Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Band Room?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Band Room

Phone: (254) 699-2263 Fax: (254) 690-3300 View Additional Phone Numbers 212 W Veterans Memorial Blvd, Harker Heights, TX 76548 http://www.thebandroomtx.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Band Room meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Band Room include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Band Room
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1976 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 10/26/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Wright, Partner Mr. Carlton R Morris, Partner Mr. Kenneth Wood, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Wright, Partner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Rental Musical Instruments - Repair

Alternate Business Names
The Band Room, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 212 W Veterans Memorial Blvd

    Harker Heights, TX 76548 (254) 699-2263

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the business to make **yment arrangements on our **st due amount and explained why we got behind. The man said it wasn't his problem. I proceeded with a **yment of $231 and asked if I can **y the remaining balance on the 15th of Dec and I didn't want my sons grade to fall. The man laughed at me and said my problem wasn't his problem and they will have to hold on to the clarinet till I **id off the balance. Well, I went into the store with the rest of the **st due amount to be caught up and asked if I can get the corporates number (calmly) so I can file a complaint for disrespect on the phone. A guy in the office came out yelling saying to get out of his store and they didn't want my money. So I said fine I want refunded for everything I **id. They refunded every thing I **id and they said I was not allowed to come back to the store and find one somewhere who is nicer.

Desired Settlement: First of all, disrespecting the customer is not a good business practice. I think they should have agreed to the plan and if I didn't fall through with the **yment on the 15th I would have turned the clarinet in and asked for no refund. This business is a monopoly in this area and that's why they can get away with treating customers like this because so many schools have bands and need instruments for the students.

Business Response:

*** **** **** *** ** ******** ******** ***** ****** ******** ** ***** ***** ******** *** ***** ********

November 28, 2014

BBC Complaint ID ********
On August 28, 2013, Customer entered into a “Rental Purchase Agreement” with The Band Room. This contract was for the acquisition of a clarinet for her middle school child for use in beginning band. This program for beginners is a straight forward plan to accommodate the eventual purchase of an expensive instrument. The plan includes the option to return the instrument for any reason, i.e., the student quits band, the customer moves from the area, or is unable to make the **yments. Otherwise, a monthly **yment is required.
The account in question has a history of erratic **yments. The monthly **yments were due on the first of each month, beginning October 1, 2013. The following is a history of this account:

Oct. 16, 2013 October 1st **yment.
Dec. 30, 2013 November 1st **yment.
Feb. 12, 2014 December and January **yment.
This left the account due for February 1, 2014.

Between October 11, 2013 and March 21, 2014, ten letters were sent to customer as a reminder of the **yments due. As you can see, customer made some response to these letters. After March 21, 2014, no more letters were sent to the customer. On September 13, 2014 this account was turned over to a collection agency. The agency made five contacts, the last of which was on November 13, 2014. After the **yment made on February 12, 2014, there was no response or contact from the customer.

Around the 15th of November, customer brought the clarinet in for re**ir. On November 25th, customer called to enquire about the status of the clarinet. We informed the customer that the account was ten months **st due and that it would have to be brought current before the clarinet could be returned to the customer. Customer gave a long explanation about why she had not made the **yments. These reasons did not change the fact that the account was ten months **st due, and this was the first time the customer had contacted The Band Room about the account. If the clarinet hadn’t needed re**ir, I don’t know if this contact would have occurred. During the course of this conversation, the customer agreed to **y four **yments and late charges for a total of $231.00. I informed her that the account would still have to be current before she could get the clarinet back. She said that she could bring it current by Dec. 15th.

Later that day, customer came to the Harker Heights location with cash to bring the account current. If that had been all she came to do, things would have gone much differently. She immediately declared that she wanted our “corporate number” so that she could report us for our treatment of her. She proceeded to accuse me of laughing at her over the phone. I did not laugh at her. In the course of the phone conversation in question, it became obvious to me that the customer was refusing to understand our position. She wanted us to let her have the clarinet back with six months **yments still **st due; and by the time she would be able to **y, the December 1st **yment would also be due. Based on the history of this account, I had no reason to give the clarinet back. Her tone became accusatory and belligerent and my reaction may have sounded to her like I was “laughing at her.” I was bewildered by her attitude. The phone conversation ended on that tone.

While she was in the store, in front of other customers, she continued to criticise The Band Room. She did not come in to simply comply with the terms of her contract, bring the account current and proceed with her child’s music education; she came in to punish us. There was a fairly heated exchange of words, and it became obvious that the best thing to do was to simply refund ALL of the money she had **id so far and be done with the situation. Customer did not say “fine, I want refunded for everything I **id.” That decision was made by the Senior **rtner of The Band Room who had been listening to this verbal exchange and decided to put an end to it.
Maybe customer can find a store that will have a different approach to severely delinquent accounts.
It is true that The Band Room is the only music store in the local area that specializes in service to school band programs. We have survived for over thirty eight years by fair, honest and responsible service to our customers. As long as our customers are fair, honest and responsible with us, we have a happy relationship.

Sincerely,

***** ** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: ***** is obviously denying that he laughed on the phone and treated me with disrespect. I was in the doctors office when the phone conversation was occurring and I had it on speaker phone and the nurse heard the whole conversation and even she was astounded by the way I was mistreated. I have since spoke to other people about the whole thing and they were not surprised. Other people are afraid to complain about them because they are the only music store in the area and this is how they would get treated if they tried and they have kids in band. Before we went to the band room we had people tell us to be careful and they over charge their prices. They took my right away to be able to file a complaint by kicking me out of the store. They kicked me out of the store because I wanted to complain. Yes, they would have been happy if I had just came in there with the rest of the **st due amount and not had said a word about complaining. The money that I came in there with i had borrowed from family. We got behind on everything because things arised and had 5 extra mouths to feed for a whole year. The other businesses we are behind on were willing to work with us. We have always had perfect credit until this unexpected thing happened and I was trying to explain why we fell behind but he blatantly did not care. We had every intentions to get caught up. I even told him that our finances are much better now. However, this turned out better because my son now has a Bundy clarinet and **id a fraction of what The Band Room charges.  We got it up North in ** and the were astounded when we told them how much we were being charged for a Buffet. They did not offer to refund the money, they asked me to leave and I said what about what I just **id today." and ***** said "I will refund it" then I said "OK your going to refund everything I **id." They said "fine, and I do not want you to return, I just want you out of the store."

Regards,

****** *******