BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Painting and Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Painting and Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Painting and Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated: 08/17/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ernest Espinoza, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernest Espinoza, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Wallpaper Removing Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Floor Materials - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Pressure Washing Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Contractors - Flooring Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Floor Coverings & Installation Home Improvements Graffiti Removal

Alternate Business Names
Superior Colors LLC Superior Painting Company
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1141 N Loop 1604 E Ste 105 Ste 254

    San Antonio, TX 78232

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 655-2658 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used this company in the past with great success (we had a contract in place). With this episode, we had a tentative contract drawn up in October 2012, but did not have a current one in place when the work began in November 2013. We were charged more than we had initially agreed upon, and the work was not as requested. We had discussed verbally prior to painting that things would be done in stages (we were having floor repairs done as well), and this included painting the ceiling and base boards. The issue included the following: (1) Company representative did not remember we had agreed on painting the ceiling (2) Company representative painted the base boards, after not remembering we had agreed on this, and I had to perform the work myself after the floors were placed (3) Company finished the work in one day (Friday) when it was made clear they would need to return on Monday AFTER the flooring work (4) Company stated the floor crew would be responsible for touch up work, which was not agreed upon (5) Company needed a quick deposit to establish the work date, but did not follow up with a contract as requested by me on numerous occassions

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to be reprimanded for their limited business approach in this situation, and have a percentage of the amount refunded. I never look forward to paying $2000 for work and having to spend hours completing it myself.

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  We appreciate the customer’s note that they were prior customers who said they used this company with great success. That said, we pride ourselves on having repeat customers who contact us for their home remodeling projects. We were contacted by Mr. ******* over a year ago to provide him with a proposal for work to be done at his home. Mr. ******* asked if Superior could honor the prior proposal. Upon discussion, Mr. ******* was informed that the prior contract could not be found due to new computer systems in place and that it would be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to quote the original proposal. I offered to go by the home and review the scope of work to be done. After meeting with Mr. *******, I asked him if he could recall the price of the proposal and if so, I would honor the price even though it had been over a year that I had given him a quote. He said he believed the price was $1,900.00.  After further discussion, Mr. ******* said not only did he want the original work to be done, he had additional work that he wanted done that was not on the original proposal. I told Mr. ******* that we could do the  additional work and that the final price would be $2,000.00. This was a verbal agreement and he agreed.  We commenced the work and we put extra crew members on the job because he wanted the work to be done prior to flooring being installed. We met his deadline and completed our end of the project.  It was only until after the flooring installation was done that we had a disagreement. Our own agreement did not mention any work to be done post installation of any flooring.  I spoke to Mr. ******* on the phone and he asked if I would agree to paint all the shoe molding to be installed prior to our leaving the job. I told I would do so and did so.  To address the numbers in the customer’s narrative:

1: We painted the ceiling for Mr. *******. 
2: All baseboards were painted. The flooring company is responsible for any damage to baseboards after the painting has already been done.
3: We finished the project as Mr. ******* said there would be flooring contractors in to install the floor. We do not intend to work while flooring is being installed. Further, Mr. ******* requested that we finish due to his own deadline.
4: See No. 2 above. Further, there was no agreement to repair or touch up any baseboards after the floor installation.
5: Customer never requested a contract. On the contrary, due to his having to rush to have this project completed, he agreed to pay the deposit. Company policy dictates that we must have a deposit in order to schedule a start date.

Finally, I performed a walk through with Mrs. ******* and she was satisfied with the work and we were paid in full. And at the time of the walk through, Mrs. ******* called her husband and informed him that we were done with the work. I spoke with Mr. ******* and confirmed we had completed the job and Mrs. ******* presented me with final payment. 

We feel that Mr. ******* was upset with the flooring company for damaging already painted baseboards. Further, he could have contacted us to discuss his concerns, but never called and supposedly, he had to perform the work himself. 
Finally, Mr. ******* did find the old contract which reflected a different total for the original scope of work to be done. However, Mr. ******* did not take into account the fact that there was additional work done that was not included in the original contract.  Therefore, Superior stands behind the final proposal and amount paid. Also, if the customers were not satisfied with the work performed, they could have withheld payment. We are not responsible for any damages or alleged misunderstandings by the customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

(1)  Work stated would require 2 days, and was completed in one.  Why would I want the baseboards and 1/4 round painted when the flooring was not yet done?  That makes no sense.  The 1/4 round was removed and new board placed after the flooring was installed.  Why would I want something painted and then moved/removed?  The verbal agreement, which is binding in Texas, were repairs/ceiling painted on Friday, floors installed on Saturday and Sunday by a different company, and finish baseboard and 1/4 round painting on Monday.  Yes, I did want the work done before the holiday.  The original agreement would have accomplished the task.

(2)  I was at work when ****** did the walk through with my wife.  My wife did not feel comfortable confronting him and his crew.  My wife called me frustrated with the process, and I spoke with him at length on her cell phone.  I reminded him of our agreement, and that they were to return on Monday and paint the baseboard and quarter round.  He stated the touch up would be the floor company responsibility, which it is not. He knew the flooring was going to be installed over the weekend, and again, the baseboard and 1/4 round were going to be removed/manipulated.  I stated "I was not happy with the situation", and he stated "sorry".  I then ask that he wait, and I would be home in 15 minutes.  When I arrived 15 minutes later, he had already taken a check from my wife and was gone.  His crew was also in their vehicles driving away when I pulled up.

(3)  I sent him an email on Monday a.m., November 25th, with the original written contract from 10/12 (my wife found it in her archives, see the attached). I stated my displeasure with the service, and never had a response.

(4)  The original invoice was for $1400, and did not include the baseboard (200 linear feet).  $2000 should have more than covered the original quote and the baseboard work.

(5)  I do not withhold payment.  I pursue other means as necessary. 

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: We had intended to contract with ** ****** ********, Superior Painting and Renovating, **** * **** **** * *** **** *** ******** ** *****, to paint our house; however, within a couple of hours of discussing this with ** ********, we cancelled the job in favor of a lower bid. ** ******** was apparently extremely offended that we chose to go with another contractor, and refused to acknowledge our cancellation, after text, email, and many phone calls. He cashed our deposit check of $2775 after having been notified of our decision to cancel and has refused to repay the deposit in spite of having repeatedly agreed to do so, under two separate sets of conditions identified by ** ********, and our almost 2 months of attempted resolution. ** ******** would not even discuss resolution initially, stating we would hear from his attorney, but we heard nothing. After being contacted by our attorney, he said he was planning to use the color specific paint he said he had purchased for our house on another job, after which he would fully refund our deposit. (From the beginning, we offered to pay for any job specific expenditures with proof of purchase) Again we heard nothing, and our attorney called him again with no answer. ** ******** finally sent an email , now stating additional requirements before he would return our deposit. He stated that he required a Release of Claims before he would return our deposit (which we had another lengthy wait for), and that if we signed the Release and returned it to him by scan/email, he would send our deposit to us by certified US mail. He refused numerous attempts to arrange for a direct exchange of the Release for the refund. We finally signed the release with the added statement that it was valid upon repayment of the full deposit. This was sent to him on 20 June 2013. It has been an additional 3 full weeks and he has not returned our deposit and will not return attempted contacts from our attorney. We have prepared a more detailed explanation to provide if you need it, as well as copies of multiple emails between us, which were punctuated by numerous attempts by our attorney to contact him.

Desired Settlement: Full, immediate, and unconditional refund of $2775 deposit.

Business Response: This is in response to the BBB complaint no. *******.  By way of chronology referenced below are the true facts that contradict the allegations made by the *********. The ********* did contract with Superior Painting (Contract No. ****).  We had a signed contract confirming the commitment by the ********** to have work done at their home.  I met with the ********** on May 21st wherein we discussed the scope of work to be done. I prepared and emailed the ********** a contract on May 22nd at 9:11 a.m. and we met thereafter the same morning  wherein there was an agreement to the contract price and in addition, a request for more work to be done which was handwritten in to the contract by **** ******** which also changed the contract price.  I was given a piece of stucco off the house in order to order and purchase the paint (custom color match) and the stain for all sides and rear fencing was also a special order. Thereafter, I was given a deposit for ½ of the total contract price.  Once a contract is signed, it is my obligation and duty to provide the services as stated within that contract. The ********* also requested that I expedite the project as they had a self-imposed deadline to meet.  All that said, once I received the deposit, I immediately ordered the paint and materials to be used (custom color match) to assure that the paint would be ready for when we were to start the project. I also made arrangements for my crew to proceed with the project and re-arranged other scheduled projects in order to meet the ********** deadline.   Everything seemed to be running smoothly up until I abruptly received an e-mail from **** ******** stating that she had received a lower bid and asked that I tear up the deposit check. 

*** ********, our other bid came back at $5250 for the entire job including the fence using the same products, so we have decided to go with them. Please just tear up the deposit check. Thank you for your time and presentation. ******* ********”

I did receive a phone call and messages on Wednesday asking that contact **** ********. I returned the call after business hours and told **** ******** that I was late to pick up my wife at the airport and that I would have to call her first thing in the morning.  I called her on Thursday morning as promised at 9:00 a.m. and left her a voice mail message. She returned my call and during the conversation I asked that we no longer speak by phone, but rather utilize e-mail for any further discussions.  Thereafter, I continued to receive several text messages from **** ******** and phone calls regarding the mixing of the paint (custom color match). She asked repeatedly if the paint has been mixed and I told her it had been mixed and paid for.   To that end, she even threatened me by asking why I would risk my good name over this supposed misunderstanding.    
 
I wrote in my email to **** ******** that she must think that ordering paint and scheduling projects is an easy task.  However, she doesn’t understand how I run my business and the many projects we handle not only on a daily basis, but on a monthly basis.  It takes time, effort and efficiency on my part as well as my staff.  To say that she gave me “ample” time to cancel the project is incorrect. 
 
I informed **** ******** that my attorney would contact her to discuss the situation as I did have a signed contract and I was at a loss of what to do due to the expenditure of funds due to the custom color match of the paint including other materials and for scheduling of crews to accommodate this particular project.
 
Subsequently after several emails and conversations between our attorneys, a Release was drawn up to resolve the differences between Superior and the *********. Even after the Release was drawn up and sent, the ********** had several edits that they requested be made to the Release. We obliged their requests and the Release was edited per their request. Thereafter, **** ******** demanded a face to face meeting to exchange the Release and return of the funds. I refused to meet with her in person, but offered to send her the funds via certified mail upon receipt of the Release.  To date, we have yet to receive an executed Release. 
 
Furthermore, we also have many emails and text messages save in the even that they are necessary to further refute the allegations made by the *********.  That said, there were numerous demands made my **** ******** throughout this unfortunate circumstance wherein she continuously tried tell me what, when, and how she expected me to respond to her.  In essence, she made the situation confusing and more contentious that it had to be. If you require further documentation, please advise. Thank you. ****** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

We emailed the scanned copy of the requested release of claims on June 20, 2013. A copy of the email has been forwarded to ********* ******* at the BBB.  If somehow it was not received by ** ********, this should rectify that issue and the refund of our deposit of $2775 should be sent to us by certified mail now, as promised.

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: We are in receipt of **** ******** response and understand that a copy of the signed Release has been submitted to the BBB. However, we have not had the opportunity to review the signed Release for any edits, etc.  Therefore, we would appreciate that a copy be send to us to confirm the terms that were stated within and to ensure that they have not been altered. That said, I would reference itemized section number (2) wherein it states: 


" Covenant Not To Sue:  The Parties covenant that each will refrain from commencing any action or suit, prosecuting any pending action or suit, or participating or assisting in any manner in the commencement or prosecution of any action or suit, at law or in equity, related to the Claims released by this agreement.  If ******** has commenced an action with any third party or judicial court, ******** will immediately withdraw any claims and will provide adequate proof to the Company prior to release of any refund. Further, any claims or reviews of a negative nature pertaining to the Company that have been electronically submitted to the internet will be removed and ******** agrees to refrain from publishing such content in the future."

This clause within the Release expressly states that the ******** will not commence any action against Superior Painting once they sign the Release. Since we never received the Release, and she went ahead and filed a complaint with the BBB, we would respectfully request that she withdraw this complaint against Superior Painting. 

Thank you. Superior Painting

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to the contract the final 25% of the payment was to be made after completion of the job. ****** ******** demanded the final payment before the job was completed. When we said the agreed upon work was not done, he became abusive, threatening, and walked off the job, refusing to return our house keys.

Desired Settlement: Apologize for his behavior, return our key

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint No. *******.  On November 22, 2013, I spoke to Mr. & Mrs. **** and informed them that the scope of work had been completed. During the walk through, Mr. **** began speaking of additional work that he wanted done that was not within the original contract. During this discussion, it became apparent that the ****s were going to withhold the final balance unless we did extra work for them. I’d mention that all the while during the work that was being done, Mrs. **** would speak to my crew members and request work that was not agree upon or contracted for under the pretense of not having to pay for the additional work.  Unfortunately, my crew did perform additional work without my approval and this work was outside the scope of the original contract. I then spoke to my crew on several occasions and told them that they were to direct Mrs. **** to me in the event she continued to request work that was not within the contract.

Going back to the discussion at the final walk through, I told Mr. **** we were finished and that we would need to be paid. He refused to pay the balance owed plus the monies for the additional work that was done that was not in the contract.  At the point, he put his finger in my face and told me I was not going to get paid. My employees witnessed this gesture. I then told my employees to leave asap. The ****s began yelling and slamming doors and we left because we felt threatened and it was a very uncomfortable situation.  We intend on collecting the balance owed from the ****s.

As far as the key is concerned, the key was left on the premises. I personally told Mrs. **** that the key was in a cabinet in the wet bar area.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service