This Business is not BBB accredited

Home Warranty Administrators

Phone: (866) 681-3656 515 Congress Ave Ste 2300, Austin, TX 78701 http://www.homewarrantyadministrators.com

View BBB Rating for Home Warranty Administrators's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Home Warranty Administrators. BBB Serving New Jersey has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Home Warranty Administrators.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2011 Business started: 07/23/2010 Business started locally: 07/23/2010 Business incorporated: 07/23/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Victor Mandalawi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor Mandalawi, Owner
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
Choice Home Warranty HWAT, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    515 Congress Ave Ste 2300

    Austin, TX 78701 (866) 681-3656

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid $910 for Home Warranty coverage with Choice. Our oven went out & tripped the breaker. Choice Home Warranty (CHW) send a tech, who indicated that breaker needed replacing (in writing) but CHW then denied the claim saying it was water damage. We disagreed, so CHW said we could get another opinion, but we would have to pay for it. Another electrician came out, and confirmed no water damage. He replaced the breaker as diagnosed by the CHW tech. for $100. The breaker replacement did not fix the oven issue. So basically the tech from CHW had misdiagnosed the issue on both counts (bad breaker & water issue), but CHW still insisted that they still would not honor the warranty. Furthermore the CHW rep kept repeating the denial over & over again on the phone, would not allow me to get a word in, would not provide reason for denial in writing, would not let me speak to a Supervisor and hung up on us. So thus far, I was out of the $910 for warranty that wasn’t doing much, out $45 for the CHW tech, out of $100 for replacing breaker & getting second opinion that CHW then refused to listen to, not to mention the wasted time for the countless calls & follow-ups with rude CHW reps that were very unhelpful...and we still did not have a working oven. We called another company, that then pulled out the oven, found the short behind the oven & repaired the issue for $279. The tech has provided a written explanation of the repair, in addition to providing me with the “shorted wire” that was replaced.

Desired Settlement: Cost for repair = 45+100+279 = 424 Warranty cost = 910 Total = 1334 Cost of repair $424. Additionally, I have lost faith in CHW and would like to get a refund for the remaining time left on the warranty coverage.

Business Response: The details of your situation are not representative of the normal CHW customer
experience and we sincerely regret your frustration and discomfort.

 
We are committed to providing a positive customer experience and doing the
right thing for all our customers, contractors and employees. We take customer
feedback very seriously. Among other things, it’s an important component in how
we rate our contractors.

 
Choice Home Warranty provides home warranty service coverage on the systems and
appliances listed as “included” under the terms of the User Agreement.  It
is important to read and understand the coverage and terms offered by CHW.


Unfortunately CHW cannot reimburse you if the short caused the failure, electrical shorts are not covered by your contract.

We are sorry we could not assist you. 


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
 

We do not have a resolution from the vendor, so please do not
mark the complaint as being resolved.

 

The vendor’s response was that the “electrical short” is not
covered.

I have read the policy coverage, and it does not exclude such
items under the terms – please see attached, paragraph 7 on Electrical
Coverage.

 

Thanks

Business Response: Dear **** **********,

Our mission at Choice Home Warranty is to provide property owners with peace of mind by offering a high quality, easy and affordable way to protect their most valuable asset.  We are committed to providing a positive customer experience and we take all feedback very seriously.  Choice Home Warranty provides home warranty service coverage on the systems and appliances listed as ‘INCLUDED’ under the terms of the User Agreement sent to you at purchase.  It may also be found on our web site at http://www.choicehomewarranty.com/user_agreement.php

Upon review of your account it appears that we have processed and approved the following claims:

11/29/2011 Claim # 49600719 Microwave $355
11/29/2011 Claim # 49600729 Washer $25
5/4/2013 Claim # 50497782 Plumbing System $30

We regret your frustration with the outcome in regard 
to claim # 50553812, for the non-functioning Electrical System.  However, upon review this is a non-covered item as described in Section [INSERT LETTER].[INSERT #] of the Term of Agreement:

8. We are not liable for repair of conditions caused by chemical or sedimentary build up, rust or corrosion, mildew, mold, misuse or abuse, failure to clean or maintain as specified by the equipment manufacturer, missing parts, structural changes, fire, freezing, ELECTRICAL FAILURE OR SURGE, water damage, lightening, mud, earthquake, soil movement, soil settlement, settling of home, storms, accidents, pest damage, acts of God, or failure due to excessive or inadequate water pressure.



This information was communicated to you on 6/1/2013.

The details of your situation are not representative of the normal CHW customer experience.  Please accept our apology for any trouble or inconvenience this has caused.  We appreciate the feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As attached in my previous correspondence, "electrical coverage" specifically covers "all components & parts" and the exclusions clause (page 3, item 7) does not exclude a wire short, and hence is a covered item.

Additionally, items that were covered & repaired in 2011 as part of previous year coverage does not have anything to do with current claim.

Regards,

**** **********

10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service