BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Advanced Vision Care of Victoria, P.A.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Vision Care of Victoria, P.A. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Vision Care of Victoria, P.A. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Vision Care of Victoria, P.A.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 06, 2014 Business started: 06/30/2008 in TX Business started locally: 06/30/2008 Business incorporated: 06/30/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Optometry Board
333 Guadalupe St # 2-420, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tob.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 305-8500
Fax Number: 512-305-8501

Type of Entity

Association

Business Management
Dr. Valerie Baker, President Mr. David Pfenninger
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Valerie Baker, President
Customer Contact: Mr. David Pfenninger
Business Category

Optometrists Contact Lenses Sunglasses Eyeglass Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Vision Care, P.A.

Additional Locations

  • 1505 E Rio Grande St Ste 150

    Victoria, TX 77901 (361) 485-9421

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an appointment at Advanced Vision Care on February 5th, 2014 at 2:15 PM. I received my full examination, and was then ushered to the sales floor to begin selecting my frames. Before my appointment, I had decided on getting a certain kind of frame (*** **** ******** model number ******). I have these already in the original sunglass model, and my question going in was would it be less expensive to use the particular frames that I already had, or just purchase some *** *** frames in store, since they are a retailer. I waited at a table to get helped by another associate, when a gentleman asked me if I needed help. I'wasn't sure exactly what this man did for the business, for he was not wearing a uniform, a lab coat, or even a name tag-I didn't even get his name throughout the process. I brought the sunglasses in to physically show the gentleman what I wanted, and after careful examination was told that they would be able to put lenses in the frames if I so chose. While he was assisting me, this man was rude and unprofessional, unable to answer any of my questions, including but not limited to the overall answer to my pricing question, any insurance questions, or any inquiries on general pricing of *** *** frames, not to mention the he frequently left me to ask another associate what he was supposed to do. I was rung up and charged $187 total ($143 for the total cost of glasses and $44 for my examination). An hour later, I went to retrieve my frames, and left the store. I put on the glasses and immediately noticed when looking in my console mirror in my car, that these frames seemed bigger than the glasses that I had previously shown the gentlemen. Since this was the first time looking at myself with these glasses-since I wasn't allowed to look in a mirror to see how the glasses looked on my face, even when he was doing my face measurements-I immediately had concerns. I took out my sunglasses and compared the two, and the frames that I had received at Advanced Vision Care were indeed noticeably larger in size. I immediately returned to the store and brought this to an associates attention. The man that helped me tried to tell me that those were the frames I gave him. After I reminded him that I had physically brought him the frames that I wanted, he agreed to order the correct frames and do an exchange. I was not informed of shipping costs, or an exchange policy. The only other thing the man did was scoff and say, "Yea they do look kind of big on you." and he proceed to make jokes about how the large frames made me look. This man was rude and condescending to me even after he directly admitted they were the wrong size. My glasses were then placed on order. The next morning, I was called by a different associate who told me my glasses were ordered and they would arrive within 7-10 business days. I inquired that since my glasses are smaller in size, if there was a price difference, would I get a refund? She stated that if there was a difference, that I would get the balance I was charged for the frames back. Once my glasses came in, the same gentleman associate helped me. I tried them on, made sure they were the right size in the mirror, and inquired about the refund. First he told me that my new frames should be cheaper because they were smaller, and went to go check, but before he did, he came back and told me this, "Your frames should be the same price. You were actually supposed to be charged shipping since we had to order your frames which is like $12.00. Besides, I was supposed to charge you shipping and I don't really want to get yelled at so...." He proceeded to usher me out the door. Later my dad asked if I wanted him to intervene because I felt that my being female and young might have cause him to treat me unequally. He called and got the run around, being transferred from department to department without getting a specific answer. Finally, a few days later, we received a call from the gentleman who proceeds to tell my dad that I should have been charged a shipping fee of (now $25.00) and that they're not even supposed to order glasses and they came all the way from China (from my knowledge, these frames are made in Italy. it is even printed on the frames). This man never apologized for his mistake, and my dad (although treated much better than I) was dismissed. This individual was rude and should not be helping customers. I have the receipt proving that I was supposed to receive the correct frames because the model number was printed on it, and I received the wrong pair. I am offended that they would assume that the situation was my fault since I have the original receipt as proof, and that I was treated in such a rude and unprofessional way. I will never go back to Advanced Vision Care after being a loyal customer for years.

Desired Settlement: I would like the office to give me a specific price on these frames, so I can finally know if there was actually a price difference. I would also like for the previously mentioned associate to take (or retake) a training course on how to properly assist customers, more specifically problematic situations, and how to professionally and politely help paying individuals.

Business Response: Dear Sir or Madam:
I am writing in response to a complaint I received via mail (ID *******). I would like the opportunity to tell my business's side of the incident
The patient came to our office on February 5, 2014 for an eye examination. When she completed the exam, she stated that she wanted to use her insurance to purchase glasses_ The patient was shown where the women's frames were located. All the opticians were busy so she said she would look around at the frames. Since all the opticians were busy with other patients, our iab technician came out to help the patient. The patient slated that she had questions about her insurance coverage for glasses. The lab technician answered her question the best he could, but did have to get the assistance from other employees as selling glasses is not part of his normal duties. She decided that she wanted new frames that matched her ***-*** sunglasses, She said she saw a pair that matched in the contact lens area. The patient got her sunglasses out of her car 80 the technician could get the model number off the sunglasses. Then the patient and the technician found the matching frame that the patient had mentioned that she had seen earlier while trying on contacts. The model number of the frame selected matched her personal sunglasses_ The technician wrote out an order form for the new glasses and took the frame measurements of the glasses. The patient. put the glasses on and photographs were taken with the glasses on (see enclosed photos). The patient never seemed agitated or upset during the process and said thank you several times. The lenses were cut down the same day and the patient picked up her glasses the same day. She returned 45 minutes later and said that the frame was not. the frame she selected. The lab technician checked the model number and it matched her sunglasses, but the eyesizes were different by 3 mm. The lab technician offered to let the patient keep the glasses that retail for $195 until the new frame came in. Letting a patient leave with a frame that they are not planning on keeping is not our usual policy. Normally, if we have to special order a frame. The patient would have to pay a special order fee of $25 for shipping and then wait for the frame to arrive. The lab technician felt the patient could be trusted with the frame and did not charge her the special order fee due to the misunderstanding. The patient still did not complain. The ***-*** rep was contacted the next day to order the frame in the correct size and the patient was called. The rep stated that the frame would take up to 2 weeks to arrive because it was coming from China. The frame arrived at our office and new lenses were cut down for the special order frame. The patient returned and again thanked us for the glasses. The patient asked if there was any refund due to her and the lab technician checked the invoices and told the patient that the frames were the same price, There were still nip complaints or concerns from the patient. The patient returned the following day to pick up her contacts and still didn't complain, Her father called and talked to an office manager asking if there was a price difference in the frames. The office manager was not sure of the issue so she took a massage and gave it to the co-owner. The co-owner told the patient's father that there was no price difference in the frames_ It was explained that the frames were the same model number and color, just different sizes. Neither the patient nor her father ever requested any invoices or any other information, so this letter was a surprise. We would have gladly handled the matter without involving the Better Business Bureau if given a chance.
Advanced Vision Care has over 13 mirrors in the optical including one at the dispensing table that the patient was seated at. There is no way that the patient never saw herself in a mirror, Not only that, but photographs were taken of the patient with the frame on. We have attached the invoices of the original 'frame that the patient selected from the frame board and the frame that was special ordered for the patient. The first frame O****** measures 55/145. The frame ordered for the 'patient measures
52/145 (a 3 mm difference). I believe that this was all a miscommunication and we apologize for this. The patient should have stated her concerns at the time of the visit We take all complaints seriously and never knowingly mistreat or judge patients on their race, sex or ethnicity. We never want to lose a patient and are always working on Our customer service skills. We are sorry that the patient misunderstood our intentions. We hope that the patient will reconsider returning to Advanced Vision Care.

 

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I had to return my glasses for a refund, merchant advised me that they could not refund "their cost" for the lenses. This was after they had assured me I would not be penalized for returning the glasses. During the process of attempting to get me into the right lenses merchant never explained the types of circumstances under which I may lose money. Even before I asked for a refund I had expressed that I did not want to lose money if the glasses didn't work out. Merchant did not disclose to me that I would have to pay for their cost of the lenses. First, they failed to disclose a very important rule. Second, they went back on their word that I would not lose money.

Desired Settlement: Merchant refunded part of my cost. They kept $97 for their cost of the lenses. They had several opportunities to explain this to me before the refund request. In fact, they assured me I would not lose money by returning the glasses without warning that I could, depending on the circumstance. I would like merchant to apply a FULL REFUND. The amount that would constitute a full refund, which I am requesting, is $97.

Business Response: February 19,2014
BBB Corporate Office
 1005 La Posada Dr Austin, TX 78752

Dear Sir or Madam:

I am writing in response to a complaint I received via mail (ID *******), I would like the opportunity to tell my business's side of the incident. The patient came to our office on December 17, 2013 to purchase glasses. Her eye examination was on June 24, 2013. When she received the glasses she purchased on December 17th, she reported that her vision was not crisp up close. The patient was explained that it had been over 6 months since her last eye examination and that her prescription had most likely changed due to her glaucoma and other ocular conditions. She was offered to have her prescription rechecked for free on December 31, 2013. We waived the charge of $80.50 on that day. That day, her lenses were remade to the new prescription and she was charged nothing. After picking up the new glasses, she still had trouble with them. She refused to take them home to adapt to them. So the patient decided to upgrade to a better lens that would allow clearer vision up dose. The patient also elected to upgrade her frame at that time. She only paid the difference in the price of the new frame and the upgraded lenses. We lost money on the original frame and the 2 sets of lenses that we made for her. After she picked up the upgraded pair, she returned 3 days later on January 27, 2014 complaining of headaches, but clear vision. We offered to have another doctor to recheck, the prescription and again waived the fee of $80.50. Then the lab remade the lenses again and we didn't charge the patient anything. When she picked up the new lenses, she said she could see very clearly, but wanted to know how long she had to get a refund. She was instructed to try the glasses out of at least a week in order to properly adapt to the lenses. The patient returned the glasses on February 5, 2014, less than week after picking up her glasses. When she came in, she was offered to remake the glasses once again without a charge to her old glasses prescription that she wasn't having any problems with or to remake them with another doctor's prescription at no charge. The patient didn't want to do this. Since we weren't remaking the lenses, the lab would only give us only a 50% refund of the lenses. Our cost of the lenses from the final remake was $198. The remaining balance of $239 was rilefunded to the patient's insurance company. $273.85 was refunded to the patient. The patient, was refunded the full price of the frame and was charged $97 for half of the cost of the lenses. The patient was told that she wouldn't lose $97 if we remade the lenses. Since the patient chose not to remake the le rises, she lost the partial cost of the lenses. We lost over $500 in service hours and cost of goods rendered to this patient We also spent a lot of time and effort trying to appease this patient. Nothing we did was making the patient happy; she was constantly asking how to get a refund. We went over and beyond for this patient. I don't know what else we could have done to make her happy except for giving her a free pair of lasses.

Sincerely,

******* *****, **
 Owner

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
When I began to consider asking for a refund, I asked the specialist what their refund policy was. He didn't divulge it but suggested having a remake at no cost to me. I told him I was afraid I would lose money if I sent them out a 2nd time & it didn't work out. He said "it's not going to happen." I even told him I did not want for them to lose money in the process & he just said the remake would not cost them money either. At this point, he could have made me aware of possibly having to be charged for their loss if I still could not wear the glasses and ended up rejecting them. But he didn't. The fact that he didn't explain that he'd have to charge me for  part of his loss was when I asked for a refund is to me, an underhanded way of doing business. Because I feel that he deceived me in believing that there was no way I would lose money, and then changing his story, he should accept his responsibility to his customer and make good on his promise. Therefore, a full refund is in order.

********* *****