Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin Bazaar, Inc.

Phone: (800) 511-1322 Fax: (512) 300-0287 View Additional Phone Numbers 2306 Howard Ln Ste C, Austin, TX 78728 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.austinbazaar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Austin Bazaar is a retailer of musical instruments and accessories. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Bazaar, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Bazaar, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Bazaar, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2006 Business started: 05/05/2005 in TX Business started locally: 05/05/2005 Business incorporated 06/05/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sumankumar Singh, CEO Jason Birchmeier Ms. Sarah M Sheehan, Director of Finance & Customer Relations Seetha Singh, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sarah M Sheehan, Director of Finance & Customer Relations
Principal: Mr. Sumankumar Singh, CEO
Related Businesses
Hello Music, LLC
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, Discover, American Express and Paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy
For a full explanation of the company's return policy, please check the following link: http://www.austinbazaar.com/return-policy
Alternate Business Names
Austin Bazaar Music

Additional Locations

  • 2306 Howard Ln Ste C

    Austin, TX 78728 (800) 511-1322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought from them through their online store on Amazon. The item (package) did not contain the brand of merchandise as advertised so we contacted their customer service. I emailed back and forth with ****** who was extremely friendly and professional. She mailed me the directions on how to return the items and stated there would be a restocking fee if the item was used or not in original packing. We shipped the items back and received partial restocking fee due to "damaged boxes". After a few emails, I called ****** and she stated their notes stated the box looked like it had been kicked around. She went to look at the box and stated the actual reason was due to me writing the RMA number on the box. She spoke with a manager who dropped the fee to 5%. ****** stated the directions were to write the number on the label only. I can not find this in the directions she sent. I advised her I would accept the reduced fee but would leave negative feedback on Amazon, file a claim with them and contact the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Refund the rest of the fee.

Business Response: Thank you for this claim. We have received the complaint. Per our Amazon policy, if the product arrives to us with any shipping damage and we can't return it back to stock as new, there is a restocking fee as seen on #10 on this link: http:*************************************************************************************************************************************************** Customer has easy access to this and was made aware. Due to that we gave him a restocking fee of 5% on his order even though its normally 20%. I see that you opened an A to Z Guarantee claim and Amazon wrote back "We have found no reason to believe that you are responsible for this claim. We have issued a refund to the buyer, but we will not debit your account for that refund." and has already given you back his remaining $9 and not faulted us for the restocking fee. (see attached screenshot) We are unsure why you are even opening this claim. We would appreciate the closure of this claim. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. While they stated they were unaware why this complaint was filed, I notified the customer service agent of my intended action to file a complaint with Amazon, leave a bad rating with Amazon, and file a complaint with the BBB. She acknowledged the email. Amazon has reimbursed me for their charge.

Regards,

**** *******

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an ******* ********** 49es 49-Note USB MIDI Controller Keyboard Sold by Austin Bazaar from ******.com on December 29, 2013 for $104.99, when I purchased it I knew that I had to purchase a power adapter (9VDC) in order to turn it on and that it would not be included so I had to purchase it separately. According to how it was advertised, all I needed to do was purchase a particular type of adapter (9VDC) to power it. I bought it and then realized that adapter would not work with the instrument to power it at all, I then found out after purchasing it that it could ONLY be powered by a USB adapter plugged into my computer, which was not mentioned in the advertisement when I ordered it. After finally purchasing the correct adapter (USB) which took me going to a few stores and searching online, I discovered that keyboard isn’t even working at all. When I received the product, I and others who saw it delivered noticed that it wasn’t packaged well. It was delivered in its original box with no real protective packaging. Others and I could not understand why a large electrical product would be sent through the mail so poorly packaged. I believe that it may have been damaged in transaction. I did file a complaint with ******.com who contacted Austin Bazaar to obtain a full refund for me, which was unsuccessful. The company contacted me and informed me that the 30-day period for a refund had expired. According to their return and refund policy, any damage or defects must be reported within 48 hours of delivery. Products can only be returned within 30 of the delivery date. Since they did not advertise the correct power adapter that has to be ordered, separately how would I be able to know the product would be defective within 48 hours? It took me a while to file the complaint because it was so frustrating finding the adapter needed. I was basically, trying to resolve the problem first. It was hard dealing with such a large piece of electrical equipment. I did not know what to do for a while. I took a big chance purchasing it via the internet and what I feared had happen-- I would have to consider returning this large fairly expensive product because it was damaged and unable to operate. Financially I cannot afford to lose money or have to purchase another keyboard. Another thing, I was contacted by two people (****** and ******) from Austin Bazaar who were attempting to help me with the issue. Although, they were attempting to resolve the problem it seemed that they had very little knowledge of the product (the keyboard). As the following email correspondences illustrates: Hello *******, Hm that is strange. Are there any other ports on the keyboard. I saw a switch to the right of the sustain pedal input. Is there anything underneath or on the sides? ****** Austin Bazaar Customer Service Phone: ************** ** On Thu, 13 Mar, 2014 10:50:08 AM CST, ******* ********* asked: Hi, Thanks for responding. I know that it is USB port because I bought a Usb cord for it and even though, I was able to turn it on there was no sound. Now as for the gold rim, it is not for AC adapter input because I bought one from ****** and it didn't fit -- its a Sustain Footpedal input so an AC adapter won't fit. ******* ------ Original message------ From: Austin Bazaar - ****** ****... Date: Thu, 3/13/2014 12:06 PMTo: ******* mcfarlane;Subject:Re: Return policy inquiry from ****** customer ******* ********* (Order: *******************) Hello *******,Thank you for those images. The white outlet is for the USB cable. :) The center hole with the gold rim is the AC adapter which is round. ****** Austin Bazaar Customer Service Phone: ************** **On Wed, 12 Mar, 2014 07:13:52 PM CST, ******* ********* asked: Here is the picture you requested ******* ------ Original message------ From: Austin Bazaar

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund or at least a partial one.

Business Response: This customer purchased this item back in December. We allow 30 days from the delivery date to authorize a return. This package was shipped 12/31 and delivered 1/6/14 via: **************************************************************. As the customer stated, we also have a 48 hour defective time frame, but we waive that frequently and stick more to our 30 day time frame. The customer would have had to contact us by 2/6/14 in order to be eligible for return. We usually even extend that out another 10 days but this customer did not contact us until 3/4/14 to let us know she was having issues using the product. We referenced the manufacturer. Then on 3/11 she sent a return request over. This is over 30 days from the eligible return time frame and as such we denied the return request. She then filed an ****** A-to-Z Claim, and ****** ALSO denied the buyer's return request which is why I think she is trying to do something via BBB. The manufacturer has a warranty as we let her know, that covers any issues that happen after the 30 day return time frame. You can view our ****** Return Policy here: *******************************************************************************************************************************************************. We have to be strict with returns customers say are defective after the 30 days due to the fact that most manufacturers state that it is no longer something we can return, its something the customer must contact them about. If you would like or need any further information, please let us know but this is something that we unfortunately can not accept back as a return as it is now over 3 months old.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I already received this form email response and it's not addressing misleading advertising information (not giving correct information right adapter for the keyboard). I wrote a very detailed email explaining exactly why I couldn't return the keyboard within 48 hours and three months period. 





Regards,

******* *********

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable