This business is not BBB accredited.

Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating

Fax: (210) 682-3331 6075 De Zavala Rd Ste 109, San Antonio, TX 78249 http://www.texas-ac.com ! There is an alert on Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 06/10/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Larry Boyd, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Boyd, President
Related Businesses
King Appliance Service
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
A.C. King, LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6075 De Zavala Rd Ste 109

    San Antonio, TX 78249

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in need of an a/c repair or system overhauled. I contact three other a/c companies and was told that I could get a 3 ton to 4 ton a/c and that would be enough to cool my entire house. Contacted Mr Frosty for estimate of complete a/c overhaul, new a/c to be relocated to the attic, air ducts, grills and return vent. On 4 Jun 2014 informed sales rep that we were having problems with keeping the house cool to include an addition of another room and we wanted a bigger unit so it could cool the entire house. Sales rep came to the house did a check and proceeded to informed us that we needed return vents in all rooms of the house to include the additional room and that with a 5 ton I would have an ice box. I was quoted a price of $12, 249.92 for a 5 ton unit. I paid $6,000 that day for work to start the next day. Two days later I came home from work and saw all the small grills and filters so I asked and informed the installers that I did not want all those grills and vents installed in every room, just where it was needed, main living area and one in the back hallway. On 10 Jun I paid the remaining balance of $6, 249.92 even thought the work was still not completed. I also expressed my concern with the rep about getting a 5 ton since the other companies had informed me that I could use up to a 4 ton. I was afraid that my walls would sweat and get mold in my home. The work was not completed until almost two weeks later as they had gotten the wrong size grills and some conflict between days/hrs According to the sales rep, they didn't installed a true 5 ton unit, only one with 52,000 BTUs and I believe a variable speed because my husband asked about it. I noticed immediately that the house was not getting cool, felt humidity and no a/c to the additional room. In that back room the temperature is still over 85 degrees and will not cool at all. We cannot go into that room due to the heat. I have to keep my a/c at 73 degrees or below in order to get the house cooled and with my old unit which was a 3 1/2 ton I maintained the a/c temp at a cool 76-77 degrees. I've spoken numerous times with the owner, Mr ***** who suggested getting a mini splitter, but for me to pay for it, in the additional room and closing the air ducts going to that additional room to possibly get more air into the house. I told Mr ***** that I was not going to pay for a splitter and that the company should pay for it as because I've not received what I paid for. It's been two months and as of today, 3 Aug, no resolution to the problem. They are saying that I needed additional return vents but why since my home was originally design for one vent and the old unit used to keep the house cool with no additional return vents. Also two weeks after installation, the a/c unit leaked and damaged my ceiling. I called Mr Frosty, they came out and checked the unit, stating a small amount of insulation was trapped in the drain pipe and that's why it leaked. They did get an adjuster come to the house and I was reimbursed for the damaged ceiling immediately. Well on 30 Jul, my a/c leaked again at the same spot. My husband went into the attic and with the shop vac removed about a gallon of water in the drain pan. He notice air coming out of the plenum and the attic was cool. We called Mr Frosty and they sent someone to check it. The installer ran a drain pipe from the drip pan to the outside of the house since this was not done the first time and opened the air handler to see why it was sweating. Seems it was leaking. in two places. They were suppose to come back in three days to check it but haven't heard from Mr. Frosty.

Desired Settlement: After spending this sum of money, I expect an a/c that works and keeps my home at a comfortable temperature to include the additional room as I was told I was getting. Either replace the a/c unit with one that works and keeps the temperature cool, install a mini splitter in the additional room as an alternative at no cost to me as I've already dished out over $12, 249 or reimbursed me my money because my home does not cool properly to include the additional room and for all the trouble that I'm going through. We are stressed out over this issue, dealing with the heat and water leaks and no solution in sight.

Business Response: Originally, the work to be performed was contracted with duct system modifications and redesign made my Mr. Frosty AC, to include system redesign and replacement. The delays on this job were created solely by home owner(s) demanding that work be stopped and changes to duct system and equipment be made. Homeowner(s) took responsibility for end result during project and have sighed off that work was completed to their satisfaction. Mr. Frosty AC will not be refunding any money or making changes to work that has been completed with out additional contract and payment from homeowner(s). All warranties will be honored as agreed. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation issues licenses to companies such as Mr. Frosty for Consumer Protection.  Mr. Frosty was negligent in advising that if I as a paying consumer chose a smaller amount of return vents, the remedy would have been to install a smaller tonnage A/C unit that would have accommodated the number of return vents and not pursue to sale me a 5 ton A/C unit. I paid in advance having full confidence in Mr Frosty's sales pitch and expectation of the performance of the cooling system to cool the entire home to include the room addition.  I believe this to be reasonable and just.  Also on my premises an act of Defective Workmanship; Non-Conforming Goods and Damage Goods occurred.  All three in violation of the Uniform Commercial Code and the Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation.  Regarding the "homeowner taking responsibility for the project by signing off that work was completed to their satisfaction"; I rebut this since the discovery of defect and poor performance began after the completion of work, lack of cooling, especially no A/C in the room addition and humidity in the home. I as a paying consumer should receive an A/C unit that works properly in cooling my entire home and this is not the case.  Also as mentioned in the initial complaint, Mr. Frosty has failed to come back and check the A/C unit and according to the *** ******* Code Compliance office, no request has been made from Mr. Frosty for a city inspector to come out and inspect the work to ensure it meets city code. I remain resolute that Mr. Frosty as a professional company take responsibility for their poor workmanship/installation as defined by the Uniform Commercial Code and make right on their contract to resolve and ensure proper cooling of the A/C unit without asking for additional payment or my funds refunded as any reasonable person would in this situation.

Regards,

******* ********

9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a complaint with the BBB earlier this year against Mr. ******. They agreed to refund me $54.00. However, they have not done so.

Desired Settlement: I believe enough months have passed and they should have issued me a prompt refund. I would like a refund as soon as possile.

Business Response: From: ***** **** ***************************

Sent: Sunday, September 01, 2013 7:42 AM

To: ****** *****

Subject: Re: BBB requests a response by 9/4/2013 to prevent closure:
"No Response"

 

Ms.
*****, after.looking in our books we realized Ms ******** is correct ,a check
was due to be sent to her but was not.. I personally issued her check for
$54.00 and put it in the mail box on Friday. 

 
  I'd like to request that Ms ******** take down any negative reviews
about her service with us, I feel she was treated fairly with a
fair price. Unfortunately Ms. ******** felt differently. & money has
been refunded.

 
   So I would ask all negative reviews be deleted.

 
                     
               Regards ***** ****

 
                     
                     
                     
                   





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)