Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc.

Phone: (512) 328-6688 Fax: (512) 454-1463 8291 Springdale Rd  Ste 100, Austin, TX 78724 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bluewhale.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 1990 Business started: 09/13/1988 in TX Business started locally: 09/13/1988 Business incorporated 09/13/1988 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Hunter Armstrong, VP Sales & Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Hunter Armstrong, VP Sales & Marketing
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Storage Units - Household & Commercial Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber

Products & Services

Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Blue Whale Moving & Storage

Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc. offers the following product(s): Blue Whale Moving & Storage

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, Discovery
Service Area
This company offers moving services nationwide. 
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue Whale Moving Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8291 Springdale Rd  Ste 100

    Austin, TX 78724 (512) 328-6688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2015 I employed Blue Whale to move household goods to a storage unit. I was asked on the phone to describe the items needed to be moved. When mover arrived they had an abbreviate list which did not include the miscellaneous boxes I told them about. They started late in the afternoon and finished packing after dark. We arrived at storage facility and because there was no lighting I could not see the manner in which they were unloading the van and putting in the storage unit. Next day when I reviewed the storage, I discovered they had literally crammed my property in the unit, starting at the back and stacking forward toward the door. It was impossible to get into the unit without unloading the items in front. I called and asked them to come and assist with repacking the unit. They refused. Further, when the final bill was presented it was $300 more than the quote. They claimed they had not counted on the additional boxes. Further examination revealed many items dented, chipped, scratched and broken (especially collectible dishware). Repeated attempts to get them to make recompense have failed. At one point a representative from Blue Whale came out and met with me but had not resolution. I sent repeated emails asking for some justice but they have fallen on deaf ears. In all, it was a disappointing experience that has cost me countless hours of back breaking labor to fix the mess they caused, not to mention the broken and damaged goods..

Desired Settlement: I want the additional $300 back. Probably should get a full refund of the $600+ charge. And at a minimum an apology for the shoddy service. Maybe even punitive damages for the failure to help satisfy a customer.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

While I regret that Mr. ***** did not have the service experience for which Blue Whale Moving Company is known, his complaint submitted extremely truncated and, in some points, completely inaccurate. I will recount the complete course of events below.

On February the 17th, Mr. ***** contacted Blue Whale and spoke with our CSR *****. He requested an estimate for a move. It was explained to Mr. ***** that we typically do our moves on a per-item basis and, as such, in order to provide him with an estimate we have to collect an inventory of the items needing to be moved. Mr. ***** gave ***** an inventory consisting of a TV Stand, a King size bed, a Queen or smaller bed, a desk, a refrigerator or freezer, and a TV. Mr. ***** was given an estimated price of $350.10. During this call, Mr. *****’s move was scheduled for February the 19th, and ***** was made aware that Mr. ***** had a deadline to move out of Midnight on the 20th. 

Mr. ***** received a call from another representative Logan on February the 18th, calling to confirm his move for the 19th. Mr. ***** said that his partner had hired a bunch of helpers and that they weren’t sure that they would be using us after all. Mr. *****’s move was taken off of our schedule per his request on February the 18th, with Mr. ***** confirming that they had hired helpers and would not need us. 

On Saturday, February the 21st Mr. ***** called and spoke with ***** again, distraught, because the helpers that he had hired had not been able to complete the job, and he was now past his move-out deadline and was potentially looking at being evicted. ***** secured a same-day move slot for Mr. ***** for an arrival that evening between 5:00 and 6:00 pm. Blue Whale does not normally start moves this late, however, considering the fact that Mr. ***** was in an emergency situation, and that the inventory was only 6 items, we made an exception. 

Upon arrival, our movers found that the inventory that Mr. ***** provided was woefully incomplete. Mr. ***** says “they claimed they had not counted on the additional boxes.” While it is true that there were no boxes included in the original inventory, it is worth noting first that the original inventory was provided by Mr. ***** and second that in addition to 38 boxes being added, the number of furniture items on the inventory increased from 6 to 45, a more than sevenfold increase. The inventory changing was not, however, the only challenge – the house was not ready to be moved. Mr. Will was still trying to pack. 

In spite of the challenges that were so obvious to the movers, they decided to charge forth with the move. They felt sympathy and did not want to leave Mr. ***** hanging with no solution, so they proceeded with the move knowing full well that it would take them well into the night to complete it. They also performed multiple services at no cost to Mr. *****, including packing and sealing boxes and moving small loose items that, not only did they do for free, but as an exception to our normal policies, which would require that all loose items be packed into boxes before being moved. Again, they did this in order to help Mr. ***** because of his desperate situation. As for the difference in quoted price vs. actual price, they called and adjusted the price before beginning the move and Mr. ***** agreed to and signed off on the new price before the services were begun. 

Upon arriving to the storage unit the movers were told with great emphasis that they needed to make sure that everything fit into the storage unit, that they could not get another unit. This was both because of cost concerns but also simply because the storage facility office was closed. As such, the movers proceeded to pack the unit for absolute maximum usage of the space, which is the standard way to pack a storage unit. The claim that we had “literally crammed” everything into the unit is misleading – the more tightly packed the items are, the less likely they are to shift, not to mention the more efficient use of the space.  Upon finishing the unloading of our truck into the storage unit, Mr. ***** told the movers “thank you so much for staying all the way through to the end” and tipped them both. 

On February the 25th, Mr. ***** called and again spoke to *****, inquiring about having Blue Whale return to his storage unit and rearrange the items such that they were accessible. ***** quoted Mr. ***** an hourly cost of $100.00 per hour for a two-man crew to come out and help him with that. Mr. ***** said that he would think about it and call back. He then proceeded to call back on February the 26th and made the accusation that the first crew “didn’t pack the storage unit right” because he was not able to access the back of the unit. ***** responded that that was the standard way to pack a storage unit and would especially have been the way they pack the storage unit if there were concerns being expressed about there not being enough space. At this point Mr. ***** became emotional and started talking about how stressed out he had been and asked if ***** would ask her manager if Blue Whale could cut him some sort of break. ***** asked me and, having spoken to the movers, who informed me that they didn’t think we should perform any more work for Mr. ***** at all, let alone at a discounted rate, and Mr. *****’s storage unit was outside of our normal service area, I declined to provide a discount. ***** called Mr. ***** back and advised that we would be happy to come back out and help, but at our normal rate. He was not pleased but said he’d think about it. 

The next communication we received surrounding Mr. *****’s move was an email submitted through our webpage on the afternoon of Marth the 11th. I have attached this email, entitled “************************” This email appeared to be from Mr. ***** but, it turns out, it was written and submitted by his partner. Despite the email being both untrue and threatening, we took the complaint seriously. Before anyone had a change to respond to this email, a man claiming to be Mr. ***** but who again turned out to be his partner called on March the 12th and spoke to Logan. He asked Logan who handles damages, and Logan informed him that I did. Logan was asked if he had enough “mmph” to get this handled, to which Logan responded in the negative. Mr. *****’s partner then immediately hung up on Logan. Logan still proceeded to send Mr. ***** an email with an attached damage claim and repeated the explanation that I am the one who handles damages. Logan also explained that I was out of town until March the 16th and would contact them when I was back in the office. 

I contacted Mr. ***** and arranged to meet with him on-site at the storage facility on March the 18th to inspect the “unprofessional” way the movers packed the unit. Mr. ***** had to reschedule and the actual meeting took place on March the 19th. Upon my arrival at the unit, I met Mr. *****, who was very polite and who said something along the lines of “My partner is on his way and he has most of the complaints so I’d like to wait until he gets here.” Mr. *****’s partner arrived and introduced himself to me as **** and for the vast majority of the duration of our meeting, was extremely rude and combative, going so far as to make threats: “The way your guys packed my unit I should have driven up to your office and whupped your ass!” During this meeting **** refused to let me finish a sentence almost as a rule. He oscillated between saying that the way the items were packed was beside the point and the problem was the damages, and saying that the way that the items were packed into the storage was, in fact, the problem, but also admitted very early in our meeting that he had already re-packed more than half of the unit himself, which I found to be troubling considering that one of the primary purposes of my visit was to inspect the state in which the unit was left by my movers. Near the conclusion of our meeting, I was finally able to speak to Mr. ***** separate from **** and I asked him what resolution he desired. He responded that he wanted his price returned to the originally quoted $350.00. I told both Mr. ***** and Mr. **** that I would be leaving town again from March the 21st through March the 29th and that I would consider what they had said and what Mr. ***** had requested and respond upon returning to work. 

On March 31st, I sent Mr. ***** an email, which I have attached, entitled “****************************,” in which I detailed my decision and the factors that went into that decision. Being that Mr. ***** was not charged an after-hours fee, that he received free services, and that his complaint was that we did not do something that he did not ask us to do, I could see no justification to refund any of his moneys. I also detailed in this email the damage claim process and attached another copy of our damage claim form, specifying that if he had damages, that was a separate question from getting a refund for the items not being packed the way he wanted them. 

On April the 1st, Logan received an email from ***********************, evidently Mr. *****’s partner. I have attached that email and all the resulting emails between myself and Mr. *****’s partner to this email, entitled "******************." As you can see, Mr. **** (Mr. *****’s partner) is, as he was in-person, rude, combative, vulgar, insulting, and threatening, in spite of repeated requests for him to be civil and polite. I responded to these emails in an attempt to move things towards some sort of resolution, in spite of having no business relationship or prior agreement with Mr. ****. Mr. ***** was cc’d on all of these emails, including my final reply in which I informed Mr. **** that I would not be responding to any further communication from him due to his continued use of insults. 

On April the 2nd, Mr. ***** called me and requested that I reconsider my decision to decline refunding him the $250.00 that his move price increased. He said during that call that he would send me a formal request via email. Later that afternoon, evidently after reading the emails between myself and Mr. ****, he sent me an email pleading that we continue our correspondence and asking me not to “throw more gas on the fire.” Later that afternoon he sent me the email he had promised with his formal request that I reconsider, which I have attached, entitled “**********************.” 

As I considered Mr. *****’s request, I realized that the only new data surrounding his move was the emails from Mr. ****. As such, and in order to make sure that my final decision included absolutely all of Mr. *****’s concerns, I sent Mr. ***** an email on April 6th in which I asked him to enumerate his grievances and explain why he thought that they were the responsibility of Blue Whale to resolve. He responded with this list : 1.  Price problem.  I expected $350 but got nailed for $650 2.  General handling of property.  Boxes, taping, etc. 3.  Stacking and loading in unit was awful and in my opinion unprofessional.  Impossible to access property in unit. 4. Damage to property.  Not going into all of it here but items included housing on microwave oven, refrigerator   door, chipped glass shelves, mattresses got dirty 5.  General disappointment in the way this whole matter has come down. 6.  There are more but for the moment this is my list.

Being that: 1: the price problem was not only a result of the massive difference between the inventory Mr. ***** gave us and the inventory he actually wanted moved, but he was charged $600.10, not $650, and received multiple services for free; 2: I saw no evidence that his items were handled improperly, and again, the packing and taping of boxes was done at no charge; 3: His desire that he be able to walk into and through his storage unit was only expressed to Blue Whale personnel after his move was finished and, further, he did express concerns that were contrary to having access through the unit; 4: I had explained to Mr. ***** and Mr. **** on multiple occasions that there was a proscribed process from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles that outlines the specific way to resolve damage claims, going so far as to copy and send over the pertinent text from the TXDmV website; I again declined to issue any refund on the moving services provided. Even had Mr. *****’s move been performed on an hourly rate, it would have cost more than the $600.10 he was charged even without factoring in an after-hours fee. 

I understand that Mr. ***** had an extremely stressful, unpleasant moving experience, however, his frustration is misplaced. Blue Whale could have done nothing to prevent the situation that resulted In Mr. ***** being moved past his deadline, late into the evening with the threat of the Sheriff coming to evict him hanging over his head, other than refuse to perform the job, which would have left Mr. ***** in even more of a bind than he was when he called us. The Blue Whale team went above and beyond the call of duty for Mr. *****. 

Mr. ***** claims the problem occurred on February 27th, we moved him on February 21st. He claims I (the president of the company) was his salesperson, I was not involved until after the services were complete. He claims he paid an extra $300.00, his price was adjusted upwards $250.00, which he agreed to before work started. He claims he sent repeated emails that fell on deaf ears, not only was he responded to promptly and politely, but his partner’s abrasive and offensive emails were given the same treatment as well. Mr. ***** has still not submitted a damage claim for this move despite repeated explanations that the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is the governing body over moving companies and they have rules and procedures about how damages are resolved. He asked for an apology, which he received in my email outlining my decision. I am truly sorry that Mr. *****’s move was not an enjoyable experience, however, I will not be held accountable for things that are completely and utterly outside my or my team’s control. 

If there is any other information required, please just let me know. If there is further documentation required, I am happy to provide it, I am only able to attach 4 documents to this email.

Respectfully,
****** *********
President


3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable