC offers the following product(s): Arbors, Decks, Kamodo Joe Ceramic Grills, L.A. Spas, Outdoor Kitchens, Patio Covers, Patio Fireplaces, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, Swim Spas

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, checks, and we offer competitive bank financing.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 17550 Judson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78247 (210) 496-3325

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Paradise Decks & Spas at first to get an estimate so my husband and I could save up for what we wanted. **** and **** both wooed us by saying that we could get a loan with 0% APR for the term of the loan. So of course we jumped on it! After dealing with several issues with workers not showing up and taking 5 times as long to build our deck- **** came to our home to sign the completion paperwork. I did then saw that there was an APR on there. I told him this was a mistake and needed to be corrected. He told me he could not do it and I needed to call **** or ****. I spoke with **** and he said he would have **** call me, which he never did! I am now dealing with ***** and she stated that since I signed the paperwork she can't help me and that she would have **** call me. This is day two and no phone call! I am very upset and refuse to pay $107 a month in interest!!! My husband and I would have never agreed to these terms- EVER! I would rather them come rip the deck out then continue to rip me off. How dare they take advantage of us like this. They told us it was going to be $200 a month for $10,000 which is 50 months which equals over $5,000 in interest!!!! Are you kidding me!

Desired Settlement: I want the original contract to be honored! 0% APR for the term of the loan.

Business Response: Sent: Friday, October 18, 2013 9:29 AM

To: BBB *******

 

Reference the above complaint.  Attached are the copy
of the charge slip for the job in question.  It clearly states that there
is a “Special Term” with a “Special Rate of 12.9% APR” with a “Custom Payment
2.00%”.  The finance program we offer is a ***** ***** **** Projects
****.  Their standard Annual Percentage Rate (APR) for purchases is
27.99%.  We offer our customers one of two “Special Terms” – either a
reduced interest rate of 12.9% over the term of the finance program with a
monthly payment of 2.00% of the outstanding balance (this is where Mrs. ******
is stating that she was offered a $200 monthly payment) OR the customer can
choose another program, where if they pay off the amount financed within 12
months, there would be no interest, but the customer is required to make a
“Regular Payment” each month of 3.5% (or in this case $350 per month) and if
the loan is not completely paid off within the 12 month period, it reverts to
their standard program where interest is calculated at 27.99%, back dated to
the original date of the charge slip.  When the ******s contacted us, we
attempted to explain they had chosen the lower payment option as they could not
be sure that they could pay the principal in full before the 12 month period
expired.  We did make arrangements with ***** ***** to buy down the
interest rate from 12.9% to 6.9% which would dramatically reduce the amount of
interest the customer would pay.  (We also “buy down” the initial interest
rate from 27.99% to the 12.9% so our customers can get the best finance program
to fit their budget.)  We have never had a 0.00% interest over the life of
the contract.  Most consumers understand that when a 0% interest loan is
offered, such as an auto loan, that you pay a much higher price for the auto,
or forego any offered rebates, as this is how the loan is subsidized. 
Again, we have never had this type of loan available.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Yes, they did get the rate lowered BUT my point is that at no time was an interest rate discussed with me or my husband until the job was done and EVEN then the interest was never told to us. I had to notice it on the completion paperwork.  Bottom line is that I feel frauded and believe that people need to know that this business cannot be trusted.  Also, to add to it all our deck has black spots all over it and after doing research discovered it was mold! So now we have to bleach the whole thing to hopefully kill the mold.  We are one dissatisfied customers.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Paradise Decks and Spas to build a patio with a covering on the back of our house two years ago. They assured us they would file any necessary paperwork through our city, such as permits, inspections, etc. Now, two years later, we found out there was no inspection done. We have had to call them for the last two months, usually daily, to attempt to get them to get the final inspection done and then fix the issues on the inspection. They do not return phone calls and I have had to leave numerous messages with no response. As of this date, we still do not have the engineer's letter regarding the concrete. Paradise has had the inspection report from the city for several weeks but does nothing to correct the work unless I badger them with phone calls. They tell me they have called the engineer to come out and that he might later this week. When I have stated numerous times that we need this done as quickly as possible because we are selling our house, they say they'll do the best they can, which appears to be nothing at all. We need this issue resolved quickly. What should have take two weeks to complete has taken two months and we still do not have all the items we need for the patio to pass inspection.

Desired Settlement: For Paradise Decks to get me the engineer's letter by the end of this week. And for this complaint to be online for others to see the horrible customer service and lack of promptness of this business.

Business Response:

The permit was intially pulled on this project, however, our construction manager at that time did not call in for an inspection which we were not aware of until Mrs. ***** called.  I called the City of ****** twice to get them to fax me over the items we needed to address.  This took them a week to get to me.  I let Mr. and Mrs. ***** know this as well as we were waiting on the engineer to inspect the project before we could proceed.  We have taken care of all issues and provided them with the engineer's letter before closing.  Mrs. ***** signed off that everything had been completed, and i have attached the letter from the engineer.  She has a copy of it as well.  If you have any further questions or need more info, please let me know.  Thanks

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1