BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All My Sons Moving & Storage of Corpus Christi, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2007 Business started: 02/12/2007 Business started locally: 02/12/2007 Business incorporated: 10/12/2010 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Staffieri, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Staffieri, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 210 N Brownlee Blvd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (361) 883-1372

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 13, I contracted All My Sons Moving and Storage to move my belongings from one location to another. While unloading my sofa and carrying it into the new house, the workers damaged my sofa. I immediately called ******** at All My Sons and discussed the situation and the process for having it repaired following the included insurance policy of my contract. She requested that I send pictures of the damage and a brief description of the situation to her cellphone by text. I sent the pictures and explanation, but did not get a response. I called the following day to verify that she had received them. She said that she had and to also email them to her. I emailed the requested information and again did not hear back from her. I called three more times throughout the next week and a half to check on what I needed to do next to repair my sofa. Each time I spoke with ******** and she said that she hadn't been able to talk to her boss, but that she was working on it. On July 22, I emailed ******** and stated that if I did not hear back from her, that I would be contacting BBB and stopping payment on the moving charges until the matter was resolved. She phoned me the following day, July 23, and said that she was able to speak with her boss and that I am owed $120 per the insurance agreement towards getting the sofa fixed. She also stated that I would be receiving a claim form to fill out and return. I collected estimates to repair the sofa and emailed her my chosen company and price to repair the sofa ($160) on July 24, just so she would be up to date on the repair progress. As of Aug. 7, I still had not received the claim form. I emailed ******** first thing in the morning about it and received no response by the end of the day, so I called. She stated that she would email it to me right away. By midday Aug. 8, I still did not have the form. I called and reminded her. She sent it that afternoon. I completed the form and had it notarized and mailed on Aug. 9. The claim form states that I would receive a check within 7-10 days upon All My Sons Receiving the form. On September 3, I emailed ******** first thing in the morning that I had not received a check and asked if she could look into the matter. I did not receive a response. I emailed again late that evening that if I did not hear back from her that I would be contacting BBB. She responded the next day, Sept. 4, that she would look into it. As of Sept. 9, I had not heard back from her so I called and left a message with a coworker for her to call me about the matter. I did not receive a return call. On Sept. 11, I called and spoke with ********. She stated that she would look into it and call me back. I did not receive a return call. On Sept. 13, I called and spoke with ******** once again. She stated that my account has been "reconciled" and I should be receiving the check any day. I asked what date it was mailed on and she stated that she did not have that information. As of Sept. 17, I still had not received the payment and called ********. She said that she would look into the date that it was mailed and let me know. I stated to her that I have been patient enough and that this should not take two months and all of these phone calls and emails to get resolved and that I am ready to file a complaint with BBB. She stated that it wasn't necessary and that she'd find the mailed date and let me know. I did not receive a return call. I called just before closing to check again, and she said she was working on it. I called again today, Sept. 18, and was told by a coworker that she was on a conference call and would look into it as soon as she was finished.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $120 for the repair to my sofa per the included insurance that came with my contract (of which All My Sons has already agreed should be paid to me). Also, as this now has taken an unacceptable amount of my personal time to deal with (due to lack of returned phone calls, emails, forms, etc...), I am also asking for a $50 refund of my moving bill, in order to pay for my time. The company charges $89 ($44.50 per man) per hour for a two man crew's time and effort in moving my belongings. The amount of time I have spent dealing with this matter totals to well over an hour of my time and effort so $50 is reasonable compensation.

Business Response: I have reviewed this claim and learned that the it was processed and check was mailed as promised however, I believe it was a misprint with regards to the townhome number is why check was undeliverable. I requested a stop payment on the original check that was mailed and ordered a new check to be made and delivered after whole townhome address was confirmed and it was. I sincerely apologize for any delay or inconvenience this may have caused you as every effort was made to honor your claim in a timely manner. At no time was there any negligence or attempt to avoid settling this claim and I sincerely hope you don't view it as such. It was a simple error in print as the Unit # was in error and or not known to usps. I truly appreciate your business and as a token of my appreciation will be sending you a couple restaurant vouchers for your pleasure.

Best Regards,
*******    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *****

I received the check in the mail today and would like to thank them for getting it out to me.  The restaurant vouchers also offered would be appreciated.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted this company to move us from a 2 bdrm apt to a house. The move was here in town. I explained how much furniture we had (not much) and that we had boxes in the garage from our move to Corpus. They were an hour late and sent a 2 man crew. I was quoted 3 hours at $89/hour. The movers did not work together. I was told the dresser did not need to be unloaded, but I was not told the furniture wold be turned upside-down. Things came out. I person worked inside, 1 person worked outside. I was expecting 3 people at the quoted price and was promised, based on the apartment size and the furniture that it would take 3 hours. When they arrived, I was told the 3rd person would make it $149/hr. We were already loading so I declined the 3rd person. The final move took 8 hours. I had to tell the movers to stop loading because I was out of money. We went to our destination, we had to pay prior to unloading. During the unload I directed them to look out for boxes marked fragile. There were small boxes at the bottom the the stack of boxes being unloaded. One of them was marked fragile and had hand blown glass in it. The unload took 2.5 hours. We were promised a refund for 20 minutes that were prepaid. We have yet to receive that. During the move, the movers did take water breaks. I was told that would be deducted from the final time. It was not. There were numerous calls from the office manager, ********. I have the impression they were being directed to take their time as payback for my not getting the 3rd person. As most of our belongings were already in boxes in the garage, it should not have taken that long. We had 1 bed, 1 dresser, a small entertainment center, a couple of student desks that were disassembled and a few other things. The movers did not have to take anything apart or use any tools. I truly feel the movers were told to drag out the move.

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least 50%, in addition to the refund we were promised.

Business Response:

AMS
initially spoke with Mr ***** on 6/4/13 to at which time he spoke with my sales
agent and went through a q & a session to get a picture of wht the scope of
work will look like and then suggested a 2 man crew & 1 truck based on
that information at a rate of $89 hr with a 2 hr minimum plus 1 additional hour
of travel time to dispatch to your residence and to return upon completion of
work, a standard 12% fuelcharge plus any materials used would be applied as
discussed. According to the notes I reviewed as all communications are
time stamped and a record of communications is saved Mr ***** requested an
afternoon move. We have two daily periods at which time we schedule moves first
is morning moves between 7:30am-9am & afternoon moves which are sometime
after 12 since it is impossible to know when the morning jobs are completed is
why we Do Not give exact times to begin just like fed ex doesn't, we are in
transportation business and cannot predict weather, traffic etc...*How we began
one hour late is not possible since we never committed to an exact start time
in afternoon. A confirmation call was later placed to  reiterate the
initial order with sales agent prior to move date. All my drivers/supervisors
on site are trained to perform a walk thru of residence to determine if the info
provided over the phone to sales agent was accurate or not, upon assessing the
***** residence and learning there was a garage full of goods in addition to
the 2 bedroom apartment, in fact the ***** move was essentially a 3-4 bedroom
house that was partiallty in apartment and storage unit... he immediately
contacted my office and suggested the benefits of a third man if available.
keep in mind a 3 man team is at a rate of $119 hr.  which would
benefit the overall move experience for shipper and lighten the load on
the 2 man team especially late in the day. We are in the heighth of
moving season and very busy handling 100's of jobs so locating another
mover in the middle of the day would not be so easy...as the day progressed
many attempts were made to locate a third man however after awhile Mr *****
stated at this time it was probably not worth it to get an extra man as they
were doing ok on there own so far. *Like thousands of customers before Mr
***** all have been advised that clothing could be left inside chest
drawers & dressers in an effort to save customer time and money on
materials AMS would work a little harder by carrying with clothes in not out.
the industry average time spent loading a truck and unloading a truck is a
60/40 split ex: 10 total hors of total labor on a move would be approx. 6hrs to
load & 4 hours to unload plus the time spent driving from one location to
another...based on Mr ***** job that began at 2pm and finished at 10:pm,
axccording to my gps tracking program my truck was in route to destination
address at approx. 7:20pm which indicates a 5.25-.5hours of loading time so in
your words it took 2.5 hours to unload which clearly demonstrates the
amount of household goods loaded onto my truck was in fact accurate and
took the the right amount of time to unload....NUMBERS DONT LIE!!! The only
truth I was able to realize based on all that Mr ***** stated is that my truck
did depart after unloading at 9:47pm approx. 12 minutes sooner than the actual
stop time agreed which was 10:oopm stop time! I can assure you any credit for
that time was promised to you since that is what we agreed to and said would
happen should we complete the job sooner rather than later. Unintentional
Oversight that it was not credited to your account yet! ($22 credit). This last
accusuation is frankly and terribly disturbing to me that Mr ***** believes
that my family owned and operated business would demonstrate throughout
the process to provide the best service possible by suggesting a third man
once we realized we were only told about part of his household goods not all
over the phone, allow mr youst to leave "clothes" in dresser drawers,
chest drawers to save time and money and then turn around and tell my team to
deliberately go slow in spite of mr youst so we can get back at him for not
accepting the third man!!!! How Pathetic that even sounds while im typing
my rebuttal. My office manager "******** was unable to locate a third
man as I explained in my earlier remarks which is not unusual in the middle of
the day and as time passed is why mr youst decided to no longer concern
ourselves with trying since the two men were about to finish with the
load. What would AMS have to gain from putting my mens safety at risk
first and foremost by demanding they take longer to perform services than needs
to? please help me understand that logic. It seams mr youst thinks like
this is why we are even having to defend ourselves. Based on what you are
saying you request a 50% refund you believe it takes only 4 total hours to load
your 2 bedroom apartment then load a storage unit on site  full
of household goods, travel to your new home, unload entire truck in only 4
hrs?? You are sadly mistaken and cannot demonstrate that anything you are
saying is valid or even makes logical sense. Mr *****, I have in good faith
issued your credit of more than 12 minutes back of $22 as promised and ask that
you please stop trying to manipulate words and facts to support your attempt to
reduce the actauall charges you agreed to and accepted before during and after
the move that day. My reputation in this community speaks volumes of how AMS
works with our clients and support my community Not by playing dirty just show
up, work hard & honest and maybe even make some friends along the way but
Never do we need to play games with people or put my mens safety at risk to
prove a point. You will see your credit of ($22)on your next statement. 

Best Regards,      

*******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I was contacted the day of the move and given a time for arrival.  I was not credited with the deposit I paid to secure your services.  The storage unit full of household goods you mentioned were all stacked boxes.  We were not credited for the breaks your crew took during the course of the move.  I explained EVERYTHING to your sales agent when I contracted your services, including the boxes in the storage unit.  I was still quoted a price based on our goods and the "quality and abilities of your staff."  Your company "over promised and under delivered."  The boxes were not loaded into rooms in the house, they were stacked into the garage.  I offered to help to speed the process along and that was declined.  Your staff did not have to disassemble or reassemble any items.   I truly believe your staff was directed to slow down the move.  I reiterate my statement that fully 1/2 of the final price needs to be refunded.  I do not know nor do I care what you believe your reputation is within the community.  I can assure you, it is no longer as high as you believe.  Also, when you write a response GET YOUR CUSTOMERS NAME RIGHT.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Mr Yost,

for starters you are once again saying one thing when the facts are the complete opposite. Your credit of ($22) as promised was authorized back to credit card ending **** Auth#******. Please stop making false statements and accusations that contradict the facts. You were not given a price you were given an hourly rate and you acknowledged that on your Bill Of Lading "Signed Contract" prior to beginning the job both on phone and in person. Regardless of what was in the storage unit boxes, furniture what have you doesn't change the facts...in fact moving boxes requires several trips back & fourth to truck and at no time did you or anyone else mention you felt it was taking longer than expected the entire day. Furthermore, your request to join my employees to "help out" is not acceptable for good reason "Liability" you are not an AMS employee and are not legally allowed to walk about any equipment or handle any equipment on or off the truck. This is no different than stepping behind the counter of ********* to help the cook make hamburgers... Insurnace companies have very specific rules. I describe this situation this way because you continue to attempt to distort the truth as if we declined your help so we could take longer doing the job....again "REDICULOUS" ! In addition to the ($22)credit you received and the $50 deposit to secure the move date was in fact a "pre-authorization" and Never in fact charged to your credit card prior to move date. Your statement shows A onetime charge of $1026.51 @ 8:02PM on 06/20/2013 to cover the cost of your moving services. Once again your deliberate attempt to manipulate the facts to make it seem I did something unlawful or charged you money you never authorized is more of the same. It I am a very reasonable and understanding man and care about people and it is very clear to me that you don't care about the facts and that is what matters in this case are the facts. You continue to ignore the facts. If my men took breaks during your move im sure it was warranted however, this is the first time I heard anything about breaks you didn't approve of during the move. It is not uncommon for men to take short water breaks during moving process after all it is and has been very hot in south texas and they need to stay hydrated. If you believe you should receive a credit for a couple water breaks I will be glad to furnish such credit. I will respectfully honor a reasonable credit for water breaks at the conclusion of this claim. The facts speak for themselves and I will not dignify your false claim that anyone requested my men to take longer simply ridiculous! & anyone who has dealt with my organization knows this is not how we operate.
Respectfully,
*******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1