Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Omni Austin Hotel

Phone: (512) 476-3700 Fax: (512) 397-4888 700 San Jacinto, Austin, TX 78701 http://www.omnihotels.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Omni Austin Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Omni Austin Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 05/29/1992 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene McMenamin, General Manager Mr. Michael Deitemeyer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene McMenamin, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
HCD Austin Corporation Omni Austin Hotel Company at FIC Centre Omni Hotels & Resorts

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 San Jacinto

    Austin, TX 78701 (512) 476-3700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a $219.99 Sonic Care toothbrush stolen from my room while it was being cleaned. After a dozen e-mails and phone calls, the general ******* claims the toothbrush was thrown out by the housekeeper, inadvertently, and they do not claim responsibility for the loss and are offering me $100 as a "gesture of good faith" even though I had to pay $219.99 to replace the item that was lost. There are other reviews online where people had similar "losses" while staying there -- someone needs to look into this and prevent this from happening to future guests.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I want the replacement value for the item they admit to "losing" but I would like my money back for my stay. This is completely unacceptable customer service.

Business Response:

Guest claims we "stole" his toothbrush. Our housekeeping person said the item was in the trash can (it appeared to have fallen in the can, according to the housekeeper). We explained this to the guest. He went on Trip Advisor and claim he was robbed by the hotel. I offered to share the cost as a gesture of good will. He accepted.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Apparently, customer service is not a priority at the Omni.  To set the record straight, this notion of the housekeeper noticing the item in the trashcan was newly introduced to the story, one month later.  When I was on site, the Housekeeping ******* (*******) conducted an investigation where she tracked which key cards accessed my room (only the housekeeper's did) and she interviewed the housekeeper who said she did not see the item.  *******'s educated guess was that the housekeeper must have accidentally scooped it up while collecting all of the towels.  This is a very different story from what is now being presented.  And if the housekeeper did take special notice of the item in the trashcan, enough so as to recall it one month later, why did they not remove the item and return it to me?

It's mind-boggling that Management is going out of their way to avoid responsibility for this loss.  The value of the item is less than one night at the hotel. 

Being that the first GM I spoke with (while on site) offered to compensate me for the full value of the item, I wonder if the retraction of that offer, and the "new" story that is being presented, is a form of "retaliation" for me posting negative reviews online. 

As the BBB, you should also look into other online claims of personal property "disappearing" while staying at that hotel.  It seems to be a "thing" which is why I am going out of my way to share this story, to avoid other people falling victim to their unethical housekeeping practices and their embarrassing lack of customer service.

Thanks,





Regards,

**** ********