BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company

Phone: (210) 928-2665 Fax: (210) 928-2666 203 Gillette Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78221 http://www.americanairconditioningsa.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for American Air Conditioning and Heating Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for American Air Conditioning and Heating Company include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Air Conditioning and Heating Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 21, 2012 Business started: 07/16/2010 Business started locally: 07/16/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Molina, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Molina, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    203 Gillette Blvd

    San Antonio, TX 78221 (210) 928-2665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/4/2014, American A/C (American Air Conditioning and Heating Co.) was dispatched by *** ********* **** ******* to check issues found by a house inspector at ***** ****** *******. American A/C was asked to pay special attention to the unit that cools downstairs because the overflow pipe was running water and there was water in the pan. American A/C said they understood and would check both units just to be safe. The technician arrived early and finished in about 15-20 minutes. He showed me that the overflow tube was clogged and he had removed the clog. I asked if everything else on both units was good and explained that everything was running correctly. Later that day, the to-be buyers of my property had their own A/C specialist out onsite. This company explained that the downstairs system was out of Freon and the coil was broken. I called *** back and they re-dispatched American A/C for the 8/8/2014. I spoke with American A/C and explained that I was going out of town, but someone would be there to let them in. I gave them my gate code to make sure they could access my neighborhood. On Friday morning, I was out early with my family on vacation and just happened to return to my hotel room in the late morning. I saw missed calls from American A/C. I called the technician that didn't do his job before and he let me know that he arrived before 9 am, but the gate was closed. I asked if he tried the gate code and he told me he tried to call from the front gate (this is not connected because we have moved out). I asked him to return to site where people were still waiting for him to arrive. He told me that he would not be able to "re-trip" my property today and it was our fault because we didn't answer the phone. I asked him if he called his office and asked for the gate code and he said that they didn't have it. I called the office and spoke to a very nice lady about the situation and she asked me to hold and she would get me some help with the issue. Then, the manager, ****, without even saying hello told me that it was my fault that they didn't get out there. I told him that I gave them the gate code and he told me that I didn't and they don't keep those. He also told me his technician was onsite before 9 am and we didn't answer the phone. I know this was not accurate because due to the school buses, our gates are always open from 6:30 am - 9 am daily (this is not changed when school is out). I also heard from the Realtor that when he came in before 9 am that the gate was open. I explained this and **** told me I was not truthful because his GPS said he was there. I told **** that I needed him back out there on Friday due to an expiring options period for our house sale and this being caused by their original inferior service. **** told me that it was our fault and no one would be out there until Monday at the earliest. I told him that this was not acceptable and he told me he had a call volume of 100 calls and didn't need my business. I told him I was planning on a formal complaint to *** and the BBB. He said he didn't care. I called *** and registered a complaint. I also asked for another contractor and that I would pay the $75 to get a different one. *** obliged and had another contractor out on Saturday (8/9) to take a look. This company also found the issue with the coil and no Freon.

Desired Settlement: We would like our $75 that was spent to cover the service fee through American Home Shield. Because of American A/C's inability to provide the initial, correct service and then follow it up with not being able to show up when they claimed they would caused me to have to pay another $75 to another company to come out and do their job. We would also like a written apology from ****, the manager, who verbally assaulted us over the phone. I have NEVER had such poor service in my entire 45-years of living in *** ******** The names I was called were just unbelievable from someone who is taking my money.

Business Response:

On 8/4 we went out to ***** ****** ******* to inspect one unit through American Home Shield. The dispute was for one unit. The customer must make American Home Shield aware that they want to units serviced so that we can get paid for both units. This customer’s dispatch was for one unit only. During our initial visit on 8/4 nothing was mentioned about a second unit. The only problem that was brought to our attention was the clogged drain. The issue was resolved and we completed the service call.

We then received a dispatch for the second unit on 8/7 and scheduled it for the next day on 8/8 between   8-9am with the home owner. The tech went out the next morning and could not get in through the gate. Our company does not save gate codes because of liability issues and in most cases the gate codes given to us are usually temporary codes that are given to contractors because of security purposes.

The technician attempted to contact the customer from the gate box but the number was disconnected. The technician and our office attempted several times to reach the home owner with no results or a call back. The Home owner called into the office more than an hour later upset because he had missed his appointment. We informed the customer that we would not be able to put him back on the schedule until the following day due to our high volume of calls (This is our peak season). The customer was aggravated and insisted that we return as soon as possible. We informed him that it would not be possible because we already had customers scheduled after his missed appointment.

 The customer then stated that because of his social status that we were supposed to push other customers aside and service his A/C unit first because he was more important. I informed him that all of our customers were equally important to us regardless of social status or wealth. I also mentioned that we would not push our customers aside to service his unit that day after missing his appointment but, we would have been more than happy to reschedule him for the next day at our earliest call between 8-9am. He then threatened to file a BBB complaint and write bad reviews on the internet if we did not do as he demanded. I informed him to do as he liked but, we were still unable to return to his home until the next day.

This customer missed his appointment and refused to take responsibility for not providing access to his house. He felt that he was entitled to extra privilege because of his “wealth and social status”.  He refused to take any kind of responsibility and try to blame us even though we drove to his community and made several attempts to contact him and get through the gate. We will never attempt to contact this customer to provide service due to his unnecessary remarks.

 

American Air Conditioning & Heating Co.

*** ******** ** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

An extremely tainted view of what happened. My "social status" and "wealth" have nothing to do with this conversation, but shows the inflammatory nature of this vendor. I have been unemployed since the company I worked for failed. I am hardly of any higher social class or wealth by any stretch of the imagination. These type of comments were made when I tried to reason with this incompetent and extremely rude gentlemen over the phone. Once again, he is right and the customer is just a rich jerk trying to cut in line. What really happened was that they failed to do their job the first time and didn't show up the second time. Always either American Home Shield's fault or the end customer's fault. This is truly sad to think that anyone can run a business like this. I am guessing this is **** responding as he is the one who calls himself a manager at this establishment. Extremely sad that anyone who bestow such a title on someone that obviously can't manage his mouth. Oh well and really didn't expect a response any different from this shoddy business. Would suggest the BBB investigate and the public stay very far away. I have already reported them to American Home Shield and as a ***** Realtor, they will listen. The great news is that **** may have to learn some customer service when his calls go down to a lower volume. We can only hope.  

Regards,

**** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed a new air conditioning unit at my home with a 5 year warranty. This was done about three years ago. The unit has not worked properly since installation! They tried to fix it a few times and charged me for repairs. It still does not work and now they will not even reply to my phone calls. I have two young children in this home and need it fixed asap! The phone number on your site is not active The owners name is **** ****** ************

Desired Settlement: I would like the unit repaired and a refund of the charges I have paid to them since installation.

Business Response: The unit installed for Mr. ****** has a 5 year manufacturers parts only waranty. We have made a repair to this unit and Mr. ****** was not charged for parts ( because they were covered under warranty) only for labor wich is not covered by manufacturers warranty. He did make us aware of the unit not working properly and we did send a tech out to look at his unit and determined that it was low on freon. We did a leak test and could not find any leaks in the equipment. We made Mr ****** aware of his options and he decided to go with a different company. Thats the last we heard from him for about a month. Then he called stating that the unit never worked since it was installed which was 3 years prior. Hard to beleive that someone pays for a unit and waits 3 years to complain that it never worked. Furthermore he started making threats of legal action at that point we stoped dealing with him and refered to our attorneys. Mr ****** is a customer that does not want to pay for any repaires and feels that he is entitled to free service.Once the threats started we were done dealing with him. We attempted to work with him on several occasions, we sent out techs at no cost to him to check his unit out in our attempts to keep him happy. We offered him several options for repair but he did not want to pay for any of the repaires. He instructed us that he would hire another company to do the repairs. we will not deal with Mr ****** anymore because of his threats and unprofesional behavior.  

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: Here again he does not offer a solution.  I had another company come and check for the freon leak.  They said it is on the outside unit!  I don't expect a replacement but I do expect the leak to be repaired at no cost to me.  The unit hasn't worked properly since installed.  It even had to have a new compressor put I to it about a year ago.  The other company said the outside unit should have been replaced. I am a single father with three kids who are complaining about the hot humid house.  I can't continue poring money into a unit that should have need fixed a long time ago.  And I have complained off and over the three years.  This company refused to return my calls time after time!  Just fix it!  That's all I want at this point!  I want working air conditioning!

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service