Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company

Phone: (210) 928-2665 Fax: (210) 928-2666 203 Gillette Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78221 http://www.americanairconditioningsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

hvac sales service and repaires


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Air Conditioning and Heating Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Air Conditioning and Heating Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on American Air Conditioning and Heating Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2012 Business started: 07/16/2010 in TX Business started locally: 07/16/2010 Business incorporated 04/08/2013 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey G Molina Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey G Molina Sr., President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Hydronic Heating Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Heat Exchangers Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Air Sealing Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Electric Heating Elements Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems Heating Equipment Air Curtains & Screens Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Cooling Demolition

Products & Services

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company sells the following brand(s): ruud/carrier

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company offers the following product(s): mitsubishi

Method(s) of Payment
cash, credit card, check, financing
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 203 Gillette Blvd

    San Antonio, TX 78221 (210) 928-2665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does a Horrible job keeping their customers HAPPY! I had numerous times contacting their office with no prevail. I was treated rude and hung up on. But after reading the reviews, it appears that EXACTLY WHAT THIS COMPANY DOES WAS NOT ONLY ME! I was at peace after reading that it wasn't something I did. It was who they are. It doesn't speak very well of the owners character that he has to defame my character in public without just cause. He claims I am a con artist that has filed a lawsuit against my warranty company AHS, which I NEVER HAVE and still employ them to date. I have filed a civil claim against him for repairs that are not covered under my contract for secondary damages he caused and now I should follow defamation of character suit as well. He did not want to disclose his insurance information claiming he did not want to claim responsibility. But in light of evidence and good judgment of justice, I will leave this to the hands of the judge which knows best. God forgive Mr. ****** for being such a hurtful man towards others.

Desired Settlement: I will let the court handle the right decision. I want him to learn to polite towards people and not advise his staff to handle situations abruptly to customers. A customer trust his company allowing them to come into their home, so their demeanor and respect should mean a lot to a customer and to a company. Not many customers have the financial ability to hire an attorney nor the knowledge to present a claim in court, therefore, I would like to set a presidency and maybe American Air Conditioning & Heating Company will change their ways.

Business Response: We are in litigation with this customer at the current time and she has to date been able to provide myself or the court evidence of any damage. She has asked for a payment of 10,000 and makes threats to attack us on social media and give us bad reviews if we did not pay her. I am a disabled vet who fought for my rights not to be threatened by extortion by a person that can't even prove there was any damage she can only say that it was already repaired. Come on who repaires damage they expect to get paid for but never contacts us till after the repairs have been done with no proof their was ever damage. We would gladly have repaired any damage we had done if we were slowed to examin the damage to confirm liability. We will not be strong armed for 10,000 just because she submits false complaints against us. She's just mad cause she's loosing the case

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first and foremost had to wait in the heat for well over a week for a service tech to get my home then come to find out the guy they sent had a stitched name on his uniform by the name of rooster, that should have red flagged me letting me know right away this company was unprofessional lets not fail to mention the kid showed up with another kid the same age as my 14yr old son. as they began working on my system i then began hearing them let out refrigerant into from my system and questioned why they were doing so if i had other techs previously other companies in the past yrs and never have i ever had them do such a thing. then come to find out later american air conditioning then wanted to charge me for the refrigerant they originally let all out of my system.

Desired Settlement: after waiting a week for services the company then attempted to charge me well over $600.00 dollars for an unfinished job which was installed incorrect meaning air was only coming out from return air supply and sucking in through all other registers which are normally the vents that provide air thru out the whole house. I asked the technician for a registered tdlr card which He didnt have any identification and stated he didnt need one

Business Response: we do not find a record of ever servicing this customer. this is a fraudulent complaint 

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was retained through my home warranty company to fix a broken blower motor on our air conditioning. The initial service appointment occurred timely, but the technician determined that a part would have to be ordered. I was told by the technician before he left our house that the order had been placed and would be rushed. On Monday, August 3, 2015, three days after the initial service appointment, I called to check the status of our part. I was told at that time that the part had not been ordered until Friday and that nothing would be expedited because I was a home warranty customer. I asked when the part would be available, and the representative refused to provide me with this information. Instead she stated that she was going to hang up on me because she was done "helping" me. I later learned through my home warranty company that the part was not ordered until Monday, August 3, 2015. On Tuesday, August 4, 2015, I called to check the status of the part -still believing it had been ordered on Friday, July 31, 2015, as previously represented to me by the company. The owner of the company, **** ******, took my call. He stated that I need to understand they received over 100 calls a day right now and I would have to wait until the end of the week for a service appointment. I asked, "So, my part is in?" He stated that he was the owner of the company and he did not have to deal with people like me being rude to him. I said, "That's ironic that you have an issue with the way I am speaking to you, because yesterday I asked to speak to you and your representative hung up on me." **** himself then hung up on me. This company has not been forthright, and in fact, has made direct and specific misrepresentations regarding the status of my part and the reason for the delay in completing the repairs to my property. But worse, they have been shockingly and excessively rude. I am to the point now that I am worried about having them in my home. I have filed a complaint against this contractor with American Home Shield, imploring them not to refer other AHS customers to this company for repairs. I encourage the general public also to refrain from using them.

Desired Settlement: I paid a $75 service fee directly to the contractor that I would like refunded. I would also like not to deal with the company for this repair, although my contract with AHS requires me to resolve that issue through AHS, I believe, in order to avoid any restocking fees for the part. I am pursuing those remedies. Finally, I would like to make the BBB aware of the issues in the hopes that they can save other consumers from experiencing similar misrepresentations, delays, and general lack of decency.

Business Response: *** ***** is a home warranty customer and as many home warranty customers do they assume that just because we were sent out by the home warranty company that we have authorization to repair  their unit which isn't the fact. We are sent out with a preauthorized limit for repair if the repair exceeds the pre approved amount the home warranty company must be notified of the cost of the part and labor ( we must call the distributor for every repair to get part pricing before we can call it in to the warranty company) We service 100 calls a day during this time of year which is our peak season. 50-60% of those calls will exceed the preauthorized amount and will have to be called in for authorization. when we have that many items to get pricing on and still have to call the pricing in to the home warranty company which takes 25 to 45 min per invoice to complete your looking at a large task. Some customers seem to think that they are the only customer we service and should be able to complete this in 1 hour instead of the 2 to 3 days that the process takes to get pricing, get authorization from home warranty company , order part , and then schedule appt. for over 100 customers a day. Then they want to call in to the office yelling and screaming and being verbally abusive to my employees. Calls are not passed to myself unless the customer is aggressive and being verbally abusive to the employees. I do not pay my employees to be abused by customers or anybody for that fact so if the call is escalated to me the call has gotten to a point that they could not deal with the customer any longer. When customers call yelling and screaming the first attempt is to try and calm them down but some customers just want to yell and scream ( as did *** *****) then they try and use the "im the customer and  the customers always right line". We try to provide good service to al of our customers and good customer service is #1 but if you call in to this bisness yelling and screaming and being derogatory towards me and my employees you can be assured that I will hand up on you and will no longer provide service to you. I don't think this is unreasonable to expect to be treated with respect. Then she has the nerve to file a complaint after she was the problem

Business Response: *** ***** service was handled within her home warranty guidelines and at no time were my staff unpleasant or evasive to **s. *****. All of our incoming calls are recorded for quality and training purposes and **s. ***** repeatedly demanded for a quicker service than here home warranty would allow maybe she should read through her home warranty contract before she signed it instead of wanting us to explain her contract to here after the fact. We are not required to refund her any money due to the fact that the service call was made in a timely manner and all deficiencies were turned in to the home warranty company to authorize. We received authorization to complete repairs on the following day but **s. ***** had already taken a cash out from the home warranty company. As far as having more work than we can handle , it is the peak season and I think that just about every professional company in town is backed up with the amount of calls we are getting in san Antonio and the surrounding area due to the heat being in the 100 *f. I don't think we could have done anything to keep **s. ***** happy unless we would have done the repair that day we were out to diagnose, unfortunately that was not possible due to her home warranty guidelines.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

The original service call occurred on Thursday.  With three small children and temperatures inside exceeding 95 degrees, of course, I would have loved for the my air conditioning to be fixed at the time of the initial service call.  But that was not my expectation, and despite many explanations now, is not my complaint. 

Our air conditioner is a communicating system, so prior to American's Air arrival at my house I knew the fault was the blower motor.  I understood at the time of the service call that our blower motor was not a regularly stocked item, which would need to be ordered.  I also understood, based on the statements made by **. ******'s employee, that the order would be rushed.  I trusted that representation and made no attempts to follow-up on the status of my repair the following day or over the weekend.  I fully expected the repair would take some time. 

My complaint arose because when I called, as I believe any reasonable person would have done, to follow-up on Monday morning, I was met with hostility and I was blatantly lied to.  ***** told me on Monday that my order had not been rushed, and was extremely rude about this fact.  She further stated that she, herself, had placed my order on Friday.  However, authorization for my part from AHS was not sought until after 8:00 a.m. on Monday (AHS has validated this) and according to AHS, the order was not placed until after the authorization.?  By that time, I had already initiated the cash out procedure with AHS.  
?  
I appreciate **. ******'s advice to read my contract.  As an attorney, it is advice I always follow myself.  The contract does not contain any of the provisions referenced by **. ******.  Notably, however, it does contain a provision wherein a service contractor may expedite a service, including non-emergency services -making my reliance on his employee's representation even more reasonable.   

As noted, I have cashed out my claim with AHS.  Their supervisors have been extremely apologetic for the service I received from American Air, and AHS has itself agreed to refund the service fee to me directly as a concession.  For other consumers in San Antonio whose air conditioner breaks in the heat of the summer:  there are companies who will help you -the lowly home warranty customer -but, American Air is not one of them. 

Despite 100 degree temperatures, large call volume, long wait times, and my allegedly unpleasant demeanor, I found those companies.  I worked with Carrier directly to determine and locate my part, and secured an excellent contractor to install it in less than 48 hours.  And as an added bonus, they all treated me well.         


Regards,

******** *****

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/4/2014, American A/C (American Air Conditioning and Heating Co.) was dispatched by *** ********* **** ******* to check issues found by a house inspector at ***** ****** *******. American A/C was asked to pay special attention to the unit that cools downstairs because the overflow pipe was running water and there was water in the pan. American A/C said they understood and would check both units just to be safe. The technician arrived early and finished in about 15-20 minutes. He showed me that the overflow tube was clogged and he had removed the clog. I asked if everything else on both units was good and explained that everything was running correctly. Later that day, the to-be buyers of my property had their own A/C specialist out onsite. This company explained that the downstairs system was out of Freon and the coil was broken. I called *** back and they re-dispatched American A/C for the 8/8/2014. I spoke with American A/C and explained that I was going out of town, but someone would be there to let them in. I gave them my gate code to make sure they could access my neighborhood. On Friday morning, I was out early with my family on vacation and just happened to return to my hotel room in the late morning. I saw missed calls from American A/C. I called the technician that didn't do his job before and he let me know that he arrived before 9 am, but the gate was closed. I asked if he tried the gate code and he told me he tried to call from the front gate (this is not connected because we have moved out). I asked him to return to site where people were still waiting for him to arrive. He told me that he would not be able to "re-trip" my property today and it was our fault because we didn't answer the phone. I asked him if he called his office and asked for the gate code and he said that they didn't have it. I called the office and spoke to a very nice lady about the situation and she asked me to hold and she would get me some help with the issue. Then, the manager, ****, without even saying hello told me that it was my fault that they didn't get out there. I told him that I gave them the gate code and he told me that I didn't and they don't keep those. He also told me his technician was onsite before 9 am and we didn't answer the phone. I know this was not accurate because due to the school buses, our gates are always open from 6:30 am - 9 am daily (this is not changed when school is out). I also heard from the Realtor that when he came in before 9 am that the gate was open. I explained this and **** told me I was not truthful because his GPS said he was there. I told **** that I needed him back out there on Friday due to an expiring options period for our house sale and this being caused by their original inferior service. **** told me that it was our fault and no one would be out there until Monday at the earliest. I told him that this was not acceptable and he told me he had a call volume of 100 calls and didn't need my business. I told him I was planning on a formal complaint to *** and the BBB. He said he didn't care. I called *** and registered a complaint. I also asked for another contractor and that I would pay the $75 to get a different one. *** obliged and had another contractor out on Saturday (8/9) to take a look. This company also found the issue with the coil and no Freon.

Desired Settlement: We would like our $75 that was spent to cover the service fee through American Home Shield. Because of American A/C's inability to provide the initial, correct service and then follow it up with not being able to show up when they claimed they would caused me to have to pay another $75 to another company to come out and do their job. We would also like a written apology from ****, the manager, who verbally assaulted us over the phone. I have NEVER had such poor service in my entire 45-years of living in *** ******** The names I was called were just unbelievable from someone who is taking my money.

Business Response:

On 8/4 we went out to ***** ****** ******* to inspect one unit through American Home Shield. The dispute was for one unit. The customer must make American Home Shield aware that they want to units serviced so that we can get paid for both units. This customer’s dispatch was for one unit only. During our initial visit on 8/4 nothing was mentioned about a second unit. The only problem that was brought to our attention was the clogged drain. The issue was resolved and we completed the service call.

We then received a dispatch for the second unit on 8/7 and scheduled it for the next day on 8/8 between   8-9am with the home owner. The tech went out the next morning and could not get in through the gate. Our company does not save gate codes because of liability issues and in most cases the gate codes given to us are usually temporary codes that are given to contractors because of security purposes.

The technician attempted to contact the customer from the gate box but the number was disconnected. The technician and our office attempted several times to reach the home owner with no results or a call back. The Home owner called into the office more than an hour later upset because he had missed his appointment. We informed the customer that we would not be able to put him back on the schedule until the following day due to our high volume of calls (This is our peak season). The customer was aggravated and insisted that we return as soon as possible. We informed him that it would not be possible because we already had customers scheduled after his missed appointment.

 The customer then stated that because of his social status that we were supposed to push other customers aside and service his A/C unit first because he was more important. I informed him that all of our customers were equally important to us regardless of social status or wealth. I also mentioned that we would not push our customers aside to service his unit that day after missing his appointment but, we would have been more than happy to reschedule him for the next day at our earliest call between 8-9am. He then threatened to file a BBB complaint and write bad reviews on the internet if we did not do as he demanded. I informed him to do as he liked but, we were still unable to return to his home until the next day.

This customer missed his appointment and refused to take responsibility for not providing access to his house. He felt that he was entitled to extra privilege because of his “wealth and social status”.  He refused to take any kind of responsibility and try to blame us even though we drove to his community and made several attempts to contact him and get through the gate. We will never attempt to contact this customer to provide service due to his unnecessary remarks.

 

American Air Conditioning & Heating Co.

*** ******** ** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

An extremely tainted view of what happened. My "social status" and "wealth" have nothing to do with this conversation, but shows the inflammatory nature of this vendor. I have been unemployed since the company I worked for failed. I am hardly of any higher social class or wealth by any stretch of the imagination. These type of comments were made when I tried to reason with this incompetent and extremely rude gentlemen over the phone. Once again, he is right and the customer is just a rich jerk trying to cut in line. What really happened was that they failed to do their job the first time and didn't show up the second time. Always either American Home Shield's fault or the end customer's fault. This is truly sad to think that anyone can run a business like this. I am guessing this is **** responding as he is the one who calls himself a manager at this establishment. Extremely sad that anyone who bestow such a title on someone that obviously can't manage his mouth. Oh well and really didn't expect a response any different from this shoddy business. Would suggest the BBB investigate and the public stay very far away. I have already reported them to American Home Shield and as a ***** Realtor, they will listen. The great news is that **** may have to learn some customer service when his calls go down to a lower volume. We can only hope.  

Regards,

**** **********

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed a new air conditioning unit at my home with a 5 year warranty. This was done about three years ago. The unit has not worked properly since installation! They tried to fix it a few times and charged me for repairs. It still does not work and now they will not even reply to my phone calls. I have two young children in this home and need it fixed asap! The phone number on your site is not active The owners name is **** ****** ************

Desired Settlement: I would like the unit repaired and a refund of the charges I have paid to them since installation.

Business Response: The unit installed for Mr. ****** has a 5 year manufacturers parts only waranty. We have made a repair to this unit and Mr. ****** was not charged for parts ( because they were covered under warranty) only for labor wich is not covered by manufacturers warranty. He did make us aware of the unit not working properly and we did send a tech out to look at his unit and determined that it was low on freon. We did a leak test and could not find any leaks in the equipment. We made Mr ****** aware of his options and he decided to go with a different company. Thats the last we heard from him for about a month. Then he called stating that the unit never worked since it was installed which was 3 years prior. Hard to beleive that someone pays for a unit and waits 3 years to complain that it never worked. Furthermore he started making threats of legal action at that point we stoped dealing with him and refered to our attorneys. Mr ****** is a customer that does not want to pay for any repaires and feels that he is entitled to free service.Once the threats started we were done dealing with him. We attempted to work with him on several occasions, we sent out techs at no cost to him to check his unit out in our attempts to keep him happy. We offered him several options for repair but he did not want to pay for any of the repaires. He instructed us that he would hire another company to do the repairs. we will not deal with Mr ****** anymore because of his threats and unprofesional behavior.  

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: Here again he does not offer a solution.  I had another company come and check for the freon leak.  They said it is on the outside unit!  I don't expect a replacement but I do expect the leak to be repaired at no cost to me.  The unit hasn't worked properly since installed.  It even had to have a new compressor put I to it about a year ago.  The other company said the outside unit should have been replaced. I am a single father with three kids who are complaining about the hot humid house.  I can't continue poring money into a unit that should have need fixed a long time ago.  And I have complained off and over the three years.  This company refused to return my calls time after time!  Just fix it!  That's all I want at this point!  I want working air conditioning!

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on American Air Conditioning and Heating Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart