Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J.R. Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 857-2334 Fax: (210) 658-2339 View Additional Phone Numbers 10427 Perrin Beitel Rd Ste 209, San Antonio, TX 78217

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.R. Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for J.R. Air Conditioning include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for J.R. Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.R. Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1980 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 10/03/1997 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chance Brandt, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chance Brandt, Managing Member
Business Category

Heating Contractors Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Chance Environmental Services Inc
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 10427 Perrin Beitel Rd Ste 209

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 658-8664 (210) 857-2334

  • PO Box 33550

    San Antonio, TX 78265


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called J R AC for service on AC unit - unit was not cooling. J R technician did not inspect the unit, but added Freon for a charge of $269. Unit began cooling immediately, but by the next day the unit was again not cooling. Called the owner who came out the same day and found the unit again low on Freon. Owner asked if the first technician had tested for Freon leak and I told him that no leak test was performed. Owner stated that the technician should not have added Freon without first testing for leaks. Owner tested for leaks and found major leaks at the coil. Owner gave me an estimate for a new coil which I eventually purchased from another contractor. By the owner's admission his technician did not follow proper procedures before adding Freon. the Freon added had leaked out within 24 hours and I got no value from the service performed by the technician. I requested, in writing, a refund of the $269, since the service was improperly performed and resulted in no value to me. Owner refused my request for refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my $269.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: JR Heating and Air Conditioning in San Antonio, Tx was dispatched to my home on August 4, 2015 by Choice Home Warranty to diagnosis a concern for system not cooling as cold as before. Technician didn't arrive to my home until after 6:30pm and immediately on arrival was complaining about how long of a day he has had and how he was feeling out of it. My first impression was that this person was under the influence of something. He proceeded to enter my home and inspect my indoor unit which he said was in excellent shape and could not find any issues with. He then asked to inspect the outdoor unit and I escorted him out as I have dogs. He went to the side of the house and took a few pics of the model tag and then removed the cover to the condenser unit. He asked if I had a water hose and if I could connect it. He did a visual inspection of the outside unit and determined that the condenser was a little dirty and needed to be hosed off. The technician then began to spray the unit off with water then in a panic realized that he had forgot to remove the electrical plug to disable all power to the unit. This whole time I'm keeping an eye on him while keeping my dogs from interfering while he is at work. He removes the cover where the plug is located and the cover goes flying off and lands directly on top of where the hard start kit, capacitor and relays are located and immediately shorts the system and the complete a/c unit shuts down. I walk over to him and ask him what is going on and he tells me that he is unsure but that my system just shut down on its own but he would figure out what was going on. Keep in mind that I've been watching him the whole time and saw exactly what had just happened. I then walked away but stayed on the side of the house and allowed him to continue his job, I then saw him remove my hard start kit from my a/c unit and put it in his tool bag. I then waited a few minutes and he called me over and said he was able to get the unit running again. I had seen him put the hard start kit in his bag so I deliberately asked him what his opinion on hard start kits were and he stayed completely quiet and gave me a strange look of guilt then said word for word, "Oh by the way I owe you one of those" and I then said what do you mean and he then said how never in a million years could he duplicate what had just happened when he removed the electrical plug cover and it perfectly landed and shorted out the hard start kit capacitor. He said that we were lucky that it didn't cause a loud boom meaning an explosion when the capacitor shorted out because of his mistake. I immediately felt very uncomfortable with this guy working on my a/c knowing that he could have caused a serious explosion with my family in the house. He then told me not to worry about it that he would get choice home warranty to pay for it and that he was required to collect payment from me but that he would wait till he returned later in the week when he was able to get a replacement hard start kit then he would collect my deductible. I told him that was fine. He then checked the ac pressures for my unit allowing more than normal Freon to escape when he was hooking the gauges up to the ports. He said that everything looked great and the readings were within specs. low side was between 70-75 and high side was around 275. he said the best thing I could do to help out with cooling in my home was to add insulation to my attic because my a/c was working great and he didn't see any issues with my home a/c system. He said he was the actual owner of the company which I was very shocked to find out considering how unprofessional he had been conducting himself. He then reassembled everything packed his tools and said he would call me when he got a hard start kit to schedule a time to come back out. The next morning I immediately called choice home warranty and filed a complaint and told them that I did not want this person and company coming back out to my house. I did not feel safe with him working on any systems in my home. I also told them how he shorted out a component and was going to make them pay for his mistake. They told me not to worry and that they would reassign a new tech and company to my claim and that they would be escalating my complaint and perform an investigation. Once they contacted JR heating and air conditioning about my complaint his whole diagnosis changed and he told them that my system was completely empty of Freon and that several components had suffered complete failure all which were complete lies. Choice home warranty dispatched another tech to my house to inspect the a/c system and found no such evidence of my ac being completely empty of Freon or any components experiencing failure much less complete failure as stated by the owner of JR heating and air conditioning in San Antonio Tx. My home a/c was given a clear bill of health with no present issues found except for the blown hard start kit caused by the negligence of the owner of JR heating and air conditioning. This guy deliberately lied to Choice Home Warranty so they would not cover my claim or any future claims that I would make simply because I filed a complaint about him and the work he performed while at my residence. I felt I was doing the right thing by contacting the warranty company and expressing my concerns to them about his erratic behavior and deceitful claim he was going to make about shorting out my hard start kit. People like this have no business representing a company yet alone doing contract work for a large company like choice home warranty. Consumers please be aware of this company and its owner. He is vindictive and malicious and will lie through his teeth if you have anything negative to say about the low quality work he performs. So sad that a whole company will be judged in a negative manner because of a crooked owner. This company also goes by the name of boatright when contracted through a warranty company. A little integrity and honesty would have avoided this whole situation but obviously this owner has neither. Thank you for showing what type of person you are and the type of business you are operating. I'm sure the warranty company will not tolerate deceitful people representing them in any form.

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner of JR heating and air conditioning in San Antonio, Tx to contact choice home warranty and retract his false diagnosis of my a/c system. Take responsibility for your mistake and have some integrity and tell the truth.

Business Response: All employees of J.R. Heating and air take pride in their work and try to please all customers. J.R. Air is celebrating its 35th summer in business and will continue to serve customers with pride. All employees including the owner are drug tested.

In response to the complaint, i washed the customers very dirty condenser coil , read normal freon pressures. The customers 23 year system had not been maintained at all, filter was completely stopped up and as customer stated the outdoor unit was completely stopped up with dirt. The customer was not charged for the service call nor for the extensive condenser clean that i performed. The electrical cover on his disconnect box did indeed fly off as i went to turn unit off.
Customer states in complaint that the freon pressures were normal when i put my gauges on and showed customer. Yes i advised more insulation as house was not staying cool enough for customer in heat of the day. Report was called in to choice home warranty as system operating at 100% and no mechanical failures.

Customer was very upset from beginnng of service call after i pointed out how dirty the filter and outside unit were due to lack of maintenance on his part. 
Customer called choice to report i would not clean inside unit for free, and that choice should cover it under the warranty.
choice home warranty advised customer that regular maintenance and cleanings were not covered under his contract and that it was his responsibility. Customer got very angry at choice home warranty and is taking it out on J R AC because of his lack of  
At no time did J R inform choice home warranty that the customers system was low on freon.

In conclusion this customer is upset because he is scared that his house is falling down around him and his lack of maintenance on any of his home systems is going to cost him 10's of thousands of dollars and its not going to covered inder his home warranty because it states in his policy the systems must be maintained and kept in good working order.

We fix ac systems at J R not mental deficiencies or laziness.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Once again JR heating and air conditioning along with its owner are being very deceitful and telling lies.  I was in a great mood that day until the owner told me that we were lucky he didn't cause an explosion when he shorted out my hard start kit capacitor. At this point I just wanted this guy off my property. He has no business servicing or repairing anything that has electrical components and should have his license pulled. Any business with integrity would just admit to their mistakes and not go out of their way to make the customer look bad because of their own negligence and stupidity.  This guy gave my home ac system a clean bill of health along with 2 additional techs that were sent out to do an inspection. This guy is full of lies and just keeps digging himself a bigger hole. He claims my system is over 30yrs old but it clearly states on the manufacturer tags which he took pictures of that my system is only 11 yrs manufactured in 2004.  So it's obvious that this guy doesn't have the knowledge to do basic math and will continue to lie to try to save face.  This is definitely not the type of person or business that anyone should do business with unless you want to get lied to and taken advantage of. I regularly have my system serviced twice a year and have documentation to prove what I am saying. My filter gets changed every 2-3 months depending on condition. He actually complemented me on the type of filter I use and said that was one of the best filter out there. This guy really needs to get his story straight and gather his facts before he tries to run innocent customers through the mud because in the end he is only making himself and his excuse for a legitimate business look more and more like the lying deceitful people they are. He reported false information to my warranty company out of spite because I reported him and his unethical buisness practices while servicing my home ac.  If you value your time and hard earned money you will stay away from JR Heating and Air Conditioning located in *** ******* ** off ****** ****** ** 

***** ******

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 16-17 J. R. Air Conditioning began installing a 3 ton Trane 18 seer heat and air unit in our building in Lytle, TX. This is August 5th and we still do not have a completely installed nor operating unit. *** ****** *****, owner of J. R. Air Conditioning, advised us that an electrical service using #10 and #8 wire was needed for the installation. We complied at a cost of $840. The day of installation, he changed the requirement to a #6 wire needed with an installation cost of $460. The # 8 wire is not used. On that first day of installation , *** ***** proceeded to mark using a permanent black marker the area on the concrete floor where vents and air returns were to be positioned in the ceilings. In shock, I quickly stopped him and told the floors were to be stained for the final finish. He continued, dismissing my objection saying he could get it off easily. He marked the floors in every room and each closet ( ie. a square with the dimension written inside 8x10x6). He sent a worker to remove the marker the next day. That worker tried several remedies including sanding which we told him not to do..none were successful. The damage caused by the permanent marker scripts has not been addressed by *** *****. Various workers arrived and left on the 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th with the unit neither completely installed nor working. A special Trane tech was sent to trouble shoot the problem on July 23. He found the wiring to the thermostat was the wrong type for this unit. The tech told us he would be out early the next morning to correct the error. We were there at 6:30am, waited all day and no one came or called. Called *****, he said *** is not the boss, I am. Will be there Fri or Sat. We received a call on 5:51 Fri evening, after we had gone to our home in San Antonio , advising a worker would be on site. We have no info of any work performed, but system still is not operational. On Mondays late afternoon contact, Wednesday July 30th was to be the day *** *****

Desired Settlement: Reimburse cost of materials and labor to attempt to remove permanent marker from floors so that they can be stained as scheduled. Or if not able to remove marker and thus floors can not be stained, acceptable allowance material and labor for flooring finish alternative. Reimburse cost of material and labor to repair floor in storage space to smooth plane..not a patch. Placement of air returns, ducts and duct tubing can not be changed, but other customers beware of this co.

Business Response:

From: ****** ***********************************
Sent: Wednesday, August 27, 2014 8:56 PM
Subject: ******** 

We received a letter in the mail and it says we need to respond by tomorrow. This is our busy season and will be more than happy to respond but need more time to collect all the facts for the response. I wanted to make sure we contacted you in writing before the deadline and will forward response by email and mail by next week.  

Thank you, 

****** ****** 
******** ******* ***********
J.R. Heating & Air

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: JR Air Conditioning has had a full thirty days to gather facts, he has not contacted us or viewed the site.  We are still without even one register cover.  according to the Trane tech the 4 inch air filter is too small and restricts 30% of air flow and must be changed.  The uneven floor of the storage space has not been addressed nor is the design of the vent runs making it impossible for 70 year old persons to access the storage space.  The vent runs are hung with a strap from the roof and The air flow is strangled. No view of the floor of the living space that was damaged by the permanent marker which *** ****** ****, has been addressed.  The vents were installed with dampers, there has been no adjustments and the air flow is very small.  Our contract includes a one year labor agreement, we can't even get it installed properly.  The promise to respond next week doesn't hold much value since he has not responded to any of our calls for assistance.


****** ****

Business Response: We did respond to the complaint today. Will address the additional items within the 10 days that we're not mentioned in the original complaint.

Business Response:

J.R. Heating & Air

** *** ***** *** ******** ** ***** ************


September 2, 2014

BBB Corporate Office

ID# ********


I understand that I am submitting a response to the consumer’s complaint, but do not in any way agree with any of the customer’s statements noted in “Customer’s Statement of the problem” paragraph.  I do not agree it is a “truthful account of my experience” with the consumer.

”, I am answering all statements made by the customer that I have been given at this time.

In response to Customer’s Statement of the Problem:

I dispute the fact that the installed unit has not been completely installed nor is operating at this time.  Trane Company of San Antonio was sent out to start up the system.

In reference to all the electrical, I am not a licensed electrician, I advised Mr. and Mrs. Customer that the electrician (who was on site) can look on the unit tag which is in the attic and will find all the necessary information to install the proper electrical needed. Mr. Customer stated he was an electrician in the Navy. It is the responsibility of the homeowner and licensed electrician to size properly for the unit per its specifications. Note: Improperly installed wiring to the new unit can damage the unit and void the warranty.

In reference to the permanent marker on the concrete floors, I was on the last room when advised the concrete was going to be stained. I was never advised by anyone that the concrete was to be stained. Standard guidelines set forth by American Institute of Architects (AIA) and National Standards state all concrete to be etched/stained must be covered during all phases of construction to protect concrete from any scratches, solvents, or abrasives. In this case the concrete was never covered and had visible damage caused from all phases of construction such as paint, sheetrock, and scratches. After the marks were already done, I along with my employees heard the general contractor scold his employees for dropping sheetrock and sheetrock screws on concrete surface, which again was not properly covered. I had my employees make special trips out (out of my own pocket) to use different cleaners to try and remove marks and realized nothing would remove the marks other than trying to lightly sand the 1/8” marks. This was done in front by garage area and I personally made a trip out to show customer where it did work to remove the marks and could lightly sand the other areas as well to remove marks from concrete. The customer did not want this done due to the dust it would cause. I explained that this is the only resolution to remove the marks and customer did not agree to have it done. The customer stated that due to dust they did not want the sanding done. I explained this is a construction site with all kinds of dust in the air.

In reference to the Trane Technician going out this is a moot point since the unit as of today 9/2/14 has been up and running/job completed since Trane factory service start up technician left on 8/14/14.

In reference to the duct work I was never instructed by anyone in reference to duct work. Air ducts are installed according to National duct standards. Ducting is installed to use the least amount of space possible and to insure customer has storage space. Ducting would not fit between joist as customer is stating they wanted. Trane Technician is a technician and not an installer and is not knowledgeable in installing ducts. I have contacted Trane Technician and asked him if he advised customer that installation was incorrect and that filter media is restricting 30% airflow, he stated he did not advise the customer that these issues were incorrect. Trane Technician stated these are incorrect statements and he was there to start up the system.

In reference to the holes cut, holes were cut only to allow duct to come thru ceiling as needed. There are no open holes anywhere; customer was advised not to install decking in storage space before ducts were installed. Customer did not facilitate this request. There is no damage and this is a moot point as ducting has to penetrate ceiling to get into the living space area.

Trane Technician was there to start up system and system is currently operating.  Trane Technician is a technician not an installer. There are 3 return air grills all totaling 4 sq feet surface area. Heat pump requirements are 1 sq foot per ton. Grills and returns are placed in rooms just like all other houses would be done and are done, including his daughter’s house located 20 ft from customer’s house. Media filters are all proper size per Trane installation guidelines.

I do not agree with any of the “Desired Settlement” as I have attempted to resolve the issue and the customer refuses to agree to do what is necessary to remove the marks from the concrete. I do however agree to lightly sand the marks off the concrete as originally discussed with customer.


Thank you,

****** ******

J.R. Heating & Air

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10166631

I am rejecting this response because:
The Sept. 2, 2014 response from JR Air Conditioning in the
personal statements of ****** ****** are incorrect, false and at the very least
misleading.  Not until Sept 5th,
did we receive a call from the company office to schedule an appointment for
2pm that afternoon.  The worker came,
installed the registers and replaced the 16 x 20  4”media filter with a 20 x 24 filter.  The worker was instructed to do nothing else
even though the drain from the overflow pan not installed. Trane tech had clearly
noted in his invoice that the filter was 30% too small and needed to be replaced
by the correct size for unit (invoice attached).  That invoice also notes the id wiring, thermostat
control cable (not electrical) incorrectly installed by JR’s group. Tech
rewired for 2 stage cooling system and reprogrammed the t-stat also incorrectly
completed.  Prior to the installation of
the unit, *** ****** instructed that a #8 wire was needed for the furnace,  on the day of installation he advised that a
#6 wire service was required at an additional cost of $440.00. The other #8 wiring
is not needed or used. Mr. Brandt was instructed to run the vent lines through
the struts between ceiling and floor of the storage space. The ceilings were
open with no sheetrock, waiting for the vents to be installed. The struts are a
full 16” not the standard 12” floor joist ample space to run the vent lines.
There was only a ladder to access the storage space, the stairs had not been
built.  We are nearly 70 years old, and I
had no access.  *** ****** repeatedly
assured me that the storage space was being guarded. The installation of the
furnace and vent system looks like a giant spider in the space. The vents are
suspended from the roof with a clearance of 45” in the walkway. The furnace is
in the tallest portion and in the middle of the space not close to the gable as
requested. To further complicate the walkway, a vent was cut too large or in
the wrong place and a piece of wood is nailed over the hole and makes tripping
on the raised pieces more dangerous. The storage space that we paid so dearly
for is rendered marginally useful. The placement of the air returns and vents
are no more than 8 inches apart and the vents are only on interior walls not in
the center or equidistant to exterior walls. Smallest vent runs possible were
used. I and 4 others were present when Mr. Brandt took out a permanent marker
and began writing on the floor ( the first mark). I gasp and immediately
stopped him telling him the floors are to be stained. His response was he does
this all the time and will take it off easily. 
He continued drawing a box and writing the dimensions of the 3 air
returns and 13 vents at each placement in each room, all closets, bathroom and
thunder room. (Pictures attached.)  He
sent a worker the next day to remove the marks, unsuccessfully.  ****** did mention sanding at that time, we
did not agree since sanding grooves would remove the opportunity of staining our
floors and incur much greater cost for other floor finishings.  Sanding had nothing to do with dust. There
are 16 areas where the marker caused damage and cannot be removed. The installation
began on July 16th, the vent covers and media filter installed on
Sept 5th.  Not a timely nor satisfactory
job.  *** ****** has been very
unprofessional.  He has been condescending
and rude to us. We believe he has taken advantage of us due to our age.  

****** ****