Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Web Instructor LLC

Phone: (888) 596-7307 Fax: (512) 672-6266 9300 S Ih 35 Ste A500, Austin, TX 78748 http://www.tx-dps.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Texas Driver Records
Texas Birth Certificates
Texas Death Certificates


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Web Instructor LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Web Instructor LLC include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Web Instructor LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Web Instructor LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2008 Business started: 07/31/2004 in TX Business started locally: 07/31/2004 Business incorporated 07/31/2004 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sean Mates, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Mates, Owner
Business Category

License Services Legal Forms Internet Services

Alternate Business Names
Texas Document Processing Services TX-DPS.com

Additional Locations

  • 9300 S Ih 35 Ste A500

    Austin, TX 78748

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertisements stated that a driving record would be delivered within 24 hours or less. I ordered around 9 AM on 5/19, and chose email delivery (this option did not state anywhere that it would take any longer or different amount of time for delivery). It has now been over 48 hours and I have still not received my driving record in my email. I have called the customer service line and every time I select the option for the driving record department, it automatically goes to an answering machine, asking me to leave a message. I finally got through to someone (by pressing numbers over and over, no option was available to speak to an actual person) and they said they would take my number and name and someone would call me back. That has been said to me TWICE today. No one was able to transfer me to anyone who could help either, because they "are outsourced" and "unable to transfer". Why have an 800-number on the site if the people who are answering it are not a part of the actual company? ALSO-the second time I called today, the lady that answered did answered the phone with what sounded like "Hired On, How can I help you?" which made me wonder if this company is fraudulent. I am still awaiting my driving record, and I needed it YESTERDAY (which would have made it 24 hours after I ordered it). I am thinking about finding another way to get my record if it doesn't get here today. I am really not pleased at all.

Desired Settlement: I would either like my driving record as promised, or a refund of the $32.29 that I spent waiting for it to come.

Business Response:

Ms. ******, I looked up your order and our database shows your driver record was emailed to *************************************** on 5/19 at 1:34 pm. I can re-send the email to that address or a different email address if you prefer. I can also send you a receipt email showing the record was sent on 5/19 at 1:34 pm if you like.

Regards,

**** *****

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have already filed one complaint against this company, but after trying to contact them with the phone number provided on their internet page - and getting no response - only a voice mail that says they will get back to you in 2 hours- and then didn't - I feel this is a fraudulent service

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount of $84.99 refunded to my credit card for services not rendered and failure to have a customer service line available to talk to someone

Business Response: Ms. *****, yesterday was Good Friday. Our offices were closed. Secondly, your order was submitted and processed by **** vital records on 4/2. Also, your record is scheduled to be delivered today by USPS. Here is your tracking number: **********************

I sure don't understand how our company is "fraudulent" when I am responding to you on a Saturday during a holiday weekend.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:first of all you don't have to be "snippy" with me- no one ever said I called you on good Friday - I called in the afternoon of Thursday April 2- I just didn't fill out the complaint till Friday. Don't put on your voice mail that you will return a call in 2 hrs and then not call back ever! This is not good customer service- don't say something you are not going to do.  I do have a problem with the exorbitant fee you charged when I discovered that it could be gotten for $20.00. If and when I do receive what you've sent me - I will take it to the local courthouse to make sure it is legal.  I at least expect a refund of the difference.  I have involved my credit card company in this and they will be investigating this also.  Anything you buy has at least a 3 day time where you can get out of what you've paid for legally- I don't see why you think you are any different since I am not satisfied.  If I could have talked to someone this might have been able to be resolved a little easier.  

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: I am sorry you consider my response "snippy." However, I do have the phone records that show you called on Thursday at 8:10 pm. Our business hours are 9 am to 5 pm CST. Friday was Good Friday and our offices were closed so you did not receive a return phone call.

Secondly, our fee is clearly stated on our website. We also offer you the option to order directly from the state of **** for $25 and we also provide you the link to their contact information. This link is located on our page so you can go there before you even enter any information on our site. Our fee is because we have the record processed and mailed in 24 hours.

Lastly, your record was delivered on Saturday by the US Postal Service which was two days after you ordered.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I did not make a phone call at 8:10- when I made the call at 4:00-i thought I should get a reply by 6:00 on Thursday.  Also, my credit card company has the info that I did this on Wednesday april 1st- 2 days from this should be Friday april 3rd.  I went with your company because I thought it would be quicker and I would have the info by Friday at 5:00.  I did not get this info by this time-my rates guaranteed by my travel agent expired at 5:00 pm on Friday. Now that she has had to rebook this trip - the price has gone up $400.00.  You have cost me a lot of money and I expect a full refund. I also don't understand why you are arguing with me instead of trying to make it right.  Have a little customer service PLEASE!!!
Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Date Sent: 4/7/2015 4:58:37 PM
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I did not make a phone call at 8:10- when I made the call at 4:00-i thought I should get a reply by 6:00 on Thursday.  Also, my credit card company has the info that I did this on Wednesday april 1st- 2 days from this should be Friday april 3rd.  I went with your company because I thought it would be quicker and I would have the info by Friday at 5:00.  I did not get this info by this time-my rates guaranteed by my travel agent expired at 5:00 pm on Friday. Now that she has had to rebook this trip - the price has gone up $400.00.  You have cost me a lot of money and I expect a full refund. I also don't understand why you are arguing with me instead of trying to make it right.  Have a little customer service PLEASE!!!


Regards,

***** *****

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i'm trying to get a copy of my long birth certificate, which is needed to get a passport. For whatever reason you cannot use the short one that most people have in TX. which was news to me, so I am in a hurry. I cannot upload my DL copy online and I cannot get into contact with anyone by e-mail or phone. Also, it advertised 24 hr service, and now my receipt says 3-4 days, eventhough I paid extra for faster delivery.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know if my emails were received and when to expect the form,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

From: ****** ******
Sent: Wednesday, April 08, 2015 3:08 PM
To: info

My issue has been resolved. I received an email clarifying everything that I needed to know. The business is pleasant to deal with.

 

Thanks ******

2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem is very simple and to the point. First when I was looking for the official ***** driving records site, theirs appeared as you will see BELOW which to me originaly looked like the real DPS site. It was after that I filled all my info i realized they were not the real deal. SEE how it appears online...tell me if that is not bate and switch?? ***** *** Driving Record - **********? ********** ***** *** Driver Record Online. Receive in 24 hrs. Order now! You can clearly see the bate and switch but not right away....anyway without looking at all the micro details I completed the form with all of my details such as my license the 4 last digits of my ss name and address. Once I typed all that and hit the I agree box I did not see anything else such as payment and or anything ...My question is what happened to this info and why are they playing this game? Number one the don't answer the phone and two they are lying about who they are and do. CAN SOMEONE LOOK INTO IT...My personal info it's in their hands and GOD only knows how will they use it... Thank you!

Desired Settlement: I don't want them to be using my name and all of the personal info that they stole and using it for any reason and purpose.. PERIOD.....and STOP using the legal DPS site and then say we are a 3rd party bs....that's wrong. We are all busy and don't always read the fine print they don't need to exploit that part...

Business Response: Thank you for your inquiry. ********** has been in business since 2004 and we have had the pleasure of assisting thousands of people in obtaining their ***** state records quickly and securely. We have also been an A+ member of the BBB for many years.

Regarding your statement that we are "bate and switch", the definition of bait and switch is advertising a product then attempting to sell an inferior product at a higher price. We do not do this. We offer official ***** documents that can be used for legal purposes in 24 hours or less. All our products are official, state sealed documents. We differ from the State of ***** website because we offer 24 hour service and multiple delivery methods. By the way, the State of ***** website is www.texas.gov. All government agency websites end in .gov. And for the record, we have been offering our services online BEFORE the State of ***** even had a website.

Secondly, in no way do we hide the fact we are not associated with a government agency. You do not have to "read the fine print" as you say to understand this fact. In bold letters on our landing page, it states "********** is not affiliated with any government agency". It is directly next to the Continue button which you must click to even get to the registration page. We then require you to click a box stating you have read our Terms of Service, which again, re-iterates that we are not associated with any government agency. 

Third, WE NEVER EVER SELL ANY OF OUR CUSTOMERS INFORMATION. EVER. You would have also learned this if you had read the Terms and Service. 

Finally, we do not have any of your personal information because you never actually purchased a product. The only way we can receive the information you input on our website is if you purchase a record. You did not, so we do not have any of your information.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me at *****************

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically, I used them to order my driving record. I thought I was going through the government website. Not only was I charged over $32, I found out the actually dps site charges $12 and gets the information online faster. Not happy at all. (In fairness, I did get the record. I just felt they where gouging the consumer. Not sure if they're legit or not.)

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least $20.95. And removal off of any spam/newsletter/et al lists.

Business Response: Hello,

I am sorry you did not see our multiple statements indicating we are a third party. We assist people in getting driver records, birth certificates, etc. through electronic means. The majority of our customers use tablets, ipads, and phones to order their record from us via email. This cannot be done on the state of Texas website, you must have a printer. 

Again, I apologize for the confusion and will happily refund the difference between our cost $32.29 and the $12 the state charges. I will refund your account a total of $20.29 immediately. If you have any further questions please contact me at you convenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******


Thanx!

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am unable to contact tx-dps.com via phone or email to get a status on my order through their stated means of communication through those media.

Desired Settlement: I want to know the status of my order which I spent approximately a little over $50 on.

Consumer Response:

 This email resolves my complaint for lack of contact via telephone in complaint number #*******.  I simply wanted to be appraised of the status of my order.

 

Thank you,

 

******* *****

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wanted to order Official Certified 3A DPS Driver Record. Found their website. The price for this service after taxes and electronic delivery charge is $32.29. This website provides link to ********* with large, clear text that says delivery by mail 4-6 weeks for $10. This website does not mention that ********* also offers electronic delivery for free. The link to ********* takes the user to mail-in form, but of course anyone navigating to ********* on their own would find the electronic request form instead of this archaic mail-in form. The advertising focuses only on ********* mailing form which is misleading. Also the cost premium over ********* for the SAME EXACT SERVICE is absurd.

Desired Settlement: I want refund such that ****** recovers its cost which I assume is either $10 or $12 so I expect around $20 refund.

Business Response: Mr. ****** received a refund of $20.29 on 10/*/13.  Please see the attached receipt showing the return.

9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a birth certificate for my daughter over two weeks ago. It cost me $125.00 to have shipped overnight. I still have not received it. At first they sent me a false tracking number, I was unable to reach anyone on the phone or via email. They finally sent me a proper tracking number but now it is lost. I tried every day for a week to call these people and nobody called me back. They had no problem taking my money right away. Yet they continue not to deliver. If you do need a birth certificate from ***** I suggest you just go there yourself. I now do not trust this company and am afraid they are committing credit card fraud. If any one reads this ------DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY----! They have absolutely no customer service at all. They have not offered me a refund or even just said they are sorry. When people order these documents they are for something important generally. ************** does just not care. If they do not correct this situation soon I will be calling the police. I have already talked to them and this is credit card fraud. So beware!

Desired Settlement: An apology and a complete refund.

Business Response: Dear Sir or Madam,

*** has put a "tracer" on you package because they have lost it.  I have attached a copy of the tracer form from *** with your tracking number.  I can either get you a new copy of the birth certificate or refund your account.  I apologize for the inconvenience.

4/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service