BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Copper Palm Moving-Interiors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Copper Palm Moving-Interiors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated: 12/27/2001 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blake Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blake Miller, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Interior Decorators & Designers

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Copper Palm moved us from our home in Georgetown, TX on December 14, 2013. They placed our items in storage until we moved into our new home in Round Rock, TX on January 8, 2014. During the move in we noticed several items had been damaged during the move or in storage. The stainless steel kitchen refrigerator had a long crease in the door and several of wood furniture items had scratches and gouges in them. Copper Palm tried to find someone to repair the door but to no avail. They did make repairs to the wooden items. After numerous phone calls to Copper Leaf they sent a check for $190.00 and said that would be all that they would pay, I told their representative that additional damages had been discovered on the refrigerator in the utility room and that both the washer and dryer had deep gouges in the front bottom of the units and that the damages had been pointed out to their representative that came out to look at make repairs to the kitchen refrigerator and said that nothing could be done about it. I furnished dates when the items were purchased, model numbers and their individual weights and pictures of the damage. I have made several calls to Copper Palm trying to get them to pay me for the damages which total $741.00, based on $0.60 per pound, but they have refused to make full restitution.

Desired Settlement: I want Copper Palm to send me a check for the total damages that was incurred by their poor services.

Business Response:

Good Morning, *** ********** and Ms. ****,

 

My apologies for the delay in a response from this office.  I have learned that our operations staff member, *****, spoke with **** **** on two occasions regarding this matter and he was under an incorrect assumption.  It is my fault for not following up in a more timely manner with him.  I found ****** original email in my Junk file on the 19th and I am frankly not sure why your's (******) got through to my inbox but I am glad it did.  

 

Here is what I know of the circumstances.  On January 8, 2014, we moved the furnishings of our customer to their home in ***** ****.  During the load in, it was noted on our Move Exceptions Form that items were damaged during the move and the customer signed this form.  The items included a dent to the refrigerator door, scuffs on an end piece in the master bedroom, scuff on entertainment center and scratch on the floor.  On three different occasions, all customers are given information and/or explained how damaged items are covered in the event of a mishap.  The standard, state-mandated coverage for all companies is $.60 per pound per item but we offer additional valuation at an additional cost.  The customer signed off on their election for $.60 per pound per item on two separate forms, the Bill of Lading contract and the form that we generate internally.  I will be glad to get copies to you both.  

 

Because moving furniture is inherently risky, we do all we can do to prevent damage from occurring but it does happen.  Having said that, we always try to do "the right thing" and this case was no exception.  Upon learning of the customers' damage by reading our damage form, an appointment was set for ***** and ***** to go to the customers' home to assess the situation.  This is a non-standard practice in the industry but we want to meet the situation.  A complete walk through was made of the entire premises and notes and photos were taken.  During that visit, an assessment was made and we offered to send a wood repairman out to fix the alleged damaged wood items and scratch to the floor at our expense.  We also wrote down the model number to the refrigerator in order to collect more info.  This action is above our contracted responsibility but we offered this in good faith and trying to keep our customer happy.  

 

The repairman went to the customers'  home to repair the reported items, and during discussion, he let the customer know that he felt that some of the damage did not occur during the move but were, in his professional opinion, character or distressing marks made by the manufacturer.  This angered the customer and the repairman was asked to leave having done none of the repairs.  A call came to *****, who ironed out the dispute, and the repairman went back out and handled the repairs to the disputed items and floor along with other touch ups to other pieces that were not part of the claim.  All to the customers' satisfaction.  

 

We also sent out ABA Appliance, who specialize in dent repair to appliances but they could not offer a solution.  This was also at our expense.  We obtained the actual weight of the refrigerator and issued a check for $120.00 to cover the damaged refrigerator, by weight, at the contracted $.60 per pound.  The customer refused that amount because he said that now the washer and dryer was damaged, which was not discussed during our walk through of the laundry room.  As for the utility room refrigerator, this is the first we have heard of this.  We disputed responsibility to the washer and dryer but, in good faith, added another $60.00 to the claim amount.  We issued another check for $180.00 as claim compensation per the contracted agreement and that check has not been cashed, as of last night.  Customer mentions that the check was for $190.00 which is incorrect

 

I am at a loss in determining how the customer gets $741.00 on the $.60 per pound claim.  The weight that we received from him for the dented refrigerator was a shipping weight and not an actual weight and was therefore inaccurate.  We found an actual weight of 192 pounds which equals to the original $120.00 claim amount.  His asking claim amount would equal to 1185.6 pounds and that is just not possible.  

 

I wanted to get this out to you quickly since our response is late but we have signed contracts and other documentation which we will fax over to you.  We also have emails that can corroborate some of the details further.  I feel as though we acted in good faith and actually went above and beyond our contracted obligation but little we did satisfied this customer and we are very sorry for that.  But we did put in an earnest effort.  

 

Please let me know if you need further details or information.  You will have my complete attention.

 

 


Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************
************************ 

Business Response:

Good Morning, *** ********** and *** ****,

 

My apologies for the delay in a response from this office.  I have learned that our operations staff member, *****, spoke with **** **** on two occasions regarding this matter and he was under an incorrect assumption.  It is my fault for not following up in a more timely m***er with him.  I found ***a's original email in my Junk file on the 19th and I am frankly not sure why your's (******) got through to my inbox but I am glad it did.  

 

Here is what I know of the circumstances.  On January 8, 2014, we moved the furnishings of our customer to their home in Round Rock.  During the load in, it was noted on our Move Exceptions Form that items were damaged during the move and the customer signed this form.  The items included a dent to the refrigerator door, scuffs on an end piece in the master bedroom, scuff on entertainment center and scratch on the floor.  On three different occasions, all customers are given information and/or explained how damaged items are covered in the event of a mishap.  The standard, state-mandated coverage for all companies is $.60 per pound per item but we offer additional valuation at an additional cost.  The customer signed off on their election for $.60 per pound per item on two separate forms, the Bill of Lading contract and the form that we generate internally.  I will be glad to get copies to you both.  

 

Because moving furniture is inherently risky, we do all we can do to prevent damage from occurring but it does happen.  Having said that, we always try to do "the right thing" and this case was no exception.  Upon learning of the customers' damage by reading our damage form, an appointment was set for ***** and ***** to go to the customers' home to assess the situation.  This is a non-standard practice in the industry but we want to meet the situation.  A complete walk through was made of the entire premises and notes and photos were taken.  During that visit, an assessment was made and we offered to send a wood repairman out to fix the alleged damaged wood items and scratch to the floor at our expense.  We also wrote down the model number to the refrigerator in order to collect more info.  This action is above our contracted responsibility but we offered this in good faith and trying to keep our customer happy.  

 

The repairman went to the customers'  home to repair the reported items, and during discussion, he let the customer know that he felt that some of the damage did not occur during the move but were, in his professional opinion, character or distressing marks made by the manufacturer.  This angered the customer and the repairman was asked to leave having done none of the repairs.  A call came to *****, who ironed out the dispute, and the repairman went back out and handled the repairs to the disputed items and floor along with other touch ups to other pieces that were not part of the claim.  All to the customers' satisfaction.  

 

We also sent out *** *********, who specialize in dent repair to appliances but they could not offer a solution.  This was also at our expense.  We obtained the actual weight of the refrigerator and issued a check for $120.00 to cover the damaged refrigerator, by weight, at the contracted $.60 per pound.  The customer refused that amount because he said that now the washer and dryer was damaged, which was not discussed during our walk through of the laundry room.  As for the utility room refrigerator, this is the first we have heard of this.  We disputed responsibility to the washer and dryer but, in good faith, added another $60.00 to the claim amount.  We issued another check for $180.00 as claim compensation per the contracted agreement and that check has not been cashed, as of last night.  Customer mentions that the check was for $190.00 which is incorrect

 

I am at a loss in determining how the customer gets $741.00 on the $.60 per pound claim.  The weight that we received from him for the dented refrigerator was a shipping weight and not an actual weight and was therefore inaccurate.  We found an actual weight of 192 pounds which equals to the original $120.00 claim amount.  His asking claim amount would equal to 1185.6 pounds and that is just not possible.  

 

I wanted to get this out to you quickly since our response is late but we have signed contracts and other documentation which we will fax over to you.  We also have emails that can corroborate some of the details further.  I feel as though we acted in good faith and actually went above and beyond our contracted obligation but little we did satisfied this customer and we are very sorry for that.  But we did put in an earnest effort.  

 

Please let me know if you need further details or information.  You will have my complete attention.

 

 


Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************ ************************ 

Consumer Response:

Well *** there seem to be a quite a bit of discrepancy in what really happened and *** ******’s story. I guess part of the problem is what was expected and what was received. In my career I was moved 5 times by professional movers and had never seen anything like the damages that were incurred to our belongings by Copper Palm.

                 

                *** ******’s stated that they sent out a wood repairman to make repairs that were noted on the initial inspection of our items on the move in date and that he was asked to leave. That is not the truth. When the repairman showed up on 1/16/14 we were showing him the damages, we had pieces of blue tape stuck on just about every piece of furniture, he made some snide remarks about the severity of the damages and said “that’s nothing at all”. My wife became very upset with the gentleman and told him that it was “something" and that she took great pride in her furniture and didn’t appreciate someone making joke about the damages. At that time my wife left and went to the cluster mailbox area and I went back to work in the garage moving boxes in and unpacking things. When she returned she asked me where the repairman was and I told I thought he was upstairs were we left him. At that time we discovered that the repairman had left without telling us anything. In no way did we ask the repairman to leave.

 

                As to the damages on the washer and dryer this was not noticed until my wife was bent over the sink in the utility room washing room and saw the deep gouges in the bottom of both units. Marks similar in appearance as to have been made by a forklift. On 1/22/14 the refrigerator repairman arrived and said that nothing could be done about the damage to the door as it was a crease  and not a dent. At that time we showed him the damages to the washer, dryer and refrigerator in the utility room. He took pictures of all items and said that he would let Copper Leaf know what he found.

 

                There were numerous phone calls to ***** with Copper Leaf trying to get the issue settled to no avail. I sent him pictures of all items along with the service tags showing the serial numbers and model numbers. I also sent him copies of the invoices on the purchase of the items. He told me that I could have taken that information off the internet. At that time I told him that apparently he didn’t believe me and that that the only way that the issue could be settled was for him to come to the house and look for himself. That way he could take his own pictures and see that the paperwork matched the items listed as damaged.

 

                *** ****** stated that he was at a loss as to how we could come up with the 741 pounds. It’s very simple we looked at the weight of each item as stated on the invoice of all items except for the Kenmore refrigerator. On that item the weight was not listed and my wife called Sears and gave them the model number and they gave her the weight. All this information was furnished to ***** several times by phone and email but apparently his boss did not believe him.

 

*** ********

Consumer Response:

Well *** there seem to be a quite a bit of discrepancy in what really happened and *** ******** story. I guess part of the problem is what was expected and what was received. In my career I was moved 5 times by professional movers and had never seen anything like the damages that were incurred to our belongings by Copper Palm.

                 

                *** ******** stated that they sent out a wood repairman to make repairs that were noted on the initial inspection of our items on the move in date and that he was asked to leave. That is not the t****. When the repairman showed up on 1/16/14 we were showing him the damages, we had pieces of blue tape stuck on just about every piece of furniture, he made some snide remarks about the severity of the damages and said “that’s nothing at all”. My wife became very upset with the gentleman and told him that it was “something" and that she took great pride in her furniture and didn’t appreciate someone making joke about the damages. At that time my wife left and went to the cluster mailbox area and I went back to work in the garage moving boxes in and unpacking things. When she returned she asked me where the repairman was and I told I thought he was upstairs were we left him. At that time we discovered that the repairman had left without telling us anything. In no way did we ask the repairman to leave.

 

                As to the damages on the washer and dryer this was not noticed until my wife was bent over the sink in the utility room washing room and saw the deep gouges in the bottom of both units. Marks similar in appearance as to have been made by a forklift. On 1/22/14 the refrigerator repairman arrived and said that nothing could be done about the damage to the door as it was a crease  and not a dent. At that time we showed him the damages to the washer, dryer and refrigerator in the utility room. He took pictures of all items and said that he would let Copper Leaf know what he found.

 

                There were numerous phone calls to ***** with Copper Leaf trying to get the issue settled to no avail. I sent him pictures of all items along with the service tags showing the serial numbers and model numbers. I also sent him copies of the invoices on the purchase of the items. He told me that I could have taken that information off the internet. At that time I told him that apparently he didn’t believe me and that that the only way that the issue could be settled was for him to come to the house and look for himself. That way he could take his own pictures and see that the paperwork matched the items listed as damaged.

 

                *** ****** stated that he was at a loss as to how we could come up with the 741 pounds. It’s very simple we looked at the weight of each item as stated on the invoice of all items except for the ******* refrigerator. On that item the weight was not listed and my wife called ***** and gave them the model number and they gave her the weight. All this information was furnished to ***** several times by phone and email but apparently his boss did not believe him.

 

*** ********

Business Response:

Hi ****,

In regard to the customer's response, it sounds as though feelings were hurt and a misinterpretation of what the repairman meant by "that's nothing at all."  In speaking with the repairman, he meant that making the repairs they were asking for would not be difficult for him to accomplish.  He realized that he had struck a nerve and when the customer's left his presence, he felt uncomfortable being in the house alone and not sure where they had gone or when they would be  back.  Ultimately, the repairs were made to the customers' satisfaction and, I thought, were no longer  part of the claim.  

 

As for the appliances, the ABA repairman went to the residence to assess the ******* refrigerator dent which was included in the original damage claim.  We were not aware of any issues with the washer and dryer until the repairman called us back after his visit to give his opinion of the ******* refrigerator.  We opted to settle the refrigerator damage, by weight, for $120.00  As stated earlier, we did not accept responsibility to washer and dryer but in good faith, offered another $60.00 for a total of $180.00 on the appliances.  We still have not received pictures of the alleged gouges on the washer and dryer as this was reported after our on site visit by ***** and *****.  The allegation that the marks were caused by a forklift is not possible as we do not have a forklift in our warehouse.  As stated, any claim on a utility room refrigerator is unreported to us as the first we have heard of this is from the customers' original BBB complaint.  

 

The liability limits that the customer signed off on for at $.60 per pound covers the refrigerator weight and an allowance for the washer and dryer, so that we could all move on.  The $180.00 was refused and the customer requested a payment of $315.30.  I am not sure how this figure was determined but we declined because it was not verifiable and because we had handled other repairs at a cost above the contracted, legal claim requirement of $.60 per pound.  

 

We are eager to settle this fairly and equitably and feel we have done so.  It is apparent that the timeline and some of the facts have been confused by the customer.  The amount of the original check issued was stated incorrectly on the first statement and the latest statement about 741 "pounds" that he reports. ??  It is actually 741 "dollars" that is the original disputed amount that is in question.  I am not sure what makes up that figure and would be eager to hear.  If there were emails sent regarding purchase dates, model numbers and weights of the ******* and washer and dryer, please forward that original to me as we do not have it in our email or files.  I am sorry it has gotten to this but we have the right to verify any alleged claim, just like any other industry, and confirm settlement along the legal guidelines that the customer has agreed to.  We have done that in this case, and then some.  

 

Please let me know if you would like further information.  

 

 

Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************
************************ 

Business Response:

Hi ****,

In regard to the customer's response, it sounds as though feelings were hurt and a misinterpretation of what the repairman meant by "that's nothing at all."  In speaking with the repairman, he meant that making the repairs they were asking for would not be difficult for him to accomplish.  He realized that he had struck a nerve and when the customer's left his presence, he felt uncomfortable being in the house alone and not sure where they had gone or when they would be  back.  Ultimately, the repairs were made to the customers' satisfaction and, I thought, were no longer  part of the claim.  

 

As for the appliances, the ABA repairman went to the residence to assess the Kenmore refrigerator dent which was included in the original damage claim.  We were not aware of any issues with the washer and dryer until the repairman called us back after his visit to give his opinion of the Kenmore refrigerator.  We opted to settle the refrigerator damage, by weight, for $120.00  As stated earlier, we did not accept responsibility to washer and dryer but in good faith, offered another $60.00 for a total of $180.00 on the appliances.  We still have not received pictures of the alleged gouges on the washer and dryer as this was reported after our on site visit by ***** and *****.  The allegation that the marks were caused by a forklift is not possible as we do not have a forklift in our warehouse.  As stated, any claim on a utility room refrigerator is unreported to us as the first we have heard of this is from the customers' original BBB complaint.  

 

The liability limits that the customer signed off on for at $.60 per pound covers the refrigerator weight and an allowance for the washer and dryer, so that we could all move on.  The $180.00 was refused and the customer requested a payment of $315.30.  I am not sure how this figure was determined but we declined because it was not verifiable and because we had handled other repairs at a cost above the contracted, legal claim requirement of $.60 per pound.  

 

We are eager to settle this fairly and equitably and feel we have done so.  It is apparent that the timeline and some of the facts have been confused by the customer.  The amount of the original check issued was stated incorrectly on the first statement and the latest statement about 741 "pounds" that he reports. ??  It is actually 741 "dollars" that is the original disputed amount that is in question.  I am not sure what makes up that figure and would be eager to hear.  If there were emails sent regarding purchase dates, model numbers and weights of the Kenmore and washer and dryer, please forward that original to me as we do not have it in our email or files.  I am sorry it has gotten to this but we have the right to verify any alleged claim, just like any other industry, and confirm settlement along the legal guidelines that the customer has agreed to.  We have done that in this case, and then some.  

 

Please let me know if you would like further information.  

 

 

Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************ ************************ 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

I have text messages to ***** with pictures of the damaged items and the invoices showing the weights along with emails and notes in my spiral binder of all conversations we have had with *****. You can tell *** ****** that if I do not receive what I am owed this will become a legal matter. I am retired and have plenty of time and money to carry this as far as *** ****** would like to carry it. 

Regards,
*** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have text messages to ***** with pictures of the damaged items and the invoices showing the weights along with emails and notes in my spiral binder of all conversations we have had with *****. You can tell *** ****** that if I do not receive what I am owed this will become a legal matter. I am retired and have plenty of time and money to carry this as far as *** ****** would like to carry it. 

Regards,

*** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1