Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of SecurityNational Mortgage Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SecurityNational Mortgage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SecurityNational Mortgage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SecurityNational Mortgage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1993 in UT Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 11/14/2000 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynn Beckstead, President Ms. Mary Hein, Marketing and Business Development Mr. Arthur Maldonado, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynn Beckstead, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Hein, Marketing and Business Development
Business Category

Mortgage Bankers Real Estate Loans


Additional Locations

  • 9737 Great Hills Trl Ste 200

    Austin, TX 78759

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was pre-qualified by this business and asked to continue into my residential purchase process by contracting with a home inspector who charged me $250.00 for his services. I was also asked to pay an additional "option fee" in the amount of $100.00. I was informed my purchasing of this residence was properly underway as expected and was assured everything was acceptable. I paid this amount in good faith believing this mortgage company was being truthful and professional I paid these amounts believing it was mandated to finalize my purchase as directed. I was even given a closing date by the mortgage. After my expense was paid, i was later informed by the mortgage company that there was a discrepancy in my credit report which was already aware of prior to authorizing my approval to proceed. I believe the mortgage company conducted unethical business practices by failing to fully review and evaluate my credit report before authorizing me to create unnecessary expenditures which have caused me a financial setback. In addition, I believe this mortgage company acted unethically and should compensate me for these expenses.

Desired Settlement: $250.00 inspection fee which was required and advised to proceed by mortgage company and $100.00 for the option fee which would not have been purchased had the mortgage company no advised to proceed with this property purchase as they are the ones who pre-qualified me and had reviewed my credit report.

Business Response: Please see the attached letter sent by Mr. **** A. ***** concerning his complaint filed with the BBB. Thanks and if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. 
 at the number listed below.

****** *********
SecurityNational Mortgage Company 
**** ***** ***** ***** **** ***
******* ** *****
************