Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Movers

Phone: (432) 530-2505 Fax: (432) 331-1229 2317 Field Street Ste 0, Odessa, TX 79763


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Affordable Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2001 Business started: 10/16/1988 Business started locally: 10/16/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Roy Jaquez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy Jaquez, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Packaging Materials Packaging Service Moving & Storage Company Cleaning Services Cleaning Services - Commercial Office

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2317 Field Street Ste 0

    Odessa, TX 79763 (432) 530-2505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 2013 we agreed on moving my household belongings to Brownwood Texas fro* my residence in Midland Texas. *** is the owner of the company. He had his employees there by noon that day, it took the* till around 7 that evening to complete the job. He had around 6 people working there at all times. The fee for this job was agreed upon at $2,400 which was very fair for the amount that had to packed and moved. The next day they delivered it to my storage in Brownwood Texas, my sister was the one who accepted my belongings. I remand at the Midland residence to do cleanup which took several days,and on the 3rd day i find one of my jewelry boxes behind the toilet down stairs.This box had my late husbands diamond ring in it valued at $ 3000. dollars and a ring of mine which was worth around $250 I contacted the Midland police and they did finger prints and investigations into this matter and they have an arrest for a person named *** #********* is the case #.I did call and let *** know about this but he has never called again about this matter.In visiting with the police several times they tell me that this person has a warrant for his arrest and they will let me know when he is arrested. I did identify a photo of this person and know he was in my home that entire day and delivered to Brownwood also.I talked with the Sargent again today and was told *** the owner said this person was not there for this job that day.He lied and I a* very upset about this matter.Also I when i paid hi* I gave hi* $500. extra for his work that day.The ring can't be replaced and I don't even want to try too.It was very sentimental to me...... I think what needs to be done in this matter is for Mr *** to take matters in hand and reimburse me for the $ 2900 or we can go to investigation in to his employee payroll and how this matter was taken care of when he found out about the thief.I have been very upset about this but when I was told he lied about this person being there, I became very angry. Finger prints don't lie. Please help me with this matter and advise me what to do .

Desired Settlement: The police also have told me this matter should be looked into since it happened once it provably is not the only time. I think Mr *** needs to be cautious and honest if he is going to work for people of Midland and assure the* their belonging are safe. i know he does a lot of work for many there in Midland and it can really hurt his business.

Business Response:

ID #********

 

In response to complaint filed on behalf of **** * ********, we have spoken with detective ***** when Mrs. ******** initially spoke with the Midland Police Dept.  Mrs. ******** states that finger prints were matched in connection with a photo to a suspect named “***”. And that she identified hi* as a person in her home at the time of services. Also that we lied about hi* being there at the time of her move. However we did not lie and say he was not on the job.  As we stated to her and the detective at the time we did not or have not employed a person by the name of “***” with our company then or since. We encouraged Mrs. ******** to call the police when she made the discovery of the missing jewelry, as we do not stand for dishonest employees and were like her in need of answers. We also stated we would like to see a photo that was linked to the finger prints and since have not been given a copy.  We have reached out to Midland Police Department again and are waiting for a response fro* the department as the detective is no longer assigned to this case. We stated in her complaint that the officer stated that this has happened before, yes we have been accused one other time of missing jewelry, we had the crew questioned by police only to find the customer had misplaced the jewelry. We are an honest company with what we like to think are honest employees and if we find once we do receive this photo that we have a dishonest person we will and expect to prosecute accordingly.



--

Affordable Movers

**** *******

Odessa Tx

Office ************

Fax ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:*** knows this is not right.I'm sending case # ********* with the MPD which shows the employee that was in my house the date of the move.I did identify the person fro* the photo as one of the employees helping with the move and was told his name was ***.I have been advised that his name on record is ***** ****** and sometime goes by the name ***.The person to contact at MPD is Lt *******,he is the one who issued the warrant for this criminal.They have his finger prints from my jewelry box. The day I told *** about this he was very sorry and I thought he would stay on top of this matter,but I see and feel that it has been covered up hoping I will let the matter go.I didn't realize how I missed this ring and the feeling of violation I have felt till recently. I have decided to seek civil remedies to see what rights are in this matter.This will change the original amount of settlement and will involve time to seek employee records and business policies. 

Regards,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)