Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of AllClear ID?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AllClear ID meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AllClear ID include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AllClear ID
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 27, 2011 Business started: 06/01/2004 Business started locally: 06/01/2004 Business incorporated: 01/24/2008 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis McLaughlin, Customer Support Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis McLaughlin, Customer Support Manager
Business Category

Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services Credit Cards - Protection Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AllClear ID has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 823 Congress Ave Ste 300

    Austin, TX 78701 (512) 236-0485 (888) 332-4963 (855) 434-8077

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 3356

    Suwanee, GA 30024

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 236-0485(Phone)
  • (888) 332-4963(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people say they represent Home Depot in regards to fraud protection Home Depot accts were compromised and free monitoring was to be provided by All Clear ID Investigations *** ******** *** ***** *** ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: Why are they demanding more of our personal information other than that provided to Home Depot to provide their services. I don't believe anything they say and I do believe in you and I want them checked out. Please help

Business Response: We are showing the email and physical addresses listed in the complaint as pertaining to a different individual who is enrolled in our services.  Additionally, no callback number is provided in this complaint.  We've had a Support Supervisor (Adam) reach out to Mr. ****** (********************) via email providing a direct phone line so that Mr. ****** call him to get this issue resolved.  Due to the conflicting information provided during enrollment, we will need Mr. ****** to call in before we can proceed.

Thanks,

****** ********** ******** ** ******** ******** ******** *** ******** ***** ****** ************ ******************************** * ******************

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This has not been resolved as assumed by both you(BBB) and All Clear ID Alert Network.   When we failed to send them what they requested, we heard from them no further and it is my understanding that I am not fully protected as such due to their request for a copy of a phone bill to prove who I am.   The confusion on their part is due to the fact that my husband originally lodged the complaint on my behalf and his name is different from mine.  Obviously, Clear ID wouldn’t know him or why he would be questioning their request.   Once again, I will repeat what took place.  One 10-16-14 “Scott” phoned me (***** ********) to state that All Clear ID needed a copy of a bill (phone bill, utility, etc) to establish my residence.  I explained that all bills are in my husband’s name (*** ******) and sending one wouldn’t prove who I am or that I own the home I am living in.

He instructed me to mail the document to : *** ******** ******* ***** **** ******* **  *****.    He also mentioned that because we have a unlisted home phone number

he would need proof that we are connected to this home phone number.  My husband and I both have issues with sending any sensitive personal information to these

people as they were only hired by Home Depot to monitor my credit history because of the recent breach of information of Home Depot customer accounts.

When I inquired as to my credit being in jeopardy due to the omission of the document, he stated that I was protected.  My question was and still is, if that in fact is the case,

why on earth do they need any further documentation?? 

***** ********

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: Mr. ******,

We'd love to be able to have to chance to assist you with this issue, and clarify any concerns you have around establishing services with us.  Please give me a call directly (************) and I'll be happy to assist.

Thanks,

****** **********
******** of Customer Services
AllClear ID, formerly Debix

****** ************ * ****** *** ************




Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

According to this business, I cannot be afforded the credit monitoring service they were to provide due to lack of required documentation they requested.

I have had prior experiences with hackers getting personal information and when the credit monitoring service was offered; they did so without requiring

any further documentation by me.   Why is All Clear requiring anything additional?  They have my SS#, address and certainly can phone me to see that I am the one

at the other end of the phone line in an effort to prove my identity.  

 

Please do not get stuck on predetermined dates before considering a matter resolved.   This is NOT YET SOLVED to my satisfaction as ****** ********** stated

I am only covered for fraud protection and not credit monitoring.   There must be some other way to obtain credit monitoring service from them as instructed by Home Depot other than requiring additional personal paperwork from me.  This issue is getting frustrating knowing that I have been dealing with the problem since Sept 2014 and it

Still hasn’t been resolved.

 

***** ********

 

 

12/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I made a purchase at Home Depot, they were hacked and my credit card information was stolen. To prevent further identity theft, Home Depot gave everyone who was affected a one-year subscription to the AllClear ID credit monitoring service. It took five phone calls to the company to get my credit monitoring set up, but I was assured by AllClear ID customer service that my credit was being monitored and I'd be informed about anything affecting my credit score. I got a new credit card two or three weeks ago, though, and have charged roughly $600 to it, and AllClear ID hasn't contacted me to ask whether I really ordered this card. I checked online and many AllClear ID customers have had similar responses, leading me to believe that AllClear ID doesn't actually do what they say they do.

Desired Settlement: My personal information was accessed by thieves after a purchase at Home Depot, and I want my credit monitored because of that. It's clear that AllClear ID can't do that, so I'd like them to find a company that actually will and give me their services instead.

Business Response: We've reached out spoken with Mr. ***.  We reviewed his services and explained that Credit Monitoring reports new activity on an individuals credit file and would not report transactions on already established accounts.  All concerns have been addressed.

Thanks,

****** ********** ******** ** ******** ******** ******** *** ******** ***** ****** ************ ******************************** * ******************


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It took me five days to get back to AllClear ID because the employee who called hadn't figured out how to turn on his voicemail. The response given here isn't even close to the truth, and in particular doesn't make sense because my complaint is that a month after I got and started using a new credit card AllClear ID still hadn't contacted me.

The employee had one defense: he said that AllClear ID only uses one credit reporting agency, Transunion, and somehow that means it can take up to TWO MONTHS for them to notify a client that a credit card has been issued in their name. This is absolutely unacceptable, and inexplicable considering I went to the free online credit-check service, which also uses Transunion, and found my new credit card listed, including the balance owed on the previous day.

Credit monitoring is useless when customers are notified of fraud after two months. If AllClear ID can't figure out a way to provide their services in a timely fashion, they should transfer my account to a company that can. And if the Better Business Bureau has any credibility at all, they should certainly not endorse a company whose services are both expensive and useless.

Regards,

****** ***

Business Response: I spoke with Mr. *** today.  We've upgraded him to a plan that includes credit monitoring with all three credit bureaus.  This should catch any activity (Inquiries or New Account Postings) regardless of which bureau it initially posts with.  We also reviewed that the credit monitoring does not cover the existing accounts that may have been exposed by the initial security incident, and that the main value of the services provided lies in the Fraud Restoration services, access to the AllClear ID Licensed Investigation team, and the Fraud Insurance.  At the end of the call Mr. *** expressed that he is still discontent with our services.  However, I do feel we've done everything within our abilities to address his concerns.

Thanks,

****** **********

******** ** ******** ******** ******** *** ******** ***** ****** ************ ****** *** ************ ******************************** * ******************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was given AllClear ID's services after my credit info was hacked from a home improvement store. When I signed up, they made me go through a tedious process of setting up alerts so I'd be notified by phone when fraud occurs.

As I subsequently learned, though, it can take up to two months for these "alerts" to go out, despite the fact that free credit reporting agencies online can provide this information within 48 hours. And when I complained, they admitted that their alerts are basically useless, and then said their insurance and investigation services can be very helpful. When you realize these are already covered by most major credit card companies, the inescapable conclusion is that this company doesn't actually offer any useful services.

For this reason I believe that the home improvement store still needs to give me competent fraud alert notification, and I believe AllClear ID does not deserve endorsement by the Better Business Bureau.

Regards,

****** ***

11/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approx 2 months ago, my wife, *******, and I took out an account with Allclear for identity theft protection. On Friday they called us and informed us that a credit card had been opened in our name. Thank goodness it was us who opened that account as we had transferred $4,000 from it. We received our first bill before Allclear even called us. There is no way this is identity theft protection. I attempted to call them twice and was put on hold each time. Each time I waited for 20 min and gave up. I email them and my email came back as undeliverable.

Desired Settlement: I want my account canceled with Allclear. I want all my info that I gave them deleted from their computers. I also want the BBB to know that their logo is at the bottom of the Allclear web page and was the main reason I went with this company. The BBB needs to rethink the placement of that logo. I also want this posted so that other people don't get involved with this company with out knowing that all is not as great as they make it out to be. Thanking you in advance ******* * *****

Business Response: We spoke with Mr. ***** and his wife on 11/7/2014 and apologized for the long wait he experience to speak with an agent.  We were unable to figure out why his email to our ********************** support group bounced, but we did explain that alerts will sometimes be delayed depending on when the new account was posted to the credit bureau by the financial institution.  Regardless, Ms. ***** did still choose to cancel her services with us and we obliged.  Mr. ***** did not have services with us and therefore, no cancellation was needed in regards to him.  I believe that AllClear ID has addressed and resolved this issue to the best of our ability.

Thanks,


****** **********

Director of Customer Services

AllClear ID, formerly Debix


10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was directed to All Clear ID by **** ***** due to their ID theft issues. I signed up at All Clear and then tried to loin which failed even though I went through their registration and verification process. It would not accept the PIN I had established then locked the account and told me to contact All Clear. There is no contact numbers on their web site and so called the number that called me to verify. There is no way to get out of the loop at that number to speak with anyone unless I log in and if I go to the support line, it says my account has been verified and hangs up. There is no way to contact them and the emails are not responded to.

Desired Settlement: Fix my account login, provide a contact number and let the world know All Clear ID is a scam.

Business Response: I spoke with Mr. ******* ******* today and all of his issues have been addressed.  As well, he has my direct line in case he has further issues with support.

Thanks,

****** **********

******** of Customer Services

AllClear ID, formerly *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The issues in the complaint were discussed and the contact number was added to the AlClearID Web site. The lack of alternative contact methods have not been addressed, although it was indicated they were under consideration.

Regards,

******* *******

9/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My financial information was breached at **** *****. **** ***** referred me to sign up for a free year of credit monitoring from All Clear ID to help protect myself as a result of **** *****'s breach. From the **** ***** website I was redirected via link to All Clear ID where according to All Clear ID's webpage if I signed up for their **** ***** breach credit monitoring service I would have access to their telephone customer service support at ###-###-####. Their website also states that if my personal information is compromised,to call the same number ###-###-####. And, if I choose to opt out of their plan to call the same number ###-###-####. So considering the fact that **** ***** referred me to the service, I signed up for the protection plan. Signing up with All Clear ID involved giving them my social security number. After signing up with them, I received an email with a "redemption" and instructions to follow yet another link to redeem the code for my service. I then received yet another email informing me that I need to call ###-###-#### to activate my AllClear alerts. I proceeded to call that number and a recording to me to enter a phone number I could be reached at. I entered my cell phone number. Then it told me to hang up and they would call me at that number. I hung up, but my phone never rang. Then I had a voicemail notification. The voicemail was an automate recording, not a human voice, telling me it was AllClear calling but the message then broke up. It was then that I realized my cell phone signal was not strong enough to be used for this alert service. I then tried calling the customer support they assured me before signing up that I would have access to but I was put on hold for over 30 minutes and no one ever answered. Later I tried calling again and was again put on an extensive hold and no one ever answered. I then called the ###-###-#### alert set up number hoping I would get to speak to a human. This time when it asked me to put in a phone number I could be reached at, I put in my home phone number. The recording then asked me to speak my full name and a short message that I could use to verify my alerts. Then the recording ended. This was very troubling. The recording never verified who I was or the number I was calling from. I never gave them my home phone number when I signed up and therefore, there was no way for them to know who I was and what account I was calling about. So I went back to calling the customer service phone number. After two days of calling, no one has ever answered the phone. I then realized that the number the same number I have been calling for two days with no response is the same number they say to call when your personal information or identity is compromised to speak with one of their investigators so they can provide me with the services I was promised when signed up. But, no one ever answers. I am very afraid of this company. They have all my personal information, including my social security number and I can't even get a hold of them on the phone.

Desired Settlement: I want what they promised me when I signed up. I want customer support to answer the phone when I call the customer support phone number that is in the contract. I want a letter from them explaining to me why I had to complain to the Better Business Bureau in order to get what they promised me I would get when I handed over my social security to them. I also want my all my information removed from their database, including my social security number and I want confirmation in writing that my information has been removed. Additionally, I want my husband to be able to call the customer service number and have someone answer so he can request his information be removed as well. We do not AT ALL feel safe with this company having our information. I will not consider this dispute resolved until I have spoken with customer support on the phone to resolve this issue and until I have it in writing from them that all my information has been removed from their database.

Business Response: I have spoken with *** ***********, and all support issues around her and her husband have been addressed.  She also has my direct line and email address if she encounters any further issues around AllClear ID support.

Thanks,

****** **********

******** ** Customer Services

AllClear ID, formerly Debix

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you for this update.  I was actually able to speak with a customer service representative with this company this morning and the issue has been resolved.  Would you please confirm receipt of this email and that the company has been informed that the issue was resolved.

 

Thank you.


Regards,

********* ***********

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a "free" service and suddenly received several billings for a service that I don't want! I have contacted them several times through emails and also a letter through the mail with NO RESPONSE!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) CANCELLATION AT ONCE OF THE ACCOUNT! REF: I.D. #*******

Consumer Response:

Reference is made to complaint #*******.  It took many months, but the incident has been resolved to my satisfaction.  After repeated emails and complaints and being ignored for months, I have received credits to my charge card.  They should be more open about what people are signing up for and also to pay attention to emails and complaints!  Thank you for your help!

****** ********** ** ****** ***** ************ **** *****

--
******

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially spoke with a rep. He said I needed to give my social security number. This coming from a company that tracks credit card fraud. He said it would aid them in their pursuit of violators. He then said look us up on the BBB site. So, I decided to not give my social and look at the BBB site. All seemed ok. Then I called AC back. New person said, no I did not have to give my SS#, Mmmm? OK. When I asked for an explanation as to why one of there employees would ask for my social he said he did not know. Did not know? He also said that they could do everything they needed to do regarding frauad prevention without my social sec. #. The irony of this situation is obvious.

Desired Settlement: Why did one of their employees ask for my social? was this a rogue employee or what? Never give your social over the phone!

Business Response: To Whom it Concerns,

I spoke with Mr. *** today and apologized for the confusion around this matter.  He indeed did NOT need to give his SSN to AllClear ID in order to enroll in the "Plus" service that was being offered as a result of this incident.  My deduction was that the first agent he spoke with (*******) had confused Mr. ***** enrollment with a "Pro" enrollment, which does require AllClear ID to attain the SSN.  Mr. *** seemed content with this explanation, and was informed that our support agent will be coached on this matter so that this does not happen again.

Much appreciated,

****** **********
Customer Support Manager
AllClear ID, formerly Debix
office ************ | secure fax ************
******************************** | www.AllClearID.com


7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have opted out of all communications from this company several times, over several months, and they keep ignoring my requests, and this, against their own privacy policy. I continuously receive email communications at my address "*****************************".

Desired Settlement: I want a written statement that stipulates their intention to STOP contacting me effective immediately.

Business Response: Mr. Brunet,

We looked into your issue and found that you had indeed "unsubscribed" from receiving our newsletter a couple of times in the past.  Although currently we aren't sure exactly why you have continued to receive our emails, I did get this issue escalated to our engineering group to find the root cause and fix the issue.

To ensure you are no longer receiving email notifications from us I went in and purged your email address from our database.  This should fix the issue immediately.  I apologize that this happened, and if you'd like to contact me directly regarding this or any other issues with AllClear ID my contact information is listed below.

Much appreciated,
****** **********
******** ******* *******

5/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues