BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Samuels Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Allen Samuels Auto Group include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Samuels Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Samuels Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 14, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1977 Business started locally: 04/01/1977 Business incorporated: 03/13/1989 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Skip Harmon, President/General Manager Ms. Maxine Hall, Vice President Mr. Steve Hindman Mr. Mike Lowry, Chairman Ms. Rosie Naranjo, Comptroller Mr. Jeff A. Wooley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Skip Harmon, President/General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Rosie Naranjo, Comptroller
Business Category

Holding Companies Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Allen Samuels Auto Group sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Chevrolet

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Bay Chevrolet Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi Allen Samuels Enterprises Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2118 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78416 (888) 310-0891

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Allen Samuels Chevrolet, in Corpus Christi, on February 21, 2014. I made a trip from Houston down to Corpus with the intent to purchase a Kia Sedona. For weeks, I researched many options of which vehicle to purchase. Because my credit score is low, I knew my price range would be lower than those with higher credit scores. It was also my intent to make a larger down payment. However, any vehicle I found on their website I believed to be within my price range, I was quickly informed the vehicle would not be up for sale, due to failed inspection. As I discovered, this was pretty common with trade-ins in the Corpus market. Finally, my sales rep, ****** *****, found a Kia Sedona she believed was ready for purchase, and had already passed the safety inspections. Another sales rep told me the same, but there was some evidence of minor physical damage to the front exterior. With this, I made sure everyone understood I would be in the following morning to finalize the deal for the Kia Sedona. My children and I took a greyhound down to Corpus. As we were walking into the dealership, I received a voice message from a sales supervisor, who informed me the Sedona would not pass the safety inspection, and therefore could not be sold. Moreover, there is nothing available in the inventory within my price range. His tone was very cold and callus. It was almost as if he was saying "OH WELL." Shortly after, ****** came to give me the same news. I asked to speak with the ******* *******, ****. I told **** about my journey from Houston to Corpus, just to be told "there is nothing available" for me to purchase. I made it clear, I was VERY unhappy with the situation. **** searched through their inventory, and found the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The price was higher than I was looking for, but in the end the price was adjusted and the finance company approved the financing. Before leaving the dealership with the Jeep, ****** and I made a quick inspection around the vehicle. Aside from minor dings and scratches to the exterior, we also found the hydraulic lifts for the rear door, as well as the front hood did not work. I also noticed the state inspection sticker was due to expire May 2014. I found this unusual. On the way home, about 2 hours outside of Houston, I heard a chime and saw a message under my speedometer telling me to "check gauges", indicating my car temp was already in the "HOT" zone. I quickly pulled over, where a State Trooper pulled up behind me to assist. When the car sat and cooled for awhile, I held the hood open while he checked to see if there was any water in the radiator. While the radiator had water, the coolant reservoir was completely dry. We filled the reservoir with water, and he followed me to the end of the county, in case the vehicle overheated again. I was able to drive it back to Houston without any further complications. The next day, after telling a friend about the trouble I ran into on the drive home, he checked under the hood and found the reservoir bone dry again. Over the next several weeks, I have learned to make certain adjustments while driving the vehicle to either prevent overheating, or to allow it to cool down once it overheats. I have had to add water almost every other day, other to have it drain just as fast. I took it to the Allen Samuels ***** in Houston, to have a diagnostic test run. Unfortunately, they did not see an issue with the vehicle, other than the oil was very low. As a courtesy, they checked all the fluids and added a quart of oil I purchased. The vehicle ran fine as long as I did not run the AC while driving. At one point, while checking for water in the radiator, I found dark grey gunk just inside the cap. I dug out whatever was close to the surface. Again, this seemed unusual to me. Last week, the vehicle began to overheat. Once again, I stopped to let it cool, and added water to the reservoir. A short 10 minutes later, a few miles down the freeway, the vehicle suddenly stalls in the middle of rush hour traffic. I had to pay to have the vehicle towed to my house. An hour after the vehicle was towed. I tried to start it again. This time it started, but the check engine light came on and started to blink. Plus, the entire vehicle was shaking very hard. It seemed as if it struggled for power and wanted to stall again. The following morning, I started the vehicle again. The check engine light came on, but did not blink. I thought I could drive it 2 miles to the Allen Samuels in Katy to run a diagnostic. Unfortunately, the vehicle stalled, and I had to have it towed to the dealership. Another tow charge. Later in the day, I receive a call from an advisor who tells me there are several issues with the vehicle, including: several misfires, a severe leak in the water pump, and a possible blown head gasket. Then continues to ask me if I have ever put a sealant in the coolant. I told him no, and the only thing I added was water and a quart of oil (by the dealership). When he mentioned the sealant, I then knew that's what I dug out of the radiator. Two days later, I get another call informing me that in order to pin point the actual problem, they would have to tear down the engine, which is not covered under the extended warranty. The cost would be $900 for an 8 hour tear down. I called the dealership in Corpus Christi to get an exact account of all the repairs that were made to the vehicle prior to selling it. After several failed contact attempts, *****, the ******* ********, finally contacted me with a very vague description of some repairs. He mentioned hoses were replaced, and the thermostat was replaced as well. This tells me there was some knowledge of an overheating issue with the vehicle, and the least expensive measures were made in order put the vehicle up for sale. I believe the dealership replaced certain hoses to the cooling system, as well as added the sealant, and only replaced the thermostat instead of pin pointing the actual issue. I spoke with **** *****, co-owner, to see if Allen Samuels would be willing to help with the cost of repairs, and put me in a rental while repairs are made. He said he would contact the ******* ********s at both dealerships (in Corpus and Katy). The following day, I spoke with ***** ****** at the Corpus location. I explained to her the issues I was having, and asked to be compensated for the repairs and for a rental car. She assured me she would get in touch with the new ******* ******* and **** ***** to see what could be done. Later that same day, I receive a call from *****. Once again I heard that cold and callus tone another Corpus rep gave me. She informed me that since so much money had been put into previous repairs for the vehicle, they would not assist me with the cost of repairs or the deductible, and they would not help me with a rental either. She continued to say "this is the risk you take when you buy a used car." Total slap in the face. I haven't had the car for a complete 90 days yet, and I am unable to drive it. I put $2500 down and I am about to make my 3rd payment of $500 for the note. I've spoken to a few employees with Allen Samuels. Each confirmed my belief that the Corpus Christi location had some knowledge of the issue and did whatever work to cover up a potentially more serious issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the cost of towing to my home and to the dealership. I would also like Allen Samuels Group to cover the cost of repairs, since the vehicle had these issues prior to being sold, and the dealership knew of the issues and made an attempt to conceal them.

Business Response: Response From Allen Samuels Chevrolet

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Several times I have asked ***** to forward a copy of the repairs made prior to selling the vehicle.  He went on to tell me the thermostat was changed, and never made any mention of any of the other items noted in their response. 
Furthermore, I remember when looking at the numerous options I thought were available to me, I came across the Jeep I currently own.  I was told by a finance rep it would not be able to be sold, and will be sent to auction.  It was a great surprise when ****, the general manager of sale at the time, came into his office offering it to me when I  was told by others there's nothing else available. 
As for threatening to sue, after ***** gave me their decision, which was more gut wrenching than professional, I said I would contact an attorney.  It was their assumption I would be taking this to court.  Truth is, I need to know my rights.  Therefore, I will contact an attorney. 
So since there are assumptions in the air, it's safe for me to assume, since **** was in Florida and I have never spoken with him, that something may have been lost in translation between *****, **** and Mr. ******.
Finally, this is not a "new" problem.  This problem started the very night I brought the car home.  Every time it overheated, I would pull over to let it cool.  There was never a "Sold As Is" Notice on the vehicle.  And after speaking with other employees with Allen Samuels, since the company has fairly new owners, certain provisions are made to keep the car from going to auction, and keep it at the dealership.  Whether Allen Samuels will admit to it or not, it is suggested by these employees that the Corpus dealership put the sealant additive in the coolant system, and  knowingly sold me a bad vehicle.  
I have now been without my Jeep for 3 weeks. I've missed a 5generation Mother's Day.  I was critically ill and had no way of getting myself to the ER.  
My mechanic is in the process of repairing the vehicle so I  can go on with the things I have to do. 
So, once again, I am requesting for Allen Samuels to help cover the cost of the repairs and/or the cost of a rental car.  Especially since it was determined Allen Samuels was aware of the defective Jeep, they added the sealant, and will make every kkeffort to cover it up.    
Regards,

Ronju Jones

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

   Please find attached the As-Is No Warranty signed by *** ***** on the date of purchase as required by the Federal Trade Commission's Used Car Rule.  It clearly states "You will pay all costs for any repairs.  The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle."  *** ***** did purchase a Vehicle Service Contract with the vehicle at an additional cost, but to our knowledge the claim was denied because she drove the car for 6,000 miles while overheating without having the problem addressed.  While we are sympathetic to *** *****' situation, we consider this to be a matter between her and her mechanic at this point.  Thank you and please let me know if you require anything further.


**** ******
********** **
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi
************
****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a truck from Allen Samuel was told truck would be fix but i keep getting the run around. Had the truck less than 3 weeks but a week and half of it was in their repair shop. There sale rep was no help as no calling me and didnt care how i was to get to and from work. They where also rude so I told them since they had the truck that they should just keep. I ask them if they could cancel the contract they told me no, and if I didnt take the truck that it would be a repo and that it would go aganist mycredit report

Desired Settlement: cancel the contract

Business Response: This issue has been resolved. The lender was contacted, the contract rescinded, and will not be reported as a repo. This was handled approximately 3 weeks ago.
 
Thank You
 
***** ******
***************** *******
Allen Samuels Chevrolet

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/7/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1