This business is not BBB accredited.

A & B Movers

Phone: (210) 777-7283 Fax: (210) 521-7712 View Additional Phone Numbers 639 Lanark Dr  Ste B, San Antonio, TX 78218 http://www.aandbmovers.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local and statewide, commercial and residential moving services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A & B Movers include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for A & B Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & B Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 2004 Business started: 04/01/2004 Business started locally: 04/01/2004 Business incorporated 08/17/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Pacheco, General Manager Mr. Albert Van Cleave IV, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Pacheco, General Manager
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
A and B Guaranteed Best Price Movers, LLC Christian Movers
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    639 Lanark Dr
    Ste B

    San Antonio, TX 78218

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired A&B Movers to move us from 1 apartment to another. While setting up at the new apartment an employee dropped the headboard onto the footboard causing a crack in both. Our credenza was also chipped. We contacted the company and scheduled 5 different appointments and they failed to show up or even call to cancel or reschedule. We have called the company at least 20 times with no result. A complaint was filed with the DOT, but we have not received any results. We do have pictures, a certified letter receipt, and a log of all the phone calls placed.

Desired Settlement: We would like our furniture either repaired or replaced.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired A & B Movers to move my belongings, from my understanding my items were going to their warehouse to be crated and stored until I was ready to move them again. Again I was told my items would be crated and stored in this crate in a warehouse that was not accessible to public. My belonging remained in storage from 06/2013 to 08/2014. When I contacted the company to get my belongings delivered i was told that i had the wrong number. After several tries over several days and man returned my call, explained that the company has gone out of business however he has bought a portion of the company and he could assist me. It took several days, but eventually I was given a delivery date and time. They were 5 hours late to deliver my belongings they had obtained, as i was told from the warehouse. After unloading was complete I noted that several large pieces of furniture were missing, all electronics, movies, games, dvds, cd's, and most items of pawnable value were missing, pieces of other furniture were missing. There are baby photos and clothing unaccounted for, as well as several other personal items. What wasn't taken/missing was damaged, numerous boxes labeled clearly "FRAGILE" were crushed, damaged, and open. Several rubbermaid totes that had been wrapped in plastic and taped shut were open, missing the original lids and wrapping/tape. Most boxes were opened and had obviously been sorted through. I have attempted to reach a representative for the company, the man that assisted with setting up delivery continues to say " I will see what I can do and get back to you," and then disconnects the call. I have tried contacting the ***** **** office and complaint has been filed, The Sec. of State who provided me with the Agent's name and address. I have reached out to the Agent on numerous occasions and I am told each time that he is on another line and will call me back. I have done all I can think to do to inquire about what the company's insurance name and information is and have tried to get my other belongings back. I paid a monthly rate for storage and contracted rate for pickup and delivery of my items that were not returned or stolen.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome would be for my belongings to be returned to me, and for those that were damaged to be replaced or repaired. At very least for responsible party to provide insurance company information so that I can file a claim for lost/damaged items.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers arrived at after 7:00 when they were scheduled between 1-2 , FIVE hours late movers were tired and complained about stairs etc and moving in the dark, had they been on time it would have been daylight and they wouldn't have been as tired and taken as long. Also movers smoked frequently taking time to do so amd while carrying things like my mattress which now smells bad. When I spoke to the manager the day of he advised they delay was not his fault and all he could do was take off the fuel charge. I ended wasting a full day didn't het done until around 9:30!!! And movers left my bed propped up against the wall and my dressers on there side....I could not get them upright on my own causing more difficulty. A horrible experience. I do believe I should have gotten a better rate after all my time to is valuable, I should have also gotten an apology from the manager and an explanation as to why they allow movers to smoke while moving my things, and how they suggest I remove the odors from my things?

4/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers damaged my furniture in the move. My vanity was very damaged, I filed a claimed for this and no responce. Once i get a hold of someone, i was told to call back for the answer. I called again like i was told, and same reseponce the individual is not here today try again later. This been happening over a month now. No resolution

Desired Settlement: To recieve a check for the damages and to have the refund check sent quickly

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of moving my belongings to my new apartment, employee dropped and broke a mirror. I have sent two letters and made numerous phone calls. I have been assured that my letter has been received and I should receive a letter from the claims dept soon. This occurred on Sept 13 and I have not heard from the company in writing at any time since. Thanks for any help you can give me

Desired Settlement: The least they can do is call or write to let me know that they intend to make this right.

Business Response:

Our records indicate all the proper procedures have been followed. Mrs ***** has received her revised settlement offer. We have received the document . We are only two months into claim therefor her check will be sent out with in 5 business days. 

 

Thanks,

**** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern, Due to my legal blindness I needed to choose a moving company to move me from one building to the next one. Upon my research I decided upon A & B Movers. Every thing was securly packed. In addition, the fragile items were marked "fragile" on the top of each box. The employess showed up at 8 P.M. instead of 2 P.M. on June 14, of this year. They continuousily gave me weak excuses for their tardiness. Upon arrival they were not in a company vehicle and did not wear any thing that indentified them as A & B employees. Af first I was willing to over-look these matters. However, upon unpacking I discovered multiple items broken. One was the pendulum on an antiique clock and the other was a cedar chest, which had to have one of its legs put back on. The 11th of last month is when I wrote them. In the letter I asked for a one hundred dollar refund and to please respond by August 12, 2013. They have not acknowledged my correspondence,

Desired Settlement: As stated above I would like a refund.

Business Response: (*******)

We will agree to the desired settlement amount of 100.00. We will be contacting customer with in next 2 business days.

**** *




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ****

11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with A&B Movers to pack a truck for me as I was moving out of state. I called before the actual pack date to advise the movers that I had heavy and large wood pieces of furniture. I was told that they would send their best guys for the job. They sent two men (one of them was new and had just started with the company). When they arrived I explained that the pieces where heavy and expensive. I also let them know I had extra covering for the items as well as moving blankets. In moving the largest piece they dropped it before getting it out of the apartment (l discovered it had been damaged). They did not keep the plastic covers on my mattress' because they said it was hard to move with it. This caused my mattress' to be dirty and stained when I got it to my new address. I have a Dryer that is 2yrs old that now has a dent in it because of them. I moved out of state and when I arrived I had other movers un-pack the truck. They contacted and showed me damage to many of my items before removing them from the truck. They did not want to be responsible for the damage so they made sure to show it to me. I called and reported it to A&B Movers. I was told that they would contact the movers and then get back to me. I called 8/**/13. I have not been contacted about a solution. I mailed in their feedback form and again noted the problem and still no response. I will and do not recommend this company for any type of moving service. Their customer service is terrible.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked my items to be repaired. The would pieces are expensive and need professional repair. The Dryer also needs the dent removed. The mattress stain could not be cleaned. I paid $280.00 Dollars (not including a tip). I would like a refund to repair my items.

Business Response: In Reference to  Complaint ID *******:

  A & B Movers Have agreed to compensate the Customer half of her desired amount. We have decided in good faith to do so considering we are not responsible at all for
any items do to the fact of only loading the shippers items. Once the last item is put on the truck the shipper releases full liability since we have no control of the truck and how its driven. This goes for local and as well and  in the shippers case she was transported to another state. Since I have had no luck in contacting the shipper by phone I will only continue via e-mail or us mail. I will be sending the shipper a settlement agreement that she has to sign and send back in order to cut a check out . We will be sending a settlement letter in the next two business days. Until this letter is sighn and received this matter is out if our hands.

Respectfully , **** *******   

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired A and B Movers LLC in San Antonio, Tx in June 2013. At one point during the move one of the movers picked up 2 large heavy paintings by the steel wire; one in each hand. I immediatly noticed that he was bouncing them up and down by the wire to check the strength so I offered to carry one. Seconds after carrying my own painting the painting that A and B movers was carrying was dropped and the frame was broken. Not long after the frame was broken on the way to our new home the glass was shattered as well. I do understand that accidents do happen and my main complaint about the damage was that the company has little concern with replacing or repairing the painting. I've contacted "****" in the San Antonio office several times and he is either unreachable or when he can be reached he often gives a further date as to when a decision can be made. First response, the movers insisted that they needed to take the painting with them and that the company would repair it. Second response, I called "****" at A and B Movers and he assured me that it would be repaired and that he would speed up the process and that it would take just a few weeks. After that, I sent a formal claim certified mail to A and B Movers. Several phone calls and a month later, I still have no answer from A and B Movers and "****" as to what resolution they have come to since at this time they are no longer honoring their word. At this time, A and B Movers are still not willing to provide an answer as to how they intend to repair or replace my property but have given myself an overwhelming impression that they likely just hope that this all goes away without correcting their actions. A and B Movers main argument today was that I signed a contract and that they are in their legal right but A and B Movers have totally ignored customer satisfaction and are just in a hurry to get $200 or more from someone else and not worry about what the consequences are. The cost of the art from ********* in San Antonio was $129 plus tax. The cost of A and B Movers service was $180 that I paid cash at the time of service. I was hoping for an answer from A and B movers as to how we can satisfy this but as of recent conversations with "****" at ***** *** **** he continually wants to put this off and come up with additional reasons with each call as to why they can't do anything at this point. Every call to A and B Movers gives me a new date of hope and when that date comes I have no action or response. A and B movers are just shy of a small business scam. They didn't show up on time and when my personal property was damaged they had little to no concern with repairing or replacing but were in a hurry to try to excuse themseles from liability.

Desired Settlement: A and B Movers originally told me that my property would be repaired and returned to me. At this point, I don't believe that A and B Movers has my best interest in mind and I don't believe that they will repair my painting to comporable value that it was originally in. For this reason, I am asking that A and B Movers make payment to myself, ******* ******, for the value of the painting being $129 + tax. ******* ****** **** ***** ******* ** ****** *** ******** ** *****

Business Response: Sorry for the customer feeling this way but there is a process that takes place. I will be contacting customer to settle his claim with in 24 to 48hrs.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again A and B Movers are offering a vague response with no claer resolution.  They intentially remain unwilling to give myself an answer as to what their resolution is and repeatedly offer some new time frame as to when they "could" make a decision.  A and B Movers were quick to accept fault one and a half months ago when my property was damaged but have not proven that they will do anything about it or accept any further responsibility so as to correct their actions.

******* ******
August 7th, 2013

Business Response: All moving company's in the state of have 90 days to settle a claim. This is regulated by the state to be fare movers as well. We are only at the half way point. We have sent a settlement letter offering more than we are obligated by the state. We are not going to offer more considering we have obeyed all rules and still receive a compliant.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A & B Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)