Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Almighty Movers

Phone: (210) 209-5227 -----, San Antonio, TX 78211 http://www.almightymoverstx.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Almighty Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Almighty Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Almighty Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2009 Business started: 07/20/2009 Business started locally: 07/20/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Fernando Talamentez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fernando Talamentez, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Service Area
This company services consumers statewide.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Almighty Movers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website for Almighty Movers states that a free onsite evaluation will be conducted and that a quote will be made based on the evaluation and inventory of a customer's items. It also states that hourly rates are provided. When the movers arrived at my house and asked where I would be moving my boxes which included no household furniture to, I explained to them that my new residence was approximately one mile away. I was told that they would have no problem moving my items within the hour, I was asked to sign that I agreed that the move would not exceed $2000.00 and the two workers began work toward completing the move within that time frame. My move concluded in exactly one hour and I was pleased with the quality of the move however, I was very surprised that although it was verified that my move would only take one hour and that the move actually took this time, I was charged for two hours. I was even more horrified to see that the document I signed included a statement that says that there is a minimum of two hours for move. The website does not disclose this information nor did the movers themselves. I feel very taken advantage of. I was unfairly charged for services I did not receive and I mislead by the company website to believe that the one hour quote I was given would be honored.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of one hour of service provided in guaranteed funds.

Business Response:

In regards to ******* ********* complaint, I quoted her our two hour minimum over the phone and what the total would be.  It is standard for moving companies to require a 2 hour minimum in order to cover our expenses for small moves.  Ms. ******* complaint the day of was regarding the convenience fee we charge for payment by credit cards, but never mentioned anything regarding the price.  She did proceed to pay by check the amount I quoted her over the phone.    We did not charge anything over what we quoted,  nor do we ever.

******** **********
ALMIGHTY MOVERS
************

LICENSED&INSURED
TX DMV#**********
PROUD BBB MEMBERS

 

1/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Almighty Movers turned a 1 hour moving job turned into 3-4 hours. We had already moved a majority of the house minus the big items. Plus, we moved less than a mile away and they had two people to complete the job. They scratched up our new hardwood floors, walls, doors, door frames, wooden furniture, stairs, etc. They clearly were extending their time by taking a small item up the stairs each time. The worst part is, they stole a box of photography/videography equipment and offered to pay $50 in return for the stolen box worth $5,000. Not to mention, the video camera in the box had our honeymoon and wedding on it that can never be returned. The company said they would send a copy of their contract but has not. The pain they caused is taking an emotional toll in the loss of memories and equipment gathered through the years. Not only did we lose the equipment, we lost memorable photos on the memory cards and valuable video footage. Not only did they cause emotional damage, they literally caused physical damage to our home during the "moving" process.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the moving costs (~$400) and for the stolen box ($5,000). Better yet, I would like to be reimbursed for the moving costs and have the box returned if possible.

Business Response:

Unfortunately I just received a letter about a week ago, and received this email on the December 16th.  This was a job we handled on July 26th, 2013.  We were not contacted until November 18th regarding a box that was missing.  This was almost four months later.  I do not understand if Ms. ****** was missing a box worth over $5000.00 how she would not report it much sooner.  She explained that she wanted to look through things thoroughly before contacting us.  She also mentions that this should have been a one hour job, meaning there would not be too much to look through.  In regards to this box, I can not say whether this is a box that we moved or not.  Ms. ****** mentions that she moved almost everything, but the big items and also states that my men took their time moving all the small items individually contradicting what she mentioned earlier.  Ms. ****** mentions that we scratched up her floors, walls, doors, door frames, furniture, stairs, etc.  Yet we never heard any such thing till nearly four months later.  The gentlemen who handled her move are very experienced in the moving industry.  I can not see how they could have managed to create the damages as stated.  This move was from a 2 story home of 2,152 square feet going to another 2 story home of 3,993 square feet.  These are not very small homes, and for our men to complete the job in 4.5 hours, does not seem like an unreasonable amount of time.   We do have a limited liability of $.60 per pound.  Claims must also be filed within 90 days.  I did offer the $50.00 even though she is past those 90 days in attempt to resolve this matter.  My offer still stands of $50.00.

 

******** **********
ALMIGHTY MOVERS
************

 

**************** ** ************** ***** *** *******