Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and packing services for local, long distance, international.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Transportation Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Central Transportation Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Transportation Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1925 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated 03/22/1927 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Pearson, Gen Mgr Mr. Bill Appleton, President Mr. Doug Shifflett, General Manager Mr. Russ Yeager, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Pearson, Gen Mgr
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Relocation Service Moving & Storage Company Freight Forwarding

Alternate Business Names
Central Transportation Systems
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 1001 W Howard Ln

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 651-0142

  • 1600 West Loop 340

    Waco, TX 76712

  • 4800 Roy J Smith Dr

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-2654 (800) 247-6124

  • 7902 Webbles Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 655-8500 (800) 283-3107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013, my husband and I used Central Transportations Systems to move from an apartment in China Spring, TX to another apartment in Waco, TX and received horrible service. The furniture items that the moving company stated would be wrapped by their employees with furniture pads were not, resulting in damage to those items (one of which was not repairable). The movers also transported a ************ mattress on its side despite our instructions not to based on the manufacturers warnings that damage would occur if not moved flat. This negligence resulted in damage to the mattress that was not repairable. All other items and furniture that was packed and wrapped by me and my husband received no damage. Central Transportation Systems has refused to reimburse us for the cost of the mattress that was damaged due to their own negligence, leaving me and my husband without a bed to sleep in. This caused us unwanted stress and was a huge inconvenience for our family that was visiting from out of town for our wedding, who now had to make other staying arrangements because my husband and I were sleeping on the guest bed in our apartment.When we reached out to the management at Central Transportation Systems all they could say was to file a claim with the corporate office in El Paso and that ***** ******, (********** who set up our move) would make this situation "right" and acknowledged that we were done wrong by his company. After we filed our claim with the corporate office, the damaged furniture that could be fixed was repaired (no complaints). A canvas picture and the mattress were not abled to be repaired. We were then offered $10 for the canvas (no complaints) and $80 for the mattress. We found that offer of $80 to be unacceptable and relayed this to the company. No other attempts to resolve this issue was made by the company even after we had sent a letter by certified mail stating that we wished to be fully compensated for the irreparable mattress and reimbursed for the move.

Desired Settlement: My Husband and I wish to be refunded for the entire cost of the ************ mattress ($2000). We also wish to be refunded for the moving costs the company charged us ($575).We do not feel that it is acceptable that we had to purchase a new mattress (due to no fault of our own) and were only offered $80 to cover this cost. My husband had voiced his concerns to ***** ****** and the movers several times and he was ignored. We feel we should not have to pay for such poor customer service.

Business Response:  Apparently this notice was not sent directly to our branch in Waco, so we apologize for not responding sooner. According to our records, the *****s chose the carrier's maximum liability of .60 per pound per article when they set up their move. Please see attached moving services contract indicating by *** *****'s signature that he was choosing that option on the day of the move. Our claims department settled the entire claim at that amount. We accomodated the *****s as best we could in moving them on a Saturday, waiving our normal overtime charges. Anytime we move a customer, we make every effort to insure that it is done properly, but there are times when items are damaged. In those cases we settle promptly and accurately based on the coverage they choose. That is what we did in this case.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The damage that occurred to the ************ mattress was the direct result of negligence on the moving company's behalf.  The movers were told that damage would occur to the mattress if it was moved on it's side several times throughout the move.  At no time did they take every precaution available to prevent this damage from occurring.  The Driver for Central Transportation Systems was even showed the moving recommendations by the manufacturer, stating that the mattress must be moved and stored in a flat position and still ignored our request to have the mattress moved flat to avoid damage.  As a result, the mattress was damaged and was not repairable, leaving my husband and I with the burden of purchasing a new mattress due to the intentional carelessness of the employees of this company.  My husband and I feel that this is unacceptable and that we should be reimbursed for the full cost of the mattress and the moving services provided. 

The Web Link for the manufacturers recommendations is as follows:  ************************************************************         

Regards,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Central Transportation Systems, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)