BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Texas Premier Locksmith, Inc.

 

View BBB Rating for Texas Premier Locksmith, Inc.'s headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Texas Premier Locksmith, Inc.. BBB serving Dallas and Northeast Texas has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Texas Premier Locksmith, Inc..

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 09, 2012 Business started: 01/06/2009 Business started locally: 01/06/2009 Business incorporated: 12/29/2010 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yair Frankel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Yair Frankel, Owner
Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths Locksmiths Equipment & Supplies

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work was not done correctly. As result I had to call tow truck and had to re program keys. Also they do no return calls. Refuse to me talk with the manager.

Desired Settlement: Total refund

Business Response: After looking into the customer's complaint, we have found that there was no issue with the vehicle and the key that was made was working properly. The customer had issues with the vehicle a day or two later and actually drove it for a while. We use dealer quality keys, and once a key is programmed to the vehicle, it's programmed. The customer tried calling the technician (on his day off) and couldn't get a hold of him, but did not call the office to complain. If the customer would have called us, we would have sent someone else to check the issue and see if it's anything we were responsible for. Thank you.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ran into my home to get a bottle for my child that we were taking to the ER and left my keys on the counter and shut the door thus locking myself and child out of the home and not being able to get to the ER. I had my wife call Texas Premier Locksmith Inc due to pop a lock number being busy. So my wife called at 9:03pm and the The lady on the phone asked for our address and said a service member would contact us soon, but before getting off the phone my wife asked the price of service and she was told $29 plus labor fees pending on how the man got in the door. When the man showed up at our home he went to trying to pick the lock but could not because the lock was upside down so he tried another different method and finally opened the door. Then I was given a receipt for $178.61...!! For Just unlocking a door that PopALock unlocked the exact same hour of the night a week prior for $59... and That service man put in two hours trying to unlock our door... but that was what he charged.... The receipt was as follows: 1 Service Call $40.00 1 House Lock (Bag t sling drive 2 step tool) $125 Total Material: $165.00 Labor: $13.61 Tax: 8.2500 TOTAL: $1778.61 I asked the man if he ever had complaints about the misleading price and what would happen upon refusal of paying(due to the misleading of the prices quoted) and he said "well Id have to call the police and get them involved) I called my wife before paying the man and she wanted to speak to him so she asked him why was it so ridiculously priced and he said that it would have been cheaper if he had just tried to pick the backwards lock and she asked why didnt he just do that then and all he responded with was that he didnt want to attempt that and compromise the lock because he would be liable if someone broke in and killed us. She laughed and said thats ridiculous no one would would kill us and we would just replace the lock ourselves... He then started talking to her very quickly to where I couldnt even understand all that he was saying but I took it as him trying to explain whatever he did that he though warranted the 125. Then When he got off the phone I asked him why was the charging the 125 and he then told me that it was the standard late house call fee!!! I was fuming but my wife called me back yelling to just pay the man before he called the cops and that we still had to take the baby with 105.9 fever to the ER and we couldn't wait around to argue it out!.... I got cash out of the atm and paid the guy. My wife called the service on the way to the ER to complain about being misled and she was told to call back in the AM cuz the rep guy couldnt do anything to help right now. SO she called again at 9:35am and tried to explain but the guy rushed her and said he would listen to recording... She called back 30 minutes later because she was frustrated that she didnt get a chance to explain before what she felt she needed to and explain how she felt rushed. The man said he would get back to her in a few hours after talking to the service guy. SHe called back at 11:30 and told him how upset she was to fin out that I had been perswaded by a threat of the police and that she had also contacted other companies about prices and policies and how things are done andthat none charged a free of 125 for labor or material since it is listed by the tool he used to open the door.... and that an hour of his time wasnt warranted the $178 bill... I guess things got heated and both my wife and the Rep guy aregued loudly and she informed him that the service man threatening to call the cops was wrong and not allowed because she her self called the Killeen courthouse and police department to make sure that nothing was done wrong and to see about filing a small claims due to being over charged by $135... and the courthouse rep told my wife that what she needed to do was file a claim with the BBB... My wife felt like that entire situation was a total ruse... the Service man should have explained upon arrival what the potential costs would have been. It would have been cheaper to just break a window in our home then to have worked with this company...

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $125 that was not mentioned in the call and apparently for the use of a tool that is required by his trade of service. We did not keep any materials or have anything replaced that would have cost the $125...

Business Response: Hi,
I will try to reply subject by subject, hopefully covering everything. Starting with the initial call: Customer was quoted $29 for the service call plus labor to unlock the house, that would vary depending on how the technician unlocks it. That was a mistake made by our dispatch because to that location we charge $40 service call. The technician made sure to let the customer know that before heading out there (but in that case, I can take responsibility and refund $10). When the tech got there and saw what he had to do, he told the customer it will be $125 for the labor. The customer then signed the invoice and told the technician to go ahead and proceed. We NEVER start working until the customer signs the invoice. The total comes to 178.61 after taxes. The invoice does not say that the technician sold anything other than the lockout service. It specifies what he used in order to get in but not that he sold any tools. The customer also made a complaint about the labor being only 8.25. The technician wrote the invoice when it was dark outside and the 8.25 represents the tax percentage, he just put it in the wrong spot on the invoice. And where it says material he accidentally put the total amount of 165.00. That was a human error that the customer is now claiming to be on purpose. I tried to explain it to the customer over the phone but she wouldn't let me talk and eventually hung up on me. I'm truly sorry for the misunderstanding but the only refund I can offer in this case is $10, which is the difference between the $30 service call that was quoted over the phone, and the $40 that was charged. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
That is a flat out lie. The techinician never told me the cost before starting the work till after he was done... he handed me an invoice and i saw the cost and was shocked that i had to call my wife to even see if we had the money to pay... if i would have known it was going to cost so much i would have just broken a window. The technician and my wife spoke on the phone because she was confused as to why it was so high and i heard the technician say it was the standard fee for coming out so late... not due to labor.... 

I never saw an invoice or discussed any price above the "40"... or i would never have agreed to allow him to open my front door. This company is all about lies and deceit and i believe companies should be held to better laws and how they charge people... they were never upfront about The cost.

Regards,


***** ******

Business Response: Clearly there's no way of proving here who's wrong and who's right. It's frustrating that you can't return service back and get a refund but you can return a toy or a pair of shoes and get your money back. The customer had an option to use our services or not to use them. The price was presented before the work had begun and the customer signed the invoice. I'm willing to send a check for $10 for the confusion with the service call. Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This company. Works only in deception. The only price quoted was 29 on the phone then was told it would be 40 when the tech got there to proform the service.... that us what we were expecting to pay.... then we are guven a nearly two hundred dollar service bill! If we were told up front the cost we would have not used the company...  peroid... we were decieved all around and. Other than a complete refund of all but the 40 which be believed was the total cost, 10 being the labor. To say that all your technicians give the price before proforming the services is a lie if the cost was more than the total 40 which is wjat the technician told us. We only paid the outragous fees due to the threat of the police being called.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** (the locksmith dispatched to provide replacement key for my car)) had trouble removing the key cylinder to get the keycode to make a new key. So, he drilled through the cylinder, an operation that he worked at for over an hour, and ruined the cyclinder case...along with the passkey chip embedded there in. That disables the car from starting (anti theft device). **** left the jobsite without finsihing the job, and left me with a car that had a drilled out ignition and whose anti theft device was permanently disabled. The additional repair was required for the card to work at all.

Desired Settlement: Dealer quoted 700 bucks plus the tow. My brother is a mechanic so towed it to him tow was 65 bucks Part was 125 bucks. Paid mechanic 160. Had to tear down steering column and replace case. Time consuming to get new passkey code working. Ruined my day and my family's day My position is that Premier Locksmith company made multiple mistakes and damaged the car and that the comapny should pay the 350, less the retail price of the key cylinder, which I would put at less than 50 bucks. So I would consider resolution that you pay me $300 received by 9/30.

Business Response: Customer had issues with his car before the tech got there. Tech informed customer that some wafer in his ignition were bent and customer told technician to drill the ignition. Our company did it for free and there is no room for financial resolution. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: it is skirting the real issue here.  Yes the tech recommended that since his first attempt to remove the key cylinder didn't work (bent wafer) that he should he drill into the ignition cylinder.  Should take 5 minutes, and I'll be on my way.  Does it all the time.  No big deal.  Two hours later, he is still drilling like crazy, had to go to the store to get more drill bits (wore out the first set), had bloodied his hands on the job (which had splattered blood on my dash board), and in the end he had drilled so aggressively that he damaged the chip in the anti theft sensor device that is part of the ignition.  That makes it so the car will not start at all   The job (replace my key) was NOT performed, rather, I was left with an immobile car stranded at mid-night.  **** the tech admitted to me that he damaged / messed up the car.  So, this locksmith company did not perform the job successfully, and damaged my car in the process.  Seems to me the company should take responsibility and make this right.

If not, this is the kind of vendor that the community should know about - vendor is ok with the hack job performed (see the pics, this was a horror show) , thinks it is ok to damage a customer's car and not make it right.  Wish I would have known.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

10/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 07/25 locksmith replaced the lock that we were experiencing problems with. He assured me that the work he does in warrantied. I wasn't able to put the key in the lock in order to turn the shaft. After replacing the lock the key worked until 08/282013 when I was on my way out and the key wouldn't go in again. I made several attempts to contact the technician (***** ******) but he never answered my calls or return my calls as I left messages that I was stuck at work and could not leave because the lock he installed again was not working. I had to call another locksmith who charged me $258.00 and I did not leave the office until 9:30 that evening. Up until last Friday 09/20/2013 the lock worked. Now I can put the key in but it won't turn. I had to call Texas Premier again Friday night the the lock wasn't working once again. **** told me that he would have ***** call me back. After working with it for about 30 minutes I was able to turn the key and lock the door. I called Texas Premier back and told **** never mind I was already gone. Yesterday, Monday the 23rd I can't lock the door again. The key won't turn. I called Texas Premier again at 6:15 and he **** told me that ***** would call me right back. at 6:55 p.m. I still hadn't heard from ***** so I had to call them back and ask when he's going to call me???? **** told me that ***** had tried to call me but I didn't answer. A LIE!!!!! He then gave me *****'s cell phone number and told me to call him. This call to ***** was placed at 6:56 and at that time ***** told me that it would another 35 minutes before he could get here. At 8:11 I placed another call to ***** because he still was not here. He didn't answer. I called Texas Premier again. **** told me that he was going to have ***** call me right back. Shortly thereafter I get a text from ***** apologizing for taking so long and suggesting that I call another locksmith. I immediately told him that I was not in a position financially to pay another locksmith to fix his mistake again. He then texted me back that he would be her ASAP. By 9:00 p.m. my husband had gotten so worried about me that he showed up to my office. He worked with the key and was able to lock the door. I texted ***** back that I had already left and asked to come in the morning. HE WAS UPSET that he had driven all the way to my office only to find out that I had already left. I emailed Texas Premier Locksmith this morning and asked if ***** was going to fix the lock or not?? I did not get a reply. I emailed again and reminded them that I feel as though I have been inconvenienced enough and at the very least they could let me know if ***** was coming or not. The reply that I got back is NO, he is on other service calls today.

Desired Settlement: Over $500 has been spent on getting this lock worked on and it still does not work. I just need for the lock to work. I can not possibly afford to spend more money on this as ***** suggests.

Business Response: When we initially wen there, the technician recommended replacing the concealed vertical rod panic bar system on the door as the best and optimal solution for the issue. The customer didn't want to pay because it was too expensive and chose a less expensive repair route, to just replace the lock, and not the whole system. Customer was told it will not resolve the main issue and decided to go with it to save money.
Since then, the technician went back there many times for free ( and sometimes charged for labor and service call), and each time he showed the customer what the issue was, and that the solution he provided was working.
We have been more than patient with the customer and tried to provide her with our recommended solution that was declined time and time again. At one point she called a different company that charged her 270.00 for not doing anything. We are not to blame for that.
Thank you and have a great day. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
1. I called another company because the LOCK your technician installed WAS NOT WORKING!!!!! and he did not answer my calls or return my calls after I left him messages that I was stuck at work because I couldn't lock the door.  It was 7 o'clock in the evening and I had no choice but to call another company because I could not leave the office unlocked all night (as I explained to you technician in my messages!!!!!!)
2. AGAIN, it is not the door that I continue to have issues with. I DON'T WISH TO HAVE THE PANIC BAR REPLACED!!!! IT STICKS BUT THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM!!!! THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE LOCK THAT YOUR TECHNICIAN INSTALLED.
3. HE KEEPS COMING BACK BECAUSE THE LOCK HE INSTALLED STILL DOESN'T WORK. HE TOLD ME ON HIS FIRST VISIT HERE HIS WORK IS WARRANTIED!!!! WHY WOULD YOU CHARGE ME FOR HIM TO WORK ON SOMETHING THAT HE OBVIOUSLY DIDN'T FIX THE FIRST TIME!!!!!!

Regards,
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1