BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service moving and storage company.  We service moves locally, statewide, nationally and internationally.  We also service all office moves.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All My Sons Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All My Sons Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All My Sons Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 1999 Business started: 07/14/1998 in TX Business started locally: 07/14/1998 Business incorporated: 07/14/1998 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Todd Harrison, Vice President Mr. Robert Peterson Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Todd Harrison, Vice President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Moving Equipment Rental

Method(s) of Payment
All forms with the exception of checks.
Alternate Business Names
All My Sons Moving All My Sons Moving & Storage of Austin, Inc.
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 2337 Patterson Industrial Dr

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 443-3700

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted All My Sons in mid January to schedule a move that was exactly 23 miles one way. I explained that I live alone and there will only be large items that will need to be moved for example - treadmill, couches, china cabinet, king size bed and a few dressers. Everything else I would have boxed up and ready to go. The salesman quoted me $114 at an hourly rate and I agreed thinking we could have everything wrapped up and done in four hours and I could afford that. I received a follow up call on Wednesday, January 29th asking if I would be ready for the move and he stated the movers will arrive at 8:30 a.m. and stressed that personal checks were not accepted and went over the forms of payment received. On Saturday morning, February 1, 2014 the movers arrived at 7:45 a.m. I had just gotten back from picking up breakfast and they were there already. The quick move was taking a lot longer than I anticipated because they were wrapping everything with tape and blankets. Had I known this, I would have wrapped everything to cut down on the labor cost. When it was about 10:15, I called my brother in law to come and help since I was on a tight budget and they had only moved about half of the items. Once we got to the new residence, my brother in law and my nephew unloaded quite a bit to again cut down on costs. I was also not told that the lawnmower, weed eater and anything liquid could not be transported which was another reason I had to have my brother in law come to move some of these things in his truck. I also requested to utilize my military discount and was told it had to be done at the time the reservation was made, which to me made no sense considering the payment or bill had not been issued. I was provided a copy of the receipt which totaled $648 which was way over what I had anticipated. Maybe this was out of ignorance, because it is my first time using a moving company, but I thought the initial call and follow up call should have included these small details.

Desired Settlement: I think/hope I would be provided my military discount and the company would honor the approximate 4 hour quote I was provided around $450 for about 20 boxes already packed, treadmill already taken apart, washer, dryer, refrigerator, king size bed, two dressers, vanity table and a queen size bed frame already taken apart for a move 23 miles away.

Business Response: I first of all would like to thank Ms. ******** for her service to our country.  Secondly, I would like to address her concerns regarding her move. 
During her initial phone call to our company, not only do we give her an idea of what we think the length of time will be needed to complete her move, but, we also describe our services in detail to her.  One of the main things that we harp on is the fact that we will quilt pad wrap all of the furniture inside of her home, prior to moving it out to the truck. Additionally, our start times are typically between 8:30am and 9:30am.  On her move day, we arrived BEFORE the time that we said we would (most customers prefer us to be early rather than late).
As far as a military discount, we weren't aware that she was active in the military.  Had we known, we would have given her the standard 10% military discount.  Our men did a superior job moving Ms. ********, and it took a total of 4.5 labor hours to complete the job.  The only additional charge was the standard 1 hour travel charge that is on every move, and is agreed to, in writing, prior to the move.
I would still be willing to honor Ms. ********' military discount, and refund her $64.80 on her credit card.

**** ********
All My Sons Moving & Storage of Austin, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   However, I did not receive anything in writing as stated by Mr. ********, except the final invoice.  I did let the company know that I was a veteran prior to paying but was told that it would only be honored if I had told them at the time of the reservation. 


I do agree, the actual movers did a great job!

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted All My Sons Moving and Storage approximately 3 years ago when we were moving to Washington, DC. We were moving part of our things and storing some of our things. We were told when we moved that our things would arrive in DC by the following week. Three and 1/2 weeks later we received our things, some broken and some we did not even get. We also had problems with the billing system, we had two storage units and sent them one check. They would apply the total amount to one storage unit and then show it with a credit and tell us that we were behind payment on the other. They wanted us to be put on automatic payment each month but we could not trust them to deduct the proper amount and trying to get it straight with them is IMPOSSIBLE. When we left Washington, D.C., we called them two months ahead of time and told them we wanted our storage delivered the first week of September. They said fine that they would see when they had a load coming this way and would put our things on it so it would not be as expensive. I called the first week of September and they had no clue as to delivering our things. They said, we never returned the paperwork. I told them we never got any paperwork to return. Finally, they called and said they would deliver our things on the 11th of September which cost us more because we were the only delivery. I next got a call from the local pool company saying All My Sons had called them to set up a crane to lift the hot tub over the fence. They never bothered to call us, we would have told them we had a 12 foot gate they could have used. After getting here they would not unload our things saying we would not pay them. THEY NEVER BROUGHT UP THAT WE NEEDED TO PAY THEM BEFORE THEY UNLOADED. THE DRIVER NEVER ASKED US FOR ANY MONEY AT ALL. Trying to get ahold of the owner is a big joke. They only way I would get him to return my call was to call the corporate office and then it was a couple of hours before he returned my call. He was very unprofessional I will never use this company again or recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: They need to get the act together to run a profitable business. We would also like the things back that they did not deliver. This stuff was expensive. I would also like an apology from the owner.

Business Response:

Yesterday I returned Mrs. ***** phone call and we spoke about her concerns.  The attempts to have her listen and understand my response fell on deaf ears.  I apologized to her several times about anything that she thinks that we did wrong.  As far as her items that she is claiming that are missing, we will continue to investigate it, but also think that because she isn't completely unpacked yet, her items will more than likely turn up inside of a box.
We will stay in contact with Mrs. ***** to resolve her issues. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues