This Business is not BBB accredited

Devonshire Custom Homes, Inc.

Phone: (361) 944-8205 Fax: (361) 992-4141 2129 Airline Rd, Corpus Christi, TX 78414 http://www.newhomescc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Devonshire Custom Homes, Inc. include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Devonshire Custom Homes, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Devonshire Custom Homes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 07, 2005 Business started: 11/20/2003 Business started locally: 11/20/2003 Business incorporated: 03/17/2004 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Navid Zarghooni, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Navid Zarghooni, President
Related Businesses
Keyvan Oriental Rugs Inc
Business Category

Home Builders Patio & Deck Builders Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2129 Airline Rd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78414 (361) 944-8205

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Things were not finished when we moved into the house. We have a door with missing hinges that does not close right. Cracked tile, grout work and paint that is not finished. The shower light was never fixed. The builder ignores all my text. When I do get ahold of him he tells me that he will have people come out but never show. The houses he builds are amazing but not when you need stuff fixed or finished. I was scared to close on the house before everything was finished and I should of never signed before it was done.

Desired Settlement: I would like the things finished around the house so I don't have to bother him anymore.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** failed to correct/repair several items in our new home. He had verbally promised to: replace front door seal, provide stucco to repair the house trim, adjust door hardware so that it engages, replace door handle/hardware that keeps falling off, replace granite kitchen counter that is dull and cannot be repaired. On the issue of the granite, he had a representative of ***** ***** ******* come inspect the counter in question and she agreed that it could not be repaired. She notified him of such and he agreed to replace the granite countertop. The sidewalk leading to the front porch has a crack across a stress area. ***** stated that it should have had an expansion joint in that area because it was on a slope. He failed to provide extra stucco and hardware to cover holes made by nails or screws in the event the house is boarded during a hurricane/storm.

Desired Settlement: Repair/replacement of the above mentioned items.

Business Response: This email is for **** *****

 
These items that are listed some are of wear and
tear items

as for the stucco color that can be purchased at
Building Specialty *** *** ****  (******* * ask for him he can get the
color you need and have it in a seal container so it wont dry up the color is
Vandyke canteraa

 
As for the sidewalk the cracks are not covered
under the warranty all flatwork is not covered under warranty we have had no
rain and in a drought area can also lead to the cracks

The granite co does not believe that they can do
anything more than what's already done. They wont be able to match it exactly
and that is why we cant replace it will cause more damage and time.

Any warranty issues can be done through the
bonded builders warranty that we have purchased for the home. You can call them
at *********** there you can make a claim regarding any issues and to learn
more about the program. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  *** ********* has not been honest in his responses to my complaints that he repair/replace various items in our home:

March 7, 2013 he responded that he would have ***** ***** ******* replace the granite counter at his cost because the supplier would replace the discolored portion, but the fabricator would not charge him for labor.  On 6/21/13, I notified ** ********* that I was unable to make contact with ***** at ***** ***** *******.  On 6/25/13, he again stated I should call ***** at ***** ***** ******* and they would take care of the granite.  On 7/9/13, I informed ** ********* that ***** ***** ******* (his fabricator) had not returned my calls.  He then informed me that the supplier Granite Granite would not take back the slab of granite and another one would have to be purchased.  He also informed me at this time that ***** @ ***** ***** ******* would not charge him for labor for the fabrication, so he would only have to pay for the slab which he indicated he would do.  I informed *** ********* on 7/9/13 in response to his email that I was concerned so much time as passed that the granite could not be matched and that would present another problem.  He replied on 7/9/13 replied "yes, I will get back with you.  He never responded back


 On 7/9/13, he also informed me that someone (****) would come by to fix the hardware in question: garage door knob that does not stay on and a faulty towel rack in the 2nd master back that was installed without regard to any  supporting frame (only on dry wall) and is very loose. (poor workmanship). This was the second install on the towel rack because the first had been placed so close to the shower door it could not be opened.   I informed him that I needed to know when he could have his worker (****) come and fix the hardware so that someone would be home to receive him.  I was never called back about this



The walkway leading to the house has a crack at a stress point where a joint was not place to prevent this.  This is poor workmanship because a point in a slope must have a joint at the greatest stress area.  The other sidewalks are not cracking so his response about dry weather/no rain does not hold true in this area.  It is poor workmanship.  When confronted about this in person, he stated he would have that repaired. 


6/25/13, He stated he would get a door sweep to replace the defective one from ******.  He has never done this. He again informed me that I should call ***** ***** ******* to get the granite replaced.


In communications both verbal and written with ** *********, he has always indicated and acknowledged that he would take care of these issues.  He acknowledgements constitute a binding agreement.

We are holding *** ********* responsible for all items he verbally agreed and acknowledged he would repair/replace.




Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Hello there here is my response to the 

Items that have issues 

When the house was first purchased all the hardware was
working properly 

After time things do wear and tear. 

Poor workmanship I don't think so 

We install our towel racks with anchors into the wall. The
front door the bottom seal is damaged it wasn't like that when it was first
purchased, I have the door seal I can drop it off to you it will require to
remove the door off hinges and instal a new seal I don't know why the seal has
been damaged. The sidewalk has a crack in it. That is normal for this area with
no rain the concrete will crack I said I would try to get it fix but It can
crack it again there is no warranty on flat work ( bonded home builder warranty
can answer any more detail questions) 

As for the granite I will be happy to be half the cost of
the granite and labor to replace it neither south Texas granite or granite
granite co wants to take responsibility i been told that " that's the way
the grainte works and that there is no guarantee in color or design 

I didn't mention that I would help in fixing it but both
granite co are telling me they won't guarantee there work because they don't
know what the granite will come out. 

Am sorry if that's not what you want to hear. But as I said
I will leave the door sweep by there front door today Friday 

8-30-13 and will try to find someoene to go and fix someoene
of the door knobs and towel rack 

 

Thank you 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: ***** has failed to honor his warranty/agreement on these items:

Walkway: ***** was shown the crack and agreed that a joint should have been placed at the location because the slope is a stress point.  He informed my husband that the contractor would come and make the repair as soon as the finished pouring the driveway down the street.  He said it was an easy fix.  The contractor never showed and he was notified.  Now is stating is due to lack of rain.  Not so.  There are not any other visible cracks in the walkway other than the one at the slope/stress point. 

Granite:  ***** was notified before the house was purchased in Deceber 2011 about the problem and promised to get it fixed.  He is liable for the contractors he hires, and are supposed to be professionals, but they accepted granite that had an obvious defect in it.  Now he wants us to pay for half the cost?  He is responsible for the entire cost of the granite.  We paid over $500 for Level 2 granite.  He has told us repeatedly that ***** ***** ******* would provide the labor for free and he was waiting for the supplier to credit him for the defective granite, but they have not done so because according to ***** since it has been over 1 year.  That is his fault for not advising them in a timely manner since we notified him about the problem in December of 2011.  We agreed to proceed with the purchase because ***** agreed to get it fixed, but as of yet has failed to fulfill his agreements and liabilities.  As the builder, he is responsible for the contractors he hires and should take issue with the contractor who accepted defective granite.  His procrastination getting the granite fixed caused him to lose any warranty he had with the supplier.  This is fault since we notified him in December of 2011 and many times after that.  In December of 2012 he told us that it would be repaired by Christmas 2012 "he promised".  ***** had ***** at ***** ***** ******* (his current contractor) look at the granite and she notified him that it had to be replaced.  I have called several granite suppliers locally, San Antonio, Austin, and Houston and the color is available so he cannot use the excuse that it is not available.  He has the resources to get the granite and his contractor according to ***** is providing the labor for free.  He is liable for the entire cost of the replacement of the granite. He forfeited the warranty from the supplier because he procrastinated.  Now he is responsible for entire cost of the granite.  We will not pay for half of something since he is fully liable.

Doorsweep. ***** told us he would bring another doorsweep because it was hanging.  He never did.  My husband replaced the doorsweep himself.  It wore prematurely because the door jam is too high.  Not ordinary wear and tear.

Hardware:  Towel rack in second master bath was initially installed so close to the shower that the door could not be opened.  ***** had someone else move it and they re-installed it in a location that has no supporting frame/wood behind the drywall.  Drywall alone cannot support the weight of a towel rack that is intended to hold a towel.  His contractor obviously failed to install it properly.  ***** was notified previously and was to have it fixed. Not "ordinary wear and tear".

***** was also informed of the problems with the pantry and utility door knobs.  Again, he said he would have **** his contractor come fix them and he never showed.  ***** was notified.  Not ordinary wear and tear.

***** has procrastinated repairing and replacing items he is responsible for as the builder.  He has not honored his builders warranty or any oral agreement to repair/replace any of these items even though he has stated he would do so.  These items are his liability and he bears the burden of the cost due to his actions and lack thereof.  He has never sent someone to fix them.  Not "ordinary wear and tear".

Regards,
****** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

 

****** ******

Business Response:  
Dear BBB:

Below is the details on our availability for a Mediation Hearing:

Please Place list any dates you are specifically NOT available in the next 6 weeks: 




Please Place an "X" next to the Day of the Week you are Available and work best for you: 

******** ********* ******** ***** ****** ***** ****
 
 Please Place an "X" next to the Time  you are Available and work best for you: 

***** ******* ************** 

I understand that BBB will do its best to accommodation the information I have selected.  I understand that mediations are scheduled to start between the hours of 8 am and 3 pm, and must conclude by 5 pm.

Thank You.

11/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 21, 2013 my wife and I purchased a new home for $300,000 from ***** *********/Devonshire Homes. The extent of problems I have encountered are beyond comprehension. Some of the issues include cracks running through the garage, tiles cracking, cracked brick mortar, cracks breaking chunks off of driveway, cracked granite, cracks in ceiling, leaking roof, leaking plumbing, incomplete paint and doors crooked after replacement, nails splitting cabinetry, incomplete sink installation, garage door problems, parts of door hardware missing, incomplete outdoor kitchen area and other issues. The sheer number and dramatic nature of these problems are causing emotional distress as well as reduced property value. I am beginning to suspect foundation issues as well.

Desired Settlement: The builder honoring his warranty. A livable home without major problems occurring on a regular basis and up to the standards one would expect from a new home.

Business Response: Goodafternoon

For **** ******

We are working on some of the items. We have completed some already and have
been in touch with ** ****** on finishing up some of the items.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The builder is not following through with the vast majority of problems. I have a multitude of issues that need resolved and devonshire homes has not yet addressed them.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Hello there I am working with the homeowner to correct there things I had painter and tile man ready yesterday to take care of issues Customer re schedule for today I have to setup the contractors to go again We are working with homeowner and should have everything done by next week Let me know what I need to do to go forward 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The seller has not followed through on the vast majority of my problems, he has ignored attempts to contact him on multiple occasions.Trying to have these issues resolved over the past year has been a very traumatic and unsettling experience.

Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:  
Dear BBB:

Below is the details on our availability for a Mediation Hearing:

Please Place list any dates you are specifically NOT available in the next 6 weeks: 




Please Place an "X" next to the Day of the Week you are Available and work best for you: 

____Mon. ___x_Tue. X____Wed ___x_ Thurs. ____ Fri.

 
 Please Place an "X" next to the Time  you are Available and work best for you: 

____ Morning ____Afternoon 

I understand that BBB will do its best to accommodation the information I have selected.  I understand that mediations are scheduled to start between the hours of 8 am and 3 pm, and must conclude by 5 pm.

Thank You.

4/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service