Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Relocation & Storage Systems

Phone: (512) 837-8296 Fax: (512) 837-9201 15601 Long Vista Dr Ste 100, Austin, TX 78728 http://www.amrelocation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Relocation & Storage Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Relocation & Storage Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Relocation & Storage Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1971 Business started: 02/01/1971 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1971 Business incorporated 09/28/1995 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steven Lancashire, President Mr. Mark Huff, Director of Sales & Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Lancashire, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Warehousing Services Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
American Relocation & Storage Lansons Group, L.L.C
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Relocation & Storage Systems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15601 Long Vista Dr Ste 100

    Austin, TX 78728

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just another example of why you should read reviews before using a company...we didn't and we're now worse off than we were before. While the company was fairly quick in loading the stuff into their truck, there were quite a few things that were broken during the move not to mention stolen from our house. We haven't even fully unpacked everything so there's no telling what all was stolen/damaged/broken. When I first noticed that the company had stolen a dyson vacuum cleaner ($400) and a black and decker power drill ($100) I brought it to **** ****** attention. You would think that there would be a sense of sympathy that he would have but he took the route of saying that there wasn't any proof that the vacuum existed and that "power drills are easy to replace". His recommendation was to file a police report (which will not do anything - he knew that). They did end up sending us partial reimbursement for the vacuum/drill ($200, I'm still out at least $200) and I've now noticed multiple things that were damaged during the move including but not limited to: * wine rack ($500 // probably 100% ruined) * master king size bed frame damaged ($500+ in repairs) * probably more as we haven't unpacked everything yet Another shady practice is their not-to-exceed quote - they high-ball a quote and see if you bite on it. If you do, there's very little chance that you'll come in under that quote even if you move 4 SUV loads of stuff in between the quote (as we did). Just a shady tactic that really speaks to the company as a whole.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full/partial refund for our move due to the fact that the damages/losses that we've suffered are now in excess of what the move cost.

Business Response:

 

Our response is as follows:

 

All household goods movers are mandated by TXDMV to provide not to exceed estimates. We complied with regulations by providing a not to exceed estimate in the amount of $1,741.00. The actual charges totaled $1,591.60. This resulted in a refund of $149.40 per the attachment. With regard to the pricing, we make every effort to provide an accurate estimate. In this case, we were very close and, in fact, as referenced above, a small refund was realized. Given the extremely high number of competitors in the Austin ****et, if our pricing is too high, we would not secure any business. Most people obtain 2-4 estimates before they select a mover.

 

At the time of delivery, *** ***** advised our crew that they had left some moving equipment (ladder and 2-wheel dolly) at the origin residence. Since he wasn’t sure when he would back at the origin residence, *** ***** gave our driver the lock box combination. According to our driver, he picked up the moving equipment and left the key inside the residence and locked the door. *** ***** had a second key.

 

At a later date, *** ***** contacted our Director of Sales, **** ****. *** ***** stated that, overall, the move went fine, but he was missing a vacuum cleaner, a drill and there was some minor damage to a wine rack. *** ***** alleged our driver took the 2 items when he returned to the origin residence. Our operations department performed an investigation into the allegations. According to the crew, *** ***** instructed them to leave a vacuum cleaner at origin to use for clean up later. Also, apparently *** ***** was using a drill to remove a built-in microwave. The crew distinctly remembers taking a Dyson vacuum cleaner to an upstairs location at the destination home. The driver who returned to the origin residence after the move states he remembers seeing the vacuum cleaner that was intentionally left at origin and a drill. He absolutely denies taking the items.

 

**** **** contacted *** ***** and communicated the above information. *** ***** continued to accuse our crew of theft. He stated that if he was not fully compensated, he would post several negative reviews and notify the BBB. *** ***** expressed his disappointment that we were not at least extending a compromise offer. At that point, **** **** told *** ***** he would check to see if such an offer could be made. After consulting with me, **** called *** ***** back and told him we would offer $200.00 as a good faith gesture in addition to the $149.00 refund of the move charges, for a total amount of $349.40. The $200.00 was not a partial payment but was purely a goodwill gesture with no admission of liability.

 

We do not agree with *** *****’ theft allegation. **** sent the attached email to *** ***** and we issued a check to him in the amount of $349.40. Our check cleared our bank account on 4/14/2016. Along with his email, **** attached a claim form to be used to file a claim for any damage that occurred during the move. As of this date, we have not received a claim form from *** *****.

 

In summary, we have refunded *** ***** the amount to which he is entitled. We will be issuing no additional refunds. Any further claims must be submitted in writing to our office. Any claim filed by *** ***** must be received by our office within 90 days of the date of delivery. Once received, the claim settlement process will begin. This claim settlement process is fully governed and regulated by TXDMV. We strictly adhere to their process.

 

Best Regards,

 

****** **********

Owner/President

American Relocation and Storage Systems

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint* ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

The main issue of my complaint was that your employees stole items from my house.  Yes your pricing methods are shady but you stole from my family and damaged many items during the move.  There is in excess of $2000 damage/stolen items that you aren't taking responsibility for.


Regards,
***** *****

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Consumer complaint from moving damage On 18-19 June 2015, my husband and I had our household goods packaged and crated by American Relocation as part of our military move from ******** Air Force Base, *** *******, TX to ****** Air Force Base in northern **********. Our shipment number was *********** and we were renting the residence at *** * ******, #***, *** *******, TX at the time of the move from Ms. *** ********. Unfortunately, damage was done by the movers to the hard**** flooring in the main living area of the home. I am disappointed because the damage was immediately pointed out to the movers and appropriately reported to their claims office. Upon report to Mr. *** **** in the American Relocation claims office it was explained that because the movers had not covered the floors they were liable and this would be take care of. We then handed in our keys to the landlord on 22 June and informed her that a designated restoration company would be requesting access to the unit in order to obtain an appraisal of the damage and then fix the damage. She informed us she would retain our security deposit of $2,600 until the process was complete. The appraisal for sanding and refinishing the floors came to $5,250 and at this point Mr. **** turned the claim over to Mr. **** at the York Risk Services Group. The claim *********** was denied on 22 July with no explanation of why the company no longer felt that they were liable. It has now been two months and Mr. **** in the claims department has changed his position and statement various times and refuses to take responsibility for the damage his company caused.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate that you contact Mr. **** and American Relocation and Storage Systems ***** **** ***** ***** ***** **** ******* ** and request that the claim be financially settled to the satisfaction of Ms. ********* the property owner. Enclosed are copies of my records. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem, and will wait 30 days before seeking help from the congressman and local news outlets. Please contact me at the above address or by phone.

Business Response: Upon receipt of the customer's property damage claim it was forwarded to our insurance company for settlement. After a thorough investigation, including an in residence inspection and statement from our lead crew member, they determined the damage was pre-existing. Therefore our insurance company has denied the claim.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  This is in complete contradiction to what I was originally told.  Please see the attached statement letter.  The company has changed their position time and time again.  Included in the letter you will see the Mr. *** **** admitted to causing the damage when contacted by the Air Force Quality Assurance department.  I have several witness that would have been present in my home the week of the move that could verify that the damage claimed was not present prior to the move.  Please let me know if you would like the names and contact information of any witnesses.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: After further review with the crew that performed the service and our insurance company, our position remains unchanged. It has been determined the floor damage was pre-existing and therefore our insurance company will not assume liability nor pay for any repair work.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Relocation moved me into my apt on April 9th. They broke my washer and I notified them via phone around April 12. Emails soon started to try to fix the issue. At first they denied any liability and in fact their insurance company has been trying to get out of repairing the washer. The repairmen for the washer have deemed that the broken washer is due to the move and that AM Relocation is responsible to pay for the repair per the contract I have with AM Relocation. The movers since then have done nothing but stall in providing me the documentation needed to get my washer fixed. Yesterday, May 14th, I spoke with *** **** on the phone and he said that I had the go ahead to get my washer fixed and that AM Relocation will pay for it. I have yet to receive documentation to this fact. I tried calling *** this am but he did not answer instead he sent an email in response to my voice mail saying that it was out of his hands. I have been without a washer for over a month. These people know that they are the responsible party to fix the washer and yet they are delaying providing me the documentation so that I might fix my washer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the documentation so that I can have my washer repaired and that AM Relocation will pay for this repair as per the contract. I would like this to happen immediately. AM Relocation know they are responsible for the repair. They are just being inappropriate and unprofessional by stalling.

Business Response: This is in response to the above referenced complaint. After Ms. **** filed her compliant, our insurance company (**********), once again discussed the open claim with her.  ********** notified her their investigation was complete and discussed their settlement offer, copy attached. According to **********,  Ms. **** understood and was in agreement with the offer. We apologize for the delay, but many factors had to be reviewed as it relates to the claim on the Washer. It should be noted we were well within the Texas guidelines as it relates to claim settlement. Please reference the attached information from TxDMV. As indicated in the claim section under the “After Your Move” heading, the mover has 20 days to respond acknowledging the claim and has 90 days to pay, deny or make a settlement offer. Again, we are in total compliance with the TxDMV claim settlement regulations. Please let me know if you have any questions or need any further information.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have accepted the monetary terms of this agreement.  What ********** and ******* have not supplied you with is the Release form that they are forcing me to sign.  This form will release them of any further obligation.  Further obligation includes any further fees in regard to the repair of the washer as well as any theft.  Currently, I am in discussion with ******* ****** in regard to theft with my household goods that ******* delivered to my home in Dallas.  For me to sign this form would be taking my rights away and that is not right.

I would like for ***************** to pay up and stop bullying me.

Regards,

***** *********





























Business Response: Please reference the attached write up prepared by ********** Insurance. As indicated we are not aware of any missing items. According to our records, Ms. ****** items were picked up by us from another moving company, ******* ******. At the time of pick up, ******* ****** signed off on all of the items they released to us. At the time of delivery, all inventory items checked off and were signed for by Ms. ****. There were no items documented as missing. Also, there were no items claimed as missing on the claim for submitted by Ms. ****. Any items deemed missing while under the care of another moving company has nothing to do with us. Based on the comments contained in the insurance company write up, they are awaiting a response from Ms. **** regarding the final claim settlement. At this point there is nothing else my company can do with regard to her complaint.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


 

As previously stated, I accept the monetary offer of $******* to cover the cost of fixing the washer and repairing the file bar and jade screen.  My washer was fixed by ******** ********* on May 22 and no additional costs were incurred.

What I do not agree to are some of the statements from the document that was provided in todays return from American Relocation. Please see the attached file.

Regards,

***** *********





























Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Please open the claim ID*******.  I have always accepted the fund offer of
$******* and will sign the settlement offer. 
If any theft is verified by the Austin Police department, the allowances
based on law should be allowed as it would be inappropriate to allow employees
of the moving company to get away with theft.


Regards,

***** *********





























Business Response: “In the event the Austin Police Department finds one of our employees guilty of theft, we will consider that claim once it is submitted as long as it is within the filing limitation as mandated by the State of Texas which is within 90 days from the date of delivery. The claim must be in writing and include enough information to investigate along with any specific monetary amounts requested”. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I will submit the claim and if theft is found to have happened, I expect that the party guilty of the crime (American Relocation in this case) will return my items.

Regards,

***** *********





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Relocation & Storage Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart