Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Green Host It, Inc.

Phone: (512) 961-8289 3267 Bee Cave Rd Ste 107 # 285, Austin, TX 78746 http://www.greenhostit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Green Host It, Inc. include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Green Host It, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Host It, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 2011 Business started: 04/03/2010 Business started locally: 04/03/2010 Business incorporated 03/11/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Rosendahl
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Rosendahl
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Internet Services Internet Access Provider Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3267 Bee Cave Rd Ste 107 # 285

    Austin, TX 78746 (512) 961-8289

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Web hosting service was paid for but never provided. Unable to obtain a refund or an intention to provide service.

Desired Settlement: Refund of payment provided, due to zero service provided.

Business Response: Hello.  Please accept our apologies.  The domain on your web hosting account contains Gmail, which is not allowed by our data center.  The payment has been refunded.  Our billing department flagged your order as fraud (because of the domain name) and this is the reason.  Again, my deepest apologies.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left one Web hosting service provider that was unable to provide my daily statistics in a reasonable and dependable manner. I signed up with Green Host It, after receiving personal assurance, by telephone, from the owner that I would never experience such failures with her company. I signed up in late November of 2013. Since then, I have gone through only ONE three-week period when there were no failures to the system or the collateral services associated with Web site hosting. I have a collection of over 200 emails, dealing with a variety of failures to deliver services since then. I am fed up. Today, I have been unable for the last nine hours to view my site's visitors statistic, I have been unable to update my Web site due to server failure(s) on the part of Green Host It, and, most importantly, I have left five voice mails and sent half a dozen emails trying to find out what is going on with my service. I have received 0 replies for my efforts. I was once even threatened with termination of my account for telling Green Host It how poor a job they do with tech support. Their telephone support promises quick service, though I have left over two dozen messages in the past and not a single one has EVER been answered. I could go on for hours writing about the faillures Green Host It has foisted on me. The most blatant failure -- and the most pertinent, as far as the contract is concerned -- is that my Web site has now been down for more than the "guaranteed maximum" downtime in a one-year period, and I have only been a customer for six months. I could go on and on. I will, if it will support the processing of my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would voluntarily leave the service, but I signed a one-year contract and will forfeit substantial amounts of the fee if I choose to leave. Furthermore, I have suffered countless failures in these six months and do not feel that a partial refund would be sufficient. I want all of my money refunded, since I have yet to receive a full month's service without interruption caused by Green Host It.

Business Response: Hello BBB

I am aware of this situation.  I called the client to "walk him though" how to login to his control panel, check his statistics, and read his email.  As it turns out, the client was logging into the wrong server.  We upgraded his server about month prior, emailed all customers prior to the upgrade to notify them, but apparently he did not see the emails.  The client was trying to login to the old server which was no longer receiving traffic and this is what caused him to become frustrated.  

As soon as I got the customer on the phone, I taught him how to login to the correct server and all is well.

Thank you,
********* *********

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with Greenhostit has been frustrating to say the least. On Sept. 11, 2013, I raised a ticket with Greenhostit to inquire why I could not access my website. The support center reviewed the issues and informed me that my IP address had been blocked at their firewall because the incorrect username or password had be entered multiple times within 5 minutes when logging into the control panel, email, or password protected area on the website. I acknowledged this error was on my end because I had attempted to access the email account provided with my service package and had entered the incorrect password. Greenhostit resolved the issue quickly. I was pleased with the promptness at which the issue was resolved. After this initial issue, anytime I raised a ticket, I received the same response, "It's your fault. The error is on your end." On Sept. 23, 2013, I raised a ticket with Greenhostit support to address an alarming concern. I informed them that I received a “timed out error” when I tried to access my website on Sept. 23rd. I also addressed that between Sept. 21st and Sept. 22nd, I had received an error message stating that the server was “running out of space and cPanel operations had been temporarily suspended to prevent something bad from happening.” That was multiple days in one week when my site was down. Greenhostit support replied that the running out of space and cPanel access suspension error message were due to another customer abusing the server. The explanation for the timed out error I received on the 23rd was that I had done something to get my IP address blocked by the firewall again. When I informed support that I had not attempted to access the cPanel on that date, no longer used their email service, and that 3 of my associates had received the same error message when they attempted to access the website from their own computers, which have completely different IP addresses than my own, I received the same explanation that my IP address had been blocked due to an error on my end. Again the blame was placed at my feet. On November 16, 2013, I contacted Greenhostit support to inform them that my domains had been hacked. I inquired if this was a global issue or isolated to just my domains. I asked Greenhostit to find out how the hack happened and inform me which files had been modified. Without me authorizing or even requesting it, Greenhostit restored my site from outdated backup from August. I lost an immense amount of my client database with this unauthorized restore. When my developer and I contacted Greenhostit to express our outrage, we were treated to a lecture on how we should use the backup feature in the cPanel to back up files so that something like this doesn’t happen. Greenhostit completely disregarded the fact that I never requested or authorized them to complete a restore. I only asked for information on how the hack happened and which files were modified. On November 19, 2013, I contacted Greenhostit to inform them that due to several issues experienced, resulting in damage to my company’s reputation, I would no longer be using them as our web hosting provider. I respectfully requested the cancellation of service and a refund minus services rendered. I received a reply on November 25th, stating that my account was well past the 30 day Refund Policy. I replied that this was unacceptable; I noted that Greenhostit had not upheld their end of the deal, and listed the issues I had experienced. I paid for 3 years of service and only used 5 months. On November 26th, I received a reply, “we can calculate a refund based on un-used time, but the pre-payment discount will not apply because you did not keep your account for 3 years,” effectively attempting to short the correct refund amount. I replied, “this is unacceptable.” On Dec. 4th, I received a reply stating, that under Greenhostit’s terms of service, the “User is solely responsible for making back-up copies of the User Website and User Content.” I did not request or authorize Greenhostit to restore a backup. This action was taken on their own accord. If it wasn’t for the partial backup my developer had, my business would be crippled. Greenhostit also stated that under its terms of service, “Any security risks including, but not limited to, hacking, phishing, and information piracy are the sole responsibility of the User.” This is in direct conflict with Greenhostit’s advertising campaign..TRUSTED---SAFE---RELIABLE. I was informed that no refund would be issued. Instead I’d be offered a credit for a new web hosting account with Greenhostit. Any issue that arises with Greenhostit's service is deemed, “the customer’s fault.” I broke no terms of service. I upheld my financial obligation to Greenhostit and in return was provided a faulty product. Greenhostit’s advertising is in direct conflict with its terms of service; making me question if Greenhostit, Inc’s business practices are legal. I certainly feel that a bait and switch technique was utilized in my case.

Desired Settlement: I cannot repair the damage Greenhostit has done to the reputation of my young company. I've even offered to pay for the time I was with Greenhostit. All I'm asking for is the return of my payment minus services render. I paid $273.87 for 36 months of service with Greenhostit. That's $7.61 a month. I used 5 months of service so Greenhostit can subtract $38.05 from $273.87 and refund $235.82 for unused service

Business Response:

The account in question was hacked due to poor coding on the customer's website.  We restored his site from backup because we can not, for obvious reasons, leave malicious code on the server.  This is to protect the integrity of the server and for the protection of all customers who are hosted on the same server.  We have at least 20 support tickets in which we tried to assist this customer, but we had little success explaining to the customer about keeping content management systems updated in order to avoid any security lapse.  It is unfortunate that this occurred, but we offered to assist this customer multiple times and they refused.  I am not sure how they created their website, but in the future we recommend a content management system such as ********* or ******.  And of most importance is that the customer keep their content management system updated to the most recent version.  We also recommend that all plug-ins and themes be kept current as well, which will minimize any chance of a website being hacked.  Fortunately we keep a backup and were able to provide this customer with his data prior to the malicious code injection.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because: the response is inaccurate and outright false. There is no issue with the coding used. We use the same coding with a different webhost currently and have had 0 issues with the new provider. The "assistance provided" involved no assistance at all. It was nothing more than a blame-fest, where Greenhostit blamed the security shortcomings of their server on me.  I never requested that Greenhostit perform a backup. I asked that they run a scan and identify how the hack happened and if any files where altered in the hack. Greenhostit ignored my request and restore the site with an extremely outdated backup, causing me to lose a large portion of my client database. Since leaving Greenhostit I have been contacted by other former Greenhostit customers on ****, who were hacked as well. I find it hard to believe that numerous people experiencing hacks with Greenhostit's shared server can all be due to "bad coding". 

Regards,

***** *******

10/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 27 we purchased a new hosting service for our website which included mobile website and a one time website maintenance for $189. The ***** agreed to also do a word press website. The following day we received a duplicate bill and were immediately concerned about the early billing issues. We stopped everything, regrouped and determined to proceed on 6/29. We were advised the website would be complete by the end of July. At the end of July the website was not done and our current website (with another provider) had to be extended for another few weeks in august to accommodate this. Naturally I was upset as I was now paying 2 providers. Now we are at the end of August and we are still paying two providers as the website is not done. We bought another domain name for this. I asked for a refund since a completed product was not delivered timely and GreenHostIt is not hosting our full service website at this time. I was advised I would be refunded $29.95. We are asking that the $29.95 be refunded for missed deadlines, the $48 for a mobile website (another service we did not receive) and the $189 for website maintenance. I think in all fairness the hosting fees should be refunded since nothing was hosted but at this time we have lost enough time and money dealing with this.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that the $29.95 be refunded for missed deadlines, the $48 for a mobile website (another service we did not receive) and the $189 for website maintenance. I think in all fairness the hosting fees should be refunded since nothing was hosted but at this time we have lost enough ti,me and money dealing with this. We did not receive the acceptable product and hosting we paid for.

Business Response: Hello *** ****

 

On 6/27/2013 **.
******* hired our company for the following items (see attached invoice)

 


$14.95/month - one month web hosting
$48.00/year - one year mobile website
$29.95/one-time - jump start website (a ********* online business card, accessible at
your domain address plus two email accounts)
$189/month - website maintenance


 

We gave **. ******* a
20% discount.

 

Upon receiving the
order, we setup her web hosting account, her dedicated IP address, purchased a
domain name *********************, purchased two ********* themes, and reserved
a dedicated IP address for her web site.  

 

We attempted to charge
**. *******'s credit card that she provided to us but it was declined.  
 

 


6/28/2013 **. *******'s paid her invoice with an alternate
credit card
6/29/2013 **. *******'s sent us an email "cancel
service".  I called her on the phone the next day and she asked
us to proceed with the project.
7/6/2013 **. ******* wrote in "Just
waiting on you to let me know when website is complete"
8/9/2013 - I showed two website
"mock ups" to **. *******.  I asked her which she liked and
she wrote back "Lava is fine and green or blues are cool with
me. "
8/13/2013 - **. ******* wrote in,
"How is the website coming? Sorry, I will work on more content for
you. I got kind slammed this week.Let me know what else you
need."
8/18/2013 - **. ******* wrote in,
"Here are the logo and photographs that I would like you to use for
my website."  
8/18/2013 - I replied "thank you.
We are working on your website.  Because the files you have provided
are not of the appropriate size, I will need to re-create them."
 **. ******* wrote, "Yes, please proceed".
8/29/2013 - **. ******* wrote in "Cancel and refund."
8/29/2013 - I wrote back, "Frankly,
these abrupt decisions to stop then start again are causing the project
confusion and delay."


 

In
summary, **. ******* is confused as to what the meaning of hiring a firm for
"service" consists of.  She hired our firm, changed her mind
twice, then asked us to resume production on her site.  After her
indecision and requests to stop, then start, then stop,  then start again
- **. ******* asked us to explain why there was a delay.  ?

 

I
explained to **. ******* twice that the delay was caused by her cancelling and
changing her mind numerous times.  I have the above communications
documented.

 

Because
we have already done the work, purchased services and products for her website,
we are not able to refund her.  We have her website and are happy to give
her access to it so that she can transfer her web data and her domain to
another web host.

 

This
is a link to our cancellation policy which **. ******* agreed to upon
establishing her account.  We do not accept new accounts until the
customer clicks a box that states they have agreed to our policy.  http://www.greenhostit.com/terms-of-service#cancellation
 

 

The following is a
screenshot of our policy and terms regarding non-refundable services.
 "Web design" is a service that we do not offer refunds for.
  Additionally, we do not offer refunds for domain names or past months of
web hosting services.

 
Term; Termination; Cancellation Policy

  • Nonrefundable Fees: Fees paid by Subscriber in connection with the purchase of SSL certificate, Site Backup Pro, Mobile Website, "Drive Traffic to Your Site" package, JumpStart Website, SSL Certificates, Website maintenance, Website Design, SEO Package, SiteLock, Dedicated Server fees, domain privacy, domain names are nonrefundable, as are Check Refunds of $10.00 or less due to processing fees.



 

Regards,

 

 

********* *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: we have not received the product that we paid for. We do not have a website nor any website maintenance because there was no website. On a recorded conversation with ********* on August 31st she apologized and said she would give a full refund as we have not received a website or web site maintenance. We have yet to receive the refund that she promised or the website or web site maintenance.we were promised a website within 2 weeks which would have been the end of July. The website was not completed in the required time frame. We will proceed with legal action to get the refund that ********* promised us.

Regards,

*** *******