BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1/2 Price Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1/2 Price Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 10/31/1990 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Miller, Owner Mr. Jerry Whitt, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Miller, Owner
Business Category

Movers Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber Packaging Service

Alternate Business Names
Half Price Movers K.C. Adventures, Inc.
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 11031 Perrin Beitel Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 650-4911 (877) 824-7666

  • 9405 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78418 (361) 937-7615

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 824-7666(Phone)
  • (210) 967-9565 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/1/2013 I hired this business for a residential move. They advertise that they are accredited by the BBB. When they moved my furniture I believe they engaged in behaviors that intentionally increased the total cost of the move by adding more hours necessary. When I called them to schedule the move I itemized every item to them so they could properly quote my price. The move took longer & cost more because: 1) they did not send a large enough truck to carry all of my belongings in 1 trip. 2) I was then charged an additional trip charge ($47.50) which they did delete when I complained 3) Making 2 trips resulted in the move taking more hours than necessary & increasing the total cost of the move 4) As well only 1 dolly was sent with the 2 man crew. 1 mover used the dolly moving 3-5 boxes at a time & the other carried 1 box at a time, taking more time & adding to the cost of the move 5) Carrying 1 box at a time causes unnecessary damage to box contents if the box is not placed down easily & instead thrown down because the box is heavy. 6) I also disputed the $90 charge that I paid for additional damage insurance because the movers caused unnecessary damage to my belongings. They clearly displayed that they didn't have any type of training in moving residential items I contacted this company by emails to state my complaint. When I requested reimbursement, all communication from them ceased.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting refund of at least 1 hour's move time of $95. As well, refund of the $90 additional property damage insurance I purchased. Total desired outcome refund of $185.

Business Response: My name is ******* ********.  I work for Half Price Movers-San Antonio.  We are a professional moving company with over 30 years of experience.  I am writing to address the allegations made by ********* ****** about her residential move on October 1, 2013.  Miss ****** contacted us September 16, 2013 to schedule her upcoming move. She provided a detailed list of items, we quoted her pricing (price range of $375-475 for the move, plus $90 extra valuation) based on that list of items and scheduled her move.  We contacted Miss ****** to reconfirm her appointment 3 days before her scheduled date.  Miss ****** added additional items to her list of items and requoted pricing (price range of $600-700 for move, plus $90 extra valuation).  We then contacted Miss ****** again the day before as a final confirmation.  All of our moving trucks are stocked with ample moving pads, an appliance dolly, a book dolly and a 4-wheeler.  On the day of her scheduled move, we sent a stocked 17’ box truck thinking it would be sufficient based on the information we had on file.  We sent 2 experienced, professionally in-house trained movers, movers that had been with our company for some time, to do Miss ******’s move.  The movers
informed our dispatch that they would need to do 2 trips to complete the move efficiently.  We discounted Miss ****** half of her one-time transportation fee ($47.50) for the inconvenience on the day of her move.  Miss ******’s final total for her move came in at $522.50 + $90 for extra valuation = $612.50, so her final price was less than the estimated quote.  We contacted Miss ****** on October 3, 2013 to thank her for her business.  Miss ****** expressed, over the phone, that she was not happy that the movers had to make 2 trips, but did say she was pleased with the movers, stating “(the movers) were great, very
professional and polite.”  Miss ****** also expressed, via email, that she was “impressed when (she) saw that (our) company went the extra mile with the padding & shrink (wrapping) [of her furniture].” 

We were on track to give a good faith refund to Miss ****** for an additional $47.50, essentially waiving her travel fee; however we failed to communicate with our company accounting to issue that refund.  We would like to apologize for failing to issue that credit, but we did have every intention of sending this refund.  We are now in the process of issuing her credit.  We have increased that good faith refund from $47.50 to $95.00.  Unfortunately, since we completed the move, loading/unloading, under the original estimated cost, we will not credit the $90 for extra valuation.  We did, however, send her a claim form in the event she wished to file a claim for damages.  Miss ****** expressed, via email, that since “the majority of the damage (were) small nicks and (dings),” she did not want to fill out the forms.

Miss ******, we would like to apologize again for any lapse in communication.  We would like you to please verify that we should submit this credit to the drop-off
address we have on file.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

********* ******

1) The polite/professional remarks were directed at how the 2 MEN, who performed the actual move, "conducted" themselves with an upset client, which I was.  I  made mention of this ONLY because the moving men & I had words when they first arrived at my house.  I was furious that I was NOT informed about the 2-trip move & the price.  THE MOVE WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN SCHEDULED WITH 1/2 Price had I  been told about the 2 trips when I scheduled!!!!   Just two years before this  10/1/2013  move, I moved this very same furniture & more boxes with another company on 9/1/2011.  They used the proper size truck, made 1 trip & each of the 2 movers had his own dolly.  That move was simple, uncomplicated, faster & with expected damage to furnishings & contents.  When 1/2 Price called me after the move, I had not unpacked boxes or properly assessed furniture damage.

2)   I was impressed with furniture padding & shrink wrap & thought SOME  damage to my furniture would be avoided.  Nicks were not excessive but were TOTALLY  "unnecessary & avoidable".   Furniture was stacked on top of other furniture items.  Boxes stacked on my upholstered sofa & chair, ruining the cushions.  When furniture is STACKED, instead of being placed on the bed of the truck, it risks falls, sharp edges dig into other pieces of furniture items, etc..  PROFESSIONAL movers DO NOT do this.  My furniture was literally jam packed in the truck from side to side & top to bottom of the truck. Filing any insurance claim for reimbursement is utterly futile at 60 cents/lb.  Not worth the time & effort.  

3)  I am making an empiracle statement - These movers used only 1 dolly when the furniture was being unloaded ,  I ASKED the mover - "Do you have only  1 dolly?  Yes mam, was his response"  They did, however, use  a flat dolly to move the washer/dryer, then left it in the truck.  As I stated in my complaint, 1 mover was unloading a SINGLE box at a time while the other mover was using the dolly.  I summize, this is  how they do business to increase moving time, resulting in a more expensive move (using inadequate number of dollies & making an UNNECESSARY  2nd trip!).   I am 67 & an experienced mover.  I have made many moves, most with the very same furniture items & boxes, NEVER requiring a second trip.  These movers DID NOT display any experience or training.  I had to continually redirect them.

4)  Regarding the additional items, resulting in increasing the price from $375 - $475 to $600-$700.  These items were insignificant & small in nature & not necessitating this increase.  If they thought there were additional items & increasing the price, why didn't they send a larger truck.  Increasing the price to $600 - $700 is a considerable increase that should have necessitated 1/2 Price sending a larger truck.  There were NO unitemized items which had to be moved.  1/2 price did NOT MAIL a copy of the invoice to me PRIOR to the move.  1/2 Price could have avoided ALL  misunderstandings prior to the truck coming, by confirming & mailing an invoice, which PROFESSIONAL movers do.  I still have the work sheet I used when itemizing furniture items to them when I called the 1st time.  As well, when the drivers arrived they informed that there were certain items that they could NOT move (i.e. plants or combustibles, etc.).   My large potted plant was 1 of the additional items I called to add with the 2nd call.   I WAS NOT  informed at either call  that there were ANY items (potted plants, etc.) they could not move. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My email is ******************. I have email correspondence related to a move I made from TX to CA and back to TX. 1/2 Price Movers had 3 people come to my house in TX and pack my things August 2012 (2 guys and 1 gal) and the gal had not been with 1/2 Price Movers for more than a month. The 2 guys were mad at her because she did not bring boxes, tape, and bubble wrap as I asked and sat around asking me if I had valuables. I told the gal that 3 boxes were my work and she asked me a million odd questions like, "Can anyone do it?" "How does it work?" I actually got mad at her for not bringing what I asked for and not helping and asking me personal questions about my valuables. She said that my things would be packed and not to worry because I had paid for white glove service. All my things were packed by 1/2 Price Movers into sealed large pallets that arrived in CA (I was taking care of my Grampa and he died July 6, 2013) - I never unpacked the pallets that were tightly strapped and covered in black. Then, after the funeral and all was settled, I had 1/2 Price Movers move the pallets back to San Antonio August 16, 2013 and I paid for white glove service again where 1/2 Price Movers unpacked all for me - and the 3 boxes of my work were missing! They never were packed! I immediately thought of the gal that had asked me about my valuables. I called ********* and ******* at 1/2 Price Movers and they told me that they knew who the gal was but she does not work with their company anymore and due to privacy acts, they would not tell me anything more. The gal that had asked me about my valuables told me to insure my 3 boxes so I insured the 3 boxes for a total of 25,000.00 but now the insurance company is telling me that I needed to have unpacked in CA and filed a claim with them within 45 days in California and they will not help me. They did tell me that 1/2 Price Movers needs to pay me or recover my stolen 3 boxes and that they have liability insurance to use. 1/2 Price Movers needs to replace my stolen 3 boxes or pay me. I sent an email to 1/2 Price Movers itemizing everything that was stolen and the prices and why the total was $25,000.00 total ($10,000, $10,000, and $5,000) which was nearly exact. I can email all to you. I am reporting 3 boxes that were stolen and I know 1/2 Price Movers know who the gal is that stole them. The insurance company told me that 1/2 Price Movers are procrastinating and not helping me waiting for 45 days to go by. 1/2 price movers has liability insurance and on their paperwork it says that they will pay 60 cents per pound that is lost or stolen also. I called the police that I had been robbed and told them all I'm telling you on September 24, 2013 when I knew that 1/2 Price Movers was not going to help me. Case number ***************. The police said to get an attorney and to tell the Better Business Bureau. That is why I am telling you. I hope you can help me. **** **** ###-###-#### cell **** **** ******* ************ ** *** ******* ****************** ************ ******* ************* ***** ******** **** *** ******* *** ******** ** ***** ******************* ************************ ************* ************* **************

Desired Settlement: Either the 3 boxes need to be recovered or I need $25,000.00 to replace the stolen items. 1 box was worth $10,000.00 and the 2nd box was $10,000.00 and the 3rd box was $5,000.00. I had the boxes itemized and the amounts listed of each item inside = $25,000.00 total. 1/2 Price movers wanted the itemized list and I sent it all to them. ********* and ******* are the contact people at 1/2 Price Movers and they need to recover or pay.

Business Response: I apologize for not getting in contact with *** **** sooner, I was out of the office last week and also earlier this week.  We regret this incident occurred.  We are currently investigating the matter and will be in touch soon with our response.

Business Response: My name is *******, I work for Half Price Movers-San Antonio.  We are a moving solutions company, established for over 30 years.  I am very sorry to hear that *** **** claims she is missing items from her shipment.  I spoke with *** **** initially, August 2013, about her move from California to Texas.  *** **** informed me that our company had assisted her during her move to California last year, August 2012, and needed our assistance for her return to Texas.  We exchanged information and corresponded thru email regarding the details, a list of additional items, and pictures for this shipment so that I could quote her a price.  *** **** explained to me over the phone that she had three pallets, one of which may have needed to be repacked, and a number of items that she would also need packed. *** **** then emailed pictures of the pallets, which had been tarpped and stored outside in the driveway of her home in California since receipt, August 2012. At this point, *** **** had not informed me of an unsatisfactory pack experience last year; I assumed she was one of our many satisfied repeat customers.  We contracted our *** ******* affiliates in California to pack and ship her items to our San Antonio location for a white glove delivery.  We delivered her shipment the same day it was received.  Our moving specialists opened the shipment onsite and hand delivered each item inside her San Antonio residence.  Upon receipt, *** **** contacted me by phone, while our specialists were in her presence, about a damaged filing cabinet.  I immediately emailed *** **** a claim form, and informed her that we would investigate the matter to determine if it was somehow damaged during the freight process.  Sometime after her white glove delivery had been completed, *** **** contacted our office claiming that she was missing three boxes, the contents of which was equal to $25,000.  *** **** then told me of her original pack and ship to California.  She explained that one of our packers had asked her a lot of questions about *** ****’s work and about any valuables.  This did not surprise me, since many of our customers interact and engage in small talk with our employees while we are packing their valuables, conversations that often include discussions about values of items for insurance purposes.  Nevertheless, we take any claim of theft seriously, and immediately began investigating the matter.  We verified the names of the original packing crew assigned to *** ****’s pick up for her original shipment in August 2012 and informed the insurance company of the situation.  The female employee that assisted *** **** during her original shipment to California had been working for us for over a year before leaving for personal reasons this year.  At the end of her employment she was considered an exemplary employee, an employee that had packed many satisfied customers since *** ****’s shipment in August 2012.  The insurance company explained to me that since *** **** did not properly receive her shipment, ie. she did not open and verify the shipment inventory list within 45 days of receipt, they would therefore have to deny any claim made for loss or damage.  We spoke with the insurance company after they gave *** **** the unfortunate news.  The insurance company asked for basic details about this return shipment from California.  We explained the situation, and they advised us to get the detailed inventory list of items shipped by *** ******* California.  The insurance company informed us that they did in fact tell *** **** that she should file a claim with our general insurance.  We are licensed and bonded as regulated by the Texas Department of Transportation, which states that we cover $.60/pound for every item we transport.  The insurance company also denies telling *** **** that we were “procrastinating and not helping [her] waiting for 45 days to [pass],” stating, “[we] did not tell [*** ****] you were procrastinating and waiting for the 45 days to pass since this would not make sense.  The 45 days only applies to our insurance, not the legal liability.” We did contact *** *******s California, and they did send us the detailed inventory list.  Nowhere on their inventory list were the alleged missing three boxes or the damaged filing cabinet.  This puts us in the regrettable situation of also having to deny her claim for loss and damage.  Unfortunately, since *** **** did not properly receive her original shipment to California, there are care, custody and condition issues.  Simply put, there is no way to prove whether the items were ever shipped, damaged or stolen in Texas or California.  I feel bad that this has happened to *** **** because she explained to me that the missing items were work related.  I understand *** ****’s consternation, however, if I had personally shipped three expensive boxes to myself – boxes that represented my income and livelihood – I would be certain to verify the complete contents of the shipment upon receipt; especially if I had doubts or concerns about the original pick-up and pack job that was completed to get the items to me in California.  I also would not have stored them outdoors for almost a year.  It is very unfortunate that these items are alleged missing from her shipment.  Had she properly received her original shipment and found these boxes to be missing at that time, we would have filed an insurance claim for these items and launched a full investigation of the responsible party.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Having Half Price Movers refuse to use their liability insurance to pay me for what was stolen under their "white glove" service care is unacceptable.  Their "white glove" service that I paid for means that they pack me and unpack me - they have total responsibility for my items.  That is what their liability insurance is for.  My 3 boxes of work equipment and supplies, totally 25,000.00 was stolen under their care (probably by 1 of their own employees).  Half Price Movers policy is "If you have any disputes about charges, or loss, or damage to your goods, you need to file a written claim with the mover within 90 days of the delivery date" which I did.  Half Price Movers needs to take responsibility for this loss.  The response from ******* at Half Price Movers is unacceptable and I don't know why she would say the things she said.  The facts are simple:  "White glove" service paid for in entire move and 3 boxes have been stolen and/or missing that I insured.  The insurance company said in an email attached to ********* at Half Price Movers that I should file a legal liability claim with Half Price Movers and on the phone I was told that is what their liability insurance is for!  They need to pay me for items lost or stolen under their "white glove" service of my work equipment and supply boxes and take this matter seriously.

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: I understand *** ****’s frustration.  I would like to clarify once again, that Half Price Movers did not physically move *** ****’s items from California to Texas.  We contracted a California affiliate to pick up pallets from *** ****’s driveway, to be shipped thru a freight company, to our San Antonio office for delivery.  Our California affiliates picked up two prepared pallets for freight shipment to San Antonio.  *** **** also had our affiliates add miscellaneous items to a third existing pallet, which they tagged and recorded for freight.  Half Price Movers received three sealed pallets from the freight company and delivered these sealed pallets to *** ****’s San Antonio residence on August 16, 2013, the same day they were received.  Our moving professionals opened this sealed freight shipment, for the first time, in *** ****’s presence during delivery.  *** **** informed us of a damaged file cabinet while our moving professionals were with her  but did not inform us of any missing boxes.  It was during the first week of September that *** **** contacted our office and informed us of the alleged missing boxes. 

On October 9, 2013 *** **** contacted our company thru our website, claiming that she had “retained an attorney and [that I, *******, had] written the BBB a bunch of ridiculous nonsense.” My BBB response simply aimed to address the issues *** **** included in her original complaint.   If *** **** has in fact retained an attorney, we need to be communicating with them directly at this point.     

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was under contract with Half Price Movers and paid for their "white glove service" both ways.  Half Price Movers is responsible for ALL my belongings both ways regardless of who they hired to help them.  Half Price Movers has a claims policy for lost, damaged, or stolen items and need to honor their own policy and pay up.  That is what their insurance is for.

My attorney is gathering the facts in this case and will get in touch with Half Price Movers.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1