Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of BigCommerce, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BigCommerce, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BigCommerce, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BigCommerce, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 17, 2009 Business started: 12/17/2003 Business started locally: 12/17/2003 Business incorporated: 02/20/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eddie Machaalani, Co-CEO
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Interspire Pty Ltd Interspire, Inc
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 11305 4 points Dr #300

    Austin, TX 78726

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We upgraded to the latest version of Interspire's Email Marketer back in August of 2014 for $374.50 which was to include support. Since then we have had continual problems with the product and terrible support from their tech team. I have months of emails showing correspondence going back and forth from my tech guy and their seemingly automated tech support (canned email responses that seem to not actually read what we sent them previously describing the issues we were having). They have never been able to resolve the issues. I have not been able to regularly send full email campaigns for 6 months! This has cost our non profit thousands of dollars in lost support, event attendance, and sales. I only kept going thinking in faith they would actually fix the problems and provide support as according to their website they state they have integrity. The issues remain unresolved and emails cannot be sent through their product. I finally called a few weeks ago explaining the situation to the salesman (*****, I believe, who told me there was no one higher up than him that I could speak to regarding the situation). He implied they could still fix the problem and I explained I do not have another 6 months to wait for it to be solved(they've had plenty of time to figure it out already). I need to be able to communicate with my customers. He refused a refund, stating their 60 day policy and that I had received the product and the support. I contested that it was not the case- I have not received true support (they can't fix any of the problems!) and I did not receive a product that worked. It is defective, did not give us our moneys worth and actually cost us money (not just the fee we gave them but all the lost revenue).

Desired Settlement: Even though they have cost us much more lost revenue than the original fee, all I was requesting was that they do the right thing and refund the $374.50 that we paid as we did not receive the services as promised and the program does not work properly.

Business Response: Hello,
We believe the client should not be refunded and have presented our history and case below.  Anywhere that it says "I" refers to the account manager who worked this account.


Client
**************************

Original purchase date: 18 Nov 2008
Support renewal date:      06 Aug 2014

The original 2008 purchase was from one of our resellers, Capstone Services, Inc.  They managed the software, support, etc for http://www.scsemailer.com/

July 2014 the reseller authorized transferring the license from their account to the clients account so they could renew support and take over control of the license directly with us instead of the reseller.



Reasons Why
Support renewal ($374.50) includes access to technical support and access to the latest version of the software. Prior to paying $374.50 the client was running a 2008 version of the software.  Currently the client is running version 6.1.5 that was released Sept 2014.  There is no option to undo this upgrade.Support was provided (see below). The main issue was confirmed to be with their web server / SMTP provider not with Email Marketer.Support renewals work similar to a Bigcommerce service.  Once they purchase and install the software there is no way to revert. This client just upgrade their software with 6-years of features/bug fixes/security patches.  They also received 5-months of support from both the support team and myself resolving their issues.


The client renewed their support on 06 Aug 2014 and submitted the following tickets:

Ticket #1 *************
Aug 6th (Client) - Problem Summary - Bounces not processing; formatting issues Aug 6th
Aug 7th (Interspire) - Advising the client they are running an out of date version and they need to install the latest version before we can troubleshoot the issue
Aug 29th (Client) - Client cc'd their developer on the ticket to work on the upgrade
Aug 30th (Interspire) - Put the ticket in waiting for customer while waiting for the software to be updated by the client
Aug 30th (Client) - Out of office reply
Sep 23rd (Client) - Software upgrade is complete and ready for Interspire to troubleshoot the issue
Sep 23rd (Interspire) - We request login and FTP details to access the software because the provided details do not work.
Oct 13th (Client) - Client replies asking what details we are trying to use
Oct 14th (Interspire) - Replied with the login credentials we are trying to use
Oct 14th (Client) - provided us the correct login details
Oct 14th (Interspire) - provided a resolution to the issue they were having

Ticket Resolution:  Any delays with this support request came from the client.  Interspire support reps replied in a clear and timely manner.


Ticket #2 *************
Dec 16th (Client) - Problem Summary - Database Backup & Restore / Server migration help
Dec 16th (Interspire) - Advised we do not provide assistance for server migration or database backup
Dec 23rd (Client) - We resolved this problem.

Ticket Resolution:  This support request was answered timely and correctly.



Ticket #3 ************* (This is the main complaint)
Dec 23rd (Client) - Problem Summary - Internal Server Error during mailing
Dec 24th (Interspire) - Advised client to enable "Error Log Viewer" from the Settings > Addon Settings so we can narrow down the cause.
Dec 29th - (Client) - Enabled the error log and requests that ticket replies go to her tech support also.  (We typically only communicate with the owner of the license for security reasons).
Dec 30th - (Client) - Tried to do another email blast and received the same error messages
Jan 3rd - (Interspire) - Advised that the client was using the 'default server mail program' for sending.  (For the majority of our clients this option works fine.  Some web hosts configurations timeout and require the clients to use an actual SMTP instead of the default.)
Jan 10th - (Client) - Asked for more clarification on the reply sent on Jan 3rd.  Client is non-technical and had trouble with some of the verbiage.
Jan 12th - (Interspire) - Support explained how the default mail sending worked and tips on what might cause it to fail
Jan 14th - (Client) - Followed some of the tips to help prevent the error but started to receive a database error 
Jan 15th - (Interspire) - Explain that the database error is caused by an issue on their web host and they would need to contact their provider.

*** This is where I became involved - Typically if a ticket is taking longer than expected clients will call in to discuss and I mediate between them and the support team to try and resolve any communication gaps ***

Jan 16th - (Interspire-*****) The client's tech guy called in to discuss the ticket and this reply to explaining the items we were going to test.  We required 2 pieces of information to proceed (SMTP & FTP details).
Jan 16th - (Client) - Provide us the credentials to help verify the issue is with their web host.
Jan 16th - (Interspire-*****) Advised the client that their web server port was OPEN and sending out correctly.  Their SMTP account was providing an error message "Mail server not accepting our connections:".  We tested a different SMTP account and the software worked correctly.  Advised the issue is tied to their SMTP account not the Email Marketer software and they would need to contact their SMTP provider for more details.
Jan 16th - (Client) Advised they were going to investigate the SMTP issue and asked about increasing the memory limit to help prevent timeouts.
Jan 19th - (Interspire) Advised how/where the client could increase the memory limit.

Ticket Resolution:  That was the last communication for this ticket.  Based on my involvement with the ticket and the communication to the client the issue was confirmed to not be an Email Marketer issue, but an issue with the SMTP account they were trying to use.


Ticket #* * *************
On Feb 2nd the client called in to request a refund.  I explained again that the issue was not caused by Email Marketer but by the SMTP account they were attempting to use.  I advised that a refund was not possible for support renewals because 1) They have already installed the latest version of the software  2) They were already provided support

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There were two major issues that we had with the support experience:

1.      
The support was NOT timely.  Even though the responses to emails frequently happened with a day, they were not
immediate.  They were typically 8-12 hours later.  With an application like Email Marketer that has a high level of complexity (web server interaction, client browser integration, email server integration, etc.) it is cumbersome to try to achieve support through email.  Working with a technician through a Join.me session would have likely led to a quick resolution.

2.      
The technician continues to point to the SMTP server as the culprit.  They fail to acknowledge that THIS problem DID NOT EXIST BEFORE THE VERSION UPGRADE and migration to a new host at the same hosting provider.  We’ve always been able to use the local SMTP server.  Something broke and they did not do a satisfactory job of helping us narrow down the cause.  Instead they point to an external source, which was implemented only because they could not get the local SMTP server working.


Regards,

********* *********

Business Response: Hello,

We do not agree with the client's rejection of our initial response.  Please see our new response below:  

1) Interspire Email Marketer is not priced to provide synchronous support such as phone, chat, or join.me sessions.While Interspire's technical support department does not operate on a time-sensitive service level agreement (SLA), we do endeavour to provide all customers with a time-to-resolution as close to zero as possible. Our technical support department in Austin, Texas operates between 8:30am-5:30pm CDT (GMT-6) Monday to Friday.A general guideline for response time is shown below. All times assume the problem has been replicated locally by Interspire's technical support team first:
•Level 1 - 8 business hours
•Level 2 - 12 business hours
•Level 3 - 12 business hours
•Level 4 - 16 business hoursMore information on the Interspire Support Policy can be found here:
********************************************

2) You have listed two potential causes for the local mail (PHP mail() Function) to fail.   The first is an Email Marketer upgrade.  The second is you moved the software to a new host (same provider).Email Marketer upgrade.

The software version you were running was over 6 years old. Over the past 6 years there have been numerous bug fixes and security patches added to Email Marketer.  There have also been several changes to the PHP programming language and best practices for sending email.  Any of these factors could cause the PHP mail() function to work differently than the version you were using previously.  The optimal method for sending mail from both an efficiency and deliverability aspect is to use the SMTP option.New host (same provider)
The second potential cause is the new host (server) you moved Email Marketer to.  Different hardware, PHP version, MySQL version, server configuration, etc could also cause Email Marketer to work differently than it was previously. Troubleshooting issues with your web server configuration is outside the scope of our support. We have confirmed with our Jan 16th reply that when using a different SMTP account sending email is working correctly.  This confirms the issue is not software related but a problem with either the server configuration and/or your SMTP account.
"Jan 16th - (Interspire-*****) Advised the client that their web server port was OPEN and sending out correctly.  Their SMTP account was providing an error message "Mail server not accepting our connections:".  We tested a different SMTP account and the software worked correctly.  Advised the issue is tied to their SMTP account not the Email Marketer software and they would need to contact their SMTP provider for more details."

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1.       Up until this point, we have been able to tolerate Interspire’s support model.  However, we really needed to work directly with a technician to expedite resolution of this particular issue.  The ineffective back-and-forth exchanges prolonged the identification of a resolution to this problem.  Because Interspire does not make accommodation for these circumstances it has exacerbated the problem and caused us to look for an alternative package.

 

2.       We have not contested that the problem was likely with the server.  However, we do not have the skills to address the problem on our own.  Had we been able to speak with a technician we would have been able to conference in a technician from Media Temple and resolved the problem in a single call.  Using an external SMTP server was not a viable option.  Our desire was to continue to use the SMTP server built in to the host, as we have been able to do successfully for the past 6 years.

Regards,

********* *********

Business Response: Hello, 

Our pricing model and support policy have been in place since 2009.  Thousands of previous, and current clients are supported daily based on our first come-first serve email support policy. In our February 11th reply, we illustrated that all delays trying to resolve your issue were from your end. We understand that email based support is not a fit for all clients but that is the only option we offer. 

Phone support is not an option we offer with our Email Marketer software.  Our support team is an expert on Email Marketer.  We are not experts in server configurations, STMP setup, or firewalls issues.  Any issues with your web server or STMP provider would need to be resolved on your own.  This is defined in our support policy*********************************************

What is not supported?We do not provide technical support for:Configuration/installation of Apache, IIS, MySQL, Oracle, MS SQL Server, etcEnabling/disabling PHP settings on your web serverDebugging of mail servers or mail server configurations

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

- Your email only support while perhaps outlined in your policies, was not brought to our attention(this dispute is the first we were ever referred to see the policies, although maybe perhaps years ago when we first signed on, it was indicated). In fact, there appeared to be an almost deceptive attempt on your end to hide the fact we could never actually talk to a tech. This was asked for on several occasions and you skirted the issue by allowing an in house sales person to handle our tech inquiries via phone on occasion, then forward them along via email to a tech. And again, its just poor business practice to have to wait 8-12 hours for support of such a basic product and immediate need.

- We understand you do not provide SMTP server support, but again, as appears to be ignored in this correspondence, we had no issue with our SMTP until we upgraded to your newest version. 

As you continue to ignore the issues stated and you can point to your policies, the reality is as you stated in your last response, your product and support may not be right for all clients. In recognition of this, the right and honorable response would be to give us a refund since you see you do not have the right product or support for us. As a businesswoman myself, I have done this on several occasions, recognizing what I have is really not right for the client and since they are not actually using my product, why would I keep their money? Especially after this has cost us so much (6 months!) of no email marketing capabilities.

Regards,

********* *********

2/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The domain name was transferred to another web hosting company. A cancellation request email was sent to ***************************** on October 10, 2014. I began receiving calls from Bigcommerce phone number ###-###-#### that my invoice was overdue. I told her repeatedly that the service has been cancelled and to please discontinue my service. The most recent incoming call from ###-###-#### was on December 26. On January 6, 2015, a $431.40 charge was billed to my credit card for one year of web hosting. I sent a followup email to ***************************** again requesting account closure on January 6. I never received a response to either email cancellation request. The company claims they sent me over 30 emails, but I haven't received any correspondence. When I call ###-###-#### (multiple times), the contact number that is displayed on my credit card statement, it rings busy. When I called ###-###-#### on 1/7/2015 and spoke with a billing representative, I was told a refund ticket would be opened, but the representative was not hopeful it would be approved. The representative said her headset was about to die so she would email me the ticket number. I never received an email with the ticket number.

Desired Settlement: $431.40 refund

Business Response: Hello,

To resolve this client complaint, we have issued a full refund of the amount the client requested- $431.40.  He will receive it in two installments.  One for $323.55 and the other for $107.85 which totals $431.40.  

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10378796

I am rejecting this response because:

As illustrated in the attached screenshot, the $323.55 refund has been received, but the $107.85 refund has not been received since the company's response on 1/20/2015. Thank you.



Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Hello,

A full refund was granted to this client on January 20th in an effort to get this complaint resolved.  Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thanks,
***

1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ******************* because I was thinking about moving my website to their platform. They confirmed that my website features would be compatible with their platform. They charged me $325 for a migration. After further investigation, we found that my website features would not be compatible with their system so the migration never happened. I called to get my money back. They promised a full refund for servers never received. Months later, I checked and no refund was given. I called many times but could not get a person who would help me. I emailed many times with no response. Finally I got an email that said my case was closed. Today I checked and they issues me a partial refund, however I am owed a full refund. They are keeping about $100 for services that where never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for services which they never gave me

Business Response: Hello,
Attached is a screen shot that proves we had already refunded this client's $325 in two payments one for $245.05 and one for $79.95.  I have also authorized that their first month of subscription service be refunded at $79.95.

Best regards
*** *****
Director of Conversion & Retention

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They charged me $79.95 for 1 month of hosting which was never used.

They also charged me $325 for a migration that never happened.

I am due a full refund for both $79.95 and $325.00

They refunded the $79.95 for the 1 month of hosting

However, they did not refund the full $325 for the migration. They only gave me $245.00 for the migration. 


Regards,

********** *******

Business Response: Hello,

I've attached another screen shot that proves the additional $79.95 was refunded in addition to the $325.  Everything the client is asking for has been refunded.

Best regards,
***

1/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 18, 2014 To whom this may concern, On June 13, 2014, ****** ***** of Big Commerce contacted me by phone and convinced me to migrate my site from Volusion to the Bigcommerce platform. My biggest concerns with leaving volusion were the bandwidth fees and the Faceted Search option and I clearly expressed them to Mr. ***** when we spoke over the phone. He continuously assured me that the faceted search option was offered with all Bigcommerce plans at no extra charge and I took his word for it. After engaging and agreeing to transfer my site from Volusion, I learned that Bigcommerce didn’t have faceted search at all and that you were in the process of introducing it to all of your customers on August 15th, 2014. After several calls and attempts to speak with someone and resolve this issue which was not addressed before I signed my contact, I spoke with ***** ****** who clearly told me that the faceted search option would be available to my plan (Platinum Plus) shortly after August 15th. After August 15th passed, I repeatedly contacted the Bigcommerce customer service department and was told by all there reps that faceted search was still in beta stages and will be rolled out before the December holidays. Finally once faceted search was introduced, I was appalled to hear that it will only be available to enterprise level packages of $1000 per month. I strongly feel that I was lied to and misled by Bigcommerce and went through a 3 month lengthy process to migrate my site from Volusion to Bigcommerce only to be told after that I will not be offered the faceted search option which I was promised with when I joined the platform. This is an absolute breach of contract. Had I known that faceted search was not available to my current package (platinum plus), I would have never agreed to change from Volusion and endure such a lengthy and costly process just to become a Big Commerce customer and then be lied to and taken advantage of. I am writing this letter today to express my extreme dissatisfaction with your service and the way your sales department have handled this situation. Consequently, I am urging you to make this right by giving me the faceted search as I was promised from the beginning free of charge and including it in my current monthly plan (platinum plus plan of 350$/month). I am only stating the facts of what was promised to me and agreed upon with your team when I became a client.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be given what i was promised all along before completing and going through with the migration of my online store which is the FACETED SEARCH in which Bigcommerce last minute decided to offer to enterprise level packages of 1000$ a month and not my 350$ platinum plus plan.

Business Response: Hello,

We have given this client the faceted search feature as requested.

Best regards,
*** *****

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for my domain registration with BigCommerce. I also started a 15 day trial to develop a website. I ended up going with another website company which better met my needs. At the end of the trial with Bigcommerce they deleted all of my Domain information and my business site became inaccessible. I was not informed of this and only discovered the problem when I couldn't get to my site. In a panic I had to transfer my domain to Enom which cost me another $13 even though I already paid BigCommerce for the domain. My website is due to launch in 2 days and now it may not be ready. If I was live at the time I could have lost thousands of dollars.

Desired Settlement: They should refund my money for the domain registration.

Business Response: Hello,

In an interest of good faith, we are issuing a refund of $12.27.  It should take three to five business days to process.   ***** still does own the domain he purchased for a year.   

Best regards,
***

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE COMPANY ALLOWS IDENTITY THEFT. The company allows anyone to set up a 15 day free account which allows IDENTITY THEFT to set up a way to steal credit card and other information from consumers.

Desired Settlement: The company VERIFY that all of it's customers are in fact legitimate businesses not a scam. Shut down the 15 day free trail offer.

Business Response: Hello,

We do not tolerate identity theft or any kind of illegal activities as per our terms of service.  We will not be removing our free 15 day trial as there is nothing illegal or unethical about it.    Please refer to our terms of service if you have any questions.  

*********************************

***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Your Policy of allowing just anyone to open an account and steal the identity of people is INTOLERABLE.  Especially in the age of IDENTITY THEFT, you are assisting people to STEAL from others.  That makes you an accessory to the crime as you have a way to stop it. 
The fact that you do not care and are not willing to make this change to PROTECT people shows that your company isn't a company that cares about consumers.

Regards,

**** **********

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Submitted copyright (DMCA) violation notice 5 times with no reply or resolution. Attempting BBB contact before considering legal action.

Desired Settlement: Copyright notice handled appropriately per DMCA legislation requirements and written notice of this action.

Business Response: Hello,

We have responded a few times over email to get this client's issue resolved.  We are not sure why they aren't getting our emails.  If they call Billing Monday through Friday between 9am and 5pm CT and ask for Abbey, they will get their issue resolved.   Our support phone line is:    ###-###-####.   

Thanks,
***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

As I initially requested, written response from the host company outlining the steps to resolution are required by DMCA legislation. Twitter support has told me that this was not initially replied to, and instead was "routed to the wrong place" previously. While I have verified with my host server that no responses have been received via email as stated, I understand that delivery erros may occur for whatever reasons. I ask that written notice be provided to an alternate address on a different server. You may attempt to reply with written notice of this copyright issue resolution to an alternate email address of:

************************


Thank you for your time in handling this appropriately.


I am attaching an additional copy of the original notice for reference.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Hello,

This client violated our terms of service with one of their sites.  We terminated that site on October 28th .   With regards to the second site mentioned, the customer has provided no documentation to support the claim. One of our Billing Representatives emailed him telling him to provide docs regarding the second site but he's been unresponsive.

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

My complaint to the business itself was responded to and the second site infringement was handled by the site owner. This action is satisfactory to me.
I appreciate the action and respect for the copyright owner's content by BigCommerce.



Regards,

******* ******

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 16, 2014 I opened a support request to ask how I can change my hosting plan from Platinum to Gold. (Case Number: ********) On that date, the BigCommerce website advertised that the hosting rate for the Gold plan was $40 per month. I quickly received the following response: “Hello, We have downgraded (my URL) to the Gold Plan per your request. Your overdue invoice now amounts in $79.95. Thank you for choosing Bigcommerce Kind Regards.” All invoices were paid in full and the August 2014 and September 2014 hosting invoices were billed at the rate of $40. On October 1st, my credit card was charged for $79.95. I opened another support request to inquire about the change in hosting fee, and received the following response: “Hello, It appears that you were on a two month discounted rate as per your discussion with a Client Care manager in July. After the two month discount the account returns to the normal Gold Plan rate. If you have any questions, please let us know. Thank you.” This response is not factual. I responded, explaining that it was never presented to me that the $40 was a promotional price. The website did not present this price as promotional or discounted and even the PDF invoices for these months do not mention anything about the price being a promotional or discounted rate. I have sent 5 responses to customer support on case *********. I have stated the facts presented above and I have asked to speak with a manager or supervisor about the issue. No one has responded to me. My last message on the case was sent in 48 hours ago and I still have not received a response to my request for them to honor the $40 hosting fee that I signed up for. I do not think that it is good business for them to charge my credit card for an amount that I did not authorize. There was never any correspondence with me explaining that the Gold hosting plan monthly fee is $79.95 per month, but on special for two months at the rate of $40. Bigcommerce has not been able to show me in writing where it was advertised as promotional. They claim that I had a conversation with a customer service rep about this, but as you can see when I requested the plan change via their online support system, all I received was a confirmation that the plan had been changed as requested. There never was any type of conversation. I did not agree to a $79.95 per month hosting plan.

Desired Settlement: I would like BigCommerce to honor the $40 per month hosting rate that I was presented with and agreed to. I would also like a refund of the additional $39.95 I was charged for the October 2014 hosting fee.

Business Response: Hello,
What this client is saying is simply not true.  We have NEVER offered the Gold plan on our website for $40.  It has been $79.95 for several years.   This client called to cancel and was retained on a discounted $40 plan for 2 months.   The client was told this was a discounted plan for only two months.  As a policy, we never put clients on discounted plans in perpetuity.  This client is completely mistaken.   A Client Care Manager spoke with her yesterday.  We can refund $40 but the client will have to be put on the lower Silver plan at $29.95 going forward if they do not want to pay the full $79.95 price for the Gold plan.

Best regards,
*** 

Business Response: Upon further review, the Manager who spoke to **** said that he was confused and that he did not speak to her yesterday as my previous message said.  Apologies for that.  He confused **** with another client situation. He spoke to **** on 10/16, and we have documented records in our customer management system.  In this conversation, he stated that we have never offered the Gold plan for $40 on our website.  We used to offer a Silver plan for $39.95, but stopped offering this plan in May.  This is perhaps what she was referring to, but we are not sure where she got the idea that we offer a Gold plan for $40 on our website.  It has always been $79.95.  

On 7/16 (see screenshot for proof) she requested to downgrade to Gold from our Platinum plan.  She received a response that the Gold plan is $79.95.   Then on 7/23 (see screenshot) **** spoke with our Client Care department which is responsible for client retention.  In that call, she was offered as a courtesy a $40 price for two months only.   This is all documented.  

In good faith because we value ****** business, we are issuing her a refund for $39.95 to give her the Gold package for one more month at the $40 price.  However, going forward she will have to pay $79.95 for Gold or request to downgrade to $29.95 for our new Silver plan.  

Best regards,
***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Below is a log of all cases that I have opened with BigCommerce since becoming a customer. Your screen grab of case #******** is either falsified or a screen grab for another client because that case number was never communicated to me. I keep very meticulous records and as you can see from the log of correspondence below, that is not one of my case numbers. I also have never spoken to a BigCommerce rep by phone, I have only used the online chat and email communication, so that right there shows that this is referring to someone else. In addition to that, 8/4/2014 (shown in the screen grab) is not one of my invoice dates. My bill was due and paid on 8/2/2014. And in addition to that, why would I have questioned on 7/23/2014 that my bill had gone up when that didn't even happen to my account until 10/1/2014? 

I guess your response will be that once again you have me confused with someone else?

I stick by my word that this temporary pricing was NEVER communicated to me.

At this point I am completely insulted by your customer service and it sure looks like someone on your end is either falsifying this information or has one of the most terrible record keeping systems imaginable.

The ONLY cases that I have opened for the two stores that I had with BigCommerce are the following and NONE of them mention temporary pricing.

July 15, 2014
Ticket Number : ********
Case Subject: I want to change my account from platinum to gold, how do I do that?

July 23, 2014
Cancellation request (for second store, Silver Plan $39.95/mo)

August 2, 2014
Ticket Number : 00325761
Case Subject: Cancellation & Refund of 2nd store (initial cancellation request was not processed correctly and I was charged for another month of hosting)

August 7, 2014
Ticket Number is ********
Case Subject: Abandoned Orders Email Issue

October 15, 2014
Ticket Number is ********
Case Subject: billing issue
Description: Client is asking why her hosting plan suddenly changed from $40 to $70 and yet he is still on Gold plan?


Regards,

**** *****

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a plan from bigcommerce on 10/6/14 but the the product plan wa not working. I have been contacting there customer support fro 3 days in a row with no help and then finally today the rep that I spoke to said I will finally have to fix the issue myself. I explained to him that it their product so they have to fix any issues that came up later and that I wanted my full refund as only been a few days. He told they will but only through paypal. I told told him no that I wanted it back in my debit card as I did not pay them through paypal. He told me to hold on and then came back on the phone and said we have issues your refund through paypal which I still told him that not how I wanted my refund. I then logged on to paypal only to find out that they went to my store and pretended to buy a product from me for the same amount of $29.99 and then they opened a dispute min later that I never shipped the item and they wanted a refund back. This is pure scam at it worst I have ever seen. So I contacted paypal that I don't owe them anything and that bigcommerce was running a scam to prevent them from issuing my refund for $29.99 I have copied and pasted the transaction they did on my paypal accountTransaction Details -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ******* ******** ******* ******** ******* *********** ** ******************* ******** *********** **** **** ****** ******* ***** *** *** *** ** **** ******* **** ****** **** **** *** ****** *** ****** *** ****** *** ******* *********** **** **** ****** ******* ***** *** *** *** ** **** *** ***** *** *** ********* ***** **** *********** ** ***** ******** *********** ******** *** ****** ** **** ** **** ******** ******* ** ********* ** *** ********** ******** *** ****** ** **** ** **** ******** ******* ** ********* ** *** ***** ******* ******* *** ***** *** ******* *** ****** ***** *** ****** *** ***** *** ******************************************************************************** ***** ****** **** **** ****** ** **** ******* ** ********* ****** **************** ******* **** *** ****************** ******************************************************************************** ******** **** ******** *** **** ******* ***** * **** ***** **** ********** ****** *** ****** ****** *** ******************************************************************************** **** ****** ****** *** ***** **** ***** *** ********* ***** *** ********* ***** *** ******************************************************************************** ***** ******* ****** *** *** ******* ****** *** *** ******* ****** *** ******************************************************************************** ******* *** **** ******* ************************************************************ ***** *** ** **** ***** ******** *** ******* **** ******************************************************************************** ******** ******** ****** ******* **** ********* ** *********** *************** **** ******************************************************************************** ******* ***** ******* ******************************************************************************** ************ ******** **** **** *********** ** ******* ** * ***** ********* ** * *********** ** ** *** ********** ****** ** ***** **** **

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my money because now paypal has that amount held without me being able to access it and for this ecommerce company to be investigated for fraudulent activities

Business Response: Hello, 

This was a misunderstanding in which a Client Care representative actually attempted to go above and beyond for this client.   What she is claiming is not true as she misunderstood the situation the whole time.   She became very abusive with our staff which violates our terms of service.  We issued a refund of $29.95 on October 13th.

Thanks,
*** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******* ****
Let them show me and BBB the proof of refund because I never received any. This is a fraudulent company that needs to be investigated for fraud and theft. I will not stop till I get my money back. They are criminals and a pack Of thieves trying to intimidate me. Their staff is the most rudest and unprofessional I have ever encounter. Let Them show proof of my refund

Business Response: Hello,

Please see attached for a screenshot from Global Collect, our payment merchant, that proves a refund of $29.95 was granted to the card we had on file for *******.  


Best regards,
*** 

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company told us they were better than shopify and that we could try them and if not that we had nothing to lose. As agreed we tried them and there were many issues with their product so called support and the support person was not helpful. We are a non-profit and do not have time to get the run around. We called and said it didn't work and cancel our account and we would stay where we are at. We were told we might get a refund even tho we were told we would if it didn't work. Since we only had the product for a couple hours and it didn't work we want our money returned to us.

Desired Settlement: Refund our gold package price.

Business Response: Hello,
Bigcommerce is not responsible for clients that sign up and do not use our software.

Although there is no justification for issuing a $79.95 refund per our terms of service, we have done so in good faith.    It should take 3-5 days to process.

 
**********************************

Best regards,
*** *****


10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for BigCommerce in hopes of getting my online store up and running. I skipped the 15 day free trial offer because I felt confident this was the provider ive been looking for, for my ecommerce platform. I paid the $79.95 for the first month. I used it for a total of about 2 hours max. And decided that this platform is not for me. I not once sold anything with the service or made it "live" for customers to come in and buy. I contacted BigCommerce right away via there 24/7 online chat support to cancel the account and get a refund. The original online chat support told me that he had put in a "ticket" to cancel the account. That was a lie the "ticket" was never submitted. He also told me that he believed that refunds would take about 10 days to go through. So the next day having not recieved any kind of email about the cancel I went back to online chat support and requested the account to be canceled again. This time they acuatly put the "ticket" in. I got an email a day later (today) saying the account had been canceled but it said nothing about a refund. I called BigCommerce and spoke with someone in the billing department. I told him I see that my account has been canceled but I see nothing about a refund. He kind of "laughed" a little. Then told me that they do not give refunds and thats what the 15 trial is for. However my argument is I seriously used the website for maybe 2 hours tops and decided that this platform was not for me. I did not use the 15 day trial because I did not believe that the trial would give me the full "outlook" of this platform. Therefor I paid the $79.95 for the plan I was intrested in. Quickly found this is not what I wanted. I believe I should be refunded the $79.95 being that I literally TRIED the platform and contacted a rep within 2 hours. I believe this "no refund policy" is unethical in my case and would think that BigCommerce would be more understanding in this particular case.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund of $79.95.

Business Response: Hello,
Bigcommerce is not responsible for clients that sign up and do not use our software.

Although there is no justification for issuing a $79.95 refund per our terms of service, we have done so in good faith.    It should take 3-5 days to process.

 
**********************************

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a ticket yesterday concerning this issue and of course that got us nowhere! My response was this we are currently looking for another platform due to the lack of support with BC. There has been issue after issue since we started with BC and not one time has BC solved the issue. I posted the above hoping someone would offer to help and nothing again. There have been simple problems that we have had to figure out on our own because BC does not seem to be competent to solve even the simplest issue. We hired a web consultant that uploaded products to our site who told us there is an issue with our template and we needed to submit a ticket to BC of course we did and were told that it was our browser and screen resolution and they hoped they solved our issue! LOL how dumb is that? Our consultant had the issue and we on several computers and browsers have the same issue. There are products on our site that show no image available on the category pages and once we click on the product going to the product page and go back it appears-so we have to click on each product to get images to show up on the category pages? Then there is the above issues and we have followed BC's tutorial and the pics are the correct pixels for our template. Yet it's our browser? No it is not. Then there are NUMEROUS other issues that have not been solved. We thought this is new and there are going to be bumps in the road however it has now been 5 months and we feel that we have paid for the top BC plan and received nothing in return. It's like this is a bunch of children that got together and just flat do not care if their customers succeed or not. Oh and the promo credit we were supposed to receive for google adwords we did not get that either even after I followed ****** ****** instructions and asked her for it once it did not work the way she said it would-surprise! no reply! She also told us when we signed on that she was here to help us and see that we get launched-again that didn't happen-TSK TSK BC you simply cannot keep customers without service!

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of all charges made to use with BC

Business Response: Hello,
We believe the client caused some of the problems he had and they were not the result of our platform.   

We called out to the client on August 25th but got no reply.   One of our Technical Support experts sent the following email later that day:

I checked the carousel images on your store and they were not yet at the recommended carousel image resolution of 980px by 380px. I loaded them up in photoshop and did my best to put them on a canvas of the appropriate size without distorting them, and I've installed those images on the carousel page. Now that all images are of a consistent aspect ratio and at the recommended pixel size, the carousel seems to work a lot better, at least in the 3 browsers and several screen sizes I checked - feel free to verify on your end. 

I've placed the original images in the Image Manager under Web Content for your records. 

I also looked into the other issues mentioned and wasn't able to replicate an issue with thumbnails not appearing on search results pages - are you still experiencing that? 

Also, would you mind providing more clarification on the product page thumbnail issue? A screenshot would be most helpful. 

If you still wish to speak to a manager, feel free to call in and ask that of a rep or reply to this email with a good contact number and time so one can reach out to you. 

I apologize for the frustrations you've experienced along these lines thus far. Feel free to get back with us with any further questions.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I added those images using Photoshop to the correct pixels NOT Big Commerce AGAIN BC does not listen to anything so go a ahead attempt to take credit. We have been out of town on business and we are gathering all of the tickets we have put in and all records and will contact BC on Monday but no we are very unhappy with the entire platform-please keep in mind and READ THIS I HAVE BEEN WORKING FOR OTHER PLATFORMS FOR TEN YEARS. Please do not insult me by insinuating I do not know what I am talking about. If you took the time to read the very long post on the community forum you would see we were  promised help then and no one called or emailed until we contacted the BBB. Yet you are still claiming you fixed something that I Fixed AGAIN!  

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Our Support Manager on this is not sure where the client is coming from here.  One of our Tech Support reps fixed his images using photoshop, and reached out to the client letting them know what he did, so this response from the client is pretty off. 

The rep's communication to the client:  

I've tried calling you but you were not available - I've left a voice mail. 

I checked the carousel images on your store and they were not yet at the recommended carousel image resolution of 980px by 380px. I loaded them up in photoshop and did my best to put them on a canvas of the appropriate size without distorting them, and I've installed those images on the carousel page. Now that all images are of a consistent aspect ratio and at the recommended pixel size, the carousel seems to work a lot better, at least in the 3 browsers and several screen sizes I checked - feel free to verify on your end. 

I've placed the original images in the Image Manager under Web Content for your records. 

I also looked into the other issues mentioned and wasn't able to replicate an issue with thumbnails not appearing on search results pages - are you still experiencing that? 

Also, would you mind providing more clarification on the product page thumbnail issue? A screenshot would be most helpful. 

If you still wish to speak to a manager, feel free to call in and ask that of a rep or reply to this email with a good contact number and time so one can reach out to you. 

I apologize for the frustrations you've experienced along these lines thus far. Feel free to get back with us with any further questions.

9/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the trial period and after I was unable to use the product and unable to edit my web page at all nor could I get proper access.

Desired Settlement: Please advise why on more than two trials; one for **** pretty and the other for c me that i was not given access to use this site

Business Response: Hello, this customer signed up for a 15 day FREE trial.  It's not clear to me what the complaint is.  The trial expires after 15 days and they are free to purchase at any time during the trial.  

Please refer to our website to see any information about the free trial.   

****************************

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we asked to company that. please don't charge our account but they still charge our account, as we wrote too but they still charge my account many times, even we wrote too. here below transaction this, they charge our account. 482674 08/12/2012 08/12/2012 $39.95 USD Paid Download PDF 455764 07/12/2012 07/12/2012 $39.95 USD Paid Download PDF 429565 06/12/2012 06/12/2012 $39.95 USD Paid Download PDF 403729 05/12/2012 05/12/2012 $52.22 USD Paid Download PDF 1253750 05/12/2014 05/12/2014 $12.27 USD Awaiting Clearance Download PDF 402937 05/11/2012 05/11/2012 $52.22 USD Cancelled Download PDF also they say cancelled transaction but we have not got fund to our account. also here our email. we say please cancelled this payment but they still charge. "please cancel my account" Join My Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/Gemtonebeads Date: Thu, 27 Sep 2012 01:38:12 -0500 To: *********@hotmail.com From: support@bigcommerce.com Subject: Account Suspension Notice BigCommerce Account Suspension Notice Hi *****, This is an official notice that one or more of your hosted services have been suspended due to non-payment or a terms of service violation. Details of the account are below. Product/Service: Big Commerce - Silver Plan (beadsforindia.com) Amount: $39.95 USD Due Date: 09/12/2012 Please note that if you have submitted a cancellation request for the above product/service, you can safely ignore this email. Please contact us as soon as possible. Sincerely, BigCommerce Billing http://www.bigcommerce.com/ USA: ###-###-#### begin_of_the_skype_highlighting ###-###-#### end_of_the_skype_highlighting International: ###-###-#### begin_of_the_skype_highlighting ###-###-#### end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Desired Settlement: we need total refund to our credit card. this because we not work when we start too, but they charge our account more then $236.56

Business Response: Hello,

We reviewed this dispute, and don't understand what this ex-client is disputing for $236.  He cancelled our normal subscription service in 2012.  He had purchased a domain with us that renews for $12.27 per year and we refunded this amount to him.  Other than that, there is no invoice to dispute.

Best regards,
***

Consumer Response: we have not receive any refund any amount they where charge many times for our account.



Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Hello,

He does not list a reason for his rejection.  Please let me know when there is more context to provide a response.

Thanks,
***

Business Response: Hi ****,

Sorry for the delay.  This customer cancelled back in 2012.  What I believe he is disputing is the annual payment of $12.27 for his domain renewal which is automatically charged unless he cancels this as well.  He never cancelled this which is why we charged him.  Nevertheless, to resolve the complaint, we issued a refund of $12.27 on May 12, 2014.

***

Consumer Response: Hello *****,

we have not receive any fund, also we requested to closed all are our account and charge but they not do it and also charge each time

we not receive any fund to our credit card, please refund my money $12



Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Hi ****,

 

Sorry, I thought the last message about this said my response wasn't needed.  We refunded the $12.27 on May 12, 2014.   Below is a screen shot from our billing system.  You can see under "Amount Out" that we refunded the $12.27 on May 12 the same day he was billed.   

 


?Thanks,

***?

 

*** *****

Director, Conversion & Retention

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bigcommerce is a company claiming to provide a host of services depending on your plan you pay for when you sign up for webhosting. On March 14, 2014 I spoke with ****** *****, one of their sales people. After about an hour of asking questions I wanted to know why I should buy their diamond plan, which seemed very expensive at $299.95 per month, when I could get SEO with their less expensive plans. She maintained that with the lower plans its like having a ********* ******** I would have to utilize myself. With the diamond plan, they would do all my SEO for my website. So, on March 14, 2014 I paid the $299.95 for the diamond plan. This plan also included importing my data from wherever I had it at the time. They would transfer my website from the current provider to their platform. Then I was linked with their specialist, **** *******. After 8 days with no news from him I called several times and got hold of him. He apologized and said my admin sign in info for my site was not working. But I signed in right there while we were talking. I gave him the information again. Then several days later he asked that I get *********, the company that hosts my website currently to whitelist all of bigcommerce's IP addresses. This was strange, because no one had ever asked that before. Of course ipage refused explaining that this would render their servers vulnerable. Now we had about 8 days left until bigcommerce would charge me another $299.95, so I suggested that **** import the products from the drop shipping website from where I had them imported in the first place. Days of silence. I contacted him again. There's a new problem! The dropshipper had little to offer as far as transferring products are concerned. He informed me he would use an unorthodox method, which he did. Problem is we have the products and heading, but no item descriptions so buyers know what they're buying. Bigcommerce has refused to remedy this and have not done any SEO on my site. They claim ****** made a mistake for which I suffer.

Desired Settlement: Bigcommerce needs to properly import my products for which I've already paid them, with the descriptions showing so buyers know what they buy. They need to do my SEO because that's what they used to persuade me to sign up. They need to do these or process my full refund within 48 Hours. Otherwise I will take to *******, ********, and file a suite asking for punitive damages.

Business Response: Hello, I have instructed our billing team to offer a refund of $299.95 as the client requested.  We absolutely do not offer "Do it for me" SEO services.  What we offer is a coaching service.  We are happy to continue to honor the coaching service.  We have Partners that offer "Do it for me" SEO services but they are far more expensive than $299.95 per month.  If the client is interested in those, we are happy to connect him to our partners.

Best regards,
***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. If I receive the refund as promised, I would consider this issue settled.

Regards,

**** ******

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BigCommerce charged me $300 for one of their "Success Experts" to setup my online store on their $24.95 / month platform. After many days, the "Success Expert" had still not succeeded. Then she suggested I buy a custom "theme" for $129 in order to "make things easier". One the seventh day after my initial purchase, and after multiple delays and failed attempts to perform a successful test transaction, my store was still not fully operational. I lost pateince and confidence in their abilities. So I asked for the service to be cancelled and for a full refund. They cancelled service, same-day, but neither refunded me, nor offered an explanation other than to say that the "time spent" justified their denial of my refund request. But I never bought "time". I believed I had bought a successful outcome (a fully functioning online store) which never materialized. I find this dishonest. I am entitled to a full refund.

Desired Settlement: $453.95 refund

Business Response: Hello,
This client has spent $324.95 with us, and we are issuing a full refund of that amount.

Thanks,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because a full refund has still not been issued as of 04/23 11:45am EST.

An accurate statement is below:

$129.00
Spent on 4/9/2014
Refunded 4/15/2014

$24.95
3/20/2014
Refunded (twice) 4/17/2014

$300.00
Spent on 4/7/2014
NOT Refunded

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: We did in fact issue a refund of $300 this morning 4/23.  It can take up to a couple of days for the refund to process.  

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Indeed, as I woke this morning, I saw, at long last, the final refund amount in my bank account. Cue the singing angels.

Regards,

******* *******

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with web technical services, Tech support they do not help its customers fixing ****** feeds and other web issues. The service you will ever find at Big Commerce is if you upgrade to the next level. There web hosting is a total failure for my website. They only care getting $200.00+ per month and do a terrible job growing the customers business!!!

Desired Settlement: Help or loose the customer it is there choice.

Business Response: Hello,

We received two complaints but they look like they were duplicates:  #******* and #*******.  I already responded to one of them.

Thanks,
***

Business Response: Hello,

We do offer free Tech Support.  Some things are out of scope for us to provide service on if it something that is not related to our platform.  I will have Tech Support reach out to this client to see if there is anything we can do to help them.

Best regards,
***

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I never got response from them!!!

Regards,

**** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  ***, is not handling this well and it is relating to there platform so stop dening it!!

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Hello ****,

It is unclear to me what this client is disputing.   We offer free Technical Support so the client can call us at 1-************ to see if we can get their issues resolved.  There are limitations to our Technical Support and we have Professional Services whereby we charge for more advanced services if that is what the client needs.  If what the client is requesting can only be solved through Professional Services and the client does not want to pay, there is nothing we can do per our Terms of Service.  *********************************
Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  They need to apologize first and they need to call me at ************ now!! 

Regards,

**** *******

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We began the free trial process, as we were testing out the functionality or new ecommerce platforms. We followed the prompts for the 15 day trial. As I was going through the sign up process it asked me what plan I wanted to be on, I chose the one that would fit our needs. This was identified as the "gold" plan, once I choose this plan I entered my credit card number in and clicked continue. When I went to set up my store, and move my domain over from a competitor I was notified by that competitor that I was in a contract, and could not move over my domain until the contract was over. I immediately went online and chatted with Bigcommerce and asked for a cancellation and refund. I was told I had to call in to process this request. Once I called I was transferred to different departments and was told the department I needed was already gone for the day. I called back a few days later and asked for the billing department, I was told that the billing department was in a meeting for the rest of the evening. I called again today 2/24/14 and finally got the billing department. I spoke with them and they told me that the department I spoke with the first time could process this request. After speaking with a young lady she informed me they do not offer refunds. I asked to speak with a manager, who informed me they do not offer refunds and he could file a ticket and see what the "director" says. I asked him for a time line and he hung up on me. I immediately called back and spoke to the billing department, we we through a few things and he informed me that he would not give me a refund and I should deal with my credit card company and file a dispute with them. I informed him I did not get a trial and was charged on the same day I signed up, and that I immediately attempted to cancel. His final words were ill file a ticket and they'll get to you when they get to you. It does not state anywhere in their terms and conditions that they will not offer a refund. They do state there is not a money back guarantee. Generally this refers to satisfaction with services, not to reference products not used. I did not receive my trial, I was charged during my trial, and they are refusing to refund us.

Desired Settlement: I just want a full refund for my services.

Business Response: Hello ****,

We are processing this refund of $79.99.  We don't think he deserves a refund per our terms of service, but he has been harassing our Support staff and we just want to cut ties.  

Best regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ************

2/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 20th 2014 I ordered two products from this company, I received one item, however the company informed me that they no longer had the second item in stock and would reimburse me for the money I had spent. I have received no payment nor have I been able to get in contact with this company

Desired Settlement: An account refund to be administered

Business Response: Hi ****,

This consumer's issue is not with Bigcommerce.  It appears this consumer's issue is with one of our clients, but I can't verify without the online store's name.   As such, this complaint should be filed with this merchant who sells wigs and not with us.  We sell eCommerce platforms to people who sell online.  Our business has nothing to do with our client's ability to fulfill their own orders and provide their own customer service.   This is all listed in our terms of service. We also do not get involved with 3rd parties who buy from our clients.   Please inform this consumer to file their complaint directly with the merchant.

Here is our terms of service for your records:  http://www.bigcommerce.com/terms

Best regards,
*** *****
************
************************* 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Bigcommerce to be our ecommerce platform. We are migrating from a successful company ****** that is our current shopping cart and ecommerce provider. Bigcommerce promised to make the migration in a timely manner. After 2 months waiting and many misleading unformation and unanswered phone calls and several emails, they finally did the "migration", that is, transferring products, product options, 301 redirects and customers' information. However, everything is full errors, so we call them to fix mistakes and / or maybe perform the migration properly and they keep scheduling it for 2 Fridays now and don't do it and don't even call us back to inform what's going on. We filed support tickets that never get responded as well as phone calls and emails. We've spent now some thousands of dollars in a new design for Bigcommerce and we are now stuck with. As I wright this complaint I'm on hold of over 25 minutes on the phone. Bigcommerce says that this is a separate department and that they can't do anything about it. They also said they were going to refund me of the months paid and only the last month we weren't charged but no refund has been made. The complain is in regards of that Bigcommerce accomplish the service we hired and not so much about the money, because if we are to break the contract I'll ask to be refunded of my time and all the money spent with designers, programmers and more. Thank you, ******.

Desired Settlement: I want the migration of my website from ****** to Bigcommerce to be completed and seamlessly. This includes all products, all product options and variations, and 301 redirects done properly so we keep the same Search Engine Rank.

Business Response: Hello,

I've looked into this issue and discovered it was a very complicated eCommerce store migration request.  As a result of it taking too long, we are going to issue a 2 month credit totaling $299.90.   I have made sure that we have a consultant assigned to this migration.  Major steps will be completed tomorrow and the rest will be completed within 4-5 business days.   We are very sorry for the inconvenience.  Someone should have been in touch with this client more frequently to keep them abreast of the situation.

Best regards,
*** *****
Director, Conversion & Retention

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, as long as the issues get resolved in the time frame of 4-5 business days as proposed.

Regards,

****** *****

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to purchase an ssl certificate for my ecommerce store ***************************** through bigcommerce. I had problems installing the certificate and was unable to contact support on December 29th during business hours. Because I was unable to correctly install the ssl I bought another ssl from another company. I sent 3 emails to support requesting a refund and was only told that they could still help with the ssl. On the third email they told me to call their billing department. I was told by the billing agent *** (employee number ****) that I could not get a refund as per the terms and conditions on the site. I have an active case number ******** I am very upset that I am not able to get a simple refund for a product I could not install and will not use. I think the practices concerning how these issues are handled need to be adjusted as I have 2 websites with bigcommerce and pay over $250 a month to them, and feel uncomfortable doing business with them now.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the ssl certificate in the amound of $79. This is for invoice ******* I would also like a free month of service for my websites for forcing me to go through this process for a simple refund.

Business Response: Hello,

Based on what the customer wrote in a Support ticket, the SSL worked.  It appeared to be a user error on his end.  Nevertheless, we issued a refund of $79 to satisfy the customer.

Best regards,
***

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted cold call by a representative over 6 months ago and talked into switching my website to Big Commerce. I have not had a single sale since signing up with them and none seems interested in helping me find out why. I have almost no people searching on my website and I am now getting numerous product reviews in Chinese and I have not sold anything to anyone in the U.S.A. let alone China. I believe I have been taken advantage of and possible been hacked while using their product. I changed from a $79 per month plan to a less expensive one and continue to be charged $79.

Desired Settlement: I want all my payments returned (credited) and I will set up my business with a more reptile company,

Business Response: Hello,

This client received a free month of service starting on his invoice date of 8/26.  For his 10/26 and 11/26 monthly invoices, the client received a 75% discount off of the $79.95 monthly price and only paid $20.00 per month.   These discounts were granted to satisfy the client's complaints. The client was never told they were going to be put into a lower plan other than the 75% discount for two months, so I think he is confused.  We received a cancellation request on 12/26, the same day of the client's monthly invoice date.  The client was charge $79.95 for the next 30 days.  To appease the client, we will refund $79.95 for this invoice although this is not required according to our terms of service that the client agreed to. 

Best regards,
*** *****
Director, Conversion and Retention

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


I was not confused, the web hosing from the company brought in $0 through no sales since signing with them.  I was never helped with their support and I have had foreign (Asian) countries leaving product reviews in Chinese and Japanese and no products were EVER purchased.  I was given a discount due to the problems that were encountered but no technical support to remedy my problems. During the $20 discount period I downgraded my plan to a cheaper plan hoping to have my problems get fixed and was then charged the full $79 for January even after downgrading.  I have emails that were sent to their employees and the only response I got from my account manager was in regards to another company rather than mine.  

Regards,

****** ****

1/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is not the first time that BIG COMMERCE charged my credit card and this is an UNAUTHORIZED charges on my credit card. THis is not the first time that I asked to REMOVE ALL my credit cards from their files. This is not the first time that I asked to REMOVE my home address and phone under the domain name ***************** (I do not owns this domain name for years) THere's no place on the website that you can remove my own credit cards. I'm no longer customer from this company years ago.

Desired Settlement: I live in USA, my phone number ***** *** **** Thanks ********

Business Response: Helllo,

This customer's domain name purchase had been set to auto renew annually.  This approval is made by the customer upon the initial purchase.  Cancelling the domain is a separate process than cancelling a store from us.  This is all explained in our terms of service upon purchase.  I have gone ahead and had our billing department ensure that the customer's credit card information has been removed to ensure they are not charged again.   This should resolve the issue.

Thanks,
*** *****

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Interspire software in June 2012 for business purposes for an amount just shy of $600. This is a software to send mass emails. It worked for about a month and then stopped. I have submitted several trouble tickets as well as my website provider in order to get this problem resolved. I have technical assistance for a year under my purchase. Each time I have contacted them they have given me a vague response, each time stating a different issue. It has never been fixed and they are pushing it off as not their fault. I have asked them to simply re-set my system up again as they did the first time but they have ignored that request.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome first and foremost is for them to fix the system so that I can send marketing emails. If they cannot accomplish this, I would like a refund for software.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

******'s problems started happening after she moved to ***********, a shared hosting provider. On many levels Interspire products are used by technically savvy people who have specific 
reasons for not going with a SaaS offering.  The problems she seems to be running into are more directly related to her host and not our product.  

Here is a history of our interactions with her which show that we have provided sufficient business best practices and constant communication.   Therefore, we believe she has no basis for her claim.        


************* - June 11th, 2012 - REQUEST: Purchased Installation.  NOTES: Looks like the software was originally installed at dreamhost.  "Status: Resolving address of panel.dreamhost.com" RESOLUTION: We installed the software for her per her $49 purchase.


************* - Oct 17th, 2012 - REQUEST: Trouble sending mail.  RESOLUTION:  Interspire reply was some of the configuration was not completed.  No cron settings or SMTP settings.
STATUS: No reply from client.


************* - Oct 25th, 2012 - REQUEST: Unable to send mail.  NOTES: Software was moved from ********* to  hostmonster.  It is very likely she is trying to use the wrong SMTP details to send mail.  Some web host prevent sending email out from external SMTP.  RESOLUTION: We replied with out to verify cron was setup correct and to verify the STMP
STATUS: No reply from client.

************* - Feb 7th, 2013 - REQUEST: Unable to send mail.  RESOLUTION: Provided information on how to add her correct SMTP details into the software.
STATUS: No reply from client.


************* * Apr 25th, 2013 - REQUEST: Unable to send mail. NOTES: Based on her reply she wants us to perform a setup/configuration service.  This is something we have never offered.  We do not know her SMTP information.  She needs to get this from her web host and then enter the details into IEM.  RESOLUTION: Provided information on how to add her correct SMTP details into the software.
STATUS: BBB Complaint

She called a few times this week.  The first call was regarding ticket *************.  She was upset that it was taking so long to get a reply from us.  When I checked the ticket I saw she submitted on the 25th and we replied later on the 25th but had no reply from her.  She insisted that she had replied already and demanded to speak to tech support on the phone.  I explained we didn't offer phone support and showed her how to view the ticket from her client area so she could see what the current status was on her ticket.  This also always her to confirm we have received her replies.  She called back at least once later (Monday I believe but possibly Tuesday/Wednesday) and hung up after hearing me answer.

On Thursday she called in the morning (I know her #/voice now) and asked if Interspire/Bigcommerce were the same and I said they were and she said she was filing a BBB report and hung up.  She called back 3-4 times during the day and hung up each time I answered.

Based on what I have seen in the tickets and after speaking with her the software was working correctly on ********* and once it was moved to ********** it stopped working.  My best guess is because she is trying to use the SMTP details from ********* instead of the new SMTP details from **********.  She is non-technical and if she is having this many issues with the IEM settings she is going to be way over her head when it comes to dealing with bounces, whitelisting, correcting blacklisted accounts, etc

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  I have contacted the host as they requested me to do.  My host is telling me that Interspire is not connecting to them and asking for them to fix it.  I let Interspire know this and did not get a proper response.
2.  They keep telling me my smtp information is blank.  Yes, it is.  I also keep informing them that I am filling it in before I complete a test and have verified that my smtp is correct. 
3.  I have asked for them to do a re-install.  This is something I am willing to pay for.  Clearly there is a missing link and possibly I cannot see it.
4.  I have no use for a system I paid almost $600 for.  I am not paying monthly for an email marketing system that is on their server to avoid this issue.
5.  I either want a refund or for actual help on resolving these issues.

Regards,

****** ********





























Business Response: Hello, here are our responses to ******** objections.  Her responses are numbered and our responses start with "A".   

1.  I have contacted the host as they requested me to do.  My host is telling me that Interspire is not connecting to them and asking for them to fix it.  I let Interspire know this and did not get a proper response.

A: This is possible but since her SMTP details are blank we have no way to verify if she is using ********* SMTP, *********** SMTP, or some other SMTP details.  Depending which information she is using it is possible that her host (*********** in this case) would not see any connection attempts.

Example:  If she is trying the SMTP information for *********, then Email Marketer would be trying to connect to ********* not ***********.

She needs to enter the SMTP information for *********** into the Email Marketer settings and leave them in there instead of removing them.  


2.  They keep telling me my smtp information is blank.  Yes, it is.  I also keep informing them that I am filling it in before I complete a test and have verified that my smtp is correct.  

A: We can not verify the issue without the SMTP details defined in the Email Marketer settings.


3.  I have asked for them to do a re-install.  This is something I am willing to pay for.  Clearly there is a missing link and possibly I cannot see it.

A: Re-installing the software will not fix the issue she has.  The software is running correctly but either there is an issue on the server or an issue with her SMTP details that are causing emails to not be sent.  If there was a problem with the installation, she would not be able to access the admin control panel (which works correctly).


4.  I have no use for a system I paid almost $600 for.  I am not paying monthly for an email marketing system that is on their server to avoid this issue.

A: N/A - we do not offer a monthly hosted version of the software.


5.  I either want a refund or for actual help on resolving these issues. 

A: We have tried to help resolve the issue.  She needs to provide the correct SMTP details within the software before we can troubleshoot why emails are not being sent.  In her own words "It worked for a month then stopped" leads us to believe there is an issue when she moved the software from ********* to *********** so we do not believe she has justification for a refund.   Again, all ****** needs to do is provide the correct SMTP details and we can help, but she has failed to do so.   

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues