Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Copper Palm Moving-Interiors

Phone: (512) 266-6900 Fax: (512) 491-7905 10405 Metric Blvd Ste D, Austin, TX 78758 http://www.copperpalm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Copper Palm Moving-Interiors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Copper Palm Moving-Interiors include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Copper Palm Moving-Interiors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/27/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blake Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blake Miller, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Interior Decorators & Designers

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Copper Palm Moving-Interiors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10405 Metric Blvd Ste D

    Austin, TX 78758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Copper Palm Moving for my move after seeing a special on Living Social. On the day of the move the movers were more than 15 minutes late. Two hours later after loading from my old apartment we proceed to the new apartment. One hour later the unload was complete. Two days following I have clothes to wash and use my washer with no problem. I go to place my clothing in the dryer and the dryer is not working. I unplugged the dryer, plugged it back in and tried again, still not working. My dryer was working just fine at my old apartment so I contacted Copper Palm to file a claim. The first lady I spoke with, ******, stated there was nothing they could do and I could not file a claim. After some time she finally transferred me a man who said he was in charge of claims. He then stated because it has been a few days they don't know what I could have done to the dryer in that time which made no sense as the dryer was taken from one laundry room and placed in another laundry room and at 120lbs I am not able to move it anywhere myself. He then proceed to say that I can't file a claim for an electrical issue, I stated that I was unsure why it was not working and that it was working just fine for 12 months at my old apartment. He continued to come up with different excuses as to why they would not allow me to file a claim for my now non-working dryer. He finally hung up the phone on me when I kept asking for him to stop being un-helpful and ridiculously vague. My Whirlpool dryer will cost a lot to replace and the staff at Copper Palm damaged my dryer and refuse to assist in finding a solution in assisting in replacing my dryer or repairing it.

Desired Settlement: Copper Palm need to assist in finding a solution to replace my dryer or repair it.

Business Response:

 

Dear Ms. ******,

I am sorry to hear that there is a problem with your dryer.  It is odd that your dryer was allegedly working prior to the move then is allegedly not working when moved to your new apartment.  Since it has been stated that there is no physical damage on the dryer and you signed off to that effect then either there is a problem with the power to the outlet or something electrical within the unit has malfunctioned.  As a rule, we will not be liable for any internal electrical components since we have no way of knowing their condition prior to loading.  You signed off that we would not be liable on the form that I have attached.  As for the conduct of my staff, they have been instructed not to tolerate vulgar and aggressive language toward them over the phone.  Austin asked that you stop speaking to him in that manner and you continued with your vile comments and he hung up the phone.  Hopefully, a maintenance person has checked your outlet and your dryer is working now.  Thank you.

 

***** ******

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: You can see in the message they are being condescending and insinuating that I am lying by stating " It is odd that your dryer was allegedly working prior to the move then is allegedly not working when moved to your new apartment." Why would I have a non-working dryer in my apartment, why would I have a non-working dryer moved to my NEW apartment. That makes no sense at all! That is the same type of response I received on the phone, they were trying to deflect any blame at all. When on the phone they did not even know they were speaking to me as they did not ask for my name or anything, the minute I mentioned a problem they started making all these excuses as to why it is not there fault, the guy stating "well it has been 2 days we don't know what you could have done to it" as if I am trying to scam the company. My dryer was in full working condition as I washed and dried clothes prior to my move. I recall signing a insurance form that if anything was damaged it was insured and now that seems like not the case. My dryer is still not working and I am in the process of being forced to purchase a new one because I NEED a dryer and this company damaged my dryer and refuse to fix or replace it. Austin, or whoever I was speaking to is a liar if he is saying that I continuously used vulgar language!! He NEVER asked that me stop speaking to him in that manner, he was being rude and condescending and hung up with no explanation and no resolution!! 

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

I apologize that you are offended by the terminology.  "Allegedly" is simply a term used to identify that something is stated but not officially proven to be true.  As in this case, there are no physical signs of neglect to the dryer and we will not be responsible for electrical issues.  I submitted your sign off to that affect in the earlier response.  At this point, it sounds as if a technician has not been called to diagnose the problem.  Or that the maintenance department of the complex has checked the outlet.  Maybe a fuse has tripped.  Regardless, we will not be replacing a dryer with an unknown problem.  If you will refer back to the agreement, the standard coverage, which you selected, is for 60 cents per pound per item for negligence which still needs to be proven.  Again, we are sorry that you are having this problem but you have not provided anything to substantiate your claim.

 

***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******

3/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I obtained three bids for moving our household from Round Rock, Texas to Sarasota, Florida. The representative of Copper Palm, "B", did a walk through of our home in February and submitted an estimate to us via email that included the following charges: transportation charges = $3,945.11+ packing = $891.92 . I spoke to B's associate, "A", on at least three occasions to confirm the following: estimate of 8,200 pounds (I asked A if they wanted to come and do a final walkthrough since B had informed me that we would not be charged for any weight over 8,200 pounds), and that we would receive a credit if it was less than 8,200. A told me that they were confident with the 8,200 pounds and that another walkthrough would not be necessary. On at least two subsequent conference phone calls with my husband and me, A confirmed that the more packing we did ourselves the more the $891.92 would be reduced. My husband and I packed our 4-bedroom, 3-bath house ourselves. The only packing the Copper Palm movers did was the kitchen, laundry room, and one closet. We purchased insurance that cost $340.00. On Tuesday, 3/8/16, I called A to get the final total cost. He gave me a order number and said he would call me back that afternoon or at the latest the following morning. He did not call me back. I called him again on Wednesday and was informed that the total cost was $5,188. I asked for a breakdown of charges since my calculations of $3945.11 (transportation for 8,200 pounds) + $340 (insurance) = $4,285. A first indicated that the difference of $903 was due to the fact that our load weighed 8,900 pounds. When I reminded him that B said we would not be charged for weight in excess of 8,900 pounds he said "let me make a call and get back to you". He called me back and told me the total was actually $4,965.84 due to packing charges of $683. I argued that a reduction of approximately $208 ($891 - $683) was illogical due to the amount of packing we did ourselves vs. what the Copper Palm team packed. According to the paperwork we signed for the Copper Palm driver on Thurs., 3/10, the Copper Palm team packed the following: 9 dish packs (@ $36.52 = 328.68) +12 1.5 cartons (@$8.74 = $104.88) +5 3.0 cartons (@$13.22 = $$66.10) + 2 wardrobe boxes (@ $!7.92 = $35.84). The grand total = 585.50 which is $97.50 less that what Copper Palm charged us. It's also important to note that at the time we were reviewing paperwork with the Copper Palm driver, I saw the paperwork for the weight of the truck. The pre-load weight was 16,700 and loaded weight was 25,060 = 8,370 pounds not the 8,900 that A initially tried to claim resulted in the additional charges when I spoke to him on the phone on 3/9/16. This is additional evidence of dishonest practices. On a positive note, we were satisfied with the driver and the teams in Round Rock and in Sarasota who did the loading and unloading. There were a few minor scratches on furniture and a gouge in the door trim in Sarasota, but we understand that these things happen when moving heavy furniture and are not interested in pursuing damage charges at this time.

Desired Settlement: Copper Palm should issue a refund to us for $97.50.

Business Response:

Following is our response to the customer complaint.

 

We had given an estimate to customer ***** ***** on 2/18. During conversations with Mrs. *****, we decided we could make this job work for everyone involved by hauling it ourselves to Florida. At one point during the estimate process I had added a day certain charge to her original estimate and emailed it to her. She did not like the day certain charge and we had agreed to just stick with the original estimate. I did however, accidentally register her shipment thru National Van Lines with the Day Certain charges still added in. We had agreed on an estimate of not to exceed 8200 pounds, we also had packing charges of $891.92 not to exceed for packing a portion of her home. We were on time to pack and load the content of her home. We packed less than the estimate, so the charges came to $656.13 for this portion. The total weight of her shipment was 8360 pounds but we only charger her for the estimated cost of 8200 pounds. Mrs. ***** also decided that she was going to purchase additional valuation for $360.00. All of this in line with her original estimate. Mrs. ***** called two days before her unload to inquire what her charges would be for her packing and moving, I told her I would find out and get back to her. I called National Van Lines, and was told someone would call me back with a registered total but I did not receive a call back. The next day I did receive a call from National Van Lines, they gave me a total and I immediately called Mrs. ***** with it. She noticed that it was rather high and pointed this out to me. I called National back and figured out that I had registered the shipment with the day certain pricing added in. I corrected the mistake and it took Mrs. *****s pricing to within $200.00 of the original estimate. I called her back with the new number. When I gave her the new total she asked me to break down the charges so I did. She began to insist that my packing charges were incorrect because her and a group of people had worked on the packing of the content of her home for a week. I explained to her that the original estimate was for a partial pack of her content because that is what she had asked for. She claimed that even though she had paid less for her packing that it was not enough discount because she had worked very hard through the packing process. I explained to her that we had given her a list of pricing for the packing we would perform and we had charged her only for what materials and labor we had used. Mrs. ***** was still not happy with the pricing but agreed to pay the charges and she did. We unloaded her goods into her home and finished up her bill of lading and paperwork. At this point we had completed her move.

***** ****** ******** ********** *******

Copper Palm Moving and Storage

I am at loss to understand the complaint with the pricing.  From the agreed upon pricing, we came in under budget on the packing needed and the transportation costs were known not to exceed 8200 pounds.  The difference in the pricing comes from additional valuation that was purchased.  This valuation charge is additional to the transportation and packing charges.  All documents from this office and from National Van Lines were transmitted via email as well as the sign offs to the agreements.  I am sorry that the customer feels that the charges are inaccurate but the billing covers the labor and materials for exactly what happened during the move.  We will be glad to meet and mediate the situation further, if needed.  

 

***** ****   ***** ******  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  A key issue here is that the written estimate provided by Copper Palm did not indicate that it was a "partial pack" estimate.  I confirmed multiple times that the $891 would be "significantly reduced" the more we packed ourselves and I asked if the staff wanted to conduct another walk-through to confirm the weight and associated costs.  I'm at a loss for how we packed the entire 4-bedroom house with the exception of the kitchen, one closet and the laundry room, and saved only approximately $200. To justify their charges, the company is now claiming it was a "partial pack" estimate -- though that is not stated on the estimate provided by Copper Palm. 

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

After further review of the table of measurements, I agree that a refund of $97.50 is due to Mrs. *****.  A check will be cut and mailed on Monday the 28th to her address in Sarasota.  Happy Easter to all.

 

***** ******

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers did not deliver one of my furniture pieces. It was an antique tablethat they likely broke and didn't want to get in trouble with their owners. It was not delivered and they denied knowing anything about it. Because I signed off on the moving form when they were done, they denied any liability and because the movers themselves said they didn't know anything about it, I'm out a $500 to $600 table and have to get a new nightstand.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like a refund for a replacement item. I would even take less so I can just get a nightstand that I no longer have. Since I did sign off (seems like there should be a clause that I would have the ability to report within 24 hours or something to that effect since the place is usually very unorganized until you can sort through everything), I just want to warn other potential customers that you need to check every thing off when they move it and when it arrives. My table was only a few hundred dollars but it could have been worse if they lose (likely break and hide) something more valuable.

Business Response: Our staff was questioned extensively about the piece in question.  The customer supplied a picture of a similar piece and we showed the crew.  They have no recall of this piece as it was quite unusual.  The move was relatively small and over a short period of time and the crew remembered the details and they are adamant that the piece was not loaded on the truck.  The customer followed the truck to the new location and the truck was emptied and verified by the customer.  This is a very unusual allegation.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: it's very obvious at this point that the crew broke the table (it had spindly legs as do tables of this age) and they disposed of it. It was a night stand that is obviously missing from my side of the bed. I was not at my duplex when it would have been loaded as I went to the apartment to get the keys. By the time I got back, all but a couple items were loaded. 

You can ask the crew if they remember a night stand on both sides of the bed. There is now only one (a new piece of furniture and very different from the old oak table). 

I don't like to accuse people of lying but it's extremely obvious that they covered up breaking it and since it's my word versus theirs, they don't think it can be proven. It's beyond annoying that I now have to replace furniture that was never delivered because the moving crew thinks they can get away with it.  I don't know the arrangement with the movers and the company but they were very quick to deny any damage. I mentioned in my original email that when they put a lamp of mine in a giant open cardboard box and the switch bent (had been working just fine in my duplex), they immediately said, oh I usually make a note of previous damages.  They were trying to get out of it when it was obvious it was their fault. I ended up bending it back and it was fine but I'm guessing somehow any damages come out of their wages so they deny it immediately.  

I was very happy with the company overall besides the lack of communication of this issue and obviously this issue itself and the company's response.  Maybe you can tell the movers that they won't get in trouble if they tell the truth. Give them amnesty or something. Maybe they would admit it then.  But I'm guessing they feel they got away with it by now.  It's unfortunate I gave them a pretty decent tip when they are purposely withholding info.  



Regards,
**** ******

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Copper Palm moved us from our home in Georgetown, TX on December 14, 2013. They placed our items in storage until we moved into our new home in Round Rock, TX on January 8, 2014. During the move in we noticed several items had been damaged during the move or in storage. The stainless steel kitchen refrigerator had a long crease in the door and several of wood furniture items had scratches and gouges in them. Copper Palm tried to find someone to repair the door but to no avail. They did make repairs to the wooden items. After numerous phone calls to Copper Leaf they sent a check for $190.00 and said that would be all that they would pay, I told their representative that additional damages had been discovered on the refrigerator in the utility room and that both the washer and dryer had deep gouges in the front bottom of the units and that the damages had been pointed out to their representative that came out to look at make repairs to the kitchen refrigerator and said that nothing could be done about it. I furnished dates when the items were purchased, model numbers and their individual weights and pictures of the damage. I have made several calls to Copper Palm trying to get them to pay me for the damages which total $741.00, based on $0.60 per pound, but they have refused to make full restitution.

Desired Settlement: I want Copper Palm to send me a check for the total damages that was incurred by their poor services.

Business Response:

Good Morning, *** ********** and *** ****,

 

My apologies for the delay in a response from this office.  I have learned that our operations staff member, *****, spoke with **** **** on two occasions regarding this matter and he was under an incorrect assumption.  It is my fault for not following up in a more timely m***er with him.  I found ***a's original email in my Junk file on the 19th and I am frankly not sure why your's (******) got through to my inbox but I am glad it did.  

 

Here is what I know of the circumstances.  On January 8, 2014, we moved the furnishings of our customer to their home in Round Rock.  During the load in, it was noted on our Move Exceptions Form that items were damaged during the move and the customer signed this form.  The items included a dent to the refrigerator door, scuffs on an end piece in the master bedroom, scuff on entertainment center and scratch on the floor.  On three different occasions, all customers are given information and/or explained how damaged items are covered in the event of a mishap.  The standard, state-mandated coverage for all companies is $.60 per pound per item but we offer additional valuation at an additional cost.  The customer signed off on their election for $.60 per pound per item on two separate forms, the Bill of Lading contract and the form that we generate internally.  I will be glad to get copies to you both.  

 

Because moving furniture is inherently risky, we do all we can do to prevent damage from occurring but it does happen.  Having said that, we always try to do "the right thing" and this case was no exception.  Upon learning of the customers' damage by reading our damage form, an appointment was set for ***** and ***** to go to the customers' home to assess the situation.  This is a non-standard practice in the industry but we want to meet the situation.  A complete walk through was made of the entire premises and notes and photos were taken.  During that visit, an assessment was made and we offered to send a wood repairman out to fix the alleged damaged wood items and scratch to the floor at our expense.  We also wrote down the model number to the refrigerator in order to collect more info.  This action is above our contracted responsibility but we offered this in good faith and trying to keep our customer happy.  

 

The repairman went to the customers'  home to repair the reported items, and during discussion, he let the customer know that he felt that some of the damage did not occur during the move but were, in his professional opinion, character or distressing marks made by the manufacturer.  This angered the customer and the repairman was asked to leave having done none of the repairs.  A call came to *****, who ironed out the dispute, and the repairman went back out and handled the repairs to the disputed items and floor along with other touch ups to other pieces that were not part of the claim.  All to the customers' satisfaction.  

 

We also sent out *** *********, who specialize in dent repair to appliances but they could not offer a solution.  This was also at our expense.  We obtained the actual weight of the refrigerator and issued a check for $120.00 to cover the damaged refrigerator, by weight, at the contracted $.60 per pound.  The customer refused that amount because he said that now the washer and dryer was damaged, which was not discussed during our walk through of the laundry room.  As for the utility room refrigerator, this is the first we have heard of this.  We disputed responsibility to the washer and dryer but, in good faith, added another $60.00 to the claim amount.  We issued another check for $180.00 as claim compensation per the contracted agreement and that check has not been cashed, as of last night.  Customer mentions that the check was for $190.00 which is incorrect

 

I am at a loss in determining how the customer gets $741.00 on the $.60 per pound claim.  The weight that we received from him for the dented refrigerator was a shipping weight and not an actual weight and was therefore inaccurate.  We found an actual weight of 192 pounds which equals to the original $120.00 claim amount.  His asking claim amount would equal to 1185.6 pounds and that is just not possible.  

 

I wanted to get this out to you quickly since our response is late but we have signed contracts and other documentation which we will fax over to you.  We also have emails that can corroborate some of the details further.  I feel as though we acted in good faith and actually went above and beyond our contracted obligation but little we did satisfied this customer and we are very sorry for that.  But we did put in an earnest effort.  

 

Please let me know if you need further details or information.  You will have my complete attention.

 

 


Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************ ************************ 

Business Response:

Good Morning, *** ********** and Ms. ****,

 

My apologies for the delay in a response from this office.  I have learned that our operations staff member, *****, spoke with **** **** on two occasions regarding this matter and he was under an incorrect assumption.  It is my fault for not following up in a more timely manner with him.  I found ****** original email in my Junk file on the 19th and I am frankly not sure why your's (******) got through to my inbox but I am glad it did.  

 

Here is what I know of the circumstances.  On January 8, 2014, we moved the furnishings of our customer to their home in ***** ****.  During the load in, it was noted on our Move Exceptions Form that items were damaged during the move and the customer signed this form.  The items included a dent to the refrigerator door, scuffs on an end piece in the master bedroom, scuff on entertainment center and scratch on the floor.  On three different occasions, all customers are given information and/or explained how damaged items are covered in the event of a mishap.  The standard, state-mandated coverage for all companies is $.60 per pound per item but we offer additional valuation at an additional cost.  The customer signed off on their election for $.60 per pound per item on two separate forms, the Bill of Lading contract and the form that we generate internally.  I will be glad to get copies to you both.  

 

Because moving furniture is inherently risky, we do all we can do to prevent damage from occurring but it does happen.  Having said that, we always try to do "the right thing" and this case was no exception.  Upon learning of the customers' damage by reading our damage form, an appointment was set for ***** and ***** to go to the customers' home to assess the situation.  This is a non-standard practice in the industry but we want to meet the situation.  A complete walk through was made of the entire premises and notes and photos were taken.  During that visit, an assessment was made and we offered to send a wood repairman out to fix the alleged damaged wood items and scratch to the floor at our expense.  We also wrote down the model number to the refrigerator in order to collect more info.  This action is above our contracted responsibility but we offered this in good faith and trying to keep our customer happy.  

 

The repairman went to the customers'  home to repair the reported items, and during discussion, he let the customer know that he felt that some of the damage did not occur during the move but were, in his professional opinion, character or distressing marks made by the manufacturer.  This angered the customer and the repairman was asked to leave having done none of the repairs.  A call came to *****, who ironed out the dispute, and the repairman went back out and handled the repairs to the disputed items and floor along with other touch ups to other pieces that were not part of the claim.  All to the customers' satisfaction.  

 

We also sent out ABA Appliance, who specialize in dent repair to appliances but they could not offer a solution.  This was also at our expense.  We obtained the actual weight of the refrigerator and issued a check for $120.00 to cover the damaged refrigerator, by weight, at the contracted $.60 per pound.  The customer refused that amount because he said that now the washer and dryer was damaged, which was not discussed during our walk through of the laundry room.  As for the utility room refrigerator, this is the first we have heard of this.  We disputed responsibility to the washer and dryer but, in good faith, added another $60.00 to the claim amount.  We issued another check for $180.00 as claim compensation per the contracted agreement and that check has not been cashed, as of last night.  Customer mentions that the check was for $190.00 which is incorrect

 

I am at a loss in determining how the customer gets $741.00 on the $.60 per pound claim.  The weight that we received from him for the dented refrigerator was a shipping weight and not an actual weight and was therefore inaccurate.  We found an actual weight of 192 pounds which equals to the original $120.00 claim amount.  His asking claim amount would equal to 1185.6 pounds and that is just not possible.  

 

I wanted to get this out to you quickly since our response is late but we have signed contracts and other documentation which we will fax over to you.  We also have emails that can corroborate some of the details further.  I feel as though we acted in good faith and actually went above and beyond our contracted obligation but little we did satisfied this customer and we are very sorry for that.  But we did put in an earnest effort.  

 

Please let me know if you need further details or information.  You will have my complete attention.

 

 


Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************
************************ 

Consumer Response:

Well *** there seem to be a quite a bit of discrepancy in what really happened and *** ******** story. I guess part of the problem is what was expected and what was received. In my career I was moved 5 times by professional movers and had never seen anything like the damages that were incurred to our belongings by Copper Palm.

                 

                *** ******** stated that they sent out a wood repairman to make repairs that were noted on the initial inspection of our items on the move in date and that he was asked to leave. That is not the t****. When the repairman showed up on 1/16/14 we were showing him the damages, we had pieces of blue tape stuck on just about every piece of furniture, he made some snide remarks about the severity of the damages and said “that’s nothing at all”. My wife became very upset with the gentleman and told him that it was “something" and that she took great pride in her furniture and didn’t appreciate someone making joke about the damages. At that time my wife left and went to the cluster mailbox area and I went back to work in the garage moving boxes in and unpacking things. When she returned she asked me where the repairman was and I told I thought he was upstairs were we left him. At that time we discovered that the repairman had left without telling us anything. In no way did we ask the repairman to leave.

 

                As to the damages on the washer and dryer this was not noticed until my wife was bent over the sink in the utility room washing room and saw the deep gouges in the bottom of both units. Marks similar in appearance as to have been made by a forklift. On 1/22/14 the refrigerator repairman arrived and said that nothing could be done about the damage to the door as it was a crease  and not a dent. At that time we showed him the damages to the washer, dryer and refrigerator in the utility room. He took pictures of all items and said that he would let Copper Leaf know what he found.

 

                There were numerous phone calls to ***** with Copper Leaf trying to get the issue settled to no avail. I sent him pictures of all items along with the service tags showing the serial numbers and model numbers. I also sent him copies of the invoices on the purchase of the items. He told me that I could have taken that information off the internet. At that time I told him that apparently he didn’t believe me and that that the only way that the issue could be settled was for him to come to the house and look for himself. That way he could take his own pictures and see that the paperwork matched the items listed as damaged.

 

                *** ****** stated that he was at a loss as to how we could come up with the 741 pounds. It’s very simple we looked at the weight of each item as stated on the invoice of all items except for the ******* refrigerator. On that item the weight was not listed and my wife called ***** and gave them the model number and they gave her the weight. All this information was furnished to ***** several times by phone and email but apparently his boss did not believe him.

 

*** ********

Consumer Response:

Well *** there seem to be a quite a bit of discrepancy in what really happened and *** ******’s story. I guess part of the problem is what was expected and what was received. In my career I was moved 5 times by professional movers and had never seen anything like the damages that were incurred to our belongings by Copper Palm.

                 

                *** ******’s stated that they sent out a wood repairman to make repairs that were noted on the initial inspection of our items on the move in date and that he was asked to leave. That is not the truth. When the repairman showed up on 1/16/14 we were showing him the damages, we had pieces of blue tape stuck on just about every piece of furniture, he made some snide remarks about the severity of the damages and said “that’s nothing at all”. My wife became very upset with the gentleman and told him that it was “something" and that she took great pride in her furniture and didn’t appreciate someone making joke about the damages. At that time my wife left and went to the cluster mailbox area and I went back to work in the garage moving boxes in and unpacking things. When she returned she asked me where the repairman was and I told I thought he was upstairs were we left him. At that time we discovered that the repairman had left without telling us anything. In no way did we ask the repairman to leave.

 

                As to the damages on the washer and dryer this was not noticed until my wife was bent over the sink in the utility room washing room and saw the deep gouges in the bottom of both units. Marks similar in appearance as to have been made by a forklift. On 1/22/14 the refrigerator repairman arrived and said that nothing could be done about the damage to the door as it was a crease  and not a dent. At that time we showed him the damages to the washer, dryer and refrigerator in the utility room. He took pictures of all items and said that he would let Copper Leaf know what he found.

 

                There were numerous phone calls to ***** with Copper Leaf trying to get the issue settled to no avail. I sent him pictures of all items along with the service tags showing the serial numbers and model numbers. I also sent him copies of the invoices on the purchase of the items. He told me that I could have taken that information off the internet. At that time I told him that apparently he didn’t believe me and that that the only way that the issue could be settled was for him to come to the house and look for himself. That way he could take his own pictures and see that the paperwork matched the items listed as damaged.

 

                *** ****** stated that he was at a loss as to how we could come up with the 741 pounds. It’s very simple we looked at the weight of each item as stated on the invoice of all items except for the Kenmore refrigerator. On that item the weight was not listed and my wife called Sears and gave them the model number and they gave her the weight. All this information was furnished to ***** several times by phone and email but apparently his boss did not believe him.

 

*** ********

Business Response:

Hi ****,

In regard to the customer's response, it sounds as though feelings were hurt and a misinterpretation of what the repairman meant by "that's nothing at all."  In speaking with the repairman, he meant that making the repairs they were asking for would not be difficult for him to accomplish.  He realized that he had struck a nerve and when the customer's left his presence, he felt uncomfortable being in the house alone and not sure where they had gone or when they would be  back.  Ultimately, the repairs were made to the customers' satisfaction and, I thought, were no longer  part of the claim.  

 

As for the appliances, the ABA repairman went to the residence to assess the Kenmore refrigerator dent which was included in the original damage claim.  We were not aware of any issues with the washer and dryer until the repairman called us back after his visit to give his opinion of the Kenmore refrigerator.  We opted to settle the refrigerator damage, by weight, for $120.00  As stated earlier, we did not accept responsibility to washer and dryer but in good faith, offered another $60.00 for a total of $180.00 on the appliances.  We still have not received pictures of the alleged gouges on the washer and dryer as this was reported after our on site visit by ***** and *****.  The allegation that the marks were caused by a forklift is not possible as we do not have a forklift in our warehouse.  As stated, any claim on a utility room refrigerator is unreported to us as the first we have heard of this is from the customers' original BBB complaint.  

 

The liability limits that the customer signed off on for at $.60 per pound covers the refrigerator weight and an allowance for the washer and dryer, so that we could all move on.  The $180.00 was refused and the customer requested a payment of $315.30.  I am not sure how this figure was determined but we declined because it was not verifiable and because we had handled other repairs at a cost above the contracted, legal claim requirement of $.60 per pound.  

 

We are eager to settle this fairly and equitably and feel we have done so.  It is apparent that the timeline and some of the facts have been confused by the customer.  The amount of the original check issued was stated incorrectly on the first statement and the latest statement about 741 "pounds" that he reports. ??  It is actually 741 "dollars" that is the original disputed amount that is in question.  I am not sure what makes up that figure and would be eager to hear.  If there were emails sent regarding purchase dates, model numbers and weights of the Kenmore and washer and dryer, please forward that original to me as we do not have it in our email or files.  I am sorry it has gotten to this but we have the right to verify any alleged claim, just like any other industry, and confirm settlement along the legal guidelines that the customer has agreed to.  We have done that in this case, and then some.  

 

Please let me know if you would like further information.  

 

 

Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************ ************************ 

Business Response:

Hi ****,

In regard to the customer's response, it sounds as though feelings were hurt and a misinterpretation of what the repairman meant by "that's nothing at all."  In speaking with the repairman, he meant that making the repairs they were asking for would not be difficult for him to accomplish.  He realized that he had struck a nerve and when the customer's left his presence, he felt uncomfortable being in the house alone and not sure where they had gone or when they would be  back.  Ultimately, the repairs were made to the customers' satisfaction and, I thought, were no longer  part of the claim.  

 

As for the appliances, the ABA repairman went to the residence to assess the ******* refrigerator dent which was included in the original damage claim.  We were not aware of any issues with the washer and dryer until the repairman called us back after his visit to give his opinion of the ******* refrigerator.  We opted to settle the refrigerator damage, by weight, for $120.00  As stated earlier, we did not accept responsibility to washer and dryer but in good faith, offered another $60.00 for a total of $180.00 on the appliances.  We still have not received pictures of the alleged gouges on the washer and dryer as this was reported after our on site visit by ***** and *****.  The allegation that the marks were caused by a forklift is not possible as we do not have a forklift in our warehouse.  As stated, any claim on a utility room refrigerator is unreported to us as the first we have heard of this is from the customers' original BBB complaint.  

 

The liability limits that the customer signed off on for at $.60 per pound covers the refrigerator weight and an allowance for the washer and dryer, so that we could all move on.  The $180.00 was refused and the customer requested a payment of $315.30.  I am not sure how this figure was determined but we declined because it was not verifiable and because we had handled other repairs at a cost above the contracted, legal claim requirement of $.60 per pound.  

 

We are eager to settle this fairly and equitably and feel we have done so.  It is apparent that the timeline and some of the facts have been confused by the customer.  The amount of the original check issued was stated incorrectly on the first statement and the latest statement about 741 "pounds" that he reports. ??  It is actually 741 "dollars" that is the original disputed amount that is in question.  I am not sure what makes up that figure and would be eager to hear.  If there were emails sent regarding purchase dates, model numbers and weights of the ******* and washer and dryer, please forward that original to me as we do not have it in our email or files.  I am sorry it has gotten to this but we have the right to verify any alleged claim, just like any other industry, and confirm settlement along the legal guidelines that the customer has agreed to.  We have done that in this case, and then some.  

 

Please let me know if you would like further information.  

 

 

Regards,



***** ******
Copper Palm Moving and Storage
************
************************ 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have text messages to ***** with pictures of the damaged items and the invoices showing the weights along with emails and notes in my spiral binder of all conversations we have had with *****. You can tell *** ****** that if I do not receive what I am owed this will become a legal matter. I am retired and have plenty of time and money to carry this as far as *** ****** would like to carry it. 

Regards,

*** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

I have text messages to ***** with pictures of the damaged items and the invoices showing the weights along with emails and notes in my spiral binder of all conversations we have had with *****. You can tell *** ****** that if I do not receive what I am owed this will become a legal matter. I am retired and have plenty of time and money to carry this as far as *** ****** would like to carry it. 

Regards,
*** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Copper Palm Moving-Interiors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart