Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel

Phone: (512) 323-5466 Fax: (512) 371-5222 6121 N Ih 35, Austin, TX 78752 http://www.crowneplaza.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2006 Business started: 02/08/2006 Business started locally: 02/08/2006 Business incorporated 09/25/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Randy Brunnemann, General Manager Ty Angeron, VP Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Brunnemann, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Banquet Facilities Party Facilities Restaurants Ballrooms Conference Centers Convention Services & Facilities

Alternate Business Names
Crowne Plaza Crowne Plaza Austin Crowne Plaza Hotel Hotel USA Partners, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 6121 N Ih 35

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 323-5466

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took three families to Austin, we stayed over CROWN PLAZA HOTEL in Austin Saturday Night, 2/20/2016-3/21/2016 and somebody broke in to our car , they broke my 2010 Mercedes Benz ML350 rear trunk glass, hotel staff and manager did not pay for our broken glass, this glass cost me $1200 to fix it, plus I had to drive this car to Houston with my 3 months old baby. Their security and staff did not secure our cars and our lives. If I am staying at their hotel they need to make us feel safe.

Desired Settlement: CROWN PLAZA HOTEL needs to pay damage for our car.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

I was very disappointed in hearing of the vehicle break-in we encountered last weekend and have not had anything like this in over 6 months at our hotel and this is just really unfortunate.

In situations such as this we are not responsible and we have many signs in our parking lot that warn guests not to leave valuables in their cars and that we are not responsible for vehicle break-ins.

I also know that insurance companies will not even accept a claim for outside vandalism much like a UT football stadium or a mall parking lot would not be responsible for acts like this. This lies under the 

assumption of risk catagory and one that my hands are tied on in most cases. I do what we can and I have an outside security guard that rides around our parking lot from 10pm until 7am 7 days a week and I know 

that this helps but that it is not 100% full proof. With this said, I have decided to offer a good will gesture of $500.00 that I hope will pay any deductible or hopefully lessen the inconvenience. Please let me know the exact 

name and address so I can process this check correctly.

***** **********

General Manager

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

*****

Stadiums and malls are not the same as hotels, we actually stay, sleep and stay at the hotel overnight, so I strongly believe that CROWN PLAZA should secure their customer's cars and their values and I think CROWN PLAZA is a good and elite hotel that I would never think we would have gone thro something like that . If we choose to go hotel or motels for $35 per night , I wouldn't be surprise if they brake into our car ,but anyway I accept your good will gesture offer for $500, I will pay rest of the balance out of my pocket. How soon can you guys send the check out ?

PLEASE SEND THE CHECK ASAP, SO I CAN GET THIS GLASS FIX . Thank you

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Here is my address :

NAME : SERKAN 

**** ***** ***** ****** ***** ***** ****** **** ***************** **** * *** *** ** ** 

Regards,

****** *****

8/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked this hotel through ********* on July 1st and FULLY PAID for my stay then, on the 1st. I checked into the hotel on the afternoon of Saturday, July 4th. The lady at the desk was very nice, found my reservation & asked me for a credit card. I asked her "does it need to be the same one that I paid with online" She said "No, it's just for incidentals" so I gave her my credit card. I stayed at this hotel until Monday, July 6th when I checked out. While driving home, I get an e-mail notification that my credit card has gone over it's limit. It's a small credit card that I rarely use so I'm immediately thinking fraud on my card. I sign in and I have a $197 pending charge from Crowne Plaza. I think No way! The hotel room wasn't even that much! So I IMMEDIATELY call the hotel directly. I told the first lady what happened, she transferred me to someone else, I told that person what was going on & she transferred me again to someone else. I THINK the ladies name was ******** (I could be wrong on that) I told her my room was paid for 3 days before I even checked in, I had a charge on my card for $197 & had no clue why. The lady very rudely tells me "it's just a pending hold, you'll get it back depending on your bank" I asked why wasn't I TOLD this #1 and second why was a hold put on my card for $40 more than the room even cost?? I told her that I was told they needed my card ONLY FOR INCIDENTALS. The lady just sighed and said "not sure what to tell you about that, you should get it back in a few days" I just hung up. I could tell she did not care & was going to be of no help. So, I immediately (that Monday the 6th) tried to contact the corporate office for Crowne Plaza. It is now Friday, July 10th and the only response I have gotten is the cookie cutter "we will be in touch within 24 hours, sorry for the inconvenience" I have called & emailed them every single day and NOTHING is being done about this. This hotel chain does not care at ALL that this bogus charge was put on my card WITHOUT APPROVAL, which caused my card to be overdrawn and now I'M incurring fees for that. If the lady would have told me "we are going to put a $197 hold on your card during your stay" I would have given her my debit card & all would be fine.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I'd like a refund for my stay to help pay for the charges my credit card company is charging me for being overdrawn. I have spent this entire week with my credit card account in the NEGATIVE, which looks terrible on my credit report & with my credit card company (that's irreparable damage!) & who knows how long sitting on hold & writing e-mails to the corporate office just trying to get somebody to respond to me. It's just ridiculous at this point. It's terrible terrible business practices to do this & just not even bother responding when a complaint is made. It's also ridiculous how incredibly rude that manager was when I called into the hotel directly. I did not want to file a complaint with the BBB, but after a week of no response...I feel I have no choice.

Business Response:

Dear Mrs. ********,



We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced after your stay here at the Crowne Plaza. The credit card authorization for incidentals is a standard procedure at hotels and to ensure that each guest is aware of this we do post a notice at the front desk detailing what will happen with the card you provide. Upon your check out on July 6th the hotel released the full authorization back to your card as there were no additional charges.  At this point is it up to your banking institution to replace those funds back in your account. Unfortunately, hotel has no control over when this will happen. If your banking institution has yet to release those funds back into your account but is still charging you over draft fees there is not anything the hotel can do other than confirm with your bank that we released those funds upon check out. If you wish for me to have a conference call with your banking institution to confirm this I will be more than happy to do so.



Thank you,



****** *******

Crowne Plaza Hotel

******** ***********

************ *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was clearly told "WE NEED YOUR CARD JUST FOR INCIDENTALS ONLY" Those were the exact words the lady at the front desk told me. This does not explain why my card was charged $40 OVER my hotel stay amount (which, again, was ALREADY paid for), why the manager was so insanely rude to me & why I couldn't even get anybody AT Crowne Plaza corporate to respond to me until I filed a complaint with the BBB 5 days AFTER my first complaint. It would be one thing to just double charge me, but to place a "temporary" charge on my credit card for MORE than my actual stay...come on...that's crazy.  What a terrible, cookie-cutter response from Crowne Plaza, how disappointing. Makes me dislike Crowne Plaza even more. 

Regards,

******* ********

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2011 while attending a State of Texas conference my hotel room caught on fire. Resulting in a loss of all of my items housed in the hotel room. Since 2011 the hotel has refused to reimburse me for my items and have failed to communicate with my lawyers who are assisting me. The matter has been handled very insensitively from the beginning. I have not only lost my items but now feel completely victimized. For almost three years not I have been ignored and the hotel has treated this matter as if it did not happen.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that all of my lost items be replaced, lost work and school tuition reimbursed, and that I be compensated for my suffering due to being ignored for almost three years.

Business Response: I have no indication of a name of the guest in question but I can assure you that if this is the guest that was in room 210 where the flooding occurred then we have done everything on our end to compensate this guest for the inconvenience. Over $300 was given to her in cash to go out and replace her clothes, make up, etc. so she could complete her stay with our hotel. We also did not charge her any room charges during this difficult time and did all we could in getting her taken care of. She also hired an attorney and was offered $5000 for damages and I believe she refused. From that point of the issue was between her attorney and ours and we were completely out of the picture from that moment on. I have not heard any issues from this geust until now if this is the same guest. Any other guests that we had to relocate that evening (which was 31 total guests) we paid for their room at an area hotel and brought them all back the next day and shuttled them to and from our hotel via our van drivers. I also have not received any emails or messages regarding this issue until now. I can be reached at ************ if added information is needed. We did everything possible in making guests comfortable during this time and I actually received many compliments from attendees on how we handled the entire situation.  ***** **********  ******* *******

Consumer Response: From: ******* ****** [mailto:***********************]

Sent: Wednesday, November 06, 2013 5:10 PM

To: **** ****

Subject: Re: Your BBB Complaint ID#*******, Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel
****,

During the time of this interaction my name was *******
*********.  I have since gotton married and my name is now *******
******.  The person that I did business with was ***** **********.

 

******* ******

************

Business Response: Ana, we now know that this is ******* ********* for which we did
take care of during this incident. I personally refunded her over $300 in cash
to take care of her clothes, make up, etc. that she

Lost during this difficult situation. She is being completely
untrue about the fact that we are not responding as I have not heard any word
from *** ********* for over a year now. Also, she hired an

Attorney from the Houston area that represented her and our
attorney and hers worked out the these issues and I have not heard any word on
this up until this week. I also did not charge *** *********

For her hotel stay or for her food while she completed her stay
with our hotel.

I can provide you documented information from our Attorney that
will prove the different correspondences that occurred between the attorneys if
needed.

 

Also, because she requested an attorney resulting from this
situation I am not at liberty to get involved at the property level but will
have to forward this information to our attorney that

Handled this to see if this is still an active account.

 

Thank you,

*****
**********, ***

******* *******

Crowne Plaza Austin
**** ** ** ** ******* ***** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This incident happended in September of 2011.  While he did reimburse me for items that I bought at ******* and ****** so that I could continue in attendance of my manditory conference I was not reimbursed for my other lost items which included a computer, school books, shoes, additional clothing, personal items, etc.

Because of the hotels refusal to reimburse me for all lost items and their unresponsiveness I hired a lawyer to assist me with this matter.  The issues have not been worked out and three two years later I have still not been reimbursed for my lost items.  The hotels lawyer denied my claim stating that it was the fault of the heater manufacturer.  Since my lawyer has made numerous attempts to resolve this matter with the hotels lawyer and insurance company and neither one of them has been responsive.

My employeer was covering the cost of my room so I am not sure if the hotel covered those fees however, the hotel never paid for any of my food so this is a completely false statement. I can also provide documentation where my layer has been trying to contact their Attorney with no success.  I feel as though they are completely trying to ignore and avoid this situation. ?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)