This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 08, 2010 Business started: 09/28/2007 Business started locally: 09/28/2007 Business incorporated: 09/28/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Craig, Gen Mgr Mrs. Ruth Craig, Owner / President Mr. Tyler Craig, General Manager Mrs. Latrelle Mouton, Office Manager Mr. Scott Vantine
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Craig, Gen Mgr
Customer Contact: Mrs. Latrelle Mouton, Office Manager
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
AHPS

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 RR 620 N

    Austin, TX 78734

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO BOX 1628

    Round Rock, TX 78680 (512) 263-3764 (877) 581-4049

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to deal with this company on several issues. First, my air conditioner went out. I called. I took them days to send someone out. The man said I needed a whole new system as there were holes in the condenser coil both outside and inside. After hearing the repairman speak to the owner's *** on the phone, he was clearly telling him to not tell me it needed a new system and that the repairman should find something to patch it together. The repairman said that he couldn't and wouldn't. The repairman was also asked to look at my refrigerator while he was there since it went out. They called him away even though they'd taken an additional "co-pay" I was later informed (days later) that they would replace the inside coil only because outside has now been reported to them, by the repairman, that the unit was not properly taken care of (dirty, and the coil obstructed). I immediately called ***, who came out the same day, and was told that I needed a whole new system and he even commented, in writing, that the outside coil was clean and unobstructed. This company only uses one air conditioning company, also called Affordable, even though they operate in ******, TX - located in the *** **** and known for its hot summers. The company claims that these guys are wholly unrelated to their company but they are obviously in cahoots. For instance, when I dial the number of a former AHPS employee's cell phone number -stored from a previous encounter - it's now answered by Affordable Air Conditioning Their **** page is filled with reviews on how they do not honor their contracts and don't pay their subcontractors. They MO is to not acknowledge a claim for a few days, make an appt a few days out, and then send their inept crews. It took over 6 visits for them to fix my dishwasher when it went out. Now I have paid them three or more co-pays to fix my air conditioner, ice maker, and refrigerator. It's now more than three weeks later, I have not been paid for my a/c, my fridge is still broken after two visits, and my ice maker still does not make ice after three visits.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the expense of hiring legitimate repair companies to fix my A/C ($7,000), and fridge and ice maker - yet to be repaired.

Business Response: Our Service Manager is working on a response to *** ***** ******* complaint.  We should have it posted by next Thursday, May****, 2013.  Your patience is appreciated.

Sincerely,
***** *****
Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It is not a response.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Please find attached response from our Service Manager regarding ***** ******* complaint #*******.

Sincerely,
***** ** *****
*********
Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.


 Dear *** *****

 On March**, 2013, the above home warranty client contacted
AHPS to have his HVAC systems tuned up. 
Upon arrival, the technician reported that the indoor coil had a leak
and was rusted out.  On the outside
condenser unit, the technician noted that the unit had been completely
neglected and had not been maintained properly. 
The technician mentioned that there was about 6” of leaves piled up in
the bottom of the unit, which hindered the unit’s performance and ultimately
caused greater issues.

As the tech continued to perform service on this outside
unit, he discovered that the coil was completely restricted.  The HVAC unit was producing cold air, but the
outside coil was functioning at sub-par levels. 
As the Service Manager, I explained to *** ***** that we could not
replace the outdoor condenser coil under the warranty due to the lack of
maintenance.  However, I did approve the
replacement of the indoor evaporator coil under the warranty.  The customer also made claims on his
refrigerator and icemaker, while trying to get the HVAC claim resolved.

 
Regarding AHPS’s decision on the HVAC claim, *** *****
became extremely upset with the decision and started calling our receptionist
extremely vulgar names and using profanity towards her before he hung up on
her.

*** ***** then called again regarding the status of his
refrigerator and icemaker claim and proceeded to use profanity and called our
receptionist extremely vulgar names repeatedly, until I got involved and told
*** ***** that he will not treat the staff this way and that all claims (from
this point forward) are being put on hold due to his behavior.  We contacted the ******* Police Department to
assist us in properly making a report and dealing with the situation.

In conclusion, AHPS has determined that it will cancel *** ******* contract and refund the unused premium. 
According to his home warranty contract, under Section VI.
Miscellaneous, #1., it states:  “If
this contract is cancelled, the client shall be entitled to a pro rata refund
of the paid contract fee for the unexpired term, less an admin fee of $50 less
any service costs incurred by AHPS.”

We feel that this is the only solution AHPS has to offer the
client, and we hope this will resolve the issue.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Service Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

Bad Faith



Not surprisingly this company's promised "response by Thursday" came 5 days late, as well as getting some key dates wrong.  The attached Exhibit A shows my first contact with AHPS occurred about a week prior to the 3/27/2013 date given in his response.  The exchange relates to the company’s refusal to pay for the ONLY test that could be done on my system to determine what the problem was.  I ultimately gave in and paid the additional “Leak Search Fee” ($140) for the inside and outside coils.  I was told by the man that I had significant leaks inside and out and that I needed a whole new system.  He spoke with ***** ***** - Service Manager/******* *** * and is heard arguing with the technician about what the best course of action is to repair my system as if he’s the technician or has even inspected the unit.  I recorded most of their conversation, snippets are attached a Exhibits B.  The audio is recorded with a microphone from my ******, you can hear *** ***** more clearly from the phone.  Two things are wrong with what you hear.  In the first 30 seconds you hear mention of the outside coil leaking so badly he can’t even get the wand close enough to the coil to find a particular leak and the inside system - “you can just see where that thing is leaking”. There’s no mention, however, about a dirty obstructed coil or 7” of leaves.  Miraculously those things were not mentioned until *** ***** denied coverage.  *** was hired the next day and AMAZINGLY showed up on the same day like a professional you’d expect from “Gold” level coverage with a home warranty co.  Their report - without a “Leak Search Fee” mind you - clearly states that the unit needs to be replaced and even comments, in writing, that the “Evap coil is leaking, outside system looking fine, condenser coil clean.”  See Exhibit C.  Now I know I didn’t go out there and clean it, so either the man on the recorded phone call forgot to mention it AND I became victim to a drive-by coil cleaning, or this company has AGAIN decided to deny claims it knows it owes.  Exhibit D shows the current reviews for Affordable Home Protection Services, you’ll see what has become an all too familiar impression of the “service” they provide.  It’s a long list of people with denied claims, unpaid subcontractors, checks that never come, etc...


Mind you while all this discussion is going on I fall victim to yet another appliance failure.  Again, I contact AHPS, they wait to get back to me and then claim the next available technician for my refrigerator can’t come until 5 days later.  Again - if you’re a crooked insurance co. - hiring the smallest and most unavailable companies to make your service calls as infrequent as possible you’re bound to make money.  In Exhibit E I specifically request someone qualified to work on my Sub Zero since the last time they sent someone out he didn’t even work on Sub Zeros.  The man came, replaced a part, and left saying it was fixed.  I checked it later and saw it still wasn’t cooling off.  I texted the repairman who told me he could come out the next day (Saturday).  I cancelled my plans and waited until about 1:30 in the afternoon to contact him.  Our text exchange is included as Exhibit F.  You’ll notice - in stellar “Gold” service from the fine folks at Affordable - he went dark and never responded and still hasn’t to this day.  When I again called *** to come out - the same day - to fix the fridge the problem ended up being a warranty repair covered by SubZero.  At that point I realized all that wasted time, effort, and “co-pays” could have been avoided if someone competent had been called out in the first place.  Although the warranty didn’t cover the labor, it was refreshing to see what a reputable company can provide in the way of knowledgeable service professionals.  Exhibit G is the bill from *** ********* who does Sub Zero warranty work in ******.


I must admit that after the lies, wasted wait times, and wasting a complete Saturday I might have become disgruntled but to act like my attitude is less than justified is again disingenuous.  Their MO, as evidenced by the consistent behavior to me and others, is to delay, deny, and then through complete - yet intentional - ineptitude try to push you to the point where it’s no longer worth it and you call someone else.  Due to the amounts contested and the principle of the matter I cannot get to that last stage.  I urge the BBB to reconsider AHPS’  BBB Accreditation and stand up when a consumer is so clearly not getting what they agreed to in good faith.


Although I did enjoy *** ******* referral to my attitude as if it’s just cause for denying claims - as if the attitude preceded the issues.  His cancellation of policy due to contested claims is also a sign of bad faith.  As of today, I’ve paid over $1,000 for a home warranty, paid for at least three service calls, paid for two “Leak Search Fees”, and all I received in return was no show appointments, inept repairmen, and condescension from AHPS staff.  On my own, I’ve had to hire and pay for a new A/C (*** ******* $7,000), pay a legitimate repair company to fix my warrantied refrigerator **** $947.33), replace a disposal (*** Exhibit H $397), and I still have a broken stand alone ice machine than needs a new $800 part - even after being repaird by AHPS service techs.  It’s interesting to note another apparent deception by AHPS.  They consistently claim that Affordable Plumbing is in no way affiliated with them and that they’re simply their preferred provider.  However, in Exhibit B you hear the tech mention that I would be wise to accept “their” money and upgrade my a/c system.  It’s also possible to reach Affordable Plumbing repair technicians by calling a cell phone formerly owned by ****** ****** - ex employee of AHPS.  Which reminds me of another ex-employee who runs the Affordable Home Protection Services ******** page ****************************************.  Not surprisingly there are numerous posts there as well about AHPS’ delay, deny, etc...  On it he’s quoted as saying, “We have closed the ****** office and I am no longer working for AHPS It has been a fun ride, but the service quality has been poor and I could not continue representing a company that did not care about their customers.”  Hopefully, with your help, we’ll be able to let them know that they do in fact need to be more concerned with their customer’s well being.


I want to be paid back for the out of pocket expenses that I’ve paid and a full refund of my policy premium to cover the costs to repair the ice machine and compensate me for my time and anguish.


Respectfully,


***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that Arbitration is necessary.

Regards,

***** *****

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in the summer of 2012, one of my AC units broke. AHPS sent out their repair guy to look at it who told them it had to be replaced. When they didn't like that answer, they brought 3 other companies out - all of which had the same answer. So they then offered me some money to go towards a new unit which woudl have made me come out of pocket significantly, even though the warranty policy covers replacement if repair is not possible. In the end, they paid for a new unit...but it was a USED unit. A year later, the new/used unit went out. The company they sent out to repair it concluded it needed a new motor, freon and some other parts....almost a $1400 repair. The weather outside was over 100 degrees and i have three children at home. However, the repair guy told me he couldn't do the repair until he was paid by AHPS due to previous collection issues with them. AHPS told me they could get a check to the A/C company in 4 days, but i'd have to go 4 more days with a house that was over 90 degrees. When i asked why they couldn't ACH the payment to the repair company, they said they couldn't do that. When i told them i couldn't go another 4 days in the dreadfully hot house, they said, i could pre pay the repair and they would reimburse me. They were given the quote from the repair guy and i confirmed with my relationship person at AHPS (who is no longer with the company) the amount i had to pre pay ($1,390). I paid that amount on July 25, 2013 - almost 4 months ago. i have been bounced around from person to person and told several times that my reimbursement check had been sent (only to then contradict that statement by saying it hadn't been processed). At one point, i was offered a lesser amount ($1,131) by family/owner ***** *****, even though the $1,390 was approved by AHPS PRIOR to me pre paying. He said he had submitted that amount to accounting for payment. That was at the end of September...and still no check. My lawyer sent a letter to AHPS stating the amount due to me and a request for settlement. That letter has gone unanswered. Additionally, i have had a hot water heater go out that i had to pay for myself, and an ice maker that they never sent anyone to repair because at this point, my policy is worthless and nothing will be honored from this company.

Desired Settlement: I need to first be reimbursed the full $1,390 and reimbursed for 5 months on the policy (august - december 2013), as after July, i essentially have no policy with this company as they won't even respond to me at this point.

Business Response: We sent a written response on 11/**/13 to Ms. ************* attorney and mailed a copy to Ms. ***********.  We await their response to our offer to try to resolve this claim.

Consumer Response:

Hello,

My complaint was closed when the company told you they had resolved with me; however – they have not. I have yet to be reimbursed for the amount they had me pre pay on their behalf when their service provider refused to do work for them before being paid upfront (due to their lack of payments in the past).

Can you please re open or contact the company again on my behalf?

Thank you

****

**** *********** 

********* & CEO


****.**********************  
** ************

c: ************
f:  ************


**************

Business Response:

****:

Mr. ***** *****, ********* of Affordable Home Protection Services, is in communication with Ms. ***********’s attorney to try to settle this matter.  We hope to have this matter resolved within a few days. 

 

Sincerely,

******** ******

Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.

** *** **** ***** ***** ** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Hello

This complaint has still not been resolved. Mr ***** ***** does respond to my attorneys emails (usually after a couple of weeks) but no resolution has occurred and the claim just keeps getting kicked forward. Lots of delay tactics. It has now been 7 months since I have been out of pocket over $1300 for pre paying for Mr *****.

Please consider this complaint still open.

Thanks

****

Business Response: Since Ms. *********** has an attorney, we must deal with him unless he advises otherwise.  Also, her complaint seems to be geared toward me, but I have no agreement with her.  Her agreement is with the company Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.
Thanks
***** ***** 

Business Response:

****:


We have reached an agreement and are mailing a check to settle the claim.

 

Thanks

***** *****

Affordable Home Protection Services

** *** **** ***** ***** ** *****  

Consumer Response:

Hi ****

Thank you for checking in.

Yes – I finally received a check (albeit for an amount less than what they owed me). I went to cash it at the bank it was drafted on and there were insufficient funds in the account. I deposited it my account Thursday and my bank just told me that it cleared this morning.

I am cautiously optimistic this is behind me but remain completely appalled at how they do business.

I really appreciate all of your help.

Thanks

****

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased the standard policy from Affordable Home Protection Warranty and we had an issue with a dripping noise coming from the 2nd story bathtub. The first response from AHWP was sorry you aren't covered, even though the policy states 'plumbing systems' are covered. Company stated that we could still purchased the 'leak search' option, if we wanted that to be covered. We searched for the 'leak search' option, which we couldn't find. They finally agreed to send a plumber and they charged us the $75 copay. The plumber couldn't make a diagnosis without cutting into the walls. We have called and e mailed AHPW to see if they will take care of this issue. So far no response, It seems that if a claim costs them more than the $75 copay they will reject the claim or not respond to their client's concerns.

Desired Settlement: We want to cancel our policy and be reimbursed the $395 that we were charged.

Business Response:

January 20,2014

Attn: **** *********, Better Business Bureau

Re: BBB Complaint #******* — **** ************

In response to the customer's complaint, our Claims Manager, *******, said the customer called in on a Saturday and made a claim. The customer said that when he flushed the toilet upstairs, he could hear water dripping through the wall. Our manager asked the customer if he could see where the water was coming from, and the customer said that he could not see any water leak, but the noise was inside the wall. Our manager told him that we could have a plumber come to his house on Saturday or Monday, and he chose Monday. She also told the customer that if the plumber could not see where the leak was, he would most likely need to do a leak search, which is not covered by the home warranty. Also, if the plumber has to cut a hole in the wall, the wall repair was not covered by the home warranty, because the customer had not chosen the optional coverage for inaccessible repairs. Our manager told the customer that sometimes a homeowners policy will cover repairing a hole in the wall.

The customer sent ******* an email on Monday morning, wanting to add the "inaccessible repairs" option, but couldn't find the "leak search" option. The claims manager called the customer to explain again that there is no "leak search" option and that is not covered by the home warranty. She also told the customer he could add the "inaccessible repairs" option, but it would not apply to the existing claim. The customer decided to have a plumber come out to check the plumbing and paid the $75 co-pay. The plumber inspected the house and reported that he did not see any water stains, leaks or water damage. The plumber told our claims manager that he would talk to the customer and explain that he could cut a hole in the wall to see if they could find anything, but it would not be covered by his home warranty. The claims manager thought that the matter had been handled, because she did not hear back from the plumber or the customer.

When the claims manager saw that the customer had filed a complaint with the BBB, she immediately called him. She always answers her calls and responds to emails, and she let the customer know that she did not have any additional complaint calls from him. She was surprised because she had helped him with his rekey service when he first got the home warranty. He had called a few times wanting to get the rekey service, but we were waiting on payment by the title company before his home warranty would go into effect. He had closed on his house on 12/12/13, but the check from the title company was not received by us until 12/20/13. According to the contract, the customer's plan does not start until 10 days after receipt of payment. Since the check was delayed by the title company, the claims manager allowed the customer to use the rekey service sooner, which made him happy.


The claims manager feels that she did everything to help the customer and explained what was not covered by his home warranty contract. Although the customer is unhappy, he is not entitled to a refund of his home warranty contract. Under Section VI. Miscellaneous, #1, the contract clearly states that it is non-cancelable. His claim was handled in accordance with the terms of his contract.

We appreciate your assistance in handling this complaint, and we hope this resolves the matter.

Sincerely,
***** *****
President

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Their recollection of the events are different than what actually happened.


  1. When I originally called ****** about the dripping noise coming from the upstairs bathtub, her first response was you are not covered because I do not have the “leak search” option.  My response was their policy clearly states “plumbing system” is a covered item and if there are so many exceptions then they should be upfront and not call it “Plumbing System”.  I also told her that if there is any other option which I can purchase to make sure I am covered I would like to buy it now. Her response was don’t worry at this time, we will send a plumber and my copay would be $125 for Saturday or $75 for Monday, which I opted for Monday.

  2. Monday morning the plumber showed up at my house and did a visual inspection. He could not find a leak and stated that the only way to find the source of the dripping noise was to cut into the celling. He made a call, not sure to whom and told me none of this is covered and gave me an estimate of the repair cost. The same day I sent an e mail to ****** and explained what the issue was and if they are going to take care of the repair. I did not have a call or an email from her or from any one till the following Monday, after I put a complaint with BBB.

  3. The following Monday, ****** called me. My first question was why did she have to wait till I complained to BBB before she replied to my e mail or to at least call me with their decision concerning my claim. Her answer was that “She did not receive my e mail”.  ****** went on explaining that they will not cover the repair because I do not have the option and also this is an excluded item.  I told her I have read the policy and nowhere is this mentioned. She replied I will e mail you the details.  I also told her that this is becoming too aggravating and I do not want to deal with your company any more. I have just signed up with your company and already paid my two copays and I would like to cancel my policy and receive my $395 back which she replied our policy is nonrefundable as stated in the policy.  I told her I do not see this on the policy.  She said she will e mail me the details. This was two Mondays ago, and I have yet to receive a call or an email from her or any one in her company regarding “leak search” and nonrefundable policy.

  4. About the rekeying of my house, I had to wait 1 ½ weeks before this service was done because of the delay on receiving their check from the title company. I was happy till I found out I could have paid my $75 directly to the rekey company and got that taken care of the first day which I was told by ****** that this was a $125 value.


I have decided that I no longer would like to deal with this company and I think any reputable company would respect their client wishes and not to force them to purchase a product that they are not comfortable with.


Regards,

**** ************

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My home warranty clearly provides for a re-key service as well as appliance repair issues. I tried to contact AHPS many times to get the re-key service performed and no one responded to me (for nearly two months), so I had to go ahead and pay for the service myself. When my dishwasher needed a repair, AHPS told me it would be several days before they could get someone to come look at it, and I would have to miss a day of work. I ended up having to pay for my own repair and AHPS said they would reimburse my out of pocket expense for the dishwasher repair once I told them this was the second thing I had to pay for out of pocket (first being the re-key). I have the offer from AHPS in writing, and I emailed them the invoice. It has been nearly two months and I have not received any reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: I want the reimbursement I was promised for the dishwasher repair - $125.

Business Response: As per the home warranty contract for Ms. *******, there is a $75.00 co-pay (deductible) for each claim.  The amount we are processing for payment for her claim is $50.00 ($125.00-$75.00).  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This is NOT what was agreed to. I was told the FULL $125 would be reimbursed as per my coversation with ***** *****. In none of his emails or during our phone conversations on October 23rd did he ever say that the full amount would not be reimbursed. The payment was supposed to have been sent to processing on October 23rd. Now, here we are two months later and nothing was ever processed and AHPS is telling me they will only reimburse $50 - this business is so fraudulent.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

****:

I forwarded the information you provided on Complaint #******* from ******* ******* to our President, Bruce *****.  He reviewed the information you sent, and although he disagrees with the amount owed and feels it was a miscommunication, he has authorized the accounting department to pay Ms. ******* the full $125.00 as good will.  We hope this will resolve the issue.  Thanks for your assistance.

 

Sincerely,

******** ******

Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.

 

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our AC Unit stopped working on Sunday October 13, 2013. We have left 4 unanswered phone calls/voicemails in the last 2 days. There is no message on the recording - very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Would like a returned phone call and a scheduled repairman as soon as possible.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the delay in answering this customer's call.  We were experiencing phone system problems, which have since been resolved.  However, we were able to assist this customer and took care of their claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home warranty with this AHPS Home Warranty September 6, 2012. This past July i called to receive services on my air condition unit. AHPS sent company ******* Air Conditioning to my home to service my unit. I paid AHPS my deductible of $60 over the telephone on July 18, 2013. Now ******* Air Conditioning has sent me a certified letter demanding payment in the amount of "$164 within the next 10 days or we will be forced to place a lien on the property." I have been trying to reach AHPS by telephone and I only get an answering service. I do not want a lien on my home due to fraudulent practices of Affordable Home Protection Services. I have a copy of threatening letter from ******* Air Conditioning.

Desired Settlement: I would like AHPS to pay ******* Air Conditioning the $164 owed to them within the next 2 business days. Or reimburse me the amount of $164 plus the $60 deductible that was paid to AHPS on July 18 from my account. Total amount I am requesting to have refunded to me is $124 in five business days.

Business Response: The following is our Service Manager’s response to her complaint. 

AHPS apologizes for any inconvenience that this matter with ******* Air Conditioning has caused the customer.  AHPS is paying what is owed to ******* Air Conditioning for the work performed.  In addition, we have stopped using ******* Air Conditioning as one of our approved contractors due to their unprofessional method of overstating repairs and then threatening customers when we do not agree with the amount of their charges.  We hope to have this matter resolved with ******* shortly and ask that the customer let us know if they are contacted by ******* again. 
               
Sincerely,

***** *****, Service Manager

 

Business Response: Hey ****:

I attached the stub to this email.  Thank you for help in this matter!

Thank You,

***** *****- Service Manager
Affordable Home Protection Services
Office: ************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This does not satisfy my request for proof of payment to this company ******* Air conditioning.  Yes AHPS say they will pay and if they do pay who's to say that ******* Air Conditioning will not still proceed with their threat to put a lien on my family home.  I am asking for proof of payment to ******* Air.  Also, AHPS did not address my request for a pro-rated refund for September and October.  I prepaid this contract in full with no problem so the least AHPS can do is address this issue.

I am requesting and requiring a proof of payment to ***.  Once I receive this I will adjust my response on BBB website.


Regards,

******** *****

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a new home we agreed to use the company for a home warranty. Shortly after purchasing the home when found a condition (defective) with the home vacuum system. They failed to cover saying it was a pre-existing condition. They agreed since we were new customers to refund our money. This was April 18th 2013 and we have still not received the refund. My realtor has tried numerous times to get the refund with no assistance from the company. I have attached the last email of correspondence from the company. From: ***** ************************************* Sent: Thursday, April 18, 2013 10:30 AM To: ******* ****** Subject: RE: ****** ****** * *** **** ***** ********* ** ***** Hello, We looked at the inspection report the air vac was not tested. So we do not know if it was working at that time. Unfortunately, it will not be covered because it is a pre existing condition. I am sorry that we can not cover that for you. Since you are a brand new customer my supervisor said we would love to keep you as a customer but if you feel that you would like to go with another company we understand and we will refund your payment. Please email me with your response or if you have any questions. ******* ****** Claims Coordinator Affordable Home Protection Services **** ** *** ****** ***** *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** **************************** ********************

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund of the policy since this was promised to us immediately after cancellation. Please contact me at ***** ********

Business Response: A check for Mr. Vietri's refund is being mailed today for $495.00 (check #****).  We appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter.

8/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 22nd. I purchased a home warranty plan for a home I had just purchased. On July 2nd. I called ahps to report my upstairs a/c was not working. They charged me $60 for the call per the contract. The tech showed up on July 5th. but was unable to repair the a/c. He found my a/c to be leaking freon but indicated he would need approval from ahps to proceed with the repairs. I tried contacting ahps 3 times on July 8th to see what was going on but all I was told was that a supervisor would need to authorize the repair. On July 9th the service manager finally called me. He said my a/c had the wrong size piston and therefor would not honor my warranty by covering the repairs. My home is 8 years old and according to the previous home owner the a/c was serviced regularly. I even had the system inspected by an hvac contractor and it was given a clean bill of health. I feel ahps is simply trying to find a way to deny the repair.

Desired Settlement: Honor the home warranty plan that I purchased and make the necessary repairs to my a/c.

Business Response: On 7/1/13, AHPS accepted a claim from the customer regarding their upstairs HVAC unit not cooling properly.  That same day AHPS contacted Affordable Air Conditioning & Plumbing to schedule a technician to diagnose and repair the HVAC unit.  On 7/5/13, Affordable Air Conditioning’s technician went out to the customer’s residence and diagnosed the issue with the HVAC unit.  The technician reported to AHPS that there was a leak in the HVAC evaporator coil that was caused by an improperly installed piston.  AHPS cannot cover this repair under the home warranty due to the HVAC system being improperly installed equipment.  The warranty contract states:  “AHPS is not responsible for repairs related to inadequacy or lack of capacity, improper installation/mismatched equipment, previous repair or design, components or parts that do not affect the main operation of the unit and any modification to the system or appliance.”  (See Section V. Limitations of Liability, paragraph 3.)  Based on this information, AHPS stands firm on its decision to deny coverage on this repair.  Customer will need to get this repair made properly, and proof of repair will need to be submitted to AHPS before coverage can be reinstated on the customer’s HVAC unit.

Sincerely,

***** *****
Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.
2009 Ranch Road 620 N Suite 340
Austin, TX 78734
512-263-3764 office
512-243-8608 fax

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In good faith I purchased a home warranty from AHPS. Prior to purchasing the warranty the home was inspected and the a/c was inspected by an air conditioning contractor and was given a clean bill of health. I do not accept the fact that they are trying to find a loop hole in their coverage to try and get out of making the repairs. I have since paid Affordable Air conditioning and Plumbing $1000 to make the necessary repairs. I want AHPS to reinburse me for the repairs that should have been covered by the warranty.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ****** rejects our response.  However, we must stand by our response, which is supported by the home warranty contract.  We appreciate your efforts in trying to resolve this.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

AHPS obviously doesn't stand behind their warranty. I have no other choice than to spread the word throughout the realtor community in hopes they will remove them from their recommendation list. It's a shame, I was excited about using a local company but they turned out to be untrustworthy and unreliable.

Regards,

**** ******

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AHPS determined in January that they would rather pay approximately $225 to me rather than repair my dishwasher. As of today, I have not received payment. I have made repeated calls to AHPS to get a status on the payment and I feel I am getting the run around. In the meantime, my dishwasher is not operational.

Desired Settlement: I expect a check, as promised, in lieu of repair of the unit.

Business Response: In response to this complaint, we mailed Check #**** for $225 to this customer today, and we apologize for the delay.  We appreciate your assistance in this matter.

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an active contract with Affordable Home Protection Services (AHPS). My contract is the "standard" level contract. According to the basic level contract, Water Heaters with a tank, known simply as a WATER HEATERS are covered and tankLESS water heaters (NO tank), simply referred to as TANKLESS are NOT covered. (TANKLESS are covered only under a "premium" level). In my home I have both, a WATER HEATER (which has the tank)....AND....a TANKLESS heater as well. The WATER HEATER (with the tank) is used in conjunction with the TANKLESS for added effectiveness in getting hot water more quickly to the faucet. My WATER HEATER (with the tank) is broken (leaking from the top). My tankLESS water heater has NO problem. I called AHPS and asked them to schedule a service call to fix or replace my broken WATER HEATER. They are asserting that since my WATER HEATER is being used in conjuntion with a TANKLESS, it then falls under the definition of TANKLESS. WHAT???????? There is NO exclusion in my contract that states that if my WATER HEATER (with a tank) is being used in conjuntion with a TANKLESS, it therefore is considered "tankless" and is thereby excluded. In searching for expert opinion, I contacted two local (reputable) Plumbing Companies and I spoke to plumbers at each. I have one of the conversations saved on a recorded line. I asked a series of questions. The questions I asked are these. 1)Does a TANKLESS water heater require a tank? Anwser: NO. 2)Can a TANKLESS water heater be used by itself (i.e. without a tanked water heater)? Answer: YES, and it normally is except in the case of larger homes in which case it may be used in conjuntion with a tanked WATER HEATER. 3) If a TANKLESS water heater is used in conjunction with a tanked WATER HEATER, is it still "tankless"? Answer: NO, it is a "HYBRID" system....employing both a tankless and a tanked water heater. I asked for clarity again...."Is it "tankless". The answer was the same...."No, it is a "hybrid" system....because it uses BOTH (a tankless and a tanked water heater). Tanked water heaters, simply called WATER HEATERS ARE covered in my "standard" level contract with AHPS. In fact the verbage (which can be varified on their own website) states: "COVERED:....water heaters....." "NOT COVERED.....tankless.....". If AHPS wants to exclude regular "water heaters" when they are used in conjuncion with a "tankless", then they should state that in their contract.. As it stands however, there is no mention of it being excluded. Nor is there any mention that if a regular "water heater" is being used in conjunction with a tankless, it then BECOMES "tankless". My regular "water heater", covered under my "standard" level contract should be fixed or replaced as is the norm for contracted items that fail. To do otherwise is a rip-off for the consumer who may be covered by AHPS.

Desired Settlement: My regular "water heater", covered under my "standard" level contract should be fixed or replaced as is the norm for contracted items that fail. To do otherwise is a rip-off for the consumer who may be covered by AHPS. IMPORTANT NOTE: I called the maker or my water heater (**** *****) and found that it is still UNDER WARRENTY with **** *****. They will replace it, but "LABOR" is not covered. I would like AHPS to provide the labor as is stated under my contract and replace my water heater with the new one that ** ** ***** will provide. Furthermore, I have an offer from a plumbing company to attain the new unit and install for $200. However, my cost should only be $60 (as per my contract with AHPS). AHPS should simply step up to the plate and do what is right. They should contact this plumber (or used their own), get a new unit from **** ***** and install if for me for the $60 service charge in my contract. The serial number for my 6 gallon **** ***** water heater is ********** ( the 0 is the NUMBER "zero"). The plumbing company that said they could locate the replacement **** ***** water heater was ******** ***** ******, and the plumbers name is *** ******* *************

Business Response: Attached is our Service Manager's response to Mr. ****** ********* complaint #*******.  

On May 17, 2013, Mr. ******* called in to make a claim
regarding his water heater and tankless water heater, which are used in a
closed circuit system and very common. 
The customer has coverage on the tank water heater, but not the tankless
water heater.  

After our plumber went out to assess the problem, he
discovered that the water heater needed to be replaced.  The customer and plumber called the
manufacturer to inquire whether or not the water heater was still under
warranty.  The manufacturer confirmed
that the water heater was still under a manufacturer’s warranty, and therefore
his tank was not covered by his home warranty. 
Under Section V.  Limitations
of Liability of the home warranty contract, it states “This residential
service contract is not designed, nor is it intended, to include or overlap any
coverage that is included in your homeowner’s insurance policy, home builder’s
warranty, and/or any manufacturer’s warranty or maintenance agreements.”


In conclusion, I was able to get a master plumber to make
the repair the following morning.  The
customer paid a discounted rate of $200.00 for the plumber to install the new
tank.  We feel that this matter has been
properly handled, and we hope this resolves the customer’s issues


Sincerely,
***** *****
*********

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affordable Home Protection Services received a repair quote of over $500 to repair our Sears front load washing machine. They first offered me $250 cash settlement and I told them to fix the washing machine and the gentleman said they aren't required to fix it they can make a cash settlement. I told him $400 or court he agreed to the $400 and now 2 months and no returned calls or check. Going to the office tomorrow and if I don't get a check we will go to court and it will be a lot more than $400. Affordable Home Protection Services

Desired Settlement: $400 that was agreed on, $100 for my time and an apology.

Business Response: We are mailing a check today for $400.00 to Mr. ********.  We apologize for the delay, and we hope this will resolve the issue.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Check not received as of 04/02/2013, nor has the first check they said was sent ever received. They can get cash, Cashiers Check or money order and call me to pick it up. I am only 30 minuets from their office.

Regards,

**** ********

3/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues