BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ace Southwest Moving & Storage Co?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Southwest Moving & Storage Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace Southwest Moving & Storage Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Southwest Moving & Storage Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 24, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 in TX Business incorporated: 10/07/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Kaminski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Kaminski, President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Ace World Wide Moving & Storage Kaminski & Black Inc.
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 15501 Long Vista Dr Ste 330

    Austin, TX 78728 (800) 650-6204 (512) 246-2929

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 650-6204(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ace World Wide Moving was hired in May 2014 to move household goods from Austin Texas to Peachland British Columbia. The moving truck arrived for delivery of the household goods on June 12, 2014. When the truck arrived, the driver was directed by the local Ace/Atlas helper to back the truck down the street to the front of our house. In directing the truck to back up, the driver backed into a residential street light knocking down and destroying the street light. This incident was witnessed by a good number of individuals. Pictures of the damages were taken and were immediately emailed to Ace. A claim was filed and submitted for the damages within a few weeks of the incident. To date (October 27, 2014) Ace World Wide Moving has not taken any action on this complaint. I have been directed by Ace to EDC, an agent of Ace Worldwide Moving and who apparently is the employer of the driver of the moving truck; also to Atlas Corporate. None of these companies is taking any responsibility for the damages. My contract was with Ace World Wide Moving and they should be taking the lead responsibility to properly resolve this claim.

Desired Settlement: Pay the full claim amount for damages.

Business Response:

We have received and read the complaint.   It is our understanding that the customer has filed multiple complaints with ECD and Atlas World Group regarding the same issue.
EDC was the hauling agent and they have responded several times to the customer and we have confirmed that they will be the only point of correspondence with this client. 
It is our understanding that this complaint will be removed from our records as it is not applicable to us.

Please confirm that no further correspondence is needed on our behalf.

***** ***** ******** ** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Our moving contract  (Order for Service) was directly with Ace Worldwide Moving, listed as an agent of Atlas. Van Lines.  Ace Worldwide - Atlas on their own initiative subcontracted the move to another company (EDC).  Ace Worldwide-Atlas should be responsible for the neglectful actions of their subcontracted agent. They have refused to take any action nor responsibility for the damages caused by their subcontractor. It is shameful and just wrong that they shirk their contractual responsibilities by pointing the consumer to THEIR subcontractor. 

Regards, ******* *******

Business Response: Richard-

I do understand that your claim was denied.  You have received explanation for the denial.  We received your most recent response. 
I have attached your Household Good Bill of Lading Contract with Atlas Van Lines.  It is clearly written in multiple locations that your "contract" is with Atlas Van Lines, Inc.  US DOT No. ******.  
Please refer to this contract and please read the Terms and conditions of that contract and contact Atlas Van Lines with any questions.  You continue to inaccurately claim that your contract was with us and we "sub-contracted" your move out.   This is not the case.  I am hopeful that after reading this document you will understand that your facts are incorrect and that you are in error.

You are welcome to contact Atlas Van Lines as we have asked you to do on numerous occasions.

I understand that you are frustrated, but our agent was responsible for the booking of your shipment (Ace Worldwide) and hauling your shipment was (EDC), BOTH agents for Atlas van Lines.  We have put you in direct contact with the people you need to talk to, which is Atlas Van Lines.   Their phone number is ************ as it is corrected listed on your contract. 




Thank you,
***** *****


     

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, I have also filed a complaint with Ace's corporate parent Atlas, as well as their subcontractor EDC as ACE Worldwide is abdicating any responsibility for their actions. HOWEVER I stand by my original complaint in that my moving contract was directly with Ace Worldwide Moving. *** ***** has made references to "clauses", none of these clauses were ever presented to me an any form prior to and at the time that we executed an Order of Service with Ace Worldwide. How unethical is it to refer to contractual clauses that the client has never seen? So I ask again, what is the responsibility of the organization with which I have a contract with?

Ace Worldwide has conducted itself from the beginning of the moving experience in an unethical and dishonest manner. I was forced to pay a higher fee than the contract on the date of the move from Austin due to their driver's insistence that he would not drive his truck into our driveway, despite the assurance by our development project manager that other 18 wheelers were able to drive into the development. We were forced to pay an additional $1000+ or else face the dilemma of not having our goods moved on the scheduled day.

There were regular misrepresentations during the move as to the actual location of the truck and the scheduled date of arrival, which caused severe anxiety.

Product arrived damaged and lost (this was settled in a separate claim).

And then there was misrepresentation by *** ***** that the damaged light pole would be taken care of - see attached email.

Ace Worldwide is not acting in a professional and ethical manner and I do not accept their request to quickly close this complaint, and I respectfully request that BBB not close this complaint. I would like to warn potential clients of Ace Worldwide to be very wary of utilizing their unprofessional services.

Regards,
******* *******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, I have also filed a complaint with Ace's corporate parent Atlas, as well as their subcontractor EDC as ACE Worldwide is abdicating any responsibility for their actions. HOWEVER I stand by my original complaint in that my moving contract was directly with Ace Worldwide Moving. *** ***** has made references to "clauses", none of these clauses were ever presented to me an any form prior to and at the time that we executed an Order of Service with Ace Worldwide. How unethical is it to refer to contractual clauses that the client has never seen? So I ask again, what is the responsibility of the organization with which I have a contract with?

Ace Worldwide has conducted itself from the beginning of the moving experience in an unethical and dishonest manner. I was forced to pay a higher fee than the contract on the date of the move from Austin due to their driver's insistence that he would not drive his truck into our driveway, despite the assurance by our development project manager that other 18 wheelers were able to drive into the development. We were forced to pay an additional $1000+ or else face the dilemma of not having our goods moved on the scheduled day.

There were regular misrepresentations during the move as to the actual location of the truck and the scheduled date of arrival, which caused severe anxiety.

Product arrived damaged and lost (this was settled in a separate claim).

And then there was misrepresentation by *** ***** that the damaged light pole would be taken care of - see attached email. 

Ace Worldwide is not acting in a professional and ethical manner and I do not accept their request to quickly close this complaint, and I respectfully request that BBB not close this complaint. I would like to warn potential clients of Ace Worldwide to be very wary of utilizing their unprofessional services.

Regards,
******* *******

Regards,
******* *******

Business Response: *******,
You have addressed many things and some brand new items, so I will address one by one.

Yes, I have also filed a complaint with Ace's corporate parent Atlas, as well as their subcontractor EDC as ACE Worldwide is abdicating any responsibility for their actions. HOWEVER I stand by my original complaint in that my moving contract was directly with Ace Worldwide Moving. *** ***** has made references to "clauses", none of these clauses were ever presented to me an any form prior to and at the time that we executed an Order of Service with Ace Worldwide. How unethical is it to refer to contractual clauses that the client has never seen? So I ask again, what is the responsibility of the organization with which I have a contract with?

*Response*   You have always had one estimate and one Bill of Lading with Atlas Van Lines, Inc.  only one.  You do not have a contract with Ace Worldwide, if you think you do, please provide a copy to the BBB.  I have not referenced any "clauses", I provided a copy of the contract with Atlas Van Lines that was signed by YOU.  How have not only seen these documents, but you have signed them.


Ace Worldwide has conducted itself from the beginning of the moving experience in an unethical and dishonest manner. I was forced to pay a higher fee than the contract on the date of the move from Austin due to their driver's insistence that he would not drive his truck into our driveway, despite the assurance by our development project manager that other 18 wheelers were able to drive into the development. We were forced to pay an additional $1000+ or else face the dilemma of not having our goods moved on the scheduled day.

*Response*   You paid the agreed amount on your contract.  You and or your wife insisted that a 18-wheeler could fit into your housing complex and that was proven to be untrue as the driver had to perform a shuttle.  This situation was discussed at length between the sales rep and your wife.  The email from the project manger to your wife clearly indicated that an 18 wheeler may NOT fit.   Either way, it was explained to you weeks before the move that if a shuttle was needed, you would need to pay for that.  The driver was unable to fit as our sales rep clearly explained that he most likely would not be able to and you paid the exact amount of that service. 


There were regular misrepresentations during the move as to the actual location of the truck and the scheduled date of arrival, which caused severe anxiety. 
*Response*  You continued to try and contact the driver (whom is driving) and he was not able to answer every time you called.  Our office, however, answered your calls and you were delivered before the agreed upon time frame, even though it took longer than you preferred.


Product arrived damaged and lost (this was settled in a separate claim).  
*Response*  I am aware that there was damage that was fixed or repaired to your satisfaction.

And then there was misrepresentation by *** ***** that the damaged light pole would be taken care of - see attached email.
*Response* I responded quickly to your email and I have given you Atlas Corporates information to file your claim.  Atlas Corp and EDC have denied your claim for reasons they provided to you.

Ace Worldwide is not acting in a professional and ethical manner and I do not accept their request to quickly close this complaint, and I respectfully request that BBB not close this complaint. I would like to warn potential clients of Ace Worldwide to be very wary of utilizing their unprofessional services.



That is all the information I can provide for you, good luck & best wishes.  



Thank you,
***** *****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, I have also filed a complaint with Ace's corporate parent Atlas, as well as their subcontractor EDC as ACE Worldwide is abdicating any responsibility for their actions. HOWEVER I stand by my original complaint in that my moving contract was directly with Ace Worldwide Moving. *** ***** has made references to "clauses", none of these clauses were ever presented to me an any form prior to and at the time that we executed an Order of Service with Ace Worldwide. How unethical is it to refer to contractual clauses that the client has never seen? So I ask again, what is the responsibility of the organization with which I have a contract with?

*Response*   You have always had one estimate and one Bill of Lading with Atlas Van Lines, Inc.  only one.  You do not have a contract with Ace Worldwide, if you think you do, please provide a copy to the BBB.  I have not referenced any "clauses", I provided a copy of the contract with Atlas Van Lines that was signed by YOU.  How have not only seen these documents, but you have signed them.

RESPONSE: see attached where Order for Service clearly shows BOTH Atlas Van Lines as well as ACE WorldWide Moving.


Ace Worldwide has conducted itself from the beginning of the moving experience in an unethical and dishonest manner. I was forced to pay a higher fee than the contract on the date of the move from Austin due to their driver's insistence that he would not drive his truck into our driveway, despite the assurance by our development project manager that other 18 wheelers were able to drive into the development. We were forced to pay an additional $1000+ or else face the dilemma of not having our goods moved on the scheduled day.

*Response*   You paid the agreed amount on your contract.  You and or your wife insisted that a 18-wheeler could fit into your housing complex and that was proven to be untrue as the driver had to perform a shuttle.  This situation was discussed at length between the sales rep and your wife.  The email from the project manger to your wife clearly indicated that an 18 wheeler may NOT fit.   Either way, it was explained to you weeks before the move that if a shuttle was needed, you would need to pay for that.  The driver was unable to fit as our sales rep clearly explained that he most likely would not be able to and you paid the exact amount of that service. 

RESPONSE: we received quotations from other moving companies that DID NOT require a shuttle service; the fact is that other 18 wheelers have been able to navigate into the complex as corroborated by the complex Project Manager; and your driver refused to make the effort to drive the truck into the complex.

There were regular misrepresentations during the move as to the actual location of the truck and the scheduled date of arrival, which caused severe anxiety. 
*Response*  You continued to try and contact the driver (whom is driving) and he was not able to answer every time you called.  Our office, however, answered your calls and you were delivered before the agreed upon time frame, even though it took longer than you preferred.

RESPONSE – we were directed by ACE to communicate with the driver directly as you indicated many times that you had no idea where he was and that his GPS system was not working.



And then there was misrepresentation by *** ***** that the damaged light pole would be taken care of - see attached email.
*Response* I responded quickly to your email and I have given you Atlas Corporates information to file your claim.  Atlas Corp and EDC have denied your claim for reasons they provided to you.

RESPONSE: the incident occurred in CANADA and Ace, Atlas and EDC are referring to US transportation laws which are NOT applicable to CANADA. All these parties claim that they are an INTERNATIONAL company yet they do not seem to know that CANADA is a separate country!

To the BBB as you can clearly see, Ace et al are abdicating their responsibilities for damages caused, and are attempting to absolve themselves unethically by referring to US laws that do not apply in Canada.  They do not appear to want to professionally resolve this issue, so I will pursue all legal remedies available to me. PLEASE NOTE that this complaint has not been satisfactorily resolved.



Regards, ******* *******

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service