BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers jewelry manufacturing, distribution of jewelry tools, equipment & findings in 14K & sterling. We are a retailer and wholesaler of finished jewelry and beads in sterling, 14K and semi precious stones. Wey provide services in custom jewelry using gold and stones provided by the customers or purchased our store, as well as services in bead and pearl stringing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Casa de Oro Jewelers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Casa de Oro Jewelers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Casa de Oro Jewelers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 16, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 05/17/1982 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. M D Schade, President Mr. Terry Schade, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. M D Schade, President
Business Category

Jewelry Designers Diamond Cutters Diamond Setters Gold Leaf Gold Stamping Jewelry Manufacturers


Additional Locations

  • 4940 Gollihar Rd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancee had my engagement ring custom designed and made at Casa de Oro in December of 2013. When we began looking for wedding bands in the past month we realized that the design of the ring made it impossible to fit a wedding band alongside the engagement ring. We tried several styles of rings but were told that we would need to have the engagement ring adjusted or have a band custom made. We made an appointment with ***** at Casa de Oro, who my fiancee met and designed the ring with in the first place, and met with him on Saturday, August 16th. When we explained what we were looking to do, he told us that our options were to have a wedding band custom made or have the band of the engagement ring reshaped. We decided on the latter when he explained the process and gave us an initial quote of around $100 for the work. He also gave us a quote for around $700 for a wedding band and the work. I told him that were going to wait to decide on a wedding band because we hadn't planned on spending that much. We left the ring with *****, and he told us that he would talk to the jeweler on Tuesday when he was back in the shop, and call to let us know exactly what the cost of the work would be. On Tuesday the 19th, when I spoke with ***** he quoted $450 for the work and a wedding band. When I reiterated that we were just interested in the work on the existing engagement ring he told me that "the ring was $100 and the work was going to be $350." When I asked him how the price of the work had gone from "maybe $100" to $350 he told me that after talking to the jeweler, that was the quote for the work. I was shocked and frustrated so I had my fiancee pick up the ring the same day. I took my ring into another jeweler this morning, August 20th, who quoted me $50 for all of the work, offered to design a band, but didn't pressure me at all when I told him that I just wanted the band of the engagement ring reshaped. I'm beyond disappointed in the service and the pushy salesmanship from Casa de Oro. When my fiancee called to express his disappointment, he talked to the jeweler (finally) instead of the salesman, *****. The jeweler claimed that the quote for the work was supposed to have been $150, which at one point, we would have willingly paid. When my fiancee told him that after discussion with another jeweler, that any changes to a custom made ring shouldn't cost us anything to begin with, the jeweler went on to tell my fiancee that if he had been the one to sit down and talk to him about the ring, he would have let him know that the shape of the band on the engagement ring would make it difficult to fit a band that wasn't custom designed as well. Unfortunately, the jeweler did not sit down with my fiancee himself, ***** handled all of the interactions. I feel that they misled us in designing a ring that would need a custom band without disclosing that information in the first place. I also absolutely believe that ***** changed the quoted prices of the labor in order to make more money when we told him that we weren't going to purchase a wedding band at Casa de Oro. I have confirmed with another jeweler, that the work on my engagement ring is minimal and that it is not in the best practice of a jeweler to overcharge, or even charge for work on a ring that was custom designed and purchased, especially after spending thousands of dollars on the ring. After these recent interactions, we are both disappointed and also wary about information given to my fiancee at the time he purchased my engagement ring.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that Casa de Oro reimburse us for the charges incurred to have adjustments made to my engagement ring. We are also requesting any gemstone certification for the stones used in my engagement ring. Finally, we request that Casa de Oro pay for an appraisal on the ring, with the appraiser to be chosen by us or the Better Business Bureau.

Business Response: Please find our attached response.

Sincerely,
 
***** ****** ******** ***** * **********


Casa de Oro Jewelers (CDO) custom designed a ring for ***** ******* in December 2014.  The design was based entirely on a picture that the client, ***** had brought in as an example.  The ring design was completed using the latest in technology, CAD/CAM.   One of the major benefits of CAD is it offers a digital render of the ring before any manufacturing actually takes place.  Therefore, the client can see a picture of the finished product, at every angle, before any manufacturing begins and either approve the design or make changes.  The final rendition of the ring was approved and the ring was picked up 12/21/14.

Now in August 2014, I received a phone call from **** *****.  She wanted to set up an appointment to discuss a custom band for the ring purchased in December.   This appointment on 8/16/14 was non-eventful and went as explained by *** *****.  I wanted to discuss the labor with my bench jeweler and figure out a way to help the clients, so I gave an estimate to the clients and said I would have a firm quote on Tuesday, August 19th.

Tuesday, August 19th, *** ***** calls to see if we had information regarding her ring. I relayed several options to her, one of which included a custom ring for $450, which included about $100 in labor on the current ring.  The statement she makes concerning $350, was an alterative to completely redesign and manufacture the current ring at a discounted rate.  I stated I would not redesign the ring at no charge because ***** approved the original design and they had happily enjoyed the ring for eight months.  *** ***** said she would discuss the information with her fiancé and ***** picked up the ring that afternoon.

On Wednesday morning, August 21, ***** called to discuss the band.  After some initial discussion, I explained that the numbers he was quoting were not accurate.  After not being able to resolve the situation, I instructed my Graduate Jeweler Gemologist (GIA), ***** ******, to speak with the customer and see if he could better explain the work to be accomplished and other options available.  I was under the impression the conversation did not resolve the situation; however, we were still completely willing to work with *** ******* and his situation.

An hour or so after this conversation, *** ***** calls and asks for the gem certificates.  I explained to her the stones purchased for the original custom ring were not certified and asked what she needed them for, her response was insurance.  I explained what she may be looking for was an appraisal and I wanted to look some information up for **** and I had another matter I needed to tend to.  I asked *** ***** for her phone number and told her I would call her back. 

When I tried to contact *** ***** that afternoon, the number she gave me came back as a non-working number; therefore, I called ***** and left a voicemail, asking to return my call.  When ***** returned my call a short time later – I explained gem certificates and what they were.  He stated he thought he might need an appraisal and not certificates.  I told him he should discuss the matter with the agent that handles his homeowners or renters insurance policy, to clarify what he needed and I would be more than happy to help him out.  After this initial discussion, I attempted to resolve the original situation.  I explained to *****, I could sense some dissatisfaction.  I explained we have been a small, family owned business for over 35 years and it was important to me that he be happy with the products and services he receives from us.  After several minutes of listening to him berate me, my business, and my jeweler, I simply asked *****, “What do you want?  What do you want me to do to resolve this situation?”  His answer was, “I want $50 to reimburse me for work another jeweler did on this ring.”  My answer was, “No,” and he hang up.  He quickly called back and told be he was going to file a complaint with the BBB.  That is where all conversations end, yesterday at approximately 4:00pm.

In regards to the desired settlement, I explained to *** ******* I would not pay for another jeweler to do any work.  We have one of the most experienced, highly trained jewelers in South Texas on our staff.  There is no other Graduate Jeweler Gemologist in the Corpus Christi area or South Texas that I am aware of.  In a situation, such as this, where the structural integrity of the ring and prongs can be compromised – we cannot stand behind any work not completed by us, at CDO.

Regarding, gem certificates: it was never implied in anyway the diamonds or the sapphire were certified by any laboratory.  Unless certified stones are requested, we rely on vendor integrity for quality, we buy only from reputable, established vendors and we also verify the quality of items purchased with our staff Graduate Jeweler Gemologist.  The client stated he was on a tight budget and wanted to stay within his required budget.  Certified gem stones sell at premium to comparable non-certified stones, not only were they not in his budget at the size he wanted, they were never discussed.

I am confident the custom ring we designed and manufactured will appraise at or above the purchase price, by any respected appraiser; however, I do not feel it is within my realm of responsibility to cover this cost.

While I have empathy for ***** and ****, I do not feel CDO was given a fair chance to right this situation.  The ring was modified by an outside jeweler within 24 hours of our initial discussions on Tuesday, August 19th.  We take great pride in our work and have been an independent, family owned jeweler for about 35 years – our integrity is and always has been of the utmost importance to us.

***** ****** ********* ***** *** **********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There is absolutely no resolution in the response we received from ***** ******, from Casa de Oro. He has manipulated and fabricated the content of conversations that we had with him, while absolutely disregarding his and his company's responsibility in this matter. 

 
The biggest complaint that we have about ***** ****** and his business, is that he is supposed to be the professional. I do not expect someone with no experience in my field of work to understand all aspects of it, therefore, when a new customer comes to me, it is my duty to explain my service to them to the fullest extent. ***** ****** did not do that for my fiancee when he purchased my engagement ring from Casa de Oro. He made assumptions based on what he later referred to (phone conversations 8/20/14) as current trends. He treated the design of our ring as final, without fully explaining the degree of difficulty that we would have in finding a wedding band that would fit with it. This fact meant that we would have to either have to have a custom designed wedding band, or work done to the existing ring. He told my fiancee in their phone conversation on the 20th that "a lot of people don't even wear wedding bands anymore. My wife doesn't wear one." -That was his justification for going through the design of a ring without a thought as to what we, the customers, might want. When my fiancee spoke the the jeweler, he told my fiancee that if he had been the one to sit down and discuss the design of the engagement ring, he would have (and should have) discussed with him the specifications of the design and the fact that the ring would not fit with a traditional band. Unfortunately, ***** ******, who is a salesman, not a jeweler, was my fiancee's direct contact when designing the ring. Our only fault in the design of the ring was in trusting that my fiancee was speaking to an honest, upfront salesperson; and not requesting to talk to the jeweler himself. I would like to reiterate that the jeweler with Casa de Oro did an excellent job in the building of my engagement ring. It is unfortunate that my fiancee did not deal with him personally so that none of this would have been an issue. But again, ***** ****** was the point of contact, which at this point, I am positive is by design, in case of complaints such as ours. 
 
After speaking with another jeweler, we became aware that the work that needed to be done on the engagement ring in order to have it fitted with a band, was well under the quoted cost from ***** ****** and Casa de Oro. His comment " I relayed several options to her, one of which included a custom ring for $450, which included about $100 in labor on the current ring.  The statement she makes concerning $350, was an alterative to completely redesign and manufacture the current ring at a discounted rate.  I stated I would not redesign the ring at no charge because ***** approved the original design and they had happily enjoyed the ring for eight months." is completely without merit. He also said nothing about *****'s approval of the ring and our enjoyment one way or another. He quoted $450 as a rate for a wedding band and the work on my ring, after giving us a quote of "about $100" 4 days prior. So when I told him that we were only interested in the work for the time being he stated that the work would cost $350, and the wedding band was $100. At that point, I told him that I did not understand the difference in price and that I wanted to discuss the options with my fiancee. I had him pick the ring up and we decided to get a second opinion on the cost of the work. We let ***** know that we had received a quote for less than his original quote and MUCH less than his adjusted quote. At this point, my fiancee talked to the jeweler who stated that it was a misunderstanding and that the work on my existing engagement ring would be $150. This was completely contrary to what ***** ****** told me the previous day. When asked if we still wanted to have the work done, my fiancee told the jeweler that, after speaking with another jeweler, that the only way we would have any more work done at Casa de Oro was at no cost to us, as my fiancee was mislead when he when he originally went in to Casa de Oro to have the engagement ring custom designed. Leaving out important information because of ***** ******'s assumptions based on his opinion of current trends, is unethical.
 
In regards to my request on the 20th for any available certificates for the stones in my ring, ***** told me that he would have to double check his records and call me back, but he didn't believe that they were verified stones because of the cost. ***** was incredibly condescending about the fact that the cost of my ring was an indicator as to the stones not being verified. I gave ***** my cell phone number, which was working all day and did not hear back from him. When he couldn't get a hold of me, he called my fiancee and left a message. When my fiancee called Casa de Oro back, ***** informed him that the stones were not certifiable, but if we were looking for information for insurance purposes we would need to have an appraisal done. At this point ***** engaged my fiancee in further conversation about our dissatisfaction with Casa de Oro by stating that he didn't understand what our frustration was. At which time my fiancee told *****, that he felt that they had done us a disservice by not going over the information I addressed in my previous paragraph. ***** also told a bold faced lie in his response here with the BBB when he stated that my fiancee "berated him, his business, and his jeweler." ***** ****** also lied by saying that my fiancee hung up on him. When ***** asked my fiancee a final time what they could do to fix this situation, my fiancee told him that we were having the work done elsewhere, and the only way to fix it would be for Casa de Oro to reimburse us for work they should have done in the first place, at which point ***** told my fiancee that Casa de Oro would not reimburse us for another jewelers work and that he couldn't help us and ***** hung up on my fiancee. After being hung up on, my fiancee did call Casa de Oro back a final time to let ***** know that we would be filing a report with the BBB. 
 
After speaking to another reputable jeweler, I understand the certification process of stones. It was not something that was ever discussed with my fiancee or explained to me when I called to ask about the subject. For ***** ****** to paint my fiancee and I out as cheap, which he has absolutely done, is libel. ***** also stated that my fiancee claimed to "be on a tight budget" which is another lie. My fiancee did give ***** a budget that we were comfortable with, and *****'s comment about that being a "tight budget" is his personal opinion and one that should not have any bearing on our treatment as paying customers. 
 
***** ******'s response to my complaint is no less than what we actually expected, although the lies he told regarding our interactions with him are further proof that it was in our best interest to get the opinion of a second jeweler. I stated facts in my complaint. The compilation of events and interactions with ***** ******, along with his response to our complaint, give my fiancee and I more than enough reason to distrust interactions and conversations with ***** ****** and Casa de Oro, which is why we requested an appraisal. *****'s long-winded, or rather long-worded, supercilious business promotion is more of his absolute denial to take any responsibility for his actions, his attitude, and the poor customer service that we received once he realized that we weren't going to be a big sale. And to me, that speaks volumes about the way that Casa de Oro does business. *****'s response leaning on the "we've been a family business this long..." spiel leads me to respond with the phrase "thou doth protest too much." I also believe that it is fair to point out that while Casa de Oro has been in business as a jewelry SALES company since 1982, their website states that their jeweler came on in 1999. ***** is an aggressive salesman and their choice to not right this situations is, again, not more than we expected. 
 
We will most definitely never being doing business with Casa de Oro again, and while our initial satisfaction with the work done by the jeweler had previously given us reason to recommend Casa de Oro, not only will we NOT be giving them recommendations, but we will be telling people to run the other way. It is unfortunate that *****'s actions, response, and flat out libel have such a negative impact because the jeweler who works for him deserves better and customers deserve better. 
 
And while I sincerely hope that his comment "I am confident the custom ring we designed and manufactured will appraise at or above the purchase price, by any respected appraiser..." holds true, we will be having it appraised by an objective, reputable appraiser, as we currently have no reason to trust ***** ******. If we find otherwise, we will again, report his underhanded tactics to the BBB and possibly retain legal services if necessary. 
 
So to *****, I'm sorry that our budget and income bracket gave you cause to treat us as less-than, but I can assure you that I will not stand by and be lied to and about, nor taken advantage of. 
 
Regards,
********* *****

Business Response: Attached you will find the our response on 8/23/14.

Thank you.

I have read the recent complaint on Casa de Oro filed by ********* ***** with the Better Business Bureau.  I have also reviewed the reply by ***** ****** and the rebuttal by **** *****.  I have had no involvement in this issue except to have answered the telephone when **** ***** called a few days ago saying that we had recently made her engagement ring.  She wished to discuss a wedding band to go with it.  I referred the phone call to ***** who is responsible for the CAD function (computer aided design) since this was the logical place to start.  **** ***** states that her biggest complaint is that *****’s actions were not professional.  She feels he did not act in a manner by word or deed that instilled confidence about Casa de Oro.  It is obvious that there were numerous separate conversations involving four different individuals, between only two people at a time, mostly over the telephone.  It is not surprising that with this many different conversations there could be miscommunication and misunderstandings.  I will not attempt to analyze this and can only apologize for these misunderstandings and any words that **** ***** feels offensive.  The reference to a tight budget is certainly not intended to be offensive as every customer has a budget they would like to follow whether it is $30.00 or $30,000.

**** ***** is somewhat confused about Casa de Oro personnel and who has provided what assistance to her and her fiancé ***** *******.  The person who assisted ***** in the design of the original ring was **** ****** not *****.  **** initially met with **** ***** and *** ******* to discuss the ring.  *** ******* later sent pictures by email on November 26th to ***** to give an indication of what was desired.  ***** sent several pictures from CAD of different approaches in design for the proposed ring.  The finished ring design closely followed the picture we were furnished.  ***** also discussed by phone and email with *** *******, the appearance and cost of different size sapphires to determine what size and price point would be appropriate.  All other dealings were with ****.  *** ****** has been a jeweler since 1980.  His training is with the Gemological Institute of America and American Gem Society, receiving designation as a Registered Jeweler in 1983.  He worked for 18 years on the jeweler’s bench in his family’s business in Colorado before joining Casa de Oro.  *** ******* dealt with **** later when picking up the ring.  The original triangle side diamonds were not a satisfactory color.  **** ordered new diamonds and replaced the stones originally in the ring.  *** ******* again met with **** on December 21st when he picked up the ring.  While **** functions as sales manager at Casa de Oro it would not be appropriate to consider him just a salesman.

**** ***** refers to Casa de Oro as a “sales” company until ***** ****** joined us in 1999.  The beginning of Casa de Oro was actually in the mid 1970s.  Casa de Oro, Inc. was incorporated in 1982.  We have employed several jewelers over those years and were active in manufacturing on a wholesale and retail level before ***** joined us.  I appreciate **** *****’s compliments of the workmanship in her engagement ring.  Your nice comments on your ring reflect *****’s credentials, experience, and expertise.  Production of a quality product often involves more than one individual.  We take pride in the knowledge and ability of all of our staff members and strive to provide the service to go with our products.  This is one reason the CAD system allows final pictures for the customer approval before manufacturing.

Considering the wording and tone of **** *****’s reply it is probable that my apologies will not be well received for the confusion and treatment she feels that she received.  It is certainly not the impression that my wife and I have attempted to create in the years since Casa de Oro was founded.  I regret that since she felt ***** was a salesman and that the jeweler worked for him, she did not seek a higher management level to voice her complaint or seek satisfaction before seeking out other jewelers.  **** ***** requested three items as a desired settlement for her complaint.

1. Reimbursement for the charges she incurred for adjustments to her ring.
My understanding is that **** ***** paid $50.00 to another jeweler to make adjustments to the original ring.  Please bring the receipt and the ring to me for reimbursement.  The ring will be inspected to ensure that any adjustments made did not alter the structural integrity especially before any appraisal is made by a third party.

2. Any gemstone certifications for the stones in her ring.
As previously stated these were not certified stones.  Regardless of any budget restraints, obtaining laboratory certifications for stones such as these is not a common practice in the industry.  We rely on our two highly trained and experienced gemologists to pass judgment on stones and to verify the quality assigned by the vendor.  Jewelers who do not have gemologists on staff rely on the integrity of the vendor.

3. Request that Casa de Oro pay for a third party appraisal.
Casa de Oro will prepare and furnish to you an appraisal of your ring at no cost to you.  It will be signed by a GIA trained “Graduate Jeweler Gemologist”.  You should find this document will meet the requirements of any insurance company.  You will then be able to take your ring and this document to any appraiser, gemologist, or reputable jeweler of your choice for a second opinion. 

For over 35 years Casa de Oro has been creating, selling, and repairing fine jewelry.  Our satisfied customer list is in the thousands.  It is not easy to accept the fact that you are not one of them.  However, you now own a fine piece of jewelry that you have worn proudly for the past 8 months.  I hope you will continue to enjoy this ring and that it will somewhat overshadow the recent unpleasant circumstances.


**** ****** ***
Casa de Oro, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

After a response from *** **** ******, I feel much better about the integrity of Casa de Oro. There was obviously some miscommunication about who my fiancee originally worked with to design the ring, but again, we were very happy with the finished product. It was the lack of information about the shape/design/fit with a wedding band that was frustrating. 

 
I do better understand the information our current jeweler, and the information from **** in regards to the stone certification process. I understand and accept that the integrity of the stones is something that their GIA trained, Graduate Jeweler Gemologist takes very seriously. Our only doubts in this matter came from our interactions with *****. I was under the impression because of his previous statements and his personal presentation that he was the person in charge at Casa de Oro. I do regret not researching this further before filing a complaint and speaking directly with **** ******. I am sure that this would have been a much better resolution and I would have more carefully worded any complaints to be directed towards our interactions with ***** instead of blaming Casa de Oro as a whole. Again, his representation of himself as the ********** of Casa de Oro made this confusing, but I am content to work with Casa de Oro as long as any further interactions are with **** ******. 
 
I appreciate ****'s offer to reimburse us for the work done to my ring. I will have my fiancee bring it in, along with the receipt, and I believe that you will find that the work done was minimal and has not affected the integrity of the ring itself. I would also appreciate the appraisal done for our insurance policy. 
 
Again, I appreciate **** ******'s professional and kind response. I regret that we did not call him directly when we first felt that we had a problem.
Regards,
********* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the store (Casa de Oro) to get the battery changed on a watch. The watch in question is Freestyle tide 3.0 color:black. This watch is rated for 100 meters water resistance and is advertised for water sports. The watch is valued at $110. I have had this watch for at least 2 years and I have used it numerous times for surfing and SCUBA diving. I got the battery on the watch changed on 4/23/13 at Casa de Oro. After the battery changed the watch performed perfectly. I went surfing with the watch either the next Saturday or the Saturday after that, I can not remember which. This was the first time the watch had been in the water since the battery was changed. When I was in the water I realized that the watch was dead. On 5/21/13, I took the watch in question back to Casa de Oro and told them that the watch died while I was surfing. One of the employees took the watch apart and showed me that the inside of the watch and the battery were very corroded. The employee told me that water had leaked into the watch and that the watch was destroyed. I then asked the employee if the store would reimburse me for the watch. He said that he would have to ask the owner. The employee put the watch back together and then brought me approximately 7 dollars and a receipt. I quickly counted the money and without looking at the receipt I realized they were simple reimbursing me for the battery. I told the employee that I meant that I wanted them to reimburse me for the destruction of the watch, which I think the employee already knew. He told me that it was not the stores fault that the watch broke and that it was only water resistant to 100 meters, not water proof. I informed him that I had been surfing and SCUBA diving numerous times with the watch and that the only time it broke was the first time I took it in the water after the battery change. The employee still maintained that the store was not responsible for the watches failure to keep out water. I asked to talk to the owner. The owner came out and talked to me, this was the same man who had done the original battery change. My conversation with the owner was very similar to my conversation with the other employee. Near the end of our conversation I told him that he must have made some mistake changing the battery because the water resistance failed the first time I took the watch in water since the battery change. I also informed the owner that I have taken the watch surfing and SCUBA diving many times before the battery change without incident. He told me that he remembered changing the watches battery and that he made no mistake, and that if he had made a mistake he would have told me. In short, the owner refused to refund me the money to replace the watch. It is also worth noting that I took the watch back within 30 days of the original battery change, which is within the stores return policy, which is printed on the receipt for the original battery change. I still have this receipt. In my opinion, because the store agreed to do the battery change without giving me any kind of verbal or written disclaimer, it is reasonable for me to have expected that the watches waterproofness would have been preserved after the battery change. Thank you for reviewing my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I think the just outcome would be for the store to refund me the appropriate amount of money to replace the watch. The store should also cover the sales tax that will be paid to replace the watch. The MSRP for the watch is $110, which is what I paid for the watch.

Business Response: The following is in reply to a consumer complaint shown as your case #*******.

We are a full service jewelry store in business for 35 years.  We replace watch batteries for customers as a regular service.  However we are also a battery distributer for ******.  This means we not only sell individual batteries to consumers but also wholesale batteries to other jewelers and other retailers for resale to consumers.  We are very knowledgeable in this area, have years of experience, and deal with many types of watches and batteries.

This customer complaint centers on a Freestyle tide 3.0 watch rated for 100 meters water resistance.  Casa de Oro replaced the battery in this watch.  The customer later returned when the watch stopped running. 
It was found to be corroded due to water in the watch.  The customer states the watch is two years old and he has used it numerous times for surfing and SCUBA diving.

A 100 meter watch is not recommended for SCUBA diving by any manufacturer to my knowledge.  The customer did not tell us that he dives with this watch.Casa de Oro was asked to replace a battery, not to evaluate the watch for diving or hard use.  A 100 meter watch is not suitable for impact water sports.  While it may not have an immediate ill effect, the risk increases with this type of use.  We were not asked to pressure check the watch for leaks.The back plate that was removed for battery replacement is only one spot that can allow for leaks.  This gasket was in good condition when the battery was installed.  There was no problem in installation.  The chemicals in pools and salt water from the ocean can both attack other seals. The seals that keep water out of a watch are not completely impervious and their effectiveness can be reduced over time with age, deterioration, and exposure to chemicals. This concept is recognized globally when dealing with precision timepieces.  Casa de Oro has no knowledge or control over other factors that could have had an adverse affect.  Water temperatures in a hot-tub or a hot shower will effect the condition of seals. Especially if the watch is taken from hot temperatures and immediately plunged into cold water - such as going from a hot-tub into a pool.  Sudden and rapid changes in pressure - such as diving (even shallow diving) into a pool, the force of plunging our arm into the water while swimming or surfing, will stress the gaskets for a fraction of a second.  As the watch ages the seals begin to erode & will not maintain the same water resistance levels.  They may rupture and cause the watch to take in water.

Casa de Oro sympathizes with this individual on the loss of his watch.  However, since there are many circumstances beyond our control we do not feel obligated to replace this time piece.  It is our policy to discuss with a customer any issues that may be obvious with a watch in question.  For this reason we normally do not install batteries in watches with 200 meter or greater rating used for diving.  Most divers are fully aware of these
problems.

Business Response: See attached

Contrary to the customer statement that he told us he used his watch for diving, I was  the employee who talked to him and changed the battery in his watch.  I was not told that he used the watch for diving.  We do not change batteries in watches used for diving because we feel they should be tested before use.  As stated in our previous response we consider a 200 meter rated watch a divers watch.  A quick search of the internet will verify this commonly accepted use by rating.  An internet sample is attached below.  There are many sites that will very plainly explain the points I made in my original response.  There is a difference between a new watch  out of the box and a used watch that has been subjected to impact water sports or pressure from diving.  A rating of 100 meters does not mean you should rely on being able to dive to 100 meters forever and always  without a problem.  The common thought is that a watch should be tested once a year regardless.  There was no obvious problem with the gasket that was installed on this watch and no certainty this is where it leaked.  This is why pressure testing is recommended.  Our initial response to this complaint very plainly explained the issues.  I will repeat our original statement.  Casa de Oro sympathizes with this individual on the loss of his watch.  However, since there are many circumstances beyond our control we do not feel obligated to replace this time piece.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I did tell the employee who changed the watch battery that I take it SCUBA diving both before and after the battery was changed. I emailed the manufacturer and asked if the watch could be used for surfing and SCUBA diving, I gave him the model number, and he assured me that the watch, because of its 100 meter water resistance is perfectly capable of being used for both sports. I can forward this email to both the BBB and Casa De Oro, if you would like it please provide me with an email address. Casa De Oro seems to be implying that the watch breaking had nothing to do with the battery change, but the fact is that I have used this watch numerous times for surfing and diving before the battery was changed. Yet the very first time I used the watch after the battery change (surfing), the watche’s waterproofness failed. This is either an incredible coincidence, or the result of a badly done batter change. Furthermore, the business states in their response: “It is our policy to discuss with a customer any issues that may be obvious with a watch in question.” The shop’s employees did not mention any such issues with my watch during my initial visit to get the battery changed. If the business had given me a verbal or written disclaimer before changing the battery I would have just sent it to the manufacturer, but the business confidently agreed to do the battery change and gave no such disclaimer. The business appears to want my business but not any of the responsibility for their work. For the record, I did not exceed the 100 meter depth limit on the watch. 100 meters equals about 328 feet. Depending on which organization you ask, the depth limit for recreational SCUBA diving is between 100-180 feet. The compressed air used for recreational SCUBA diving starts becoming toxic at about 215 feet. In short, 328 feet is well beyond the limits of my SCUBA training and equipment. If I had exceeded the depth limit on the watch I would be dead.
This is a transcript of my email with the manufacturer:
                Me:                        Hello, I own a freestyle tide 3.0, rated for 100meters water resistance and I was wondering If I could use this watch for surfing and SCUBA diving, assuming I do not exceed the depth limit. Thanks for your help.
                Customer Service:    Dear Mr. *******,
                                                                Please be advised that a rating of 100 meters water resistance means that the watch can be used for surfing and recreational diving/snorkeling. If you do not exceed the 100 meter depth, your watch should still be water resistant.

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved