BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in internet coupons.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RetailMeNot, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RetailMeNot, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RetailMeNot, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 2010 Business started: 09/17/2007 Business started locally: 09/17/2007 Business incorporated: 09/17/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cotter Cunningham, CEO Jeanne McNeil, Executive Assist
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cotter Cunningham, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • 301 Congress Ave Ste 700

    Austin, TX 78701 (512) 777-2970

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Internet business placed an expired and/or outdated 3rd-party shopping coupon ($15.00 off Ebay purchase when using Paypal) on it's site even though the coupon has been expired since 2012. There were over 160 comments left by irate folks that the coupon was a hoax. I tried it and it did not work. There are many other Internet sites that mention this coupon and it's unique code going back to 2012 - always saying it was a chain-letter type joke, but that it did work for a tiny fraction of people.

Desired Settlement: What they think is fair.

Business Response: Hello,

We have looked into this offer.  It appears to work for a select group of people, but since it didn't work for everyone we have removed it from the Paypal store page.  I have searched our system for an email from ********************* and wasn't able to find anything from that address.  We do respond to all emails that come into RetailMeNot.com.

Regards,
******* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Their Email Contact Us page was also not working that day - this I learned after typing the whole thing up and it would not Submit.  I did see the 15.00 deducted from my purchase on the Ebay page, but it was later added back on, on the Paypal page. 

What about a compromise of 50% of my loss?

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: We will issue him a $20 virtual rewards card.  This should be ample compensation since the offer was for $15 off.

Regards,
******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I am of the understanding (Please notify me if otherwise) that this is a Visa Virtual Rewards Card with a US Dollar value of $20.00 as mentioned on the Retailmenot.com website.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 8, 2014, I clicked the unsubscribe link in an email that the company sent me and was taken to a page to update my alert preferences, which I did. For alert frequency, I selected " Never (Stop All Alerts)". However, that has not stopped any alerts. I continue to receive alerts from the company. The company knows they are not to send me alerts because each subsequent time that I click the unsubscribe link, my preferences are still set to "never". This repeated contact is in direct violation of the CAN-SPAM act of 2003 in that the company did not remove me from their mailing list within 10 days of my initial request, and/or did not continue to honor my request for at least 30 days. This complaint will serve as formal evidence that the company has been put on notice, and future emails may result in a request for damages in the amount of $16,000 per occurance.

Desired Settlement: Please abide by my previous request and stop contacting me.

Business Response:

We have looked into this request and found that ***** *****, ********@************* unsubscribed on 5/05 from the newsletter.  The last newsletter we sent to him was on 5/04.

 

He does show as having expiring saved coupon alerts turned on his user profile.  This is a user profile setting and not an email based setting and is not visible on the /unsubscribe page but instead the user page.  Clicking "Unsubscribe All" on the unsubscribe page will still turn these off.  We have disabled these on the back end to ensure he doesn't receive any accidentally.

 

Please let me know if you need any other information.

 

Thank you,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

However, I still contend that I clicked "unsubscribe" on April 8th.  In fact, as I stated before, I received additional emails on May 3rd and May 5th (not May 4th as expressed in the company response).  I know these dates because I keep all emails from companies that I unsubscribe from, beginning with the email that triggered the request.

Why would there be a "hidden" subscription item?  If a person elects to unsubscribe to "all" emails by clicking the appropriate link, that should mean "all" and not "all except for the ones we hide from you".  That's a great way to trigger FTC complaints.

Unfortunately, it took this to get me off of their list, and while they don't acknowledge that I unsubscribed on April 8th, this response does serve to set a specific date that they did eventually unsubscribe me.  Consumers shouldn't have to jump through these hoops to stop receiving emails.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RetailMeNot.com has posted links to the ************.com website claiming that we offer products we do not, at discounts we do not honor. There are no codes associated with these links. If a customer clicks on the link they are taken to our site where we neither offer the product or the discount. This is damaging to our site. Not one of the "codes" or links RetailMeNot.com is publishing is valid. RetailMeNot.com has allowed this information to be posted, why whom we do not know, without validating that it in fact is a real thing. We have made multiple attempts to contact RetailMeNot.com regarding this issue. Our requests to have the ************.com content removed from the RetailMeNot.com site have been denied. RetailMeNot.com does not have permission to use the ************.com logo in its ads or links. RetailMeNot.com is posting misleading information that is damaging to our business. RetailMeNot.com should immediately remove any link or ad that promises that ************.com offers a service, product or discount that it does not offer.

Desired Settlement: Immediate removal of all ************.com links and codes from the RetailMeNot.com website.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

RetailMeNot.com is happy to remove invalid content.  The customer should contact **********@rmn.com.  Our site allows customers to post coupons and offers, sometimes expiration dates are not accurate or forgotten.  If the merchant could contact us directly, I would be happy to help.

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For months I've tried again and again to Unsubscribe to their email list to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from the list and note on their account here the practice they have of not allowing Unsubscribes.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Please thank ***** for his e-mail.  I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.  We completely unsubscribed him from all of RetailMeNot's e-mails.  If he requires any additional assistance, we can be reached at **************************. 

Warmest Regards,
***** *******
******** ******* *******
***************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am responding as an employee of ******** *********** ****** ***. *************** is a website that provides coupons for consumers. We had never heard of this website until a customer called us asking why the coupon offer "we" posted didn't work. After checking the site, there are a full 10 offers on their website that ******** *********** ***** neither posted or authorized any person to post for us. The offers are 3 years old and long discontinued. After contacting ************* customer service representative, ****** *., we were surprised to find that they refuse to remove these unauthorized and unapproved coupon offers unless we agree to give them another offer to replace it. ******** *********** believes this to be a form of blackmail in order to further their own website. ******** *********** has requested twice that *************** remove these offers to no avail. We feel that our company should not be forced to either honor the coupons posted there or offer any replacement coupon.

Desired Settlement: Removal of unauthorized coupon offers from ****************

Business Response: BBB,

It is fair use for consumers to post coupon codes and links on *************** and it is our general policy to not remove content.  We do make limited exceptions, however, if we have a good faith belief that a coupon is fraudulent or invalid. We have recently informed ******** *********** *****, ***. of our policy and have asked them to provide us with information indicating which, if any, of the coupons at issue are fraudulent or invalid.

Please let me know if you have any further questions,

Regards,
***** *******
*************** ******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

******** *********** does not dispute the fairness of posting coupons. Our dispute involves the fact the *************** has been informed by our corporate office that the offers recently posted on their website were valid for only a few days in 2010. Because the "coupons" have never been valid since they were posted and because we did not post them ourselves, we should not be obligated either to honor them OR to replace them with a valid offer. It damages our reputation to customers who have attempted to use these coupons at our businesses. The only solution *************** offers is a replacement and they flatly refuse to remove the offer.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1