BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

A & B Movers

Phone: (210) 777-7283 Fax: (210) 521-7712 639 Lanark Dr  Ste B, San Antonio, TX 78218 http://www.aandbmovers.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local and statewide, commercial and residential moving services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A & B Movers include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & B Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/2004 Business started locally: 04/01/2004 Business incorporated: 08/17/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Pacheco, General Manager Mr. Albert Van Cleave IV, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Pacheco, General Manager
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
A and B Guaranteed Best Price Movers, LLC Christian Movers
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    639 Lanark DrSte B

    San Antonio, TX 78218

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.theguaranteedbestprice.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers damaged my furniture in the move. My vanity was very damaged, I filed a claimed for this and no responce. Once i get a hold of someone, i was told to call back for the answer. I called again like i was told, and same reseponce the individual is not here today try again later. This been happening over a month now. No resolution

Desired Settlement: To recieve a check for the damages and to have the refund check sent quickly

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of moving my belongings to my new apartment, employee dropped and broke a mirror. I have sent two letters and made numerous phone calls. I have been assured that my letter has been received and I should receive a letter from the claims dept soon. This occurred on Sept 13 and I have not heard from the company in writing at any time since. Thanks for any help you can give me

Desired Settlement: The least they can do is call or write to let me know that they intend to make this right.

Business Response:

Our records indicate all the proper procedures have been followed. Mrs ***** has received her revised settlement offer. We have received the document . We are only two months into claim therefor her check will be sent out with in 5 business days. 

 

Thanks,

**** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern, Due to my legal blindness I needed to choose a moving company to move me from one building to the next one. Upon my research I decided upon A & B Movers. Every thing was securly packed. In addition, the fragile items were marked "fragile" on the top of each box. The employess showed up at 8 P.M. instead of 2 P.M. on June 14, of this year. They continuousily gave me weak excuses for their tardiness. Upon arrival they were not in a company vehicle and did not wear any thing that indentified them as A & B employees. Af first I was willing to over-look these matters. However, upon unpacking I discovered multiple items broken. One was the pendulum on an antiique clock and the other was a cedar chest, which had to have one of its legs put back on. The 11th of last month is when I wrote them. In the letter I asked for a one hundred dollar refund and to please respond by August 12, 2013. They have not acknowledged my correspondence,

Desired Settlement: As stated above I would like a refund.

Business Response: (*******)

We will agree to the desired settlement amount of 100.00. We will be contacting customer with in next 2 business days.

**** *




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with A&B Movers to pack a truck for me as I was moving out of state. I called before the actual pack date to advise the movers that I had heavy and large wood pieces of furniture. I was told that they would send their best guys for the job. They sent two men (one of them was new and had just started with the company). When they arrived I explained that the pieces where heavy and expensive. I also let them know I had extra covering for the items as well as moving blankets. In moving the largest piece they dropped it before getting it out of the apartment (l discovered it had been damaged). They did not keep the plastic covers on my mattress' because they said it was hard to move with it. This caused my mattress' to be dirty and stained when I got it to my new address. I have a Dryer that is 2yrs old that now has a dent in it because of them. I moved out of state and when I arrived I had other movers un-pack the truck. They contacted and showed me damage to many of my items before removing them from the truck. They did not want to be responsible for the damage so they made sure to show it to me. I called and reported it to A&B Movers. I was told that they would contact the movers and then get back to me. I called 8/**/13. I have not been contacted about a solution. I mailed in their feedback form and again noted the problem and still no response. I will and do not recommend this company for any type of moving service. Their customer service is terrible.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked my items to be repaired. The would pieces are expensive and need professional repair. The Dryer also needs the dent removed. The mattress stain could not be cleaned. I paid $280.00 Dollars (not including a tip). I would like a refund to repair my items.

Business Response: In Reference to  Complaint ID *******:

  A & B Movers Have agreed to compensate the Customer half of her desired amount. We have decided in good faith to do so considering we are not responsible at all for
any items do to the fact of only loading the shippers items. Once the last item is put on the truck the shipper releases full liability since we have no control of the truck and how its driven. This goes for local and as well and  in the shippers case she was transported to another state. Since I have had no luck in contacting the shipper by phone I will only continue via e-mail or us mail. I will be sending the shipper a settlement agreement that she has to sign and send back in order to cut a check out . We will be sending a settlement letter in the next two business days. Until this letter is sighn and received this matter is out if our hands.

Respectfully , **** *******   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired A and B Movers LLC in San Antonio, Tx in June 2013. At one point during the move one of the movers picked up 2 large heavy paintings by the steel wire; one in each hand. I immediatly noticed that he was bouncing them up and down by the wire to check the strength so I offered to carry one. Seconds after carrying my own painting the painting that A and B movers was carrying was dropped and the frame was broken. Not long after the frame was broken on the way to our new home the glass was shattered as well. I do understand that accidents do happen and my main complaint about the damage was that the company has little concern with replacing or repairing the painting. I've contacted "****" in the San Antonio office several times and he is either unreachable or when he can be reached he often gives a further date as to when a decision can be made. First response, the movers insisted that they needed to take the painting with them and that the company would repair it. Second response, I called "****" at A and B Movers and he assured me that it would be repaired and that he would speed up the process and that it would take just a few weeks. After that, I sent a formal claim certified mail to A and B Movers. Several phone calls and a month later, I still have no answer from A and B Movers and "****" as to what resolution they have come to since at this time they are no longer honoring their word. At this time, A and B Movers are still not willing to provide an answer as to how they intend to repair or replace my property but have given myself an overwhelming impression that they likely just hope that this all goes away without correcting their actions. A and B Movers main argument today was that I signed a contract and that they are in their legal right but A and B Movers have totally ignored customer satisfaction and are just in a hurry to get $200 or more from someone else and not worry about what the consequences are. The cost of the art from ********* in San Antonio was $129 plus tax. The cost of A and B Movers service was $180 that I paid cash at the time of service. I was hoping for an answer from A and B movers as to how we can satisfy this but as of recent conversations with "****" at ***** *** **** he continually wants to put this off and come up with additional reasons with each call as to why they can't do anything at this point. Every call to A and B Movers gives me a new date of hope and when that date comes I have no action or response. A and B movers are just shy of a small business scam. They didn't show up on time and when my personal property was damaged they had little to no concern with repairing or replacing but were in a hurry to try to excuse themseles from liability.

Desired Settlement: A and B Movers originally told me that my property would be repaired and returned to me. At this point, I don't believe that A and B Movers has my best interest in mind and I don't believe that they will repair my painting to comporable value that it was originally in. For this reason, I am asking that A and B Movers make payment to myself, ******* ******, for the value of the painting being $129 + tax. ******* ****** **** ***** ******* ** ****** *** ******** ** *****

Business Response: Sorry for the customer feeling this way but there is a process that takes place. I will be contacting customer to settle his claim with in 24 to 48hrs.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again A and B Movers are offering a vague response with no claer resolution.  They intentially remain unwilling to give myself an answer as to what their resolution is and repeatedly offer some new time frame as to when they "could" make a decision.  A and B Movers were quick to accept fault one and a half months ago when my property was damaged but have not proven that they will do anything about it or accept any further responsibility so as to correct their actions.

******* ******
August 7th, 2013

Business Response: All moving company's in the state of have 90 days to settle a claim. This is regulated by the state to be fare movers as well. We are only at the half way point. We have sent a settlement letter offering more than we are obligated by the state. We are not going to offer more considering we have obeyed all rules and still receive a compliant.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled to be moved by the above company on March 31st with an arrival time of 12pm-2pm. After several postponements on the time and being very understanding, there was a 4 hour period between 5pm and 8pm where I could not get a hold of the company. The movers arrived a little after 10pm. I needed to be moved and make sure my apartment was thorougly cleaned by midnight, the end of my lease date. The mover and manager ***** suggested they would finish the job the next day, after I said that was absolutely not an option they realuctantly started to finish the job. I had to continually remind them of the other rooms that had boxes still to be moved. I had discussed with the manager when I scheduled the move date that most of my things would be going to storage, and the rest would be moved to a house. When we got to my new place of residence I noticed that 4-5 boxes were still on the truck that needed to be unloaded, again the manager suggested I come by another day to get these things. I again refused, saying I needed them at that time. The job was not finished until after 2 AM. The movers did try to locate the boxes, but there were still items on the truck that should have been brought to the house. Because the service was not completed until after 2am, I could not have them deliver to the original storage facility I selected, so i opted to store my things with A & B movers. I then received my first storage bill without a due date listed, a faulty website listed, and my name and information incorrect. I feel that for the amount of money I paid, and the obvious disregard to get the job done and correctly at that, something should be done to make this right. Besides being extremely late, sidestepping finishing the job, and putting me in a situation where I could no longer take my things to the original storage facility (the gates closed at 9pm) I also was unable to clean the apartment once my things were moved-resulting in cleaning fees with my apartment complex. I was a returning customer, using this company twice in the past, I never expected this type of service from them.

Desired Settlement: I feel for the amount of trouble this has caused, and the fact that I feel very uneasy about my things being stored with a company so unprofessional that either a credit for the moving services should be issued, or I would like to have my things moved to a different storage facility at no cost.

Business Response: We are responding to the compliant of ******** ******. Unfortunately I don't have all the details that cause us to put mrs ****** in this situation. We do acknowledged we ere extremely late and did not hold up our end of the deal.  We are extremely sorry for her inconvenience . I called today to let Her know that we will move her items to her own storage free of charge as she requested. I left her a voice mail @ 10:00 am today.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues