Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Reliable Moving & Delivery

Phone: (210) 650-0382 Fax: (210) 654-0478 View Additional Phone Numbers 13127 Lookout Run, San Antonio, TX 78233 http://www.reliabledeliveryandmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & business moves, delivery & installation of furniture & appliances.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reliable Moving & Delivery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reliable Moving & Delivery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Reliable Moving & Delivery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1993 Business started locally: 06/01/1993 Business incorporated 08/02/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Curtis Scheh, President Ms. Pam Cutsinger, Office Manager Mr. Randy Ellis, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Pam Cutsinger, Office Manager
Principal: Curtis Scheh, President
Business Category

Movers Delivery Service

Alternate Business Names
Reliable Delivery, Inc.
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 13127 Lookout Run

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 650-0393 (210) 650-0382

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/4 I hired these movers to move me from the Medical Center area to north SA. They were 45 mins late. The mover walked in my apartment with the time they started the work already filled out which they hadn't started. The two men didn't work as two men causing time to take longer and I had to bring stuff down to the truck myself or we would have been even a lot longer. The more senior employee/mover stood in the truck just waiting for items. He also took breaks and didn't deduct the breaks from the time. When he finally did start to help, he was very careless with my boxes and as he brought down my file cabinet, the drawers were swinging open. He didn't bother to secure them shut. He placed heavy items on top of my file cabinet and caused it to become damaged and no longer usable. He tried to blame me for what I had in the file cabinet. I advised him that I had the same items in there for a year and nothing happened. He then told me I would have to call his ***** When they arrived at the new location, they took another break when they parked and didn't deduct that timing. I called the ******* and was told I would be called on Monday because there was nothing he could do. I have never received any phone calls and the company doesn't return calls. They over charged me for time that the movers did not work and didn't honor their warranty on my items. I have several broken items in my boxes and I also received a call from my old apartments that the water was left running when these movers disconnected the washer causing flooding to the first floor and I would have to pay for the damage. These movers were a nightmare and I have advised people via social media not to "rely" on reliable movers.

Desired Settlement: I would like my file cabinet replaced and a refund for the 20 mins that the movers took to rest. I also paid for 2 movers and one of them barely worked so I really did most of the work with a single mover. I have used many movers and never had this low of service level. Especially since the ******* never followed through which doesn't surprise me.

Business Response: April 28, 2014

In response to *** ******** complaint: #*********

Regarding the late arrival of the 45 minutes, Reliable called *** ******** to notify him that our truck was running late and he seemed to be amicable to the situation. Our original arrival time was scheduled for 8:30 – 9:00 A.M. and *** ******** was made aware of the late arrival at 8:00A.M.

The mover in the truck was padding and securing the items being brought to the truck by the other mover. This is standard operating procedure in the moving industry.

This was an apartment move from second floor to a second floor across town. The entire move took three hours and twenty minutes, a half hour of that time was driving from the load up address to the unload. So the move part took two hours and fifty minutes which is reasonable for a second floor to a second floor apartment move.

*** ******** did call on 4/4/2014 when the movers went to collect and he said that a dent was put on the two drawer file cabinet and I asked if he could call me on Monday, 04/07/2014 to let me know when he was available for me to come look at the file cabinet. I have never heard from *** ******** until this notice. As for the items in the box he mentions, *** ******** never contacted us about said items and Reliable did not do the packing for the move. *** ******** indicated he contacted us on 04/06/2014. That is a Sunday and we are closed on Sundays.

As for the water being left on I talked to the movers and they said they did not leave the water on.

Even though the amount of time charged for the move appears to be reasonable, Reliable is willing to compensate *** ******** for the file cabinet and the time he perceives as breaks. According to the signed move contract we are responsible for sixty cents per pound per item, this would amount to about $12.00. What we can do is offer replacement value for the file cabinet which would be $75.00. If we refund the twenty minutes in breaks that would be $30.00 off at the move rate of $90.00 per hour that was charged. Reliable is willing to refund *** ******** $105.00. I believe this is a more than fair offer.

I am sorry *** ******** was not happy with his service. I just wish he would have called Reliable on Monday the seventh of April and all this could have been resolved then. I await your answer on our offer.

Sincerely
***** *****

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was hard to select just one nature of complaint from the drop down box above because there were so many! First of all, this is my first complaint ever filed with the BBB and very atypical of me to do something like this but I received such a horrendous service from Reliable Moving and Delivery that I felt Compelled to warn others who may use them. My experience with this company is that they were rude, incompetent, unprepared, AND expensive. Every piece of furniture I own is scratched, dented, or somehow kissed with a reminder that I used this company. When I called to complain to the manager about their incompetence when they flooded my kitchen by not turning off the water line before disconnecting my refrigerator and scratching my wood floors with their Dolly, the manager ***** told me they were one of his most experience crews. They were unprepared to move a heavy safe when I specifically told the office manager at time of reservation that it needed to be done. And the crew took an unreasonable amount of breaks while charging me $90 an hour. And the clock didn't stop while they soaked up the flood in my kitchen for an hour. As the tension of the all day experience between myself and the crew grew, so did their bad attitude. They became rude and disrespectful towards myself and my fiance by rolling their eyes and refusing to acknowledge and simply refusing to do things like move things into specific rooms. They're movers refusing to move furniture! Unbelievable! This was literally the worst AND most expensive moving experience of my life! **Please forgive any grammatical errors because this was entered from my cell phone as my Internet service hasn't been connected yet in my new home to do this complaint from my laptop**

Desired Settlement: There are so many things that left me feeling completely dissatisfied by this experience it's hard to pick just one outcome. I would appreciate an apology from the owner because ***** the manager felt that simply sending more guys with bad attitudes out was the solution. I still have ruined pieces of furniture, I was still given a horrible service, and it was still very expensive! I feel a full refund wouldn't be out of order, and that's still leaving me with a home full of dented and damaged property.

Business Response: I am surprised to get this complaint from the BBB as I was in contact with Mr. ***** at least four times during the move and thought that everything was being handled with his concerns.

His biggest concern seemed to be the amount of time the move was taking.  From past experience the last 14 years the time did not seem to be out of line, but I told Mr. ***** I would send a second crew to the unload at no charge to him. I sent the crew and they helped for one hour.  The second concern was his safe.  Mr. ***** said it weighed 600 lbs and our ramps on the truck can handle 750 lbs but when the movers started rolling the safe up the ramp it started bowing excessively. They were afraid it was going to break and someone could be seriously hurt, so they said they could not take the safe.  I told Mr. ***** I would send a truck with a liftgate (delivery truck not a move truck) to move the safe at no charge to him.  Reliable did get the safe picked up
and delivered which took a little over 2 hours.
As for the mover’s not moving furniture when asked, Mr. ***** never mentioned this.  When I asked the movers after receiving the complaint they said the only thing they wouldn’t do was to take a large armoire upstairs because it was too large for the staircase and the armoire and walls would get damaged. When the move was finished Mr. ***** asked me if I was going to give him a discount because of the 30 minutes it took to clean up the water in the kitchen and the breaks the men took.  I told him I had given him 2 men for 1 hour at no cost to unload which is $90.00 and I had a 3rd crew with a truck and liftgate for over 2 hours take care of his safe which is $180.00.  I told Mr. ***** I thought that was fair and he said ok to it.  I then told him if he had any concerns or anything he needed me to look at to call me on Monday, he said ok. As for the $735.00 cost to move a 1,600 sq ft house across town, this is a normal and fair cost.  What Reliable can do it offer to
refund Mr. ***** 1 hour of labor ($90.00) for the time cleaning up the water.  This $90.00 along with the free ($270.00) from 2 trucks and 4 men appears fair.

 I do apologize for the problems that occurred on Mr. *****’s move.  I’ll be glad to inspect any damages to furniture at Mr. *****’s convenience.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply made by Reliable is not only inaccurate but also unacceptable.  Yes, I spoke to ***** at least 4 times, because of the sheer number of issues I had with his movers.  I requested his presense at my home to view the damage done to my home and property done by his movers from scratched furniture and dented appliances to HUGE chunks taken out of my walls because of carelessness and a ruined portion of my wood laminate floor caused by a moving dolly.  He refused to come out, so I had no other recourse but to call with each major mistake made by his crew, including the aforementioned flooded kitchen, lack of preparation to do the job, and absolutely ridiculous amount of time the job took.  To address each rebuttal:

1. Yes, I was concerned about the time the move took for several reasons.  I was paying by the hour.  At $90 per hour plus a $45 fuel surcharge I do not expect to pay for the crews cigarette breaks that ******* seemed to take every 20-30 minutes.  Also, they only were hired to move the large furniture for the most part that myself and my fiance were unable to lift ourselves, and some boxes.  EVERYTHING was already disasembled and boxed up.  Both beds were taken apart and put in moving bags.  Myself and my fiance moved two 26' ***** truckloads of boxes ourselves (it should also be noted that we had to rent the truck for an extra day since they took the entire day to move, I was unable to return the truck when it was due).  There was no excuse to take nearly 8 hours to move some furniture and boxes.  I used movers to move the EXACT furniture and amount of property into my home that they moved me out of and it took approximately 4 hours.  But then again, they did not take breaks.  And the second crew that was sent out was literally sent out only to unload the truck that was already loaded up at the home I was moving out of, so was of little consequence.  As ***** mentioned, they were there for one hour.  Another crew was sent to move the safe with a lift on the truck, which I told them they would need in the first place when I reserved the crew a week before the move.

2.  The second issue was the safe.  According to the ****** website where it was purchased it weighs 600lb.  It is not 750lb, but that is not the issue.  The issue is that they were NOT PREPARED TO DO THE JOB THEY WERE HIRED TO DO.  They attempted to wheel a 600lb safe up the ramp on the back of a moving truck with 2 out of shape movers which I knew before they even started would be difficult if not impossible to do.  When they predictably failed, they asked ME THE CUSTOMER  to assist pushing a 600lb steel box uphill into a truck!  Is that common practice?  If this item had fallen off the ramp and crushed me would they have been liable?  It is untrue that the ramp was bowing.  The safe began to fall off the dolly they were using and it was unsafe how they expected to be able to load it.  It should be noted that my brand new $1000 safe that has never been used now has several scratches on it from the improper dolly they used to move it.

3.  As far as the movers refusing to move an armoire being reported to ***** is concerned, this was at the end of the day, and the end of a miserable experience with Reliable Moving and getting very little in return.  It was becoming very apparent that ***** was sick and tired of hearing from me and what would have been accomplished had I called?  Either he would have sided with his crew and my armoire would still remain where it was, or he would have told an already irritated and reckless crew to put it where I wanted and caused more damage to my home and property.  It should be noted that I mentioned to the crew that the armoir breaks down into 2 parts which makes it easy to move. When I purchased it it was delivered to a third floor apartment, and me and my 115lb fiance moved it where we wanted it, so the only reason it wasn't moved is because the crew didn't want to move it. 

4.  When the move was finished I was exhaused emotionally and physically.  I was sick of talking to anyone affiliated with Reliable Movers and Delivery.  I had a miserable experience and was finished with the whole thing for that day.  I agreed to *****'s insulting consolation prize for the thousands of dollars in damage and wasted money simply because I did not have the energy to fight any longer.  I have documented the damage done to my walls, floors, furniture, appliances and property in photographs.  I would be glad to share them with the company if they wish to see them, BUT I DO NOT WANT ANYONE FROM RELIABLE MOVERS AND DELIVERY ON MY PROPERTY EVER AGAIN!!  If they do not want to refund my move, thats their decision.  I will not accept any more insulting offers of anything less.  I would prefer to have this documentation with the BBB on their record and believe me, I will tell anyone who will listen about my experience!  By they way, my fiance's employer also used Reliable for their move and had a miserable experience.  They mentioned similar damage to their property including their son's crib.  If this is the type of service they have been giving customers for the past 14+ years, it's past due to find a career they can perform with quality and a sense of integrity!

5.  I find it interesting that ***** didn't mention the dispicable way my fiance was treated by the crew (primarily *******) as I mentioned in my initial complaint letter.  I guess there is no excuse for ignoring your customer when they're speaking to you, rolling your eyes when asked to do something pertaining to your job, or flat out refusing to do your job.  Just because I'm the one paying the bill doesn't mean that she doesn't deserve the respect and service that is reasonably expected. 

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: I would like to first offer my sincere apology to Mr. ***** and his fiance for the bad experience they had.  The men that were on the move are experienced movers and there is no excuse for them to have taken an attitude with the customer no matter what the reason.

I do not believe that there is anything that Reliable can do that will make Mr. ***** happy.  From the two letters from Mr. ***** it is obvious it is a very emotionally driven complaint.  Many facts have also been left out.  For these reasons I do not believe refunding his money would change Mr. *****s mind or attitude towards Reliable and it would not be fair to Reliable.

As for the damages I would appreciate it if Mr. ***** would forward the pictures so they can be sent to us.  I would be glad to look them over and see what can be done.

First I did not refuse to come out to Mr. *****'s house, in fact the last thing I said to Mr. ***** was if he would call me Monday morning with his concerns I would come out Monday and look at them.

Second Mr. ***** and ******* did a walk thru before they started loading anything and Mr. ***** was shown many pieces of furniture that had damage and the wood floor that had scratches and Mr. ***** said he knew he had a dog that chewed on the furniture and would run and slide on the floor and the dogs nails would scratch the floor.  When the move got started after a while Mr. ***** commented to the guys how good they were doing and he didn't see how they could do this kind of work day after day.  Things seemed to be going good until about noon when they were more that 3/4 of the way done loading when a Real Estate lady came up to the movers and started yelling at our moving crew and cursing and insulting them.  This is what the catalyst was that sent things spiraling.  Still no excuse.

Third, the time for the move, this time includes taking the door off the house and putting it back on, taking the handles off the refrigerator and putting back on.  It was a 20.3 mile drive between houses that took 45 minutes to drive in traffic and GPS showed they took the optimal route.  There was a fifteen minute wait at the unload to get a car moved so the truck could be backed up.  At the unload they had to handle most things twice because they would take in a number of pieces and then someone would come in and start telling them where everything went so they would stop unloading and move around what was already in the house.

As for the armoire going upstairs it had to do with size and fitting not weight.  The guys measured the turn in the staircase and Mr. *****'s fiance is the one that said no don't try it leave it downstairs.

The moving crew wanted to add:

(1)  They want to apologize to Mr. ***** and his fiance for their unprofessional behavior during the move
(2)  ******* said he took one smoke break early during the move, the rest of the time they were quick drink breaks to stay hydrated and there were only 2 or 3 of those.
(3)  They said they are not out of shape they do this every day and they had no problems physically during the move.
(4)  Mr. *****'s fiance at the end of the move apologized for her attitude during the move and that really meant a lot to the moving crew and she was very curtious.

Again I apologize to Mr. ***** for all that has happened and I will be waiting to received the pictures from him.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate all the multiple apologies offered by Reliable, but I have always lived by the saying, “actions speak louder than words”.  ***** is right, nothing will change MY opinion of Reliable, but a refund would at least show that all the apologies are more than just empty words.  My facts that are being referred to are eyewitness accounts made by myself, my fiancé, and my real estate agent/friend.  *****’s “facts” are information conveyed to him by his less than truthful moving crew.
 
Damages are recorded on my cell phone, my fiancés cell phone, and my real estate agents phone.  I would be glad to collect them, but I see no point to make the effort for a measly one hour’s compensation which is all that has been offered up to this point.
 
***** was requested several times to come out IMMEDIATELY.  The reason for this is because I had to be out of my home by the end of that day.  Monday would have been tantamount to a refusal because I no longer owned the home and had to turn over the keys by the end of that day.
 
The claim that ******* and I did a walk thru is also a fallacy.  We did walk thru to show him what was going to be moved, but not to record damage to my furniture.  I did mention that I have one book case that had been chewed on by my dog when he was a puppy, but that is the only damage I have by pets.  The claim that I admitted that my dogs run and slide scratching my floors is a complete lie.  I have 2 witnesses other than myself that heard the movers admit that the damage to the floor was caused by their moving dolly, so I am amazed that they would be trying to lie about it now.
 
Yes when they started the move I admitted they were doing good work and even offered them cold water and breakfast tacos.  I treated them well and expected good service in return.   When my agent arrived she was appalled by what she witnessed.  The flooded kitchen, the scratched floors, the damage to my furniture and walls, etc.  She requested the managers presence and was met with attitude from ******* who stated, “I would love it if he would come by and relieve me.”  This gave the impression that ******* did not have any interest in his job whatsoever.
 
The next item to dispute is the amount of time it took to complete the move.  The excuses to remove a door and remove handles from a refrigerator are weak.  If it takes longer than 2 minutes to remove a door you don’t know what you’re doing.  And they didn’t even put the handles back on the fridge!  I had to do it myself.  I do not want to make any assumptions because I didn’t start a stopwatch when we left my former house, but 45 minutes to drive 20 miles seems excessive to me.  And the claim that they had to wait 15 minutes to move a vehicle is a mystery to me.  My home was vacant and there were no cars in front of it.  It was also not true that they were told to move everything twice.  They dropped most things in the front room except the beds, washer/dryer, and my son’s bedroom furniture which were all taken upstairs.
 
There is no acceptable excuse for not moving the armoire upstairs.  As I said before it breaks down into 2 pieces, top half and bottom half.  It is very shallow as it is designed for a flatscreen TV.  It is also not a large armoire and will not even fit a TV larger than 46”.  The only reason to not to do as requested is that they simply did not want to. 
 
Finally, my fiancé did NOT apologize for her attitude, she did not have to.  She did not have an attitude, she was actually met with attitude or simply ignored completely.  When *******’s partner handed her the invoice he actually apologized to her.  She said it was “OK” which I suppose was interpreted as an apology.
Regards,

******* *****

9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service