Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1/2 Price Movers

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 650-4911 Fax: (361) 937-7472 View Additional Phone Numbers 11031 Perrin Beitel Rd, San Antonio, TX 78217

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1/2 Price Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1/2 Price Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on 1/2 Price Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1979 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 10/31/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chad Miller, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Miller, Owner
Business Category

Movers Boxes - Corrugated & Fiber Packaging Service

Alternate Business Names
Half Price Movers K.C. Adventures, Inc.
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1/2 Price Movers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11031 Perrin Beitel Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (877) 824-7666 (210) 650-4911

  • 9405 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78418 (361) 937-7615


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two weeks ago on 10/12/15 I arranged for 1/2 Price Movers at 718-317-5460 to move me on 11/1/15 and they requested a $50 deposit which I gave. The following day I was told that my uncle's company will move me gratis and I therefore notified immediately the staff (*****, office manager and ********) to cancel the move. I was then told deposits are non-refundable. Considering the fact that the company was given over 2 weeks' notice of the cancellation, I believe this is an unjust practice and I would appreciate your assistance for a return of my deposit. Many thanks fo your help. ********* *****

Business Response: Hello.  I am with Half Price Movers in Texas.  The company you are referring to is in no way affiliated with our company.  Our company only operates within Texas, at our locations in San Antonio and Corpus Christi.  Furthermore, we do not accept deposits for our moving services, and only collect charges the day of the moving services.  We also do not charge any cancellation or rescheduling fees.  Although they do use the same name, there is no relation.  Please locate their company, with their contact address and phone number through your local BBB to place your complaint (, or you can find them on your states' Department of Transportation website ( and file a consumer complaint.  We hope you are able to get this matter resolved.

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially, terrible service by this organization. The movers damaged a significant amount of personal property during the move. The movers also damaged walls and floors while moving furniture. I have moved almost once a year for the past 13 years and have never seen this bad of service. When I took issues with it, their response was always, "this stuff happens". Given my experience in moving frequently, I feel I am a fair judge of what is acceptable and the type of damage to only move 10 miles from house to house was unacceptable. After being visibly upset with regards to what had occurred during the move, as the two gentlemen was leaving, the senior man said to me, "maybe next time you will hire a different moving company". After doing research into local moving companies and looking into the better business bureau, this seemed like a suitable company but was very disappointed. After contacting their management with regards to my experience and needs to file claims, they have not been responsive at all. Initially, I was given a claim form within 24 hours to fill out. I immediately completed the form and returned to them. I was told I would be contacted 24-48 hours to continue with the claim. I also provided pictures of the major damage that was caused. Despite multiple efforts to contact them since, I have received no response and am lost to where things stand at this time.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to replace the furniture that was damaged unnecessarily during the move. This was specifically due to their negligent actions not just because it was a move. Additionally, their ability to return a call or email would be appreciated.

Business Response: Hello.  After review of the information, we have not been able to locate a customer by this name within our files or on our schedule for the date in question.  We do show a customer by the name of ***** ****** with the same address and would like to verify this is the correct move that the complaint is being issued on.  Furthermore, we have not located a claim file for ***** ******, and the employee ***** that the customer spoke with is no longer with our company.  We apologize if the claim was somehow overlooked and wish to rectify the situation.  My name is *******, and I have since taken over the claims, I can be reached directly at ************ to reprocess the claim and get this matter resolved.  If you still have the claim form and pictures of the damage, please forward these to *************************** so I may review them and get started on this as soon as possible.  Again we apologize for the circumstances and will make every effort to make it right.

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Half-Price Movers to move me. They damaged an expensive TV and refuse to have their insurance cover this item. This was a brand new tv. It had absolutely nothing wrong with it. I only owned it two months, and for the movers to not even bother to take the legs off the tv, or WRAP the tv up in a protective blanket has me very upset. It was ***** LG Smart TV with WebOS. I paid, after taxes & insurance, nearly $1200 for the television. I purchased the tv on December 7, 2014, and I am still making monthly payments on the television. This tv cannot be repaired, and I am making monthly payments on this tv for the next 12 months and it is completely unwatchable. They are demanding that I pay someone out of my pocket to come look at the tv. I am NOT paying for someone to come look at it. They need to do that at their expense, and I expect my tv to be in the same condition as it was before their inept movers even touched it.

Desired Settlement: I expect that Half Priced Movers replace my television with the same exact make and model of tv, and if that tv is no longer manufactured, one of comparable and equal value.

Business Response: Half Price Movers has been in business since 1979. We strive for excellence on every move, but unfortunately damages do occur.  We take every situation as a learning experience, and work to improve our service and techniques to avoid similar issues.  It is unfortunate that a damage occurred on **** *********'s move, and we would like to rectify the situation to the best of our ability. 

We have started the claims process, and are working toward a solution.  We promptly sent the claim form to **** ********* on 2/16/15 after becoming aware of the situation.  Once the claim form was received back on 2/16/15, a claim acknowledgement form was emailed to **** ********* explaining the next step that same day on 2/16/15.  After receiving another email from **** ********* on 2/17/15, another email was sent in response explaining in further detail the claims process.  An attempt was made to contact **** ********* via phone on 2/19/15, but we had to leave a voice message.  

We have every intention of following through with the claims process, and apologize for any misunderstanding that may have lead the customer to believe that we were not going to process her claim.  Furthermore, we are not requiring **** ********* to obtain an estimate for repair, we simply offer that as an option, as some customers prefer to get their own estimate for repairs.  We have been in contact with the store she purchased the item from to see what options are available, and would like to discuss these options with **** ********* as soon as we are able to make contact with her.  Again, we regret that damage did occur, but have already begun the process to rectify the situation, and have every intention of seeing this to an amicable solution.

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired 1/2 priced movers with the promise that all of my possessions would be handled with care. During the move the movers ensured me that they would get the move done quickly as well as carefully. They rushed through the paperwork and did not give me all of the options for "insurance" if anything were to break. They also promised over and over while moving my possessions that "nothing will be broken miss". After the movers left and were paid in full right as I was going to plug in my TV the movers called saying they left their tools in my previous apartment (very unprofessional) I had to go all the way back to the apartment to let them in. I did not get home until around 8 P.M. after dealing with traffic to find m TV to be cracked. I called them the next morning and the young lady over the phone was very rude and rushed me off the phone. After i received the complaint form and emailed it back. From then on I was to be dealing with a woman by the name of ******* ******, whom I was only able to reach one time! Whenever I called the company asking for an update no one knew what was going on and ******* was always "with a customer", "on the phone", "out of the office" the list goes on. The nigh I received my "settlement" letter I spoke with ******** who was the operations manager and he proceeded to argue with me over the phone. I got the letter in an email saying that they were sending me a check in the mail for $108 which is over $250 less than what it would cost to replace the TV. I called them to let them know that the cost to fix the TV would be anywhere from $600-$900 and that was directly from the VIZIO company. The receptionist ensured me that she would get the information to ******* and handle the situation accordingly. I am very much disgusted by this situation and how they handle their customers. I am now left with a cracked TV that is skipping because they do not know how to handle customers property. I did send ******* a email about the quality of their service and never got a response from her. I am in contact with my lawyer and we are more than prepared to go to court over this matter.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be for the company to either 1) be refunded for my move or 2) sent the amount it would take to replace my TV. I have the invoice from COSTCO when I bought the TV and how much it cost now! If the outcome is not met this company will be hearing from my lawyer. By law you are required to bring me back to whole, and a measly check for $108 is not going to cut it.

Business Response: January 14, 2015

Ref:  **** ***** (#*****)
½ Price Movers has been in business since 1979.  We strive for excellence on every job.  We regret that the move was such that damage occurred.

In response to the complaint made by **** *****.  We performed moving services for **** *****, after the move we were made aware of a damaged TV.  Per TXDMV guidelines, we emailed the customer a claim form on 12/17/14, the day after the move, to be completed by the customer and returned.  She returned the claim form on 12/17/14.  We then emailed the customer a Claim Acknowledgement letter on 12/22/14, stating that we had received her claim and would be in contact with her regarding the claim.  On 12/29/14 **** ***** contacted our office and spoke to the claims manager, ******* ******, for an update on the claim.  ******* explained that we were in the process of investigating the claim and gathering our documentation, and we would be in contact with her shortly.  After obtaining all of our documentation and reviewing the claim, it was observed that the damage could have been mechanical, which is something not specifically covered unless external damage is visible, since we have no way of
knowing the mechanical condition of the item prior to our movers taking possession of the item.  However, after reviewing the photos provided by the customer, we determined that it was a possibility that we could have caused the damage.  Therefore, we decided to continue with the claim, and settle with the customer.  In order to settle, we required more information from the customer, so ******* emailed **** ***** on 12/30/14 requesting the make/model/size of the TV, which was not provided on the original claim.  **** ***** responded the same day, 12/30/14, with the information requested.  On 12/31/14, **** ***** was emailed a claim settlement letter, explaining the decision on the claim, and how we came to the decision.  She was also sent the same letter via mail along with the settlement check, for final
payment on the claim.  On 1/2/15, **** ***** replied to the settlement email stating that she was not satisfied with the decision and would like a response as to how we were going to fix the situation.  On 1/5/15, a letter was mailed to **** ***** explaining that based on the coverage selected, and the fact that we had already gone above and beyond our liability, we would not be making any additional payment on the claim, and we stood by our original decision.  As seen, contact was kept with the customer throughout the very short term of the claim process.  All of the email contact listed above is on file as evidence of contact with **** *****.  Based on TXDMV regulations, we are allowed up to 90 days to complete the claims process once we receive a claim in writing, but we made every effort to shorten the amount of time taken, and we were able to complete **** *****’s claim within 14 days of the claim date. 

The settlement was determined as follows.  Based on the moving contract signed by **** ***** prior to the start of her move, she accepted the basic liability of 60 cents per lb. per item, as evidenced by her initials on the contract next to this option (see attachment).  She also signed an additional document regarding Carrier Liability that further confirms that the customer has elected to accept the basic coverage of 60 cents per lb. per item (see attachment).  Based on this election, our maximum liability for any damage is 60 cents per lb. per item.  After researching the model and size of the TV via, the weight was determined to be 17 lbs. which at 60 cents per lb. would be a maximum liability of $10.20.  However, in a show of good faith, and an effort to retain customer satisfaction, we included an additional
$97.80, bringing the total payment to $108. 

We made every effort to go above and beyond our legal liability, in an effort to assist the customer.  The TV currently has a retail value of $379.99 based on, however, as explained, the liability the customer accepted was not based on the value, but based on the weight.  We do offer additional increased liability which would cover the cost of replacement for an additional cost on the move, however the customer did not select this option.  We have met our obligation, based on TXDMV regulations, which govern our industry.  We feel that we have made every effort to accommodate this customer, and we have gone above and beyond to try to make sure **** ***** was satisfied with the outcome.  We also feel that we completed this claim in an extremely timely manner, as evidenced by the dates of contact with the customer, and the timeline for the claim.

Once again, we regret that damage occurred, but feel that every effort was made on our part to satisfy the customer and service the claim.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was not made aware of any other options for liabilities! Your movers were very rushed and told me this was the only option; if I was told of about other options I would have selected something different. Also, contact with the company was very minimal and I spoke with ******* once, although I was promised call backs, etc. Lastly, I am very offended that you would insinuate such claims against me, like the TV already being broken. The movers saw the TV on when they came in to the apartment. Maybe your company should spend more time showing customers their options instead of rushing them as well as taking pictures instead of calling your paying customers liars! 


**** *****

Business Response: We regret that we have not been able to come to an amicable conclusion, but feel that we have done our best to explain our position and provide proof.  As stated, the type of coverage accepted was agreed to by the customer on two separate forms, as acknowledged by her signature on both forms.  Furthermore, we included additional compensation as a show of good faith.  We apologize for any communication error the customer feels may have been made, and continue to learn from every situation in an effort to improve our service.  

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were quoted by the company (over the phone) the charges would be $99.00 (1x transportation fee), $99.00 per hour (it was a 3 hour job), and $80.00 for materials. We should have been charged $476.00. The invoice came to $664.00 (without explaining the difference) and then what was actually charged to our credit card was $750.95. I wrote a lengthy email to the owner, **** ******...he never responded...I resent the same email, again with no response. I waited 2 more weeks and contacted the office stating that I did not understand the huge difference in what I was quoted vs what they ended up putting on my credit card and wanted to hear from Mr. ******, if I did not hear from him, I would contact the BBB...again, no response. It is important for you to know that we live out of state and arranged this move for my sister-in-law, over the phone. She stated the movers were very polite and professional...however the office staff were rude, would not take responsibility for the problems we had with them and now, no response to our complaint.

Desired Settlement: I believe the company should stand behind the prices that were quoted to me. If errors were made, I don't believe it is the consumer's responsibility to pay for an employees mistake. I believe were are due a refund of $274.95. The move took place on July 2nd, and I feel I have waited long enough for this company to respond.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

I apologize but this is the first notice I have received regarding this claim. I am not sure if her emails were going to my spam but regardless, I am thankful I have been made aware of this claim. I assure you I will meet with my staff tomorrow and will follow up with a response.
Our company has been in business since 1979, we take great pride in our work and strive for excellence in every job that we do. I am confident that we can resolve this matter quickly. 


**** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I am waiting to hear from Mr. ****** and how he intends to handle this complaint.  I would like for him to know that I contacted ******* in his office and she is the one who provided me his direct email address and she is also the one I contacted when I did not receive a response from him.  I made her aware that if I did not receive a response in the next few days that I would be contacting the BBB.  She also did not respond or acknowledge my concerns (although prior to this we had no issues in communicating via email).  My complaint is with ********* for apparently not handling this transaction properly or professionally and for ******* as well.  Again, I believe I should not have to pay for the employees mistake and should be refunded the difference in the price I was quoted vs the amount of $274.95.

I also want Mr. ****** to know, that it is because his business was well established (1979) and had strong reviews was why I ultimately chose his company.  All of the reviews I read were all positive towards the movers themselves.  The only negative comments I read were directed towards the office staff...and now I understand why.


***** *******

Business Response: August 14, 2014


Re:  Complaint #********


We are addressing claim #********.  ½ Price Movers has been in business since 1979.  We relocate close to 4,000 families a year.  We take great pride in assuring our customers receive a safe smooth move at an affordable price.  We understand the stress that our customers are under during the move process.  One of our goals is to relieve as much of that stress as possible.  That is why we have safeguards in place to do just that, as I will explain below.

I would first like to apologize to Ms. ***** ******* if we did not meet her expectations in providing a good moving experience.  Below is our response to Ms. *******’s BBB complaint.  We hope we have addressed all issues.

The customer called for an estimate and was given a phone quote, as is typical of all local moves.  On each quote, the customer is asked if they will be handling their own packing, and when this is the case, no packing supplies are sent with the movers.  There is no record of any quote for packing services being offered over the phone.  The original quote was based on listed items and services stated over the phone.  Upon the movers arrival to the job, it was discovered that there was going to be packing needed.  At this point, we informed the person onsite for the job, ****, that due to the packing labor/supplies needed, the price would increase.  She initialed the contract accepting a packer at $50 per hour, and we waived the transportation fee for this additional employee for the customer.  Typically if the packing isn’t done, we can not perform the additional service on such short notice, however, we were able to pull a manager out of the office to assist with the packing services to help the customer out.  We actually did double the services that were originally quoted, and still kept the cost less than double the original quote.  The breakdown of the charges was listed on the contract and I have included the same breakdown below.

Packing labor:               $50 per hour x 2 hrs 5 min. =                $104

Packing materials:                                                                    $86.95

Moving labor:                $99 per hour x 4 hrs 40 min. =              $461

Transportation fee:        $99                                                      $99


Total:                                                                                     $750.95

Although we did get approval for the additional services and charges, we did go over the listed “Not to exceed” price on the contract, which was $693.  In good faith, we will refund Ms. ******* $57.95 to honor this amount for the services.  We apologize for any confusion regarding the charges and the breakdown, it tends to complicate things when one person is paying for the services but another is actually handling the paperwork and is onsite during the job.

In closing, I would like to say thank you for contacting our company regarding your concerns.  I apologize that you were not contacted sooner regarding your concerns and we have worked to fix the communication error.  It also takes some time to gather all of the information and get statements from all involved, which we prefer to do before we try to resolve any issues so that we are well informed on the situation.  We understand there is always room for improvement and we have addressed Ms. *******’s comments with our staff, and will continue to improve our customers' moving experience.

**** ******
½ Price Movers

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  respectfully I say this to you, Mr. ******...I DID have a conversation with ********* length, on what would be moved (inventory of furniture) as well as what would be packed.  I told her that the kitchen would need to be packed, china from the china hutch along with various nick knacks.  After telling her this SHE is the one that said she would send 20 boxes for the job.  Sir, how in the world would she have come up with the number 20 if we had not discussed this?  I do not know why she didn't bother making notes of this (only she could explain that, although it sounds like she is not admitting her error in this).  I certainly believed that she had as she repeated it back to me.  I could appreciate it if more boxes were needed and that would increase the price of the materials of $80, but not significantly.

Just so you will know....we also discussed the payment of this transaction; I explained that we would be paying by credit card, over the phone...she said that was no problem.  I asked her how that would work...she explained that when the movers arrived they would call me so I would have a start time and I would provide them the credit card information at that time.  They would then contact me when the job was complete so I would have an accurate end time.  (This seemed logical/reasonable to me). the late afternoon before the move, ******* called to confirm the move and to tell me an earlier opening had become available and asked me if I wanted it.  I did.  She then asked me if **** was paying for this move...I said "no....I discussed this with ********* last week"...and told her what was said.  ******* hesitated and said, "well, I don't know why she told you that...that is not how we would do it"....she then explained what I needed to do.  (Which I did).

Mr. ******, if ********* gave me incorrect information of how I needed to handle the payment transaction, why is it a far stretch for you to realize that she also mishandled this set up of this job?

Again...after telling her EXACTLY what we needed...she quoted $99 (1 time transportation fee), $99 per hour and $80 for the boxes.  According to the first phone call I received, being made aware there was a problem, it was 8:30...the job was completed at 12:30....HOWEVER...I was assured by ******* that we would not be charged for the hour delay.  So I hope you can understand that we expected the job to be $476.00 (BASED ON WHAT WE WERE QUOTED BY *********)....even IF you added the additional hour delay, the bill would have been $575 which is still much lower than we ended up being charged.

Considering what we were quoted, and how mismanaged this entire transaction was handled by your office...a $57.95 refund feels like an insult.  We are reasonable people...we have always paid our bills on time...but I sincerely do not believe we should have to pay for the mistakes made by your office.  Furthermore, I also find it interesting that you did not receive either of my emails.  I know that ******* had no trouble receiving my emails (she is the one who provided your email address to me) and yet...when I didn't hear from you and I emailed her letting her know that I would be contacting the BBB if I did not hear from you, why then, did she not either respond to me or make you aware of the situation so that you could've contacted me then?  I hope this additional information helps you to reconsider your offer.  


***** *******

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/1/2013 I hired this business for a residential move. They advertise that they are accredited by the BBB. When they moved my furniture I believe they engaged in behaviors that intentionally increased the total cost of the move by adding more hours necessary. When I called them to schedule the move I itemized every item to them so they could properly quote my price. The move took longer & cost more because: 1) they did not send a large enough truck to carry all of my belongings in 1 trip. 2) I was then charged an additional trip charge ($47.50) which they did delete when I complained 3) Making 2 trips resulted in the move taking more hours than necessary & increasing the total cost of the move 4) As well only 1 dolly was sent with the 2 man crew. 1 mover used the dolly moving 3-5 boxes at a time & the other carried 1 box at a time, taking more time & adding to the cost of the move 5) Carrying 1 box at a time causes unnecessary damage to box contents if the box is not placed down easily & instead thrown down because the box is heavy. 6) I also disputed the $90 charge that I paid for additional damage insurance because the movers caused unnecessary damage to my belongings. They clearly displayed that they didn't have any type of training in moving residential items I contacted this company by emails to state my complaint. When I requested reimbursement, all communication from them ceased.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting refund of at least 1 hour's move time of $95. As well, refund of the $90 additional property damage insurance I purchased. Total desired outcome refund of $185.

Business Response: My name is ******* ********.  I work for Half Price Movers-San Antonio.  We are a professional moving company with over 30 years of experience.  I am writing to address the allegations made by ********* ****** about her residential move on October 1, 2013.  Miss ****** contacted us September 16, 2013 to schedule her upcoming move. She provided a detailed list of items, we quoted her pricing (price range of $375-475 for the move, plus $90 extra valuation) based on that list of items and scheduled her move.  We contacted Miss ****** to reconfirm her appointment 3 days before her scheduled date.  Miss ****** added additional items to her list of items and requoted pricing (price range of $600-700 for move, plus $90 extra valuation).  We then contacted Miss ****** again the day before as a final confirmation.  All of our moving trucks are stocked with ample moving pads, an appliance dolly, a book dolly and a 4-wheeler.  On the day of her scheduled move, we sent a stocked 17’ box truck thinking it would be sufficient based on the information we had on file.  We sent 2 experienced, professionally in-house trained movers, movers that had been with our company for some time, to do Miss ******’s move.  The movers
informed our dispatch that they would need to do 2 trips to complete the move efficiently.  We discounted Miss ****** half of her one-time transportation fee ($47.50) for the inconvenience on the day of her move.  Miss ******’s final total for her move came in at $522.50 + $90 for extra valuation = $612.50, so her final price was less than the estimated quote.  We contacted Miss ****** on October 3, 2013 to thank her for her business.  Miss ****** expressed, over the phone, that she was not happy that the movers had to make 2 trips, but did say she was pleased with the movers, stating “(the movers) were great, very
professional and polite.”  Miss ****** also expressed, via email, that she was “impressed when (she) saw that (our) company went the extra mile with the padding & shrink (wrapping) [of her furniture].” 

We were on track to give a good faith refund to Miss ****** for an additional $47.50, essentially waiving her travel fee; however we failed to communicate with our company accounting to issue that refund.  We would like to apologize for failing to issue that credit, but we did have every intention of sending this refund.  We are now in the process of issuing her credit.  We have increased that good faith refund from $47.50 to $95.00.  Unfortunately, since we completed the move, loading/unloading, under the original estimated cost, we will not credit the $90 for extra valuation.  We did, however, send her a claim form in the event she wished to file a claim for damages.  Miss ****** expressed, via email, that since “the majority of the damage (were) small nicks and (dings),” she did not want to fill out the forms.

Miss ******, we would like to apologize again for any lapse in communication.  We would like you to please verify that we should submit this credit to the drop-off
address we have on file.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


********* ******

1) The polite/professional remarks were directed at how the 2 MEN, who performed the actual move, "conducted" themselves with an upset client, which I was.  I  made mention of this ONLY because the moving men & I had words when they first arrived at my house.  I was furious that I was NOT informed about the 2-trip move & the price.  THE MOVE WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN SCHEDULED WITH 1/2 Price had I  been told about the 2 trips when I scheduled!!!!   Just two years before this  10/1/2013  move, I moved this very same furniture & more boxes with another company on 9/1/2011.  They used the proper size truck, made 1 trip & each of the 2 movers had his own dolly.  That move was simple, uncomplicated, faster & with expected damage to furnishings & contents.  When 1/2 Price called me after the move, I had not unpacked boxes or properly assessed furniture damage.

2)   I was impressed with furniture padding & shrink wrap & thought SOME  damage to my furniture would be avoided.  Nicks were not excessive but were TOTALLY  "unnecessary & avoidable".   Furniture was stacked on top of other furniture items.  Boxes stacked on my upholstered sofa & chair, ruining the cushions.  When furniture is STACKED, instead of being placed on the bed of the truck, it risks falls, sharp edges dig into other pieces of furniture items, etc..  PROFESSIONAL movers DO NOT do this.  My furniture was literally jam packed in the truck from side to side & top to bottom of the truck. Filing any insurance claim for reimbursement is utterly futile at 60 cents/lb.  Not worth the time & effort.  

3)  I am making an empiracle statement - These movers used only 1 dolly when the furniture was being unloaded ,  I ASKED the mover - "Do you have only  1 dolly?  Yes mam, was his response"  They did, however, use  a flat dolly to move the washer/dryer, then left it in the truck.  As I stated in my complaint, 1 mover was unloading a SINGLE box at a time while the other mover was using the dolly.  I summize, this is  how they do business to increase moving time, resulting in a more expensive move (using inadequate number of dollies & making an UNNECESSARY  2nd trip!).   I am 67 & an experienced mover.  I have made many moves, most with the very same furniture items & boxes, NEVER requiring a second trip.  These movers DID NOT display any experience or training.  I had to continually redirect them.

4)  Regarding the additional items, resulting in increasing the price from $375 - $475 to $600-$700.  These items were insignificant & small in nature & not necessitating this increase.  If they thought there were additional items & increasing the price, why didn't they send a larger truck.  Increasing the price to $600 - $700 is a considerable increase that should have necessitated 1/2 Price sending a larger truck.  There were NO unitemized items which had to be moved.  1/2 price did NOT MAIL a copy of the invoice to me PRIOR to the move.  1/2 Price could have avoided ALL  misunderstandings prior to the truck coming, by confirming & mailing an invoice, which PROFESSIONAL movers do.  I still have the work sheet I used when itemizing furniture items to them when I called the 1st time.  As well, when the drivers arrived they informed that there were certain items that they could NOT move (i.e. plants or combustibles, etc.).   My large potted plant was 1 of the additional items I called to add with the 2nd call.   I WAS NOT  informed at either call  that there were ANY items (potted plants, etc.) they could not move. 

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My email is ******************. I have email correspondence related to a move I made from TX to CA and back to TX. 1/2 Price Movers had 3 people come to my house in TX and pack my things August 2012 (2 guys and 1 gal) and the gal had not been with 1/2 Price Movers for more than a month. The 2 guys were mad at her because she did not bring boxes, tape, and bubble wrap as I asked and sat around asking me if I had valuables. I told the gal that 3 boxes were my work and she asked me a million odd questions like, "Can anyone do it?" "How does it work?" I actually got mad at her for not bringing what I asked for and not helping and asking me personal questions about my valuables. She said that my things would be packed and not to worry because I had paid for white glove service. All my things were packed by 1/2 Price Movers into sealed large pallets that arrived in CA (I was taking care of my Grampa and he died July 6, 2013) - I never unpacked the pallets that were tightly strapped and covered in black. Then, after the funeral and all was settled, I had 1/2 Price Movers move the pallets back to San Antonio August 16, 2013 and I paid for white glove service again where 1/2 Price Movers unpacked all for me - and the 3 boxes of my work were missing! They never were packed! I immediately thought of the gal that had asked me about my valuables. I called ********* and ******* at 1/2 Price Movers and they told me that they knew who the gal was but she does not work with their company anymore and due to privacy acts, they would not tell me anything more. The gal that had asked me about my valuables told me to insure my 3 boxes so I insured the 3 boxes for a total of 25,000.00 but now the insurance company is telling me that I needed to have unpacked in CA and filed a claim with them within 45 days in California and they will not help me. They did tell me that 1/2 Price Movers needs to pay me or recover my stolen 3 boxes and that they have liability insurance to use. 1/2 Price Movers needs to replace my stolen 3 boxes or pay me. I sent an email to 1/2 Price Movers itemizing everything that was stolen and the prices and why the total was $25,000.00 total ($10,000, $10,000, and $5,000) which was nearly exact. I can email all to you. I am reporting 3 boxes that were stolen and I know 1/2 Price Movers know who the gal is that stole them. The insurance company told me that 1/2 Price Movers are procrastinating and not helping me waiting for 45 days to go by. 1/2 price movers has liability insurance and on their paperwork it says that they will pay 60 cents per pound that is lost or stolen also. I called the police that I had been robbed and told them all I'm telling you on September 24, 2013 when I knew that 1/2 Price Movers was not going to help me. Case number ***************. The police said to get an attorney and to tell the Better Business Bureau. That is why I am telling you. I hope you can help me. **** **** ###-###-#### cell **** **** ******* ************ ** *** ******* ****************** ************ ******* ************* ***** ******** **** *** ******* *** ******** ** ***** ******************* ************************ ************* ************* **************

Desired Settlement: Either the 3 boxes need to be recovered or I need $25,000.00 to replace the stolen items. 1 box was worth $10,000.00 and the 2nd box was $10,000.00 and the 3rd box was $5,000.00. I had the boxes itemized and the amounts listed of each item inside = $25,000.00 total. 1/2 Price movers wanted the itemized list and I sent it all to them. ********* and ******* are the contact people at 1/2 Price Movers and they need to recover or pay.

Business Response: I apologize for not getting in contact with *** **** sooner, I was out of the office last week and also earlier this week.  We regret this incident occurred.  We are currently investigating the matter and will be in touch soon with our response.

Business Response: My name is *******, I work for Half Price Movers-San Antonio.  We are a moving solutions company, established for over 30 years.  I am very sorry to hear that *** **** claims she is missing items from her shipment.  I spoke with *** **** initially, August 2013, about her move from California to Texas.  *** **** informed me that our company had assisted her during her move to California last year, August 2012, and needed our assistance for her return to Texas.  We exchanged information and corresponded thru email regarding the details, a list of additional items, and pictures for this shipment so that I could quote her a price.  *** **** explained to me over the phone that she had three pallets, one of which may have needed to be repacked, and a number of items that she would also need packed. *** **** then emailed pictures of the pallets, which had been tarpped and stored outside in the driveway of her home in California since receipt, August 2012. At this point, *** **** had not informed me of an unsatisfactory pack experience last year; I assumed she was one of our many satisfied repeat customers.  We contracted our *** ******* affiliates in California to pack and ship her items to our San Antonio location for a white glove delivery.  We delivered her shipment the same day it was received.  Our moving specialists opened the shipment onsite and hand delivered each item inside her San Antonio residence.  Upon receipt, *** **** contacted me by phone, while our specialists were in her presence, about a damaged filing cabinet.  I immediately emailed *** **** a claim form, and informed her that we would investigate the matter to determine if it was somehow damaged during the freight process.  Sometime after her white glove delivery had been completed, *** **** contacted our office claiming that she was missing three boxes, the contents of which was equal to $25,000.  *** **** then told me of her original pack and ship to California.  She explained that one of our packers had asked her a lot of questions about *** ****’s work and about any valuables.  This did not surprise me, since many of our customers interact and engage in small talk with our employees while we are packing their valuables, conversations that often include discussions about values of items for insurance purposes.  Nevertheless, we take any claim of theft seriously, and immediately began investigating the matter.  We verified the names of the original packing crew assigned to *** ****’s pick up for her original shipment in August 2012 and informed the insurance company of the situation.  The female employee that assisted *** **** during her original shipment to California had been working for us for over a year before leaving for personal reasons this year.  At the end of her employment she was considered an exemplary employee, an employee that had packed many satisfied customers since *** ****’s shipment in August 2012.  The insurance company explained to me that since *** **** did not properly receive her shipment, ie. she did not open and verify the shipment inventory list within 45 days of receipt, they would therefore have to deny any claim made for loss or damage.  We spoke with the insurance company after they gave *** **** the unfortunate news.  The insurance company asked for basic details about this return shipment from California.  We explained the situation, and they advised us to get the detailed inventory list of items shipped by *** ******* California.  The insurance company informed us that they did in fact tell *** **** that she should file a claim with our general insurance.  We are licensed and bonded as regulated by the Texas Department of Transportation, which states that we cover $.60/pound for every item we transport.  The insurance company also denies telling *** **** that we were “procrastinating and not helping [her] waiting for 45 days to [pass],” stating, “[we] did not tell [*** ****] you were procrastinating and waiting for the 45 days to pass since this would not make sense.  The 45 days only applies to our insurance, not the legal liability.” We did contact *** *******s California, and they did send us the detailed inventory list.  Nowhere on their inventory list were the alleged missing three boxes or the damaged filing cabinet.  This puts us in the regrettable situation of also having to deny her claim for loss and damage.  Unfortunately, since *** **** did not properly receive her original shipment to California, there are care, custody and condition issues.  Simply put, there is no way to prove whether the items were ever shipped, damaged or stolen in Texas or California.  I feel bad that this has happened to *** **** because she explained to me that the missing items were work related.  I understand *** ****’s consternation, however, if I had personally shipped three expensive boxes to myself – boxes that represented my income and livelihood – I would be certain to verify the complete contents of the shipment upon receipt; especially if I had doubts or concerns about the original pick-up and pack job that was completed to get the items to me in California.  I also would not have stored them outdoors for almost a year.  It is very unfortunate that these items are alleged missing from her shipment.  Had she properly received her original shipment and found these boxes to be missing at that time, we would have filed an insurance claim for these items and launched a full investigation of the responsible party.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Having Half Price Movers refuse to use their liability insurance to pay me for what was stolen under their "white glove" service care is unacceptable.  Their "white glove" service that I paid for means that they pack me and unpack me - they have total responsibility for my items.  That is what their liability insurance is for.  My 3 boxes of work equipment and supplies, totally 25,000.00 was stolen under their care (probably by 1 of their own employees).  Half Price Movers policy is "If you have any disputes about charges, or loss, or damage to your goods, you need to file a written claim with the mover within 90 days of the delivery date" which I did.  Half Price Movers needs to take responsibility for this loss.  The response from ******* at Half Price Movers is unacceptable and I don't know why she would say the things she said.  The facts are simple:  "White glove" service paid for in entire move and 3 boxes have been stolen and/or missing that I insured.  The insurance company said in an email attached to ********* at Half Price Movers that I should file a legal liability claim with Half Price Movers and on the phone I was told that is what their liability insurance is for!  They need to pay me for items lost or stolen under their "white glove" service of my work equipment and supply boxes and take this matter seriously.


****** ****

Business Response: I understand *** ****’s frustration.  I would like to clarify once again, that Half Price Movers did not physically move *** ****’s items from California to Texas.  We contracted a California affiliate to pick up pallets from *** ****’s driveway, to be shipped thru a freight company, to our San Antonio office for delivery.  Our California affiliates picked up two prepared pallets for freight shipment to San Antonio.  *** **** also had our affiliates add miscellaneous items to a third existing pallet, which they tagged and recorded for freight.  Half Price Movers received three sealed pallets from the freight company and delivered these sealed pallets to *** ****’s San Antonio residence on August 16, 2013, the same day they were received.  Our moving professionals opened this sealed freight shipment, for the first time, in *** ****’s presence during delivery.  *** **** informed us of a damaged file cabinet while our moving professionals were with her  but did not inform us of any missing boxes.  It was during the first week of September that *** **** contacted our office and informed us of the alleged missing boxes. 

On October 9, 2013 *** **** contacted our company thru our website, claiming that she had “retained an attorney and [that I, *******, had] written the BBB a bunch of ridiculous nonsense.” My BBB response simply aimed to address the issues *** **** included in her original complaint.   If *** **** has in fact retained an attorney, we need to be communicating with them directly at this point.     

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was under contract with Half Price Movers and paid for their "white glove service" both ways.  Half Price Movers is responsible for ALL my belongings both ways regardless of who they hired to help them.  Half Price Movers has a claims policy for lost, damaged, or stolen items and need to honor their own policy and pay up.  That is what their insurance is for.

My attorney is gathering the facts in this case and will get in touch with Half Price Movers.


****** ****

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable