BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Green Host It, Inc.

Phone: (512) 961-8289 3267 Bee Cave Rd Ste 107 # 285, Austin, TX 78746 http://www.greenhostit.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Green Host It, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Green Host It, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 2011 Business started: 04/03/2010 Business started locally: 04/03/2010 Business incorporated: 03/11/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Rosendahl
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Rosendahl
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Internet Services Internet Access Provider Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3267 Bee Cave Rd Ste 107 # 285

    Austin, TX 78746 (512) 961-8289

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 27 we purchased a new hosting service for our website which included mobile website and a one time website maintenance for $189. The ***** agreed to also do a word press website. The following day we received a duplicate bill and were immediately concerned about the early billing issues. We stopped everything, regrouped and determined to proceed on 6/29. We were advised the website would be complete by the end of July. At the end of July the website was not done and our current website (with another provider) had to be extended for another few weeks in august to accommodate this. Naturally I was upset as I was now paying 2 providers. Now we are at the end of August and we are still paying two providers as the website is not done. We bought another domain name for this. I asked for a refund since a completed product was not delivered timely and GreenHostIt is not hosting our full service website at this time. I was advised I would be refunded $29.95. We are asking that the $29.95 be refunded for missed deadlines, the $48 for a mobile website (another service we did not receive) and the $189 for website maintenance. I think in all fairness the hosting fees should be refunded since nothing was hosted but at this time we have lost enough time and money dealing with this.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that the $29.95 be refunded for missed deadlines, the $48 for a mobile website (another service we did not receive) and the $189 for website maintenance. I think in all fairness the hosting fees should be refunded since nothing was hosted but at this time we have lost enough ti,me and money dealing with this. We did not receive the acceptable product and hosting we paid for.

Business Response: Hello *** ****

 

On 6/27/2013 **.
******* hired our company for the following items (see attached invoice)

 


$14.95/month - one month web hosting
$48.00/year - one year mobile website
$29.95/one-time - jump start website (a ********* online business card, accessible at
your domain address plus two email accounts)
$189/month - website maintenance


 

We gave **. ******* a
20% discount.

 

Upon receiving the
order, we setup her web hosting account, her dedicated IP address, purchased a
domain name *********************, purchased two ********* themes, and reserved
a dedicated IP address for her web site.  

 

We attempted to charge
**. *******'s credit card that she provided to us but it was declined.  
 

 


6/28/2013 **. *******'s paid her invoice with an alternate
credit card
6/29/2013 **. *******'s sent us an email "cancel
service".  I called her on the phone the next day and she asked
us to proceed with the project.
7/6/2013 **. ******* wrote in "Just
waiting on you to let me know when website is complete"
8/9/2013 - I showed two website
"mock ups" to **. *******.  I asked her which she liked and
she wrote back "Lava is fine and green or blues are cool with
me. "
8/13/2013 - **. ******* wrote in,
"How is the website coming? Sorry, I will work on more content for
you. I got kind slammed this week.Let me know what else you
need."
8/18/2013 - **. ******* wrote in,
"Here are the logo and photographs that I would like you to use for
my website."  
8/18/2013 - I replied "thank you.
We are working on your website.  Because the files you have provided
are not of the appropriate size, I will need to re-create them."
 **. ******* wrote, "Yes, please proceed".
8/29/2013 - **. ******* wrote in "Cancel and refund."
8/29/2013 - I wrote back, "Frankly,
these abrupt decisions to stop then start again are causing the project
confusion and delay."


 

In
summary, **. ******* is confused as to what the meaning of hiring a firm for
"service" consists of.  She hired our firm, changed her mind
twice, then asked us to resume production on her site.  After her
indecision and requests to stop, then start, then stop,  then start again
- **. ******* asked us to explain why there was a delay.  ?

 

I
explained to **. ******* twice that the delay was caused by her cancelling and
changing her mind numerous times.  I have the above communications
documented.

 

Because
we have already done the work, purchased services and products for her website,
we are not able to refund her.  We have her website and are happy to give
her access to it so that she can transfer her web data and her domain to
another web host.

 

This
is a link to our cancellation policy which **. ******* agreed to upon
establishing her account.  We do not accept new accounts until the
customer clicks a box that states they have agreed to our policy.  http://www.greenhostit.com/terms-of-service#cancellation
 

 

The following is a
screenshot of our policy and terms regarding non-refundable services.
 "Web design" is a service that we do not offer refunds for.
  Additionally, we do not offer refunds for domain names or past months of
web hosting services.

 
Term; Termination; Cancellation Policy

  • Nonrefundable Fees: Fees paid by Subscriber in connection with the purchase of SSL certificate, Site Backup Pro, Mobile Website, "Drive Traffic to Your Site" package, JumpStart Website, SSL Certificates, Website maintenance, Website Design, SEO Package, SiteLock, Dedicated Server fees, domain privacy, domain names are nonrefundable, as are Check Refunds of $10.00 or less due to processing fees.



 

Regards,

 

 

********* *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: we have not received the product that we paid for. We do not have a website nor any website maintenance because there was no website. On a recorded conversation with ********* on August 31st she apologized and said she would give a full refund as we have not received a website or web site maintenance. We have yet to receive the refund that she promised or the website or web site maintenance.we were promised a website within 2 weeks which would have been the end of July. The website was not completed in the required time frame. We will proceed with legal action to get the refund that ********* promised us.

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1