This business is not BBB accredited.

Massage Envy Spa

Phone: (432) 550-3689 3208 N. Loop 250 W. Suite 900, Midland, TX 79707 http://www.massageenvy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Massage Envy Spa include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Massage Envy Spa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy Spa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 01/01/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-963-7111

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Angel Salazar Allison Fraser, Clinic Administrator Mr. George Lohmann, President
Contact Information
Principal: Angel Salazar
Business Category

Massage Therapists Estheticians


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3208 N. Loop 250 W. Suite 900

    Midland, TX 79707 (432) 550-3689

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs, My name is **** ********. I am contacting you regarding my recent experience at the ******* ****. In December, as a Christmas present from my husband, I received a gift card for 180.00 to our local ******* ****. I have tried on several occasions to schedule an appointment but have not been able to due to the customer service. I’ve been put on hold up to 20 minutes only to have the person come back and so “Oh, you’re still here?” and then treat me as a bother since I didn’t hang up, I have been told that they are booked 3 months or longer in advance for massages, I have been told that they only have openings for members, and etc…. Yesterday, July 25, 2015, I called again to try to schedule an appointment. I still have not been able to use my gift card that I received in December. I spoke with *****. Again, after being put on hold for an extended time, I was told that they did not have any available appointments. I made it clear to ***** when we were speaking that we would take any appointment that was available, any time, any day. Additionally, I asked if I could just receive a refund for the value of my gift card, but ***** smugly stated, “******* **** does not give refunds.” I continued to question ***** about how I was supposed to schedule an appointment if she could not even tell me when they had appointments available. Again, she stated that they only had open appointments for members. I continued to press, and was put on hold again. When she returned to the call I was finally told that the next available appointment that they had available for non-members was September 28, 2015. I scheduled that appointment. Next, I was put on hold again. When ***** returned to the call, we begin the process of scheduling the appointment. Not only name, phone number, address, date of birth, credit card, and gift card number were required, but the tone of the call and requesting this information had me significantly doubting if I should be giving all of this personal information to a stranger over the phone. Overall, my experience with ******* **** has been one of the worst experiences I have had. The unprofessionalism, rudeness, and lack of customer service sincerely has me doubting and anxious about the appointment that I ultimately was “allowed” to schedule. If it has taken me 7 months to even be able to schedule an appointment, what kind of care will I receive upon going to my appointment? When I asked for the corporate office number or a district manager’s name and number I was refused. I was told, “You’ll have to go online to get that information!” I was finally given the managers first name; Misty. This refusal to provide information to customers where they may ask questions or seek remedies again screams of unprofessionalism. After all, if you have nothing to hide then why refuse to give customers that information? Ultimately, I would like my money back and assurances that my personal information is not going to be used by any person employed by ******* **** or its subsidiaries, now or in the future. Thank you for your time and attention in this matter. Sincerely,

Desired Settlement: Refund and personal information destroyed or returned to me with assurances that additional copies were not secured by the company.

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They make you sign a "contract" for membership, the original representative was friendly, but very unqualified and had no idea about any of the contract terms. Showing up for our appointment we had learned there was no appointment ever made even though we received a "notice" call about the upcoming appointment. We left, tried to rebook, and they had no available dates. We then requested to have the membership cancelled. Assistant manager was very helpful on the phone and told us things would be done. This is now the second month in a row my account has been charged for a cancelled service, in calling, the new manager (they seem to change employees a lot in that building, I've come to learn as the original assistant manager and employee who started our contracts are also both no longer employed). Today I spoke to ********, the "manager" who is completely clueless to anything, she informed me that I had to go into the office to fill out paperwork to cancel? In June, there was no paperwork or issue with me cancellation and that was never brought to my attention. After chatting with her about the membership she actually hung up the phone on me when she didn't know how to answer my questions. The entire location is a nightmare, from the minute you walk into the door, no one understands or knows anything, and they continue to charge accounts even after being told the memberships have been cancelled. In talking with my peers, several others have had similar issues/bad experiences in the same location. They're customer service is horrible, employees are very unqualified.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back, for the two months that I was told my account would be cancelled. (Mid June), yet I was still charged the $49.99 for both July and now August...and STILL have not received a confirmation of my cancellation, I've been in the office twice now, and called at least 4 times with a different outcome each time and different instructions on how to go about 'cancelling' my membership.

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over 2 years ago I asked to cancel my membership with massage envy because I was not using a massage every month. The manager at the time asked me not to cancel and agreed to freeze my account so I could use the massages I had accumulated. I explained that I was afraid of accumulating more massages and still wished to cancel. She told me that they would freeze my account and not charge my credit card, and that every time I came in they could unfreeze my account so I would never accumulate credits (which they did at first) I agreed to this. Sometime later they changed managers, unfroze my account and started charging my credit card again without my permission. When I discovered this I called and the lady I spoke to agreed to cancel my membership but give me a year to use the credits I had accumulated. She explained that this was normally not done but that since I was charged without my permission she would make an exception to standard procedure. When I spoke to you the manager there today (******** *******) she told me that none of that mattered, that I still had an active membership, and that I had 10 credits for massages I had paid approximately $500 for. She said I could either cancel the membership and lose the credits or give me a new credit card number to re-activate my membership. I asked for a corporate number of someone higher up to speak with she informed me that she could not give me one but I could look on the website. She told me that she didn't care about any agreement anyone from her company made with me because I had originally signed an agreement and that is all that mattered. I told her that I had already told them to cancel my membership and she basically said that those people (the prior managment) didn't do things right and if I can't prove it then too bad. I have specifically requested my credit card not be charged and credits not be allowed to accumulate on my account on multiple occasions. The local staff has agreed to and then ignored these requests, charging my credit card despite promising not to and leaving my account open despite my repeated requests to cancel and obtain a refund for the unauthorized charges.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the credit card charges made, not only without my permission, but specifically against my expressed instructions. I want them to appologize for charging my credit card without my permission and not honoring my request to cancel my membership.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy Spa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)