Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin Key Guy

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 402-2050 2809 Skyway Cr Apt 102, Austin, TX 78704 http://www.austinkeyguy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers 24-Hour mobile locksmith service specializing in lockouts, car keys, re-keys and light commercial installation. Standard Key Replacement, Transponder/Chip keys, Ignition Repair/Ignition Replacement, High Security/Sidewinder Keys, Key less Entry/Remotes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Key Guy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Key Guy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Austin Key Guy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2012 Business started: 03/10/2011 Business started locally: 03/10/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adam Webb, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Webb, Owner
Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths Locksmiths Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

This company previously operated in Minneapolis, MN as AAA Locks. The company operated from April 2008 to June 2011 before officially relocating to Texas.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Austin Key Guy has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • -----

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 402-2050

  • 2809 Skyway Cr Apt 102

    Austin, TX 78704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician came and could not repair glass patio door lock. He said he would keep the lock and repair the next day. 2 days went by and no call. I call austin lock guys back and they said the repair man never came out. After a heated discussion I gave the person on the phone the cell phone number of the guy that came by. After about 5 minutes she came back on the phone and said that the guy she called to service me sent someone else to do the job. She said she would take care of it. Still no phone call over 4 days. I called again today and they said they never heard of this but they will send someone out at 2:00. It's now 3:36 and still no show. This is ridiculous. I would like my lock back ASAP and a apology.

Desired Settlement: Lock returned Apology Free service

Business Response: I received 3 of the same complaint, and as I said in the other 2. I spoke with ****** and it turns out it wasn't even my company.  It was a scam company going under the name Austin Lock Guys.  The customer understood the complaint was made in error and thanked me for speaking with her.  At this point I'm more concerned why BBB is allowing 3 of the exact same complaints, on the same day, to be considered more than 1 complaint.  Is this this what my $450 a year pays for?