Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hill Country Outdoor Power

Phone: (512) 288-4282 Fax: (512) 288-7887 12014 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78737 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers Lawn & Garden equipment, parts,  accessories and service for over 30 major outdoor power equipment brands, including: STIHL, Toro, Cub Cadet, Husqvarna, Honda, Exmark, Echo, Scag, Snapper, Troy-bilt, MTD, Kawasaki, Briggs & Stratton, and Kohler Engines.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hill Country Outdoor Power meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hill Country Outdoor Power
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2003 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 02/05/2003 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Lise Harding, Director Mr. Douglas A Hooks, Managing Member Ms. Jessica Poer , Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lise Harding, Director
Principal: Mr. Douglas A Hooks, Managing Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Jessica Poer , Office Manager
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn Mowers Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair Internet Shopping Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts

Products & Services

Hill Country Outdoor Power sells the following brand(s): Briggs & Stratton, Cub Cadet, Echo, Exmark, Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, Kohler Engines, MTD, Scag, Snapper, STIHL, Toro, Troy-bilt

Hill Country Outdoor Power offers the following product(s): Chainsaws, Generators, Hedge Trimmers, Lawn & Garden Tractors, Pole Saws, Riding Mowers, String Trimmers, Tillers, Walk-Behind Mowers

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Cashiers Check, Business Check or local-area Personal Check.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Customers have 7 days from date of sale (or date of delivery) to return new, unused, resalable parts or equipment for a full refund.
Alternate Business Names
Additional Information

HCOP offers Lawn & Garden Equipment, Parts, Accessories and Service for most of the major outdoor power equipment brands. offers genuine OEM parts for 25 major brands and equipment for Husqvarna and Kawasaki.  This company can deliver.

Industry Tips
Lawn Care and Lawn Care Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hill Country Outdoor Power has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12014 W Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78737 (512) 288-4282


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this company (DBA Parts Tree) twice online asking for information on String trimmer. I need a fuel line diagram & kill switch wring, this is on a McCulloch MT700 string trimmer there is no other information on this trimmer.

Desired Settlement: I just want the information I have requested twice but never received a return reply. I am willing to pay a reasonable fee for this information if required.

Business Response:

Dear Mr *****,  Thank you for your inquiry. We are very sorry to hear that you have been experiencing an issue with our 'Contact Us' form. In reviewing our email server records, we do see two inquiries from your email address (********** on 9/18 and 9/22. Unfortunately, our attempts to write you back have been unsuccessful as our emails were rejected by your email server. I am also sorry you have been unable to complete a purchase with us because of an issue with locating parts for your McCulloch MT700 String Trimmer on our website. We would like to help you complete your purchase and get your string trimmer up and running again.

Could I ask that you please call our Customer Care team at ************ so that we can ensure we are providing the best customer service possible? Also, before you call, could you please find one more bit of information on your string trimmer, it is the manufacturer's model number (not the marketing model number, the MT700). It should look something like one of the four examples listed below. The PartsTree Customer Service agent will need to know this more specific number in order to best assist you...

***** (***********) - McCulloch String Trimmer (2003-2007)
***** (***********) - McCulloch String Trimmer (2003-2007)
***** (***********) - McCulloch String Trimmer (2003-2007)
***** (***********) - McCulloch String Trimmer (2003-2007)

When you call, you are welcome to ask for *******, she is our Customer Relationship Manager and she is already up-to-speed on your issue.

Thank you very much and we look forward to hearing from you! **** *******, VP of Sales & Marketing

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my part for my mower over a week ago. The part cost $11 I paid a extra $34 to expedite the part to me because I have yards to mow. 3 or 4 days later I get a email saying the part is back ordered basically. I emailed them back stating how upset I was. I had a person I had to send home. A week later the people that manufacturior the part do have the part. I get how they have over 40,000 parts. I really don't care how many they have. Don't solve my issue.i have no idea when I will get the part. Right now I'm guessing over 2 weeks. I don't feel they should sell a part the don't have then to offer 2 or 3 day shipping for $34 more dollars when that can not happen. They take your phone number but when it's a call that they should have done to let me know so I can deside if I want to cancel the order. But no now I'm stuck I have to wait.

Desired Settlement: I would like tracking numbers so I can know when it's coming. I feel I should be refunded the extra money I paid in shipping and they need to overnight my part.... I'm feeling the pain they should also. There ordering procedure need to reflect current inventory so the customer can have the choice to order from someone else. Not take your money then tell you 4 days later sorry we don't have your part.....

Business Response: Customer ******* placed an order on the PartsTree website after hours at 6:20PM CST on Friday, August 14th.  The part he requested to be sent via 2nd Day Air was not in stock,
and he was notified of this by email less than one business day later on Sunday, August 16th.  The email stated that the part he ordered was not on-hand and that out-of-stock parts
typically take between 2-6 business days to arrive.  Customer did not contact until Friday, August 21st, when he sent a profanity-laden email which expressed his extreme
displeasure with PartsTree.  The PartsTree response regarding stock levels and the estimated ship time to him was met with another hostile email demanding free overnight shipping.  PartsTree
terms and conditions state that shipping time frames do not include fulfillment time frames for non-stocking items and this is also stated on the shipping method page during the checkout
process on the website.  PartsTree does not charge customers for any orders until the parts ship, and customer ******* was free to cancel his order or adjust his shipping method at any
time while PartsTree was waiting for his part to arrive from the manufacturer, with no penalty to him and no additional charge to his credit card.  After speaking with customer ******* by
phone on Monday, August 25th, PartsTree sent his order out via overnight service with A.M. delivery for a fee of only $7.95, which is PartsTree’s lower charge for standard shipping.  His
package was delivered to him by UPS at 9:06 A.M. on Wednesday, August 26th.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
i called parts tree Tuesday the 25th I talked to the lady and the part was in. She said she would try to get it shipped out that day. Now i had to wait almost a week and a half. I call and the part just happen to be sitting there. 
Why wasn't it sent out right when it had arrived? Who ever was writing the emails needs to find another job or someone was living to me. I still haven't received a answer wa
hey I was never called about this? I had to fill out my phone number 3 times. If they don't call for this then what would they call for? 
Im not a happy customer. Someone has lied to me. Me calling and them saying the part is on there shelf pretty much proves it. Now don't forget to check the conversation. 


***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hill Country Outdoor Power
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart