Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Menger Hotel

Phone: (210) 223-4361 Fax: (210) 228-0022 View Additional Phone Numbers 204 Alamo Plz, San Antonio, TX 78205 http://www.mengerhotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Menger Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Menger Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1971 Business started: 02/01/1859 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/1859 Business incorporated 12/21/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Smith, CEO Mr. Walid Harb , General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Walid Harb , General Manager
Principal: Mr. Joseph Smith, CEO
Business Category

Hotels Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Party Facilities Convention Services & Facilities


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    204 Alamo Plz

    San Antonio, TX 78205 (210) 223-4361 (800) 345-9285

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked 2 rooms from August 13-16th at the Menger Hotel. One of the room was #**** and the air conditioning was not working properly when we arrived. We called the front desk they sent someone to our room to look at it. They did something and air kicked on. The day the room was still warm and I had my son's come stay in the other room with us since it was not cooling down in 100 degree + weather. Saturday we called the front desk again and they sent someone up again who said there was nothing that could be done and brought up a box fan for the room. At $158.00 a night, that does not seem reasonable or even right for the cost. My children had to sleep on the floor due to this matter and that is not acceptable no matter their age

Desired Settlement: I should be given a refund for that room. The AC didn't work the entire visit and the hotel was made aware of this and did not offer to change the room or make other arrangements.

Business Response: We have been in contact with guest via emails this morning and have credited the $528.97 in full to her credit card today and we will be sending a copy of the adjustment, via email to the guest.
We also offered a complimentary future stay; however the guest turned it down per her response via email.

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made a reservation to stay 1 night at the Menger Hotel. We received a confirmation for the 1 night stay. We were informed that a 2 night deposit would be placed against our credit card and the deposit would be replaced by the invoice for our stay. We stayed at the Menger hotel on the night of Dec 12. We received the invoice in the room and were told that we could just leave with the express checkout. On Dec 15, we inquired about the billing - it had not been replaced by the 1 night charge. There was another $8 bill added to the account. We were told that that was for a bottle of water that was consumed. We consumed only water that was purchased from the nearby Walgreens. That charge has not been removed, nor has the billing adjusted. Reimbursement for convention activities is impossible when invoices and credit card billings are inconsistent. In this case, we feel we have been double billed and do not understand why the resolution has not been immediately made.

Desired Settlement: withdrawal of the deposit and billing to coincide with invoice.

Business Response: *** ***** was a participant of the city wide group, Breast Cancer Symposium. The contract received from Breast Cancer Symposium required all guests to have a two night minimum stay. 

We have recognized the discrepancy between the Breast Cancer Symposium contract and our guest and in the spirit of hospitality have extended a refund for the one night stay to *** *****. The $8.00 charge for the water has also been refunded.

These transactions were processed today, December 22, 2014 and *** ***** should receive notice on her credit card shortly.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond and provide a satisfactory resolution to this situation.

Best regards, 
******** *** ** ********
Manager on Property 
on behalf of 
*** ****** ** *******
General Manager
The Historic Menger Hotel
*** ***** ***** *** ******* **  ***** ************ *** ****


10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July **** we checked into the Menger Hotel and the valet took our bags to be brought up to the room. When the bags were delivered two were missing. After review of hotel tapes they identified a suspect who took the bags off the valet cart which was to the side of the valet station, unsupervised. Its been over 2 months without any remuneration. A CPAP machine (worth $1170) and several thousand in jewelry were taken. We keep being told its now in the hands of their insurance company although I believe the hotel is responsible regardless of what their insurance company reimburses. We've provided receipts for items we had but many were gifts from family and friends and no receipt exists. We would appreciate help expediting the matter.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate a monetary replacement for the items stolen of which a list was sent to the Menger Hotel.

Business Response: Contact and claim information:
Menger Hotel, *** *********** ********* ********* ** *** ******* ******* ************ *** ***** ******* ********* ******** *** ****** ****** ******** ************** ***** * ***********

On 7/**/2013, The Menger Hotel Loss Prevention Agents were notified that two bags were not delivered to Dr. ********'s guest room. Loss Prevention agents completed the reports and Ms. ********** submitted them by email to ******* Insurance with copies of the video. The video shows an unknown person entering the valet driveway, walking over to the luggage cart and removing a bag and leaving the valet driveway, walking down the hallway and exiting through the Menger Bar door inside the hotel. On 7/**/2013, Ms. ********** spoke to Dr. ********* and requested an itemized list of the items (jewelry) and supporting receipts. Dr. ******** advised Ms. ********** he would put that together and send it to her. On 8/**/2013, Ms. ********** received a list from Mrs. ******** and several receipts for the items that were reported in the bag and the CPAP machine. We did not receive receipts for the majority of the items listed. This list was emailed to ******* Insurance on the same day. On 9/**/2013, Ms. ***** spoke on the telephone with Dr. ******** and she advised him that the claim is being reviewed for property replacement.

Ms.********** has maintained contact by telephone with Dr. ******** and Ms. ***** during this time. Ms. ***** has also remained in contact with Dr. *********.
The Menger Hotel will support the decision made by ******* Insurance when the claim is resolved.





Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because; Although I am thankful that the Menger Hotel responded, it has been over 2 and a half months since our items were stolen because of the negligence of the hotel. I have attempted to convey from the beginning that the Menger Hotel is ultimately responsible for the loss and their dealings with their insurance company are a separate matter. I do not pay premiums to *******, the Menger Hotel does. I can therefore conclude if the insurance company does not accept the requested reimbursement then the Menger  Hotel will not meet its obligations. I think most individuals would determine this as an unfair outcome.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:
We appreciate the opportunity to resolve this incident with Dr. and Mrs. ********* and have thanked them for their patience and understanding.

A reimbursement check has been mailed to Dr. and Mrs. ********* on 10/*/2013

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:We still have not received the reimbursement check from the Menger Hotel. I was hoping to wait another few days for the check to arrive in the mail but the BBB policy requests feedback within 6 days which ends tomorrow. On the other hand I would have thought the check would have arrived already from *** ******* to *******.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: We regret that Dr. and Mrs. ********* has not received the reimbursement check sent to them at the address they provided when the incident was reported and is on another letter of correspondence.

 The check was mailed on October *, 2013. *** **********, my secretary, called Dr. ********* at **** **  toady so that she could address this and verify the address and see if perhaps Dr. and Mrs. ********* has received the check. 

Thank you for the opportunity to address this and we look forward to a successful resolution with Dr. and Mrs. *********.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The check did arrive today for the full amount requested and I want to thank the Menger Hotel and Ms. ********** for making good on their promises and providing us restoration value for our stolen items.

Regards,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Menger Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)