Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC

Phone: (210) 496-3325 Fax: (210) 599-8106 17550 Judson Rd, San Antonio, TX 78247 http://www.paradisedecksandspas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom decks and spas, outdoor kitchens and fireplaces.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paradise Decks & Spas LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paradise Decks & Spas LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Paradise Decks & Spas LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 18
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 02/13/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. George Richard Hogue, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Richard Hogue, Managing Member
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Deck Builder Patio Cover Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Fireplaces Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Outdoor Kitchens

Products & Services

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC sells the following brand(s): Fiberon, Kamodo Joe Grills, L.A. Spas, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, TimberTech, Trex

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC offers the following product(s): Arbors, Decks, Kamodo Joe Ceramic Grills, L.A. Spas, Outdoor Kitchens, Patio Covers, Patio Fireplaces, Saber Grills, Sun Stone Grills and Accessories, Swim Spas

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Paradise Decks & Spas LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17550 Judson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78247 (210) 496-3325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Paradise decks to remove my old deck and replace it with exactly the same deck. Problem #1: They inadvertently removed my lower deck which was not part of the contract and despite many calls to the company not one person has called me back in regards to replacing that deck. Problem #2: I was promised a 1 week build and it has now been a month. I was also promised a team and most of the time it was one guy. Problem #3: Shoddy workmanship. PIllars are crooked and the wood supporting the base is not attached to house foundation...it is free standing on the pillars. Problem #4: They purposely mis-measured my patio without my knowledge. I explicitly told several sales people I wanted the exact same patio I currently had. They cut off about 10 feet of patio on one side and another 6+ inches on the other side without my knowledge. The drawing I signed did NOT have measurements on it as I was told they would put all that in afterwards since I had a lot other workmen at my house that day. So the version I have now with numbers, was NOT the version I initialed. They had 2 other people after that come out to verify measurements and NOT one person said anything about their measurement not matching the current patio. Every person I spoke to I clearly stated I wanted the exact same sized patio I currently had on this house.

Desired Settlement: I want all pillars fixed for proper vertical alignment and supports attached as needed to base wall. I want the patio dimensions on the side where they cut off 10 feet built to the old patio dimensions. I want my lower deck replaced immediately after the upper deck is complete. I want the side off the kitchen to have the proper landing so the stairs end at the edge of the cement like the old stairs did.

Business Response: We are currently working with Mrs. **** to get everything requested taken care of.  We will be replacing the lower deck that was demoed by mistake at our cost.  The pillars and additional mistakes have been taken care of or are in the process of being take care of as we speak. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this future resolution is satisfactory to me.  They are still working the issues.

Regards,

**** ****

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a deck built by Paradise in May 2015 and was assured all necessary permits were to be applied for and would be built to the code of the City of San Antonio. Upon completion we asked for permits and were notified none was needed. on September 8th 2015 I called paradise to inform them that I had people over that informed me a permit was needed and it was not built to proper specifications. A representative came out to our house to look at and said some things were not to code and he would fix and inquire about a permit. after several conversations and our persistence to get a permit they agreed to pull the permit after it was built and fix all issues. they scheduled an apt to look at it on oct 2nd and no one showed. they called and set another apt for today oct 14th and again no one shows

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner of the business to personally call me and get this settled ASAP since they have already admitted it was not to code as promised and would be rectified. I do not want ***** or *** to be involved in the resolution as they have given me the run around and been argumentative for the last 6 weeks over this issue.

Business Response: I met with Mr. ****** on Monday, October 19 at 10 am.  I reviewed his concerns regarding the spacing on the balusters (a few of which were too far spaced) as well as an issue where the steps transition to the yard.  We agreed to correct all issues, and had a service technician out at his home the next day.  Unfortunately with the rain, we did not get all issues completed, but will be back out there Monday the 26th to complete the repairs.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:the repairs that were agreed upon were not completed only part of them were done and those were done and look horrible. They are scheduled to come back out on Wednesday the 28th to look yet again. *** is coming not Rick as I requested to handle this issue. I was assured by Rick it was not going to be a problem , but as with all my other dealings it's not done and frustrating to have to spend more of my time trying to get this fixed! After I deal with yet another go around with them on repairs I still need the city to inspect and get a permit issued so very stressful dealing with this for 5 months and still not resolved. 

Regards,

**** ******

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was hired to build a large, open covered deck and a gazebo and arbor. The salesman failed to listen and twice caused issues. First they built the wrong product and when they corrected that, they ten delivered a gazebo with no back rests or supports. It was supposed to be exactly like the picture we used. We have grand children who cannot go near this safety hazard they have created. When I complained, they said, "We will charge you, we have you initials on the forms." Its NOT what we wanted. There re several other instances where they demonstrate thing about their customers (I still do not have a receipt from the 1st 10,000 I paid them in June!

Desired Settlement: Put on the rails and make the gazebo safe. It is useless to us as is. This is a $20,000 HIJACKING!

Business Response: We entered into a contract with Mr. ******** to construct a deck addition, a hip patio cover, an arbor, and a freestanding deck with a gazebo roof.  I have included a copy of the drawing depicting the scope of the work, as well as some notes regarding what we contracted for.  As you'll see, we were to construct a patio cover over a portion of the deck, with an arbor covering the rest of the deck.  In order to support the patio cover, we clearly showed a support post required in the middle of the cover, with the arbor to be supported by posts at the outside edge of the deck.  When Mr. ******** saw the post, the objected, so we offered to eliminate the support post by building a cover over the entire deck, eliminating the shade arbor.  We did not charge Mr. ******** for this change order (as he was very stressed out by the death of his mother).  We absorbed the additional cost, and even stopped construction while he dealt with his mother's death.  (Obviously a mistake in hindsight to "give him something for nothing" as I believe that set up a precedent he expected us to follow.  When we went back to work to complete the project, we built the freestanding gazebo out in the yard, which unlike the upper deck, is flat on the ground.  As I noted on the drawing, there is no detail showing this is to have any type of rail, just benches.  When you look at the other attachment (******** contract) which is the specification sheet, and you will notice that the section marked handrail has a large "X" drawn across it.  Now Mr. ******** expects us to put a rail around it for FREE!  We told him we would be glad to provide a rail, but not for "FREE".  We bend over backwards to make sure our customers are happy with us, but unfortunately some customers are just unreasonable! 

4/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a deck built on our home in June of 2013 and when the designer/manager was in our home we were told that the work and decks built by Paradise Decks and Spas had a lifetime guarantee against poor craftsmanship or defect. We paid nearly $17,000 to have our deck built and from the very beginning the company tried every tactic possible to not only string the job along but to not also honor their guarantee. We began having problems with the concrete work from the very beginning and it was like having teeth pulled to get someone out to fix the issues. Most of the issues were about the concrete in between the flagstone chipping and breaking. Once all the original defects were repaired my wife and I paid to have the deck sealed by one of their contractors. However, on 3/28/15 it was noticed that the concrete between the flagstone had again chipped away and broke to the point that it left a 1" deep X 5" long divet in the concrete. I called the office and spoke with a manager and was told now, "The concrete is not covered under the guarantee." This is a deceptive practice and the woman was looking for any reason to pass the product issues to me. She asked me if the deck had been sealed according to their recommendations and I informed her that it had. I also told her that we used their contractor to do it. Please let me know what to do here.

Desired Settlement: I want the concrete issues fixed. I want them to honor what the designer/manager told us.

Business Response: As per the attached (BBB-*****4), we entered into an agreement to perform work for Mr. ***** at his residence on June 1, 2013.  We applied for a building permit for the work on June 2, 2013 (BBB-*****3), and began work on June 11, 2013.  The first phase of construction was the installation of a concrete foundation, which was built to code and inspected by the city of *******, and then after the inspection, the concrete was placed, allowed to cure for a few days, and then the flagstone was applied to the top of the foundation.  This was completed on June 18th.  Seven days to complete a concrete foundation of 266 sq. ft. with the addition of flagstone (contrary to Mr. *****'s allegation that we did everything possible to "string the job along").  We delivered the material for the cover portion of the job, which also included installation of guard rail around the perimeter of the foundation, as well as built in benching and shelving.  Work on this portion of the job began on June 24, 2013, and was completed on June 31, 2013.  Again, the time line for completion of this work did not in any way represent our delaying the job.  Also attached is the addendum portion of the sales agreement for the concrete/flagstone work which clearly states "Due to the nature of concrete, we are unable to offer any warranty", and in attachment BBB-*****3 is the actual Limited Warranty and Customer Satisfaction Program which clearly states that the "Paradise Decks and Spas, LLC ("Paradise") warrants its workmanship to be free of defects at the time of completion of the work."  Mr. ***** contacted our office on Monday, March 30, regarding the mortar joints in the flagstone chipping/cracking, and yes, he was told that concrete was not covered under the guarantee; however he was also informed that we would have our construction manager (Kent Lain) contact him when he returned to work following a severe bout of laryngitis and make arrangements to meet at the job site and inspect the work to see if anything could be done.  Mr. ***** "jumped the gun" in filing this complaint without even giving us a chance to view the work. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Paradise Decks and Spas sent their contractors out to fix the issues with the cement grout. The work was very well done and I appreciate your help in this matter. As far as I am concerned, they have honored their side.of the deal.

Regards,

****** *****

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Paradise Decks & Spas at first to get an estimate so my husband and I could save up for what we wanted. **** and **** both wooed us by saying that we could get a loan with 0% APR for the term of the loan. So of course we jumped on it! After dealing with several issues with workers not showing up and taking 5 times as long to build our deck- **** came to our home to sign the completion paperwork. I did then saw that there was an APR on there. I told him this was a mistake and needed to be corrected. He told me he could not do it and I needed to call **** or ****. I spoke with **** and he said he would have **** call me, which he never did! I am now dealing with ***** and she stated that since I signed the paperwork she can't help me and that she would have **** call me. This is day two and no phone call! I am very upset and refuse to pay $107 a month in interest!!! My husband and I would have never agreed to these terms- EVER! I would rather them come rip the deck out then continue to rip me off. How dare they take advantage of us like this. They told us it was going to be $200 a month for $10,000 which is 50 months which equals over $5,000 in interest!!!! Are you kidding me!

Desired Settlement: I want the original contract to be honored! 0% APR for the term of the loan.

Business Response: Sent: Friday, October 18, 2013 9:29 AM

To: BBB *******

 

Reference the above complaint.  Attached are the copy
of the charge slip for the job in question.  It clearly states that there
is a “Special Term” with a “Special Rate of 12.9% APR” with a “Custom Payment
2.00%”.  The finance program we offer is a ***** ***** **** Projects
****.  Their standard Annual Percentage Rate (APR) for purchases is
27.99%.  We offer our customers one of two “Special Terms” – either a
reduced interest rate of 12.9% over the term of the finance program with a
monthly payment of 2.00% of the outstanding balance (this is where Mrs. ******
is stating that she was offered a $200 monthly payment) OR the customer can
choose another program, where if they pay off the amount financed within 12
months, there would be no interest, but the customer is required to make a
“Regular Payment” each month of 3.5% (or in this case $350 per month) and if
the loan is not completely paid off within the 12 month period, it reverts to
their standard program where interest is calculated at 27.99%, back dated to
the original date of the charge slip.  When the ******s contacted us, we
attempted to explain they had chosen the lower payment option as they could not
be sure that they could pay the principal in full before the 12 month period
expired.  We did make arrangements with ***** ***** to buy down the
interest rate from 12.9% to 6.9% which would dramatically reduce the amount of
interest the customer would pay.  (We also “buy down” the initial interest
rate from 27.99% to the 12.9% so our customers can get the best finance program
to fit their budget.)  We have never had a 0.00% interest over the life of
the contract.  Most consumers understand that when a 0% interest loan is
offered, such as an auto loan, that you pay a much higher price for the auto,
or forego any offered rebates, as this is how the loan is subsidized. 
Again, we have never had this type of loan available.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Yes, they did get the rate lowered BUT my point is that at no time was an interest rate discussed with me or my husband until the job was done and EVEN then the interest was never told to us. I had to notice it on the completion paperwork.  Bottom line is that I feel frauded and believe that people need to know that this business cannot be trusted.  Also, to add to it all our deck has black spots all over it and after doing research discovered it was mold! So now we have to bleach the whole thing to hopefully kill the mold.  We are one dissatisfied customers.

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

18 Customer Reviews on Paradise Decks & Spas LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart