This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 263-3764 View Additional Phone Numbers 2009 RR 620 N, Austin, TX 78734 http://www.ahpshomewarranty.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2010 Business started: 09/28/2007 Business started locally: 09/28/2007 Business incorporated 09/28/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Craig, Gen Mgr Mrs. Ruth Craig, Owner / President Mr. Tyler Craig, General Manager Mrs. Latrelle Mouton, Office Manager Mr. Scott Vantine
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Craig, Gen Mgr
Customer Contact: Mrs. Latrelle Mouton, Office Manager
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
AHPS

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 RR 620 N

    Austin, TX 78734

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO BOX 1628

    Round Rock, TX 78680 (877) 581-4049 (512) 263-3764

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has called me repeatedly at my workplace. I have had to request repeatedly that my office phone number be added to their "no-call" list. This works for a few weeks. However, after approximately 4-6 weeks, I begin receiving unwanted calls at my workplace again.

Desired Settlement: I no longer wish to receive any type of communication from this company, either at my home or at my workplace.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in the summer of 2012, one of my AC units broke. AHPS sent out their repair guy to look at it who told them it had to be replaced. When they didn't like that answer, they brought 3 other companies out - all of which had the same answer. So they then offered me some money to go towards a new unit which woudl have made me come out of pocket significantly, even though the warranty policy covers replacement if repair is not possible. In the end, they paid for a new unit...but it was a USED unit. A year later, the new/used unit went out. The company they sent out to repair it concluded it needed a new motor, freon and some other parts....almost a $1400 repair. The weather outside was over 100 degrees and i have three children at home. However, the repair guy told me he couldn't do the repair until he was paid by AHPS due to previous collection issues with them. AHPS told me they could get a check to the A/C company in 4 days, but i'd have to go 4 more days with a house that was over 90 degrees. When i asked why they couldn't ACH the payment to the repair company, they said they couldn't do that. When i told them i couldn't go another 4 days in the dreadfully hot house, they said, i could pre pay the repair and they would reimburse me. They were given the quote from the repair guy and i confirmed with my relationship person at AHPS (who is no longer with the company) the amount i had to pre pay ($1,390). I paid that amount on July 25, 2013 - almost 4 months ago. i have been bounced around from person to person and told several times that my reimbursement check had been sent (only to then contradict that statement by saying it hadn't been processed). At one point, i was offered a lesser amount ($1,131) by family/owner ***** *****, even though the $1,390 was approved by AHPS PRIOR to me pre paying. He said he had submitted that amount to accounting for payment. That was at the end of September...and still no check. My lawyer sent a letter to AHPS stating the amount due to me and a request for settlement. That letter has gone unanswered. Additionally, i have had a hot water heater go out that i had to pay for myself, and an ice maker that they never sent anyone to repair because at this point, my policy is worthless and nothing will be honored from this company.

Desired Settlement: I need to first be reimbursed the full $1,390 and reimbursed for 5 months on the policy (august - december 2013), as after July, i essentially have no policy with this company as they won't even respond to me at this point.

Business Response: We sent a written response on 11/**/13 to Ms. ************* attorney and mailed a copy to Ms. ***********.  We await their response to our offer to try to resolve this claim.

Consumer Response:

Hello,

My complaint was closed when the company told you they had resolved with me; however – they have not. I have yet to be reimbursed for the amount they had me pre pay on their behalf when their service provider refused to do work for them before being paid upfront (due to their lack of payments in the past).

Can you please re open or contact the company again on my behalf?

Thank you

****

**** *********** 

********* & CEO


****.**********************  
** ************

c: ************
f:  ************


**************

Business Response:

****:

Mr. ***** *****, ********* of Affordable Home Protection Services, is in communication with Ms. ***********’s attorney to try to settle this matter.  We hope to have this matter resolved within a few days. 

 

Sincerely,

******** ******

Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.

** *** **** ***** ***** ** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Hello

This complaint has still not been resolved. Mr ***** ***** does respond to my attorneys emails (usually after a couple of weeks) but no resolution has occurred and the claim just keeps getting kicked forward. Lots of delay tactics. It has now been 7 months since I have been out of pocket over $1300 for pre paying for Mr *****.

Please consider this complaint still open.

Thanks

****

Business Response: Since Ms. *********** has an attorney, we must deal with him unless he advises otherwise.  Also, her complaint seems to be geared toward me, but I have no agreement with her.  Her agreement is with the company Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.
Thanks
***** ***** 

Business Response:

****:


We have reached an agreement and are mailing a check to settle the claim.

 

Thanks

***** *****

Affordable Home Protection Services

** *** **** ***** ***** ** *****  

Consumer Response:

Hi ****

Thank you for checking in.

Yes – I finally received a check (albeit for an amount less than what they owed me). I went to cash it at the bank it was drafted on and there were insufficient funds in the account. I deposited it my account Thursday and my bank just told me that it cleared this morning.

I am cautiously optimistic this is behind me but remain completely appalled at how they do business.

I really appreciate all of your help.

Thanks

****

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased the standard policy from Affordable Home Protection Warranty and we had an issue with a dripping noise coming from the 2nd story bathtub. The first response from AHWP was sorry you aren't covered, even though the policy states 'plumbing systems' are covered. Company stated that we could still purchased the 'leak search' option, if we wanted that to be covered. We searched for the 'leak search' option, which we couldn't find. They finally agreed to send a plumber and they charged us the $75 copay. The plumber couldn't make a diagnosis without cutting into the walls. We have called and e mailed AHPW to see if they will take care of this issue. So far no response, It seems that if a claim costs them more than the $75 copay they will reject the claim or not respond to their client's concerns.

Desired Settlement: We want to cancel our policy and be reimbursed the $395 that we were charged.

Business Response:

January 20,2014

Attn: **** *********, Better Business Bureau

Re: BBB Complaint #******* — **** ************

In response to the customer's complaint, our Claims Manager, *******, said the customer called in on a Saturday and made a claim. The customer said that when he flushed the toilet upstairs, he could hear water dripping through the wall. Our manager asked the customer if he could see where the water was coming from, and the customer said that he could not see any water leak, but the noise was inside the wall. Our manager told him that we could have a plumber come to his house on Saturday or Monday, and he chose Monday. She also told the customer that if the plumber could not see where the leak was, he would most likely need to do a leak search, which is not covered by the home warranty. Also, if the plumber has to cut a hole in the wall, the wall repair was not covered by the home warranty, because the customer had not chosen the optional coverage for inaccessible repairs. Our manager told the customer that sometimes a homeowners policy will cover repairing a hole in the wall.

The customer sent ******* an email on Monday morning, wanting to add the "inaccessible repairs" option, but couldn't find the "leak search" option. The claims manager called the customer to explain again that there is no "leak search" option and that is not covered by the home warranty. She also told the customer he could add the "inaccessible repairs" option, but it would not apply to the existing claim. The customer decided to have a plumber come out to check the plumbing and paid the $75 co-pay. The plumber inspected the house and reported that he did not see any water stains, leaks or water damage. The plumber told our claims manager that he would talk to the customer and explain that he could cut a hole in the wall to see if they could find anything, but it would not be covered by his home warranty. The claims manager thought that the matter had been handled, because she did not hear back from the plumber or the customer.

When the claims manager saw that the customer had filed a complaint with the BBB, she immediately called him. She always answers her calls and responds to emails, and she let the customer know that she did not have any additional complaint calls from him. She was surprised because she had helped him with his rekey service when he first got the home warranty. He had called a few times wanting to get the rekey service, but we were waiting on payment by the title company before his home warranty would go into effect. He had closed on his house on 12/12/13, but the check from the title company was not received by us until 12/20/13. According to the contract, the customer's plan does not start until 10 days after receipt of payment. Since the check was delayed by the title company, the claims manager allowed the customer to use the rekey service sooner, which made him happy.


The claims manager feels that she did everything to help the customer and explained what was not covered by his home warranty contract. Although the customer is unhappy, he is not entitled to a refund of his home warranty contract. Under Section VI. Miscellaneous, #1, the contract clearly states that it is non-cancelable. His claim was handled in accordance with the terms of his contract.

We appreciate your assistance in handling this complaint, and we hope this resolves the matter.

Sincerely,
***** *****
President

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Their recollection of the events are different than what actually happened.


  1. When I originally called ****** about the dripping noise coming from the upstairs bathtub, her first response was you are not covered because I do not have the “leak search” option.  My response was their policy clearly states “plumbing system” is a covered item and if there are so many exceptions then they should be upfront and not call it “Plumbing System”.  I also told her that if there is any other option which I can purchase to make sure I am covered I would like to buy it now. Her response was don’t worry at this time, we will send a plumber and my copay would be $125 for Saturday or $75 for Monday, which I opted for Monday.

  2. Monday morning the plumber showed up at my house and did a visual inspection. He could not find a leak and stated that the only way to find the source of the dripping noise was to cut into the celling. He made a call, not sure to whom and told me none of this is covered and gave me an estimate of the repair cost. The same day I sent an e mail to ****** and explained what the issue was and if they are going to take care of the repair. I did not have a call or an email from her or from any one till the following Monday, after I put a complaint with BBB.

  3. The following Monday, ****** called me. My first question was why did she have to wait till I complained to BBB before she replied to my e mail or to at least call me with their decision concerning my claim. Her answer was that “She did not receive my e mail”.  ****** went on explaining that they will not cover the repair because I do not have the option and also this is an excluded item.  I told her I have read the policy and nowhere is this mentioned. She replied I will e mail you the details.  I also told her that this is becoming too aggravating and I do not want to deal with your company any more. I have just signed up with your company and already paid my two copays and I would like to cancel my policy and receive my $395 back which she replied our policy is nonrefundable as stated in the policy.  I told her I do not see this on the policy.  She said she will e mail me the details. This was two Mondays ago, and I have yet to receive a call or an email from her or any one in her company regarding “leak search” and nonrefundable policy.

  4. About the rekeying of my house, I had to wait 1 ½ weeks before this service was done because of the delay on receiving their check from the title company. I was happy till I found out I could have paid my $75 directly to the rekey company and got that taken care of the first day which I was told by ****** that this was a $125 value.


I have decided that I no longer would like to deal with this company and I think any reputable company would respect their client wishes and not to force them to purchase a product that they are not comfortable with.


Regards,

**** ************

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My home warranty clearly provides for a re-key service as well as appliance repair issues. I tried to contact AHPS many times to get the re-key service performed and no one responded to me (for nearly two months), so I had to go ahead and pay for the service myself. When my dishwasher needed a repair, AHPS told me it would be several days before they could get someone to come look at it, and I would have to miss a day of work. I ended up having to pay for my own repair and AHPS said they would reimburse my out of pocket expense for the dishwasher repair once I told them this was the second thing I had to pay for out of pocket (first being the re-key). I have the offer from AHPS in writing, and I emailed them the invoice. It has been nearly two months and I have not received any reimbursement.

Desired Settlement: I want the reimbursement I was promised for the dishwasher repair - $125.

Business Response: As per the home warranty contract for Ms. *******, there is a $75.00 co-pay (deductible) for each claim.  The amount we are processing for payment for her claim is $50.00 ($125.00-$75.00).  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This is NOT what was agreed to. I was told the FULL $125 would be reimbursed as per my coversation with ***** *****. In none of his emails or during our phone conversations on October 23rd did he ever say that the full amount would not be reimbursed. The payment was supposed to have been sent to processing on October 23rd. Now, here we are two months later and nothing was ever processed and AHPS is telling me they will only reimburse $50 - this business is so fraudulent.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

****:

I forwarded the information you provided on Complaint #******* from ******* ******* to our President, Bruce *****.  He reviewed the information you sent, and although he disagrees with the amount owed and feels it was a miscommunication, he has authorized the accounting department to pay Ms. ******* the full $125.00 as good will.  We hope this will resolve the issue.  Thanks for your assistance.

 

Sincerely,

******** ******

Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.

 

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our AC Unit stopped working on Sunday October 13, 2013. We have left 4 unanswered phone calls/voicemails in the last 2 days. There is no message on the recording - very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Would like a returned phone call and a scheduled repairman as soon as possible.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the delay in answering this customer's call.  We were experiencing phone system problems, which have since been resolved.  However, we were able to assist this customer and took care of their claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ****

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home warranty with this AHPS Home Warranty September 6, 2012. This past July i called to receive services on my air condition unit. AHPS sent company ******* Air Conditioning to my home to service my unit. I paid AHPS my deductible of $60 over the telephone on July 18, 2013. Now ******* Air Conditioning has sent me a certified letter demanding payment in the amount of "$164 within the next 10 days or we will be forced to place a lien on the property." I have been trying to reach AHPS by telephone and I only get an answering service. I do not want a lien on my home due to fraudulent practices of Affordable Home Protection Services. I have a copy of threatening letter from ******* Air Conditioning.

Desired Settlement: I would like AHPS to pay ******* Air Conditioning the $164 owed to them within the next 2 business days. Or reimburse me the amount of $164 plus the $60 deductible that was paid to AHPS on July 18 from my account. Total amount I am requesting to have refunded to me is $124 in five business days.

Business Response: The following is our Service Manager’s response to her complaint. 

AHPS apologizes for any inconvenience that this matter with ******* Air Conditioning has caused the customer.  AHPS is paying what is owed to ******* Air Conditioning for the work performed.  In addition, we have stopped using ******* Air Conditioning as one of our approved contractors due to their unprofessional method of overstating repairs and then threatening customers when we do not agree with the amount of their charges.  We hope to have this matter resolved with ******* shortly and ask that the customer let us know if they are contacted by ******* again. 
               
Sincerely,

***** *****, Service Manager

 

Business Response: Hey ****:

I attached the stub to this email.  Thank you for help in this matter!

Thank You,

***** *****- Service Manager
Affordable Home Protection Services
Office: ************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This does not satisfy my request for proof of payment to this company ******* Air conditioning.  Yes AHPS say they will pay and if they do pay who's to say that ******* Air Conditioning will not still proceed with their threat to put a lien on my family home.  I am asking for proof of payment to ******* Air.  Also, AHPS did not address my request for a pro-rated refund for September and October.  I prepaid this contract in full with no problem so the least AHPS can do is address this issue.

I am requesting and requiring a proof of payment to ***.  Once I receive this I will adjust my response on BBB website.


Regards,

******** *****

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a new home we agreed to use the company for a home warranty. Shortly after purchasing the home when found a condition (defective) with the home vacuum system. They failed to cover saying it was a pre-existing condition. They agreed since we were new customers to refund our money. This was April 18th 2013 and we have still not received the refund. My realtor has tried numerous times to get the refund with no assistance from the company. I have attached the last email of correspondence from the company. From: ***** ************************************* Sent: Thursday, April 18, 2013 10:30 AM To: ******* ****** Subject: RE: ****** ****** * *** **** ***** ********* ** ***** Hello, We looked at the inspection report the air vac was not tested. So we do not know if it was working at that time. Unfortunately, it will not be covered because it is a pre existing condition. I am sorry that we can not cover that for you. Since you are a brand new customer my supervisor said we would love to keep you as a customer but if you feel that you would like to go with another company we understand and we will refund your payment. Please email me with your response or if you have any questions. ******* ****** Claims Coordinator Affordable Home Protection Services **** ** *** ****** ***** *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** **************************** ********************

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund of the policy since this was promised to us immediately after cancellation. Please contact me at ***** ********

Business Response: A check for Mr. Vietri's refund is being mailed today for $495.00 (check #****).  We appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter.

8/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 22nd. I purchased a home warranty plan for a home I had just purchased. On July 2nd. I called ahps to report my upstairs a/c was not working. They charged me $60 for the call per the contract. The tech showed up on July 5th. but was unable to repair the a/c. He found my a/c to be leaking freon but indicated he would need approval from ahps to proceed with the repairs. I tried contacting ahps 3 times on July 8th to see what was going on but all I was told was that a supervisor would need to authorize the repair. On July 9th the service manager finally called me. He said my a/c had the wrong size piston and therefor would not honor my warranty by covering the repairs. My home is 8 years old and according to the previous home owner the a/c was serviced regularly. I even had the system inspected by an hvac contractor and it was given a clean bill of health. I feel ahps is simply trying to find a way to deny the repair.

Desired Settlement: Honor the home warranty plan that I purchased and make the necessary repairs to my a/c.

Business Response: On 7/1/13, AHPS accepted a claim from the customer regarding their upstairs HVAC unit not cooling properly.  That same day AHPS contacted Affordable Air Conditioning & Plumbing to schedule a technician to diagnose and repair the HVAC unit.  On 7/5/13, Affordable Air Conditioning’s technician went out to the customer’s residence and diagnosed the issue with the HVAC unit.  The technician reported to AHPS that there was a leak in the HVAC evaporator coil that was caused by an improperly installed piston.  AHPS cannot cover this repair under the home warranty due to the HVAC system being improperly installed equipment.  The warranty contract states:  “AHPS is not responsible for repairs related to inadequacy or lack of capacity, improper installation/mismatched equipment, previous repair or design, components or parts that do not affect the main operation of the unit and any modification to the system or appliance.”  (See Section V. Limitations of Liability, paragraph 3.)  Based on this information, AHPS stands firm on its decision to deny coverage on this repair.  Customer will need to get this repair made properly, and proof of repair will need to be submitted to AHPS before coverage can be reinstated on the customer’s HVAC unit.

Sincerely,

***** *****
Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc.
2009 Ranch Road 620 N Suite 340
Austin, TX 78734
512-263-3764 office
512-243-8608 fax

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In good faith I purchased a home warranty from AHPS. Prior to purchasing the warranty the home was inspected and the a/c was inspected by an air conditioning contractor and was given a clean bill of health. I do not accept the fact that they are trying to find a loop hole in their coverage to try and get out of making the repairs. I have since paid Affordable Air conditioning and Plumbing $1000 to make the necessary repairs. I want AHPS to reinburse me for the repairs that should have been covered by the warranty.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ****** rejects our response.  However, we must stand by our response, which is supported by the home warranty contract.  We appreciate your efforts in trying to resolve this.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

AHPS obviously doesn't stand behind their warranty. I have no other choice than to spread the word throughout the realtor community in hopes they will remove them from their recommendation list. It's a shame, I was excited about using a local company but they turned out to be untrustworthy and unreliable.

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Home Protection Services, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)