BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of ABC Movers?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABC Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABC Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ABC Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated: 10/01/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Salinas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Salinas, Owner
Business Category

Movers Moving Supplies House & Building Movers

Alternate Business Names
Amen Movers
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 6927 Leslie Rd Lot 101

    San Antonio, TX 78254 (210) 680-2100 (210) 681-9200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 681-9200(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ABC Movers on August 8, 2014 to move me from the apartment home I was renting into the home I recently purchased. Upon the movers arrival I was greeted by the three movers whom had me go over and sign a contract. During this time I was told by the employee that they take tips and insisted they be in $100 increments. This was the first sign of distrust. Upon inspection of the items after unpacking, I didn't find anything broken but did discover that the movers had unpacked my hanging clothes from their plastic protectors and hung them in my closet. That was suspicious to me so upon further inspection I found to be missing a brand new snowboarding coat (****** ** Prospect. Paid over $400). My Pants, boots, gloves, face protector and goggles still within the same bunch I had packed them in, just no coat. I called to talk with the people in the office. The first two gentlemen informed me that they would be speaking with a manager and I would hear back from them the next day (this happened on two separate occasions). The last guy I spoke with, ****, was completely rude at several points in our conversation and went on to tell me that I needed to call his employees myself to find out which one of them had my coat. He assured me on 8/14/14 that something would be done about this dilemma and that if I did not hear back from him by 11:00am on 8/15/14 to give him a call. I called several times starting at 2:00 only to be ignored and forwarded to an already full voicemail box.

Desired Settlement: I'd like cooperation and honesty foremost. I'd also like to have my coat back or reimbursed for the coat that I'll have to buy again this year.

Business Response: Yes we did receive several calls from *** ****** but we wanted to be sure that we were accurate with information. I have asked the gentleman that were on the job and they have stated that they did not take a ski jacket.  I personally, do not think they took it also.
This has happened in the past where a customer has accused our movers that a particular item was missing. Going as far as making a police report and several days later these items were found. However I was not there. We are hoping he will find it sooner or later. However, *** ****** can email us his claim so we can move forward with this. We do have a claim process.  We have up to ninety days to get this resolved. I will call *** ****** to update him. We apologize for all the misunderstanding and will try and get this resolved in a reasonable amount of time.

Sincerely,

******* 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have unpacked everything in my house including my garage and storage boxes 100%.  The coat is nowhere to be found. The next step is filing a police report. I have statements from bank and receipts of purchase for the coat and also on file with my CPA. I've been to the apartment complex I moved from, spoke with the people in the office and even went back through the apartment. I'll be glad to invite a manager from abc movers into my home and show him exactly how I found my things to be unpacked by his workers. 

**** ******

7/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2013, we paid ABC Movers $3000 to move us from one home to another based on a realtor referral. On the day of the move, the ***** came over and evaluated my home and gave me an estimate of the amount of hours it would take to move my personal belongings. I agreed and a ******* came over w/ a bunch of paperwork for signatures. NOT once did he mention insuring my furniture for breakage. I was in the home while they picked everything up and it all looked good. When we receiveed our furniture we had a bunch of broken stuff. To my astonishment, we did NOT have insurance; however, the ***** did come by to see my damaged goods. They attempted to repair a bed (done nicely) and told me that they would not be able to repair the scratched $2,000 fridge, $2000 torn leather couch, $800 broken TV, $1,500 scratched smaller bed. He told me that the insurance would have been too expensive anyway so I was stuck w/ the minimal insurance provided. I should have been asked about it so that I can make an educated decision. After alll the back/forth, they sent me an email telling me that they would give me $500 for my repairs. I have yet to receieve a check AND the ***** will not return my phone calls. Before, I go online and talk about my experience, I thought I would reach out to the BBB for a resolution.

Desired Settlement: $500 check that was promised a year ago.

Business Response: I believe we had sent the check out quit a few months ago. I will double check with the ***** and ask him to call his CPA. 

This will take a few days or so but we will get this figured out. 

Sorry for the inconvenience  

Sincerely,
***

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers broke one lamp, damaged another item, and completely lost another item. I have called them 3 or 4 times now and the response has been unsatisfactory. The first time I called, they asked for pictures of the damaged items, which I sent to them. I then heard nothing. I called again, and was told they have 90 days to do something. I called again after nothing is happening and was told that now they need to come out and look at the damaged items. They were supposed to call me and set up a time. Never heard back. They should respond to me for the two damaged items and the lost item. I should receive reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: I want reimbursement for three items: one broken lamp, damaged coffee-table, and a lost lamp. Or, I want reimbursement for the broken lamp, the lost lamp, and repair of the coffee-table.

Business Response: This is **** with ABC.We have spoken to Miss. ******** and have set up an appointment for 2/3/14 to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers broke multiple items. All the feet on my dining room table were broken because instead disassembling it they stacked furniture and boxes on it. My sons micro-frig was broken when one of the movers grabbed one of the copper tubes in the back of the frig. i know this was broken by him because I heard the frig hissing when he walked by. We both looked at the tube and saw it was broken. These were all the things that I showed the crew-chief before I made my payment. He told be that I should go ahead and pay now because it will be quicker to work with the company instead of waiting for the insurance. I was given the phone number of an employee that i was told took care of broken furniture. We talked many times but he was never able to come to the house and make the repairs and bring a new frig. After a while I stopped hearing from the repairman and talked to *** at ABC movers and told him I was going to contact the BBB. He asked me to give him a chance to make things right before I came to you but after sending him the requested pictures and description I only received one email asking what my address was. I told *** about addition broken furniture that was hidden in the garage. I have a mirror that has a corner broken off, there is also a broken computer desk.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to repair my broken furniture and give my son a micro-frig to replace the one that was broken.

Business Response: We have already repaired all the furniture items involved. We have been having problems with our internet.

Sorry for the delay'

Thank you ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They did not fix some of the furniture until after I submited my complaint. A furniture repairman came to my house to repair the mirror, table, and computer desk. I was told they would come to my house and pickup the frig to see if they could get it fixed but I have not heard from them. I have been dealing with delay after delay since June.

Regards,

******** **********

Business Response: This is *** with ABC.I made a few attempts to contact Mr. ********** with no success,but did leave him a message.We did repair the furniture and made arrangements to try and repair the small fridge.I have spoken to Mr. ********** on 10/30/13 to arrange another pick up and attempt too repair  the fridge.I apologize for the delay in our response.


Thank you.
*** @ ABC
************

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Abc movers damaged my property after a service that i paid for, and after many unpleasant phone calls, abc movers and I setteled on a settlement amount. abc movers is now not sending the settlement check as promised. I have a written settlement agreement and still they lie about putting it into the mail to me. The amount is for $600. I have been lied to and spoken to in a very disrespectful manner on more than one occasion.

Desired Settlement: A refund asap!! And a phone call from the owner that does not seem to exist.

Business Response: This is *** from ABC Movers, we explained the procedure for settlement. The check has been mailed and you should have received it.
If you haven't received it within 3 days please contact us. We have gone above and beyond the insurance policy that we are liable for, I don't see why you felt it was necessary to file a complaint against us.

Thank you, ***.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having some items damaged and noted, this company failed to contact me. When I contacted the office I was asked to allow the owner to get back with me which he never did. I have written a letter requesting a minimal refund for the damage. Am awaiting a check and response.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome would be complete replacement or refund check as requested.

Business Response: This is **** with ABC movers, in response to the claim that was filed against us we did talk to Mr. *********. On the contract that was initialed and signed by the *********'s, they agreed to the .60 cents per pound which we are mandated to carry by the southwest moving association. This is what we are liable for and legally we have up to 90 days to submit a claim, we made an attempt to contact them on 8/2/13 at 11:00 am but there was no answer so we left them a message. We need to have them send us a picture of the couch through our email so we can see the damages. Please feel free to contact us, via email or at ************ regarding this complaint. 


Thank you, 
**** @ABC 
************ 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We have not recieved any messages or calls up until today when all the phones rang. thank you. I will call **** on Monday concerning the items damaged and forward photos that I have taken. On my copy of work order# ****** there is no other signature other than the mover's signature. I was not aware of the .60 cents per pound limit of liability. 

Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: This is **** with ABC movers, we will send you a copy with the contract and you may contact Tx DMV also the southwest moving association to better understand the insurance policy.

Again this is what we are required to provide for our customer.  

thank you, 
**** @ABC
************

3/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service