Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hill Horticulture Inc

Phone: 2104946469x227 Fax: (210) 494-3831 View Additional Phone Numbers 12488 S US Highway 181, San Antonio, TX 78223 http://www.hillhorticulture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hill Horticulture Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hill Horticulture Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hill Horticulture Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2009 Business started: 12/01/1993 Business started locally: 12/01/1993 Business incorporated 12/22/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin TX 78711
www.tceq.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 239-1000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Moreno III, President Ms. Cristina Moreno, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Moreno III, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Patio & Deck Builders Hardscapes Artificial Turf Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Irrigation Consultants Irrigation Systems & Equipment Contractors - Retaining Wall

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: Closed
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Advice on choosing a lawn care company Landscaping tips Lawn Care and Lawn Care Services Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hill Horticulture Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12488 S US Highway 181

    San Antonio, TX 78223 (800) 216-5191 2104946469222 (210) 421-5701 (210) 998-9886 2104946469x227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the start, everything seemed to be OK regarding communication. Once the decision was made to accept a project, communication started to decline. The customer service I received from my project manager was the absolute worst! He made the entire experience regretful once I started to state my concerns. At first I felt confident working with this company, but I wish now I would have not accepted a project with them. I did make some changes and I accept that, but everything was clear and placed in a contract. After deciding not to opt for artificial grass, I decided to use St. Augustine for the areas I wanted "green". Because I have placed grass in several homes in my past, I requested to have the soil tilled due to the hardness of the dirt and the planting of grass late in season. On day one of the project the tiller broke and I was told it would be done the following day. Most everyone in the company seemed nice, but I personally don't think they are true to their word. I was told the area requested would be tilled by machine or by hand. I prefer by machine because it is not as thorough when done manually. Plus, my contract stated it would be tilled. Because the tiller was on site day 1 of the project, I figured there would be no issue in returning with a machine tiller on the second day. On day 2 of the project, my spouse was at home while I was at work and she said that 15 minutes after the crew arrived, lawn dressing was being placed on the dirt. She said there was absolutely no tilling involved. Rock placement complete, drainage site area dug, lawn dressing placed, and sod laid. I tried to contact the office before 5, but they close at 3 on Fridays apparently

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a discount for non adherence the contract....or the sod can be removed, the soil MACHINE tilled, and then sod (undamaged) replaced all in the same day.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I recently filed a complaint with Hill Horticulture (complaint ID # ********) and need to mark the complaint as resolved. I spoke with the president this morning and explained my concerns/expectations on completion. I also mentioned that I had try to reach someone prior to the close of business on 31, but had no luck.  Regardless, the issue was resolved professionally and appropriately. Thank you for your time. 

******

 

 

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** from Hill Horticulture came to our home about xeriscaping and redoing a retaining wall on our property. She had presented the barrier their company uses has been used of golf courses, rich homes up in the hills; we would never have to worry about weeds or grass again. She saw were are both disabled veterans and require the use of a wheelchair when we leave our home. We paid and had the retraining wall was paid for and completed months before the yard was touched. She saw when she came to set up date for yard that we had a wheelchair ramp installed at the front door. Again I repeated my wife is allergic to grass to the point of EPI pen use. We wanted the yard zero maintenance, and she said the company could do it for $18.000 ish. This would be rocks in the entire yard, two inches of yard pulled up to get rid of grass, barrier would be laid down and in the area designated in the back yard fake grass (can't remember official name) would be put in. The front yard was dug up about two inches prior to barrier laid down then rocks; since then no weeds. Left side of front yard (when looking at home from street) and entire back yard except where fake grass is-----NO< THERE WAS STILL GRASS WHEN BARRIER WAS LAID DOWN>. I told the crew member who spoke little English & crew changed during week there was grass still, it was not dead. He told me they were told to rush and hurry up on getting the job down. When I called, the Foreman's supervisor said I most of misunderstood the gentleman, really so you are sending people out who are unable to speak English, wondering then if these workers are legally here in Texas? I stated I have grass still in my yard and the following Monday after the week the job was accomplished the foreman came out even though I did not want to speak to him, I asked for the owner who still have yet to speak to. The foreman's supervisor said via phone after I showed the foreman all the areas with grass growing through the barrier and one area the barrier is basically missing. Today the area is still missing part of the barrier. The supervisor said he would send a person out (the last two weeks of May until the end of July) to spray grass and weed killer of the rocks. I do not see how this is going to help. After this last rains & floods last week I have numerous areas of grass coming through; I can send pictures if you wish. I feel I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: WE DO NOT WANT TO SPEAK TO THE COMPANY Since the company seems to think their job is done and since the contract did not specify digging of the yard except in that one patch then the grass killer would work. Obliviously it has NOT!!!!! You can look at www.domyownpestcontrol.com there is a chemical called TVC, total vegetation control and it is pet safe and can be painted with a brush on the grass around my five fruit trees. I would need four bottles of this and two bottles of the non-ionic surfactant for herbicides at a total of $294 (free shipping) and pay someone labor to apply this over a week on my yard which would cost about $150. Since wife and I are not able to do the work ourselves. I feel the conversation ***** had with us on numerous occasions when she came over to show plans and cost of options for yard; she said the crew would dig up the ground, get rid of the existing layer of grass, spray weed & grass killer then lay down their patented weed barrier which is a white cloth like a cotton ball and then cover it with rocks. Overall result would be a southwestern look with no need to mow, weed, and or maintain anything. Yes every once in a while a weed might fly in and try to grown, spray it and it is gone. I have pictures showing since the grass was not eliminated in the beginning I was grass, weeds, and ruined barrier. The company does not want to own up, the supervisor never came over to look, the owner who I asked to speak to twice---we never spoke. Day after, I called ***** and told her the grass was never eliminated and in addition to the pictures I sent her during the work being done, it is not what I asked for. I have a security camera unit, I can sit on my couch and watch the crew out front, back yard, etc. and I told the company this (***** knew since she was in my home). I told them I basically paid a years worth of money since my wife and I are disabled veterans, no retirement check from military due to military deciding to medical separation instead of retirement which is a way for the military admitting yes we screwed you up but do not want to pay completely for it. We informed her we are on a set income every month of VA disability and Social Security Income and we have a 17 year old (who just graduated) and an 11 year old going into 6th grade, she meet them one time when she was here on a day there was no school. Why would I give almost a years worth of income for a shady job, I could have paid less by renting the equipment, buying the materials and having college students do the work-----I did this for my fence.

Business Response: Hello,

We did everything that was on our estimate and more (see attached estimate).  When the materials were not sufficient to finish the work we provided the remainder of the materials at no cost to the customer.  When he was complaining after the job was completed I sent my landscape supervisor and a crew to meet with him to resolve the issue.  I spoke with him over the phone when my supervisor was there and I offered to have a crew stop by and spray his yard till July, just in case some weeds came thru the filter fabric.  I emailed him the dates, which he responded to and asked me to move one and he still was not there.  There is nothing available to completely eliminate weeds, if there was there would no more weeds to deal with.  Our customer is trying to get something for nothing and is using his unfortunate condition to appeal to all.  We have done our job and have done it well.  If the $500 the customer wants will resolve the issue then we will pay it.  We have no interest in going back and doing any of the work for him and we would require a full apology from him.


Calling people illegal is uncalled for, regardless of your previous military status.  I too am a veteran and I understand that does not give me the right to treat others badly, because I think they owe me something. 

**** ****** ***
Hill Horticulture, Inc.
Owner

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

          For the owner to state there is no chemical to kill weeds completely then he should review the two items I referenced in the first e-mail. No way was I trying to sound as I was playing the "oh woe is me game". It sounded per ***** this was a one time killing of grass and weeds then every few months spray when one tries to plant itself. She knew we were getting rid of all of our yard tools when we purchased the retaining wall to be redone last year. Why would you say I was accusing you of hiring illegals, well that was do to no one being on the crew who spoke English. Then you say I wonder why no one spoke English and then when we called you to question your Foreman's supervisor says "you must of misunderstood him". The owner and next after him never came over to see BUT only took word of their employees basically saying we were lying. There are more pictures to prove the grass was never removed when the barriers were laid down with rocks on top. The barriers were not aligned b overlapping to avoid gaps instead there are gaps with openings were the grass and weeds are growing out of. I do not like to complain BUT if you were prior military to you would understand "service before self", "integrity in all we do" should explain why I would expect him to understood you provide what your sales people say to others. If you do not want work verbal statements then you should have written information stating facts, we stated if we needed more to ensure grass would be gone then we would wait a little longer. I will have someone else apply the chemicals to get rid of grass and weeds.
Regards,

***** & ***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hill Horticulture Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart