Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Central Transportation Systems, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and packing services for local, long distance & international.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Transportation Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Transportation Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Transportation Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1925 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated: 03/22/1927 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Pearson, Gen Mgr Mr. Bill Appleton, President Ms. Sandra Arredondo, Accounts Payable Mr. David Pryor, General Manager Mr. Doug Shifflett, General Manager Mr. James Welch, General Manager Mr. Russ Yeager, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Pearson, Gen Mgr
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Relocation Service Moving & Storage Company Freight Forwarding

Alternate Business Names
Central Transportation Systems
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 1001 W Howard Ln

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 651-0142

  • 4800 Roy J Smith Dr

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 699-2654 (800) 247-6124

  • 7902 Webbles Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 655-8500 (800) 283-3107

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 283-3107(Phone)
  • (800) 283-3126(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013, my husband and I used Central Transportations Systems to move from an apartment in China Spring, TX to another apartment in Waco, TX and received horrible service. The furniture items that the moving company stated would be wrapped by their employees with furniture pads were not, resulting in damage to those items (one of which was not repairable). The movers also transported a ************ mattress on its side despite our instructions not to based on the manufacturers warnings that damage would occur if not moved flat. This negligence resulted in damage to the mattress that was not repairable. All other items and furniture that was packed and wrapped by me and my husband received no damage. Central Transportation Systems has refused to reimburse us for the cost of the mattress that was damaged due to their own negligence, leaving me and my husband without a bed to sleep in. This caused us unwanted stress and was a huge inconvenience for our family that was visiting from out of town for our wedding, who now had to make other staying arrangements because my husband and I were sleeping on the guest bed in our apartment.When we reached out to the management at Central Transportation Systems all they could say was to file a claim with the corporate office in El Paso and that ***** ******, (********** who set up our move) would make this situation "right" and acknowledged that we were done wrong by his company. After we filed our claim with the corporate office, the damaged furniture that could be fixed was repaired (no complaints). A canvas picture and the mattress were not abled to be repaired. We were then offered $10 for the canvas (no complaints) and $80 for the mattress. We found that offer of $80 to be unacceptable and relayed this to the company. No other attempts to resolve this issue was made by the company even after we had sent a letter by certified mail stating that we wished to be fully compensated for the irreparable mattress and reimbursed for the move.

Desired Settlement: My Husband and I wish to be refunded for the entire cost of the ************ mattress ($2000). We also wish to be refunded for the moving costs the company charged us ($575).We do not feel that it is acceptable that we had to purchase a new mattress (due to no fault of our own) and were only offered $80 to cover this cost. My husband had voiced his concerns to ***** ****** and the movers several times and he was ignored. We feel we should not have to pay for such poor customer service.

Business Response:  Apparently this notice was not sent directly to our branch in Waco, so we apologize for not responding sooner. According to our records, the *****s chose the carrier's maximum liability of .60 per pound per article when they set up their move. Please see attached moving services contract indicating by *** *****'s signature that he was choosing that option on the day of the move. Our claims department settled the entire claim at that amount. We accomodated the *****s as best we could in moving them on a Saturday, waiving our normal overtime charges. Anytime we move a customer, we make every effort to insure that it is done properly, but there are times when items are damaged. In those cases we settle promptly and accurately based on the coverage they choose. That is what we did in this case.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The damage that occurred to the ************ mattress was the direct result of negligence on the moving company's behalf.  The movers were told that damage would occur to the mattress if it was moved on it's side several times throughout the move.  At no time did they take every precaution available to prevent this damage from occurring.  The Driver for Central Transportation Systems was even showed the moving recommendations by the manufacturer, stating that the mattress must be moved and stored in a flat position and still ignored our request to have the mattress moved flat to avoid damage.  As a result, the mattress was damaged and was not repairable, leaving my husband and I with the burden of purchasing a new mattress due to the intentional carelessness of the employees of this company.  My husband and I feel that this is unacceptable and that we should be reimbursed for the full cost of the mattress and the moving services provided. 

The Web Link for the manufacturers recommendations is as follows:  ************************************************************         

Regards,

***** *****

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stored my household good with Central United from May 10, 2012 to April 9, 2013. During that time they have broken a few of my items as well as taken items (ruler, 2 chaise lawn chairs, watering can, missing pins for my jade screen and treadmill side board, etc.) and have chosen to not repair the items by replacing the items that were taken. Most importantly, the items that were stolen from me they have chosen to ignore and have made no effort to truly rectify the situation. A complaint has been submitted with the Austin police department for theft of items (case# ********* **** ****)

Desired Settlement: I would like the items taken to be replaced/repaired in an acceptable fashion. I would also like an apology for the stolen items and the employees responsible punished.

Business Response:

Central Transportation Systems assumes the responsibility for loss or damage to the household goods we transport or store, based upon the customer's chosen valution option in the Bill of Lading. Valuation is contractual level of mover liability based upon the mover's pricing program (also called a tarriff.) By declaring the type of valuation they want for their shipment, the customer is determining how much liability the mover will have if there is loss or damage to the shipment. Ms. **** did not chose to purchase any valuation and instead elected for the free of charge default coverage of $.60/lb.

Based on the valuation Ms. **** selected ($.60/lb.), we have offered her a claim settlement for the items that were damaged while the shipment was in our control.

Ms. **** ultimately had ******* *** ***** pick up her shipment from our warehouse and transport it to destination. When Wheaton picked up her shipment, they assumed the liability for anything that they did not specifically note as previously damaged.  As we have expalined to the customer , any issues she has concerning missing items or additional damaged items must be addressed with ******* *** ***** as those items would fall under the coverage she selected when she signed their contract.

If you need any additional information, please let me know.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,
***** *********

I am rejecting their response.  Theft is theft.  These items were in boxes. To my knowledge ******* did not go through my boxes.  I am fully aware that Central United did go through my items at my Chinese Screen left my home in one piece but in the warehouse it was in two pieces.  Furthermore, my daybed was unable to be disassembled in my house in Austin but in the warehouse it was in multiple pieces.  The valuation of 0.6$/lb does not replace the items that were stolen from my good.  I would like the items back or replaced without any cost to me.  
*****

Business Response: As previously stated, valuation is a contractual level of mover liability based upon the mover's pricing program (also called a tariff.) By declaring the type of valuation they want for their shipment, the customer is determining how much liability the mover will have if there is loss or damage. Not all valuation fully restores the customer in the case of loss or damage, but that is why there are various options. Ms. **** did not chose to purchase any valuation coverage and instead elected for the free of charge default coverage of $.60/lb. We have made a settlement based upon her selection.
 
When Ms. **** turned her household goods over to ******* *** *****, they assumed the liability for anything not previously noted as missing or damaged. Any issue Ms. **** has concerning missing items or additional damaged items must be addressed with ******* *** ***** as those items were accounted for and not damaged when they left our warehouse. These items would subsequently fall under the coverage she selected when she signed their contract.

We have paid for the items we were responsible for in accordance with our contractual liability.

If you need any further information, please let me know.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I accept the monetary offer provided so far for the items that were broken.  What I do not accept is Central United's complete disregard for the items that were stolen from my goods while in storage with Central United.  These items were place in boxes by their employees and I did not receive these items.  This is totally different from items that were broken (see their valuation).  The items that were stolen need to be returned or Central United needs to provide the funds to cover these items in full.   Central United is demonstrating a lack of integrity by allowing their employees to pilfer through customers boxed items and take what they want which the customer pays the brunt of it.  This is most unprofessional and in my opinion, aiding in a crime.

Regards,

***** *********