Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc.

Phone: (361) 883-1372 Fax: (361) 882-6044 210 N Brownlee Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401 http://www.allmysons.com/Corpus


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2007 Business started: 02/12/2007 Business started locally: 02/12/2007 Business incorporated 10/12/2010 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Staffieri, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Staffieri, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 210 N Brownlee Blvd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (361) 883-1372

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 12, 2015 I hired All My Sons Moving. For the amount of belongings I had been given an estimate of 299$. When they arrived the crew leader had several forms to be filled out. The first thing indicated was the time. The process of going through the numerous forms took about 20 minutes. The crew leader informed me that although there were 3 of them, I would only be paying for 2 as one of the men was in 'training'. The next 20 minutes was spent with the team leader arguing that my belongings would not fit into the Uhaul I had obtained. I had 2 different conversations with Uhaul explaining the items I had to move. I was assured the truck would hold those items. The team leader became very disrespectful. He asked "are you driving this truck to Florida?" when I told him 'yes', he laughed out loud. He stated he had been moving furniture for 15 years and was one of the best. They began to load the truck in no big hurry. There appeared to be no rhyme or reason to the order in which they took things to the truck. I lived on a split level and had told them that they could use the back door to avoid the flight of stairs in front. When they tried to take my Victorian loveseat out, they were unable to get it through an inside door. They debated it 3 times to include taking off the door. The loveseat is not heavy and I had suggested maybe taking that one piece out the front, as there had not been a problem when it was brought in. There was no way they were having that! Getting that one piece out alone took in excess of 30 minutes. As time dragged on, only one person out of the 3 man team seemed to be really 'working'. ALOT of time was wasted trying to look organized. The one working man had gone out to the truck. I followed to see how much room was left in the truck. He was rearranging items and was hard at it. I asked him if he always worked with the same team leader and he replied "this is my first day with this company. I have worked for other companies before". The team then consisted of the arrogant team leader, one man with experience (yet first day with this company) and the guy in 'training'. I continued to wait outside as items were brought out. Each time it appeared as the leader had to exert his authority over where to place items on the truck. It was going so slow, that my friend that was present and myself began to also carry items out for loading. The team lead then received a call regarding the next move I am assuming. He came in with paperwork and stated that they were nearly finished and he needed to collect money. My total came to 650$ dollars, more than double the estimate. Since I had paid them until 1330, they really tried to scamper out. When they wrapped my beaded room divider in foam wrap, they didn't even tape it to hold it on. They left several large pictures and numerous smaller items. They left trash such as wrapping bits and empty tape rolls thrown throughout the apartment. The team leader was clearly not happy that I did not tip them. I explained the charges was more than double what I had been given as an estimate.

Desired Settlement: I feel 650$ is way too much to charge to load one queen bedroom set, loveseat, chase lounge, occasional chair, TV/stand, dining room furniture and about 20 medium boxes. I request a refund of the amount overcharged. Had so much bickering and wasting time had not occurred. These items could have been loaded in the two hours as promised.

Business Response: All My Sons Moving "AMS" 2-man rates is $89 per hour w/ 2 hr minimum labor 1 hr travel to dispatch men to origin & return upon completion of job plus 13% fuel & materials used will be charged accordingly, this schedule of charges for 2 movers has been for this way for decades and there are several thousands of examples I can produce to demonstrate the validity of these statements im making. If you do the math you will see that a minimum charge on every 2 man crew is $301.71. At no time did a representative from AMS mention or say or quote that a job we did not see would cost the shipper "$299", in fact none of our rates even add up to that amount. I recruit and prospect for quality movers all the time and only hire men to be in the field after an extensive backround check, drug screen and one on one interview session with me personally only then will I send a man into the field once he's been tested on his moving skills in our training program. The third man that I personally sent out on this job was NOT for training it was only because I wanted him to start working that day and I know any customer would likely appreciate that since I was paying for him to be out there and it would also benefit the customer since it would reduce the overall time to load truck. The mover was and is a skilled mover and it was his first day on the "AMS TEAM" NOT his first day working in the moving industry. I personally had a discussion with Ms ******** about how big of truck she should get and I said getting the biggger truck would always be the best choice since I did not see what her furniture looked like and how much was actually there to load. She replied that the 16' truck was shorter and she would be more comfortable driving a shorter truck because she needed to pull trailer with car and wanted to be comfortable doing so. Upon arrival my driver who does have many years experience called to say he was concerned everything might not fit on this truck, I told him to advise shipper and he did. Her reply was "UHAUL" said it should all fit so it will fit.....My men began maticulously loading the uhaul truck in a way that is likely unknown to shipper as we call it Vanlining the truck, front to back, floor to ceiling is a meticulous process and requires time, patience and discussion between team members because every piece has to go in seperateley and be a right fit. This process is unfamiliar to UHAUl because UHAUL Rents trucks & storage units and does not Move Household goods professionally. Ms ******** told me UHAUL said it should take 3 hrs to load a 16' truck of household goods, I personally spoke with a rep from UHAUL about a scenario equal to this one as a customer calling over the phone describing what to be loaded and I was told about three hours also however, The UHAUL Rep also agreed that if you were loading a 16' truck "VANLINE" like professionals do it would likely take longer because you are loading floor to ceiling front to back which requires more time. My Team loaded that truck Vanlined in 3.5 hrs and I have a photo of the load and it was full to capacity. Ms ******** was charged exactly as she agreed during sale, confirmation call and after driver explained it again in person by the hour plus travel, fuel and materials. Unfortunately everything didn't fit on the 16' truck as she hoped it would but that's because there was more stuff that required more space which was not available on a 16' truck. Had we had a larger truck with more space this load would have gone quicker and everything would have made it on the truck. In addition, Liability is the sole responsibility of the "Carrier" which was not AMS it was the shipper, upon completion of the laod the liability for AMS is ended! That was made clear to every customer that hires just loading labor and Ms ******** was also made aware of this too. In closing, AMS NEVER ESTIMATED this job as an estimate requires a home visit survey which did not occur. A phone quote of the 2 man hourly rate was all that was given and the minimum amount of out of pocket would be $301.71 additional time would be prorated in 15 minute increments until load was completed and that is what we sell over the phone. $650 is exactly what was agreed to and charged, keeping in  mind 2 men would have naturally taken a longer amount of time to complete this load but a third man was provided free of charge by AMS as a courtesy. If the third man even moved 1 box its one less box shipper had to pay for to be loaded and I am certain the third man handled a lot more than one box that day.        

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Most all phone quotes are recorded these days.  I WAS indeed quoted 299$.  I agree that you sent ONE man that was familiar with your processes.  The other, an 'experienced' mover was first day with your firm.  The third WAS introduced as being in 'training' and that I was not being charged for him to be there. 
This further slowed progress as the leader was 'training'.  You can't say what quality of service was provided as you, the manager/owner were not present.  However, I DID have a friend there with me for the ENTIRE time and can attest to the service provided.  I realize the weather was warm and I did provided cold bottled water for each man a couple of times.  The truth is, the service provided was grossly inadequate.  Only one man made an attempt to work that day and he was the experienced one on the job for the first day.  This was only ONE bedroom, 3 living room pieces, dining table, computer desk and boxes.  3.5 hours was way overcharged due to arguing and wasting time.  My complaint stands with witness. 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: As was stated in the first response All My Sons Moving Does not have any rate that suggests you were quoted $299. All my sales agents are supervised and all bookings are followed up with other other forms of communications verbally & email as to billing procedures and again upon arrival at time of loading. The email confirming the billing procedure for your job was time stamped 6/4/3:23pm which also gives a clear explanation of our Hourly billing procedures and how you would be charged. I am certain after seeing the photo of your load that 3.5 hrs is correct and this bill is best & final. 3.5 hrs. to load A 16' is adequate and average time to to complete work order of this size. The agreed time and process to load truck was completed and time was charged accordingly. All My Sons Moving & Storage will address any and all claims made in accordance to the agreed signed contract as agreed. The value of one man for 3.5 hrs was a minimum of $105 for that job and that was the cost savings that was benefited from the extra mover.  The charges will stand.   

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All my Sons Moving was hired to move furniture from my home. Before the movers moved the first piece of furniture, I told them that my walls were hand textured. I showed them that the walls were in perfect condition and I wanted them to be extra careful when moving the furniture. The movers banged up my walls and put 2 holes in the wall as big as a fist. They also scratched the texture off in 15 different spots. This damage occurred right before Thanksgiving. All my Sons Moving was told about the damaged. I was never contacted by All my Sons Moving. I had the walls repaired and paid the bill of $475.00. I submitted pictures of the damage, the bill of $475.00 and a copy of my bank statement showing that my check to the painter has cleared. The check cleared my bank on Nov 27th, 2014. All my Sons Moving have had plenty of time to reimburse me for the cost of the repair. I spoke with the Manager, ********, today about reimbursing me. She was rude. She started saying that I needed 3 estimates. She told me the owner would get back to me. They have had plenty of time to pay me. I feel like they are trying to get out of paying this bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to right me a letter of apology for the damage and the length of time it has taken for them to reconcile this matter. I would also like a check from them for the damage of $475.00.

Business Response: There was never any dispute about the potential for damage however, it was made clear as to the process to be adhered to following such claim via the claims department. The most important one being a fair and reasonable estimate that requires at least three estimates from qualified professionals. This procedure is well within reason and done by most every professional organization in America. Following due process is not an attempt to avoid anything merely to provide a level playing field as it relates to fair market. Our goal is always to take care of our customers even when something might go wrong and that is what we are doing in this case as well. Understanding your situation and it being before Thanksgiving I have authorized the claims department to settle up with you for the costs of repairs to the damage to your home during the moving process. My Teams are well trained but not perfect and at times they may be a challenge that may require a little more patience from the men before moving extra large articles through an area that may have been too narrow to maneuver. Either way This experience will be used to demonstrate to and to retrain all teams to better manage such situations as that is what professionals do, they evaluate the situation and make adjustments to better themselves on the next job and that is exactly what we at AMS will do both in the field and administratively to get better for the next job. I trust Mr & Mrs ***** can forgive AMS for any inconvenience and aggravation this may have caused the both of you. Happy Holidays to both of you & Your families

Sincerely,
*******  

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers broke a strip of wood from the stairs. They were contacted many times by phone , the lady in complaint department was very rude with no peoples skills, bad costumer service. There were also hidden charges at the end , for example charges of gas and materials used.

Desired Settlement: $150.00 for repairs and materials used, with a 20% mark up.

Business Response:

Mr ****** elected to book himself online our online booking system however due to the lack of a live agent we automatically follow up with a live agent to ensure clarity and to confirm his moving services to include all charges and charge process & moving procedures as we do for all our customers daily. Mr ****** was without question well aware of how we charge and naturally for fuel and m,aterials as well. We are in the transportation business and rely on our good name and service to the co mmunity so we do not under any circumstances "Hide Fees".... that would be suicide for any business and Mr ****** knows it is absolutely Not a true statement! As far as damage to stair molding, Mr ****** was made aware there is a claims process and when Mr ****** demanded that it was repaired that day we had advuiswed hiom that was unreasonable as we would need to coordinatre someone who dowes that work and we would follow the claoims protocol he was made aware of as he declined to purchase any Insurance. We still maintain a position that this claim will be handled as we do any other claim according to his contract agtree,emt and he can certaimnly contact my office to complete that process.

Thanks
*******
************  

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company offered us 4 movers at $150 per hour to show up at 8:30 and we accepted. On moving day (Wednesday - July 30th), we called the office at 9:30 and they told us they were sending 2 'guys' at the new rate was $120 per hour. A man and woman showed up at 10:00. We called back tot he office three times and were told 2 more 'guys' would be sent over around noon, again at 3 and again at 5. The third and fourth male movers showed up at 7:45pm and quickly unloaded the truck. With the two movers, we were only able to move 1 load in 10 hours. The time was almost twice as long as if there had been 4 movers so my bill was much higher than estimated. The office manager (********) told me at noon on the moving day that there would be an adjustment since they only sent two movers and when I asked about this at the end of the day she stated that the movers would not finish unloading my belongings on their truck until I paid the full amount. She stated that there was not any difference between the amount of labor and time spent by the two workers compared to the 4 movers. (The 2 additional movers would not have made any difference in the time it took to move us??) I agreed to pay the full chargs and ******** assured me she would call on Thursday to discuss an adjustment. I called ******** the following Thursday and she stated her manager was out, but he would definitely call me Friday (Aug 8th). I called today at 2:30 and ******** was gone for the day and no one else could help me. I have had to make other arrangement to move the rest of my belongings.

Desired Settlement: $350.00 Credit

Business Response: *** ********** was the contact person throughout the entire booking process and yes a 4 man team was booked at $149 hour and would arrive sometime between 8-9 Not at any specific time as stated...In the transportation business any and all companies are subject to various delays due to unforeseen challenges...weather, hours of service, regulations etc etc that can at any given moment alter a estimated arrival or departure time as was the case the morning of this scheduled relocation...Upon learning that there were crews and trucks out of town and some delayed to return pushed back the overall schedule for the day at which time we made an adjustment to the size of the crew from a 4 man team to a 2 man team and also adjusted the price rate accordingly. Upon arrival my team was confronted with a very abrasive man who seemed to have a problem with the female mover as if she was incapable of doing her job. My crew leader explained to ** ********** that she was a certified pro-mover and was more than capable of doing her job and that the two of them can handle this load! And they did handle the move by the way.....** ********** wanted to direct & boss my team around and when he realized that wasn't how it was going to be he became frustrated with the time it was taking to get job done because what he failed to mention was the goods were junk loaded in a storage unit which my team had to move things around to get at the pieces that needed to get moved. ** ********** was also moving things around only to leave items in there way which caused my team to stop, put down the piece they were handling to move other pieces out of way to proceed to load truck... ** ********** was never promised more movers would arrive at a certain time because we never had that answer as all movers were either out of town, on other jobs or some even out on injured reserve and so on. what ** ********** was told is that we would do our best to send extra men if & when one comes available, that's the truth. furthermore, ** ********** was never given a move quote other than a rate quote which was adjusted to compliment the 2 men that completed the job...insetead of the 4 man rate...he was not charged for 4 men but charged for 2 men...and yes it does take 2 men longer to move goods than 4 but he only paid for the two men per hour. What ** ********** would like you to believe he was charged for 4 men per hour when only two men were working...This is totally UNTRUE! He was charged for only 2 men per hour at a rate of $119 per hour...and the work was done as requested. We explained to ** ********** that your wife hired a professional moving service not a bunch of mindless day laborers so what 2 professional movers can do is quite different than what he expected.. however the job was overcomplicated by the attitude and pressure ** ********** was determined to try to rush my team around to accommodate his agenda... The truth is, my team did their job without any damages which is why you hire professional movers and not day laborers. The overall calculations generated by the hour reflects a 2 man rate per hour plus fuel, materials and travel time and that all we charged for. During the confirmation call my office had with  *** ********** everthing from when we collect charges to the rates are discussed prior to arrival to begin service including method of payment... ** ********** would also like you to believe we held his goods hostage from him until we collected the money?????  attached you will find a copy of the exact "BOL" Bill of Lading that was signed by ** ********** describing exactly what we discussed with *** ********** and ** ********** as to charges & exactly "when" we will collect such payment....
Section (E) of BOL reads: SHIPPER SHALL BE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR ALL CHARGES PRIOR TO UNLOADING IN CASH OR BY CERTIFIED CHECK OR MONEY ORDER, EXCEPT AS MAY BE OTHERWISE AGREED IN WRITING BETWEEN CARRIER AND SHIPPER.. You will see this is the TRUTH! However, despite all of that I truly want what's best for my clients and am willing to make an offer not as an admission of guilt but as a sign of good faith that I appreciate the business and understand moving is stressfull and some people handle stress differently than others. I recalculated the total number of hours of work performed which was 11.5 total hours and reduced the rate even more to only 2 men @ $109 per hour which is a $10/hour difference from the actual charges collected. At this time I am offering a best & final good faith offering of ($115 credit). Upon acceptance of my offering I will email ** ********** a release settlement agreement that will require a notarized signiture and returned to me to process the credit. By accepting this offer ** ********** will Not continue to make any falsified statements about my family business and or discredit my good name to his freinds, family or neighbors vocally or on social media.
Thanks,
******* 
 


?

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to move my tiny 2 bedroom apartment which I had packed the things that they would be moving. I would be moving some items myself. It took 6 hours to move what should have taken half that time. On the phone I was told one thing about what is charged and what is not but upon arrival the movers told me a different story about charges. 5 boxes were NEVER delivered along with a bed frame. Also when called about the missing items was told someone would call me back and NEVER received the call back. A bose stereo speaker was taken from one of the bedrooms that we personal moved ourselves so that it would not get lost damaged or stolen. I have not received any phone calls from anyone at this company once making the first inquiry they where rude and told me it was my fault because I should have checked the truck...I DID. Also that I should have watched everything they did. and unpacked before they left, which would have cost MORE time and money

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment. A phone to let me know if they did or did not find any of my items...

Business Response: On April 19th, 2014 Miss ***** inquired about moving services with my sales agent @ 8:23 am time stamped as all communications are logged in real time. All My Sons Moving & Storage for the past 30 + years has been charging its clients for moving services BY THE HOUR as follows..... 3 men 1 truck & equipment @ an  hourly rate of $119 hour comes with a 2 hour minimum for labor plus 1 additional hour for travel to dispatch men to residence & to return to shop upon completion plus 13% fuel charge & any materials used is billed based on what is actually used. This is exactly what was discussed with Miss ***** during the first call with sales agent again during confirmation which occurs 24-48 hours prior to move date and again a third time upon arrival on move date Driver reviews all pertinent info that was prepared & discussed regarding services and charges. At NO Time did anyone practice or suggest we were charging one thing and suddenly change upon arrival... In its context its quite silly that this practice would even take place when I have hundreds if not thousands of examples of signed Bill Of ladings and shippers who have had same service with three man crew and went through  the same booking process. Perhaps Miss ***** was not the person who actually spoke with my staff or was another company she got a quote from but the only thing she was told at any time would be the minimum charge which calculated would equall $403.41....$119 X 2 hrs labor + 1 hour travel + 13% fuel = $403.41.. Miss ***** signed the Bill Of Lading approximatley six times confirming she understands and agrees to all charges Terms & Conditions as provided. Miss ***** also agreed and signed acknowledging that my men unloaded everything that we originally loaded on to truck was unloaded off truck prior to leaving the final destination. Once crew & truck arrives at shop another inspection is done called a post trip inspection to confirm there was no remaining articles on truck and truck is prepared to go to next job assignment. We have these practices  in place for this very reason and all customers are apart of this process to ensure they are in agreement and clearly see the job is competed prior to departing from residence. There were no boxes found on that truck and Miss ***** was told this information the day she called. I personally reviewed all documents and advised Miss ***** that its my understanding that you participated in observing the truck upon unloading and was clear of any articles and or boxes by her signed documentation that was required for her understanding before and after job was completed prior to the truck departure from destination. This is standard procedure on every job everyday!  Miss ***** agreed to pay All My Sons Moving & Storage for services rendered at the agreed hourly rate( see signed Bill of Lading Terms & Conditions) , all services were performed as agreed which was paid according to her agreement. I do  not see how there is any discrepancy over charges whereby she agreed several times before we ever arrived to her residence how we charge and when we charge for services and then signed agreement prior to start of move as all shippers do prior to the start of each move. It is also made clear that for any reason there was a concern or misunderstanding to contact the office immediately which never happened until days later. All My Sons Moving & Storage takes great pride in being thorough as to ensure the overall experience for all my customers is a good one and we strived to do the same for Miss *****.   

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I used this company on January 31, 2014. We called about two weeks in advance to set up an appointment with them for services to begin at 2 p.m on 1/31/14 and that we would be paying with a check. On the 30th they called stating they needed to pick our items from storage in the mooring instead of 2 p.m. since they were very busy and it was the end of the month. I explained to the lady that was impossible due to the fact we were closing on our new home at 9 am and wouldn't have key until after 12 p.m. On the 31st. they kept calling rushing us to try to hurry to meet at our storage to pick up items. I was able to meet them out at our storage about 11;15 a.m. and they were done about 5 p.m. We just purchased a brand, new construction home and the movers damaged a wall and a $700 dresser. I did call the office on Feb. 1, 2014 (saturday) to let them know and was told they would contact me on Monday. I never heard from them so I called a few days later and again was told they would talk to the manager and call me back. She asked what I wanted done and I stated I wanted me wall fixed as well as my dresser. The wall has a big nick on it and the dressed has a huge chunk of wood missing as well as a door know missing. The lady told me a week or so later they have a guy who does touch up's on walls and a another person who does work on furniture and they would contuse me to see when I would the dresser picked up for repair and schedule a day for them to come fix wall or they could send me $70. I stated I didn't want the money just fix my items and she said it was fine. It has been three weeks and still no call or anything form them. I called them at least a total of 5 times with not one return call from a manager or employee. Horrible customer service. At the time of payment when I had they check they guy than notified me they don't take personnel checks. I said well thanks for letting us know last minute that I would just use a credit card and he than said well there is a fee for credit payments so I said forget it. I had to leave my kids here while they finished unloading their truck and drive to a bank to get cash!

Desired Settlement: I would an apology for them not calling me back or for not fixing anything as well as some type of refund for my damaged wall and an ugly, useless dresser they damaged

Business Response:

February, 28, 2014

To Whom it may concern:

With over 20 + years in business AMS has always had a very structured booking process followed by a confirmation call to verify everyone is on the same page and this move is no different. Fed Ex, UPS and the USPS All in transportation industry delivering goods to residents within a window of time 1-2 hrs mostly. We to schedule moves in two spots Morning Moves begin between 7:30-9:00am or afternoon when we have crews come available after morning jobs we routinely make contact with all our afternoon customers to see who would be ready first for our arrival, it’s a courtesy call because e we cannot have crews and trucks parked waiting dormant for someone to call and ask to be serviced. We have an obligation to manage all clients for that day and sometimes closings fall through at the table and sometimes they just take longer than expected is why we must pursue the earliest possible time to begin so we can service your move as agreed in a timely manner. This is not an attempt to rush or annoy anyone its simply the most effective way to manage the flow of business that helps all our clientele, good communication is the key to a successful schedule for both our clients and movers. At no time did anyone ever agree to schedule a 2:00pm appt. for moving that day, in addition, During the confirmation call with Mr. ********* the previous day it was made perfectly clear what our acceptable methods of payment would be & that we Do Not accept personal checks of any kind. And that we would be calling with updates throughout the morning to see how soon someone would be able to let us begin loading so we could send the next available team to service you first. Upon arrival at the storage unit my movers were shocked at what they found, a storage unit "Junk Loaded" as we call it in our industry. That's when a non professional service does not take the required steps to protect furniture or properly load in unit. A complete lack of experience or neglect is what we found as furniture was thrown into the unit. It was brought to the attention of the shipper as to how you could see the previous movers did not do a good job. fixtures were seen all over floor, screws, nuts & bolts, broken glass etc etc.. as well as damaged furniture. My team immediately began to quilt pad wrap all furniture as we always do prior to loading to prevent such damage from happening en transit. keep in mind unless someone went back to evaluate all the furniture after it was originally loaded into storage the shippers knowledge of the existing condition would be exactly how they last remembered it to be in there old home. However furniture moved the way it was moved into storage without professional care it is inevitable there would be damage. Its a trap that every moving company is subjected to every time we pick up furniture from a public storage that was not professionally handled leaving the shipper to believe it had to be the movers that picked it up from storage. I also viewed the very minor scuff mark made to the wall by a padded piece of furniture which sometimes happens while moving in and around the residence however, this scuff mark is Not as they would have you believe it to be. It is however, 100 % cosmetic. Please note that during confirmation it was also disclosed to Mr ********* that the basic standard level of liability coverage was .60 cents per pound per article and “FVP” Full Value Protection was being offered to purchase but was declined by Mr *********. It is the culture of my family business that we do our very best to provide the best moving experience period to every customer and despite our differences of opinion as to how the damage occurred to dresser I am compelled to always honor my contract terms & conditions by offering a settlement of $85 for dresser & wall damage.  (100lb dresser X .60 = $60 Plus $25 cosmetic fee for wall scuff). I will email the settlement release form and process your settlement check upon receipt of signed release form. I trust you will accept my offer and my sincere apologies for anything less than an overall good experience. It matters to me that you are treated with respect and appreciation.

Thank you,

******* *********

All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *********

P.S. The contents in my storage unit were not JUNK ITEMS! It was furniture and clothing. Its horrible customer service when nobody returns my call and when I agree to have my wall touched up and dresser picked up to be repaired nobody ever got with me to see when it would all be done. The scratch on the wall may be minor to you but we paid ALOT of money for our new construction home so its big to us. We take very good care of our items. 

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 13, I contracted All My Sons Moving and Storage to move my belongings from one location to another. While unloading my sofa and carrying it into the new house, the workers damaged my sofa. I immediately called ******** at All My Sons and discussed the situation and the process for having it repaired following the included insurance policy of my contract. She requested that I send pictures of the damage and a brief description of the situation to her cellphone by text. I sent the pictures and explanation, but did not get a response. I called the following day to verify that she had received them. She said that she had and to also email them to her. I emailed the requested information and again did not hear back from her. I called three more times throughout the next week and a half to check on what I needed to do next to repair my sofa. Each time I spoke with ******** and she said that she hadn't been able to talk to her boss, but that she was working on it. On July 22, I emailed ******** and stated that if I did not hear back from her, that I would be contacting BBB and stopping payment on the moving charges until the matter was resolved. She phoned me the following day, July 23, and said that she was able to speak with her boss and that I am owed $120 per the insurance agreement towards getting the sofa fixed. She also stated that I would be receiving a claim form to fill out and return. I collected estimates to repair the sofa and emailed her my chosen company and price to repair the sofa ($160) on July 24, just so she would be up to date on the repair progress. As of Aug. 7, I still had not received the claim form. I emailed ******** first thing in the morning about it and received no response by the end of the day, so I called. She stated that she would email it to me right away. By midday Aug. 8, I still did not have the form. I called and reminded her. She sent it that afternoon. I completed the form and had it notarized and mailed on Aug. 9. The claim form states that I would receive a check within 7-10 days upon All My Sons Receiving the form. On September 3, I emailed ******** first thing in the morning that I had not received a check and asked if she could look into the matter. I did not receive a response. I emailed again late that evening that if I did not hear back from her that I would be contacting BBB. She responded the next day, Sept. 4, that she would look into it. As of Sept. 9, I had not heard back from her so I called and left a message with a coworker for her to call me about the matter. I did not receive a return call. On Sept. 11, I called and spoke with ********. She stated that she would look into it and call me back. I did not receive a return call. On Sept. 13, I called and spoke with ******** once again. She stated that my account has been "reconciled" and I should be receiving the check any day. I asked what date it was mailed on and she stated that she did not have that information. As of Sept. 17, I still had not received the payment and called ********. She said that she would look into the date that it was mailed and let me know. I stated to her that I have been patient enough and that this should not take two months and all of these phone calls and emails to get resolved and that I am ready to file a complaint with BBB. She stated that it wasn't necessary and that she'd find the mailed date and let me know. I did not receive a return call. I called just before closing to check again, and she said she was working on it. I called again today, Sept. 18, and was told by a coworker that she was on a conference call and would look into it as soon as she was finished.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $120 for the repair to my sofa per the included insurance that came with my contract (of which All My Sons has already agreed should be paid to me). Also, as this now has taken an unacceptable amount of my personal time to deal with (due to lack of returned phone calls, emails, forms, etc...), I am also asking for a $50 refund of my moving bill, in order to pay for my time. The company charges $89 ($44.50 per man) per hour for a two man crew's time and effort in moving my belongings. The amount of time I have spent dealing with this matter totals to well over an hour of my time and effort so $50 is reasonable compensation.

Business Response: I have reviewed this claim and learned that the it was processed and check was mailed as promised however, I believe it was a misprint with regards to the townhome number is why check was undeliverable. I requested a stop payment on the original check that was mailed and ordered a new check to be made and delivered after whole townhome address was confirmed and it was. I sincerely apologize for any delay or inconvenience this may have caused you as every effort was made to honor your claim in a timely manner. At no time was there any negligence or attempt to avoid settling this claim and I sincerely hope you don't view it as such. It was a simple error in print as the Unit # was in error and or not known to usps. I truly appreciate your business and as a token of my appreciation will be sending you a couple restaurant vouchers for your pleasure.

Best Regards,
*******    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *****

I received the check in the mail today and would like to thank them for getting it out to me.  The restaurant vouchers also offered would be appreciated.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted this company to move us from a 2 bdrm apt to a house. The move was here in town. I explained how much furniture we had (not much) and that we had boxes in the garage from our move to Corpus. They were an hour late and sent a 2 man crew. I was quoted 3 hours at $89/hour. The movers did not work together. I was told the dresser did not need to be unloaded, but I was not told the furniture wold be turned upside-down. Things came out. I person worked inside, 1 person worked outside. I was expecting 3 people at the quoted price and was promised, based on the apartment size and the furniture that it would take 3 hours. When they arrived, I was told the 3rd person would make it $149/hr. We were already loading so I declined the 3rd person. The final move took 8 hours. I had to tell the movers to stop loading because I was out of money. We went to our destination, we had to pay prior to unloading. During the unload I directed them to look out for boxes marked fragile. There were small boxes at the bottom the the stack of boxes being unloaded. One of them was marked fragile and had hand blown glass in it. The unload took 2.5 hours. We were promised a refund for 20 minutes that were prepaid. We have yet to receive that. During the move, the movers did take water breaks. I was told that would be deducted from the final time. It was not. There were numerous calls from the office manager, ********. I have the impression they were being directed to take their time as payback for my not getting the 3rd person. As most of our belongings were already in boxes in the garage, it should not have taken that long. We had 1 bed, 1 dresser, a small entertainment center, a couple of student desks that were disassembled and a few other things. The movers did not have to take anything apart or use any tools. I truly feel the movers were told to drag out the move.

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least 50%, in addition to the refund we were promised.

Business Response:

AMS
initially spoke with Mr ***** on 6/4/13 to at which time he spoke with my sales
agent and went through a q & a session to get a picture of wht the scope of
work will look like and then suggested a 2 man crew & 1 truck based on
that information at a rate of $89 hr with a 2 hr minimum plus 1 additional hour
of travel time to dispatch to your residence and to return upon completion of
work, a standard 12% fuelcharge plus any materials used would be applied as
discussed. According to the notes I reviewed as all communications are
time stamped and a record of communications is saved Mr ***** requested an
afternoon move. We have two daily periods at which time we schedule moves first
is morning moves between 7:30am-9am & afternoon moves which are sometime
after 12 since it is impossible to know when the morning jobs are completed is
why we Do Not give exact times to begin just like fed ex doesn't, we are in
transportation business and cannot predict weather, traffic etc...*How we began
one hour late is not possible since we never committed to an exact start time
in afternoon. A confirmation call was later placed to  reiterate the
initial order with sales agent prior to move date. All my drivers/supervisors
on site are trained to perform a walk thru of residence to determine if the info
provided over the phone to sales agent was accurate or not, upon assessing the
***** residence and learning there was a garage full of goods in addition to
the 2 bedroom apartment, in fact the ***** move was essentially a 3-4 bedroom
house that was partiallty in apartment and storage unit... he immediately
contacted my office and suggested the benefits of a third man if available.
keep in mind a 3 man team is at a rate of $119 hr.  which would
benefit the overall move experience for shipper and lighten the load on
the 2 man team especially late in the day. We are in the heighth of
moving season and very busy handling 100's of jobs so locating another
mover in the middle of the day would not be so easy...as the day progressed
many attempts were made to locate a third man however after awhile Mr *****
stated at this time it was probably not worth it to get an extra man as they
were doing ok on there own so far. *Like thousands of customers before Mr
***** all have been advised that clothing could be left inside chest
drawers & dressers in an effort to save customer time and money on
materials AMS would work a little harder by carrying with clothes in not out.
the industry average time spent loading a truck and unloading a truck is a
60/40 split ex: 10 total hors of total labor on a move would be approx. 6hrs to
load & 4 hours to unload plus the time spent driving from one location to
another...based on Mr ***** job that began at 2pm and finished at 10:pm,
axccording to my gps tracking program my truck was in route to destination
address at approx. 7:20pm which indicates a 5.25-.5hours of loading time so in
your words it took 2.5 hours to unload which clearly demonstrates the
amount of household goods loaded onto my truck was in fact accurate and
took the the right amount of time to unload....NUMBERS DONT LIE!!! The only
truth I was able to realize based on all that Mr ***** stated is that my truck
did depart after unloading at 9:47pm approx. 12 minutes sooner than the actual
stop time agreed which was 10:oopm stop time! I can assure you any credit for
that time was promised to you since that is what we agreed to and said would
happen should we complete the job sooner rather than later. Unintentional
Oversight that it was not credited to your account yet! ($22 credit). This last
accusuation is frankly and terribly disturbing to me that Mr ***** believes
that my family owned and operated business would demonstrate throughout
the process to provide the best service possible by suggesting a third man
once we realized we were only told about part of his household goods not all
over the phone, allow mr youst to leave "clothes" in dresser drawers,
chest drawers to save time and money and then turn around and tell my team to
deliberately go slow in spite of mr youst so we can get back at him for not
accepting the third man!!!! How Pathetic that even sounds while im typing
my rebuttal. My office manager "******** was unable to locate a third
man as I explained in my earlier remarks which is not unusual in the middle of
the day and as time passed is why mr youst decided to no longer concern
ourselves with trying since the two men were about to finish with the
load. What would AMS have to gain from putting my mens safety at risk
first and foremost by demanding they take longer to perform services than needs
to? please help me understand that logic. It seams mr youst thinks like
this is why we are even having to defend ourselves. Based on what you are
saying you request a 50% refund you believe it takes only 4 total hours to load
your 2 bedroom apartment then load a storage unit on site  full
of household goods, travel to your new home, unload entire truck in only 4
hrs?? You are sadly mistaken and cannot demonstrate that anything you are
saying is valid or even makes logical sense. Mr *****, I have in good faith
issued your credit of more than 12 minutes back of $22 as promised and ask that
you please stop trying to manipulate words and facts to support your attempt to
reduce the actauall charges you agreed to and accepted before during and after
the move that day. My reputation in this community speaks volumes of how AMS
works with our clients and support my community Not by playing dirty just show
up, work hard & honest and maybe even make some friends along the way but
Never do we need to play games with people or put my mens safety at risk to
prove a point. You will see your credit of ($22)on your next statement. 

Best Regards,      

*******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I was contacted the day of the move and given a time for arrival.  I was not credited with the deposit I paid to secure your services.  The storage unit full of household goods you mentioned were all stacked boxes.  We were not credited for the breaks your crew took during the course of the move.  I explained EVERYTHING to your sales agent when I contracted your services, including the boxes in the storage unit.  I was still quoted a price based on our goods and the "quality and abilities of your staff."  Your company "over promised and under delivered."  The boxes were not loaded into rooms in the house, they were stacked into the garage.  I offered to help to speed the process along and that was declined.  Your staff did not have to disassemble or reassemble any items.   I truly believe your staff was directed to slow down the move.  I reiterate my statement that fully 1/2 of the final price needs to be refunded.  I do not know nor do I care what you believe your reputation is within the community.  I can assure you, it is no longer as high as you believe.  Also, when you write a response GET YOUR CUSTOMERS NAME RIGHT.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Mr Yost,

for starters you are once again saying one thing when the facts are the complete opposite. Your credit of ($22) as promised was authorized back to credit card ending **** Auth#******. Please stop making false statements and accusations that contradict the facts. You were not given a price you were given an hourly rate and you acknowledged that on your Bill Of Lading "Signed Contract" prior to beginning the job both on phone and in person. Regardless of what was in the storage unit boxes, furniture what have you doesn't change the facts...in fact moving boxes requires several trips back & fourth to truck and at no time did you or anyone else mention you felt it was taking longer than expected the entire day. Furthermore, your request to join my employees to "help out" is not acceptable for good reason "Liability" you are not an AMS employee and are not legally allowed to walk about any equipment or handle any equipment on or off the truck. This is no different than stepping behind the counter of ********* to help the cook make hamburgers... Insurnace companies have very specific rules. I describe this situation this way because you continue to attempt to distort the truth as if we declined your help so we could take longer doing the job....again "REDICULOUS" ! In addition to the ($22)credit you received and the $50 deposit to secure the move date was in fact a "pre-authorization" and Never in fact charged to your credit card prior to move date. Your statement shows A onetime charge of $1026.51 @ 8:02PM on 06/20/2013 to cover the cost of your moving services. Once again your deliberate attempt to manipulate the facts to make it seem I did something unlawful or charged you money you never authorized is more of the same. It I am a very reasonable and understanding man and care about people and it is very clear to me that you don't care about the facts and that is what matters in this case are the facts. You continue to ignore the facts. If my men took breaks during your move im sure it was warranted however, this is the first time I heard anything about breaks you didn't approve of during the move. It is not uncommon for men to take short water breaks during moving process after all it is and has been very hot in south texas and they need to stay hydrated. If you believe you should receive a credit for a couple water breaks I will be glad to furnish such credit. I will respectfully honor a reasonable credit for water breaks at the conclusion of this claim. The facts speak for themselves and I will not dignify your false claim that anyone requested my men to take longer simply ridiculous! & anyone who has dealt with my organization knows this is not how we operate.
Respectfully,
*******

12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues