BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alexander Services AC & Heat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alexander Services AC & Heat include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alexander Services AC & Heat
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 04, 2008 Business started: 10/23/1998 in TX Business started locally: 10/23/1998 Business incorporated: 05/01/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leo Alexander Kerr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo Alexander Kerr, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash
Visa, Master Card, Discover, Amex
Financing available W.O.C
Refund and Exchange Policy
We are committed to your 100% satisfaction
Alternate Business Names
LKERRTEX, Inc.
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 99 Kenrock Rdg

    San Antonio, TX 78254 (210) 344-8363

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alexander Services A/C & Heat repairman claimed A/C products and services were needed—and therefore I paid the initial charge of $1,871. I discovered misdiagnosis/deception in this charge while researching the need for a second round of “needed” repairs of $4,600. When I questioned the need for the additional repairs, *** **** examined our A/C and restated the diagnosis of his repairman. I then investigated the validity of the second round of “needed” repairs using another A/C repair service, who diagnosed that no repair was needed because there was no Freon leak. Our A/C continued to function flawlessly without repair the remainder of the summer. This proper functioning occurred despite the insistence by Alexander Services A/C & Heat that the A/C needed a second $4,600 repair immediately to avoid Freon leakage of about one pound (valued at $141) per week. The owner stated the A/C was “leaking in multiple locations” – as documented in his online response to my complaint. The inaccuracy (or deception) in the second round of repairs calls into question the validity of the initial charges. My contention is that the defendant’s claim of $1,004 in Freon being added was bogus because the A/C never leaked, that the alleged “leaks” were a fabrication to gain additional charges. The following chart outlines charges from Alexander Services AC & Heat. Charge Valid – Paid Invalid – Paid Invalid – did not pay Contractor Relay replacement $280.38 Was the only valid problem with the A/C Freon $1,004.60 Said added 10 pounds, only charging for 8 pounds - Coils were not leaking—whole story is not credible Fluorescent Dye 276.48 - At our house, *** **** used a Freon sensor – said it was a “better way” to detect for possible leaks – so this costly dye was not needed. Stop Leak 200.00 - Since there was no leak, this product was not needed Service Agreement 110.00 - At a minimum, the Defendant misdiagnosed the need for the second round of repairs. Future service is not a possibility. Makes this Service Agreement worthless. Replace Coils $4,600 - Second opinion said “not true” - Validated with months of flawless A/C performance

Desired Settlement: The only valid charge was the $280.38. Note, I did not pay the $4,600 - got a second opinion that said that repair was not needed - that opinion was validated by flawless air conditioner performance the remainder of June, July, August, and now into September. But the fact that Alexander Heat and A/C recommended the repair and submitted estimate is proof they run up charges without justification. The nature of complaint - unauthorized repair - chosen because I never authorized billing me for repairs that were not needed - or did not take place.

Business Response: I am sorry this complaint is invalid in our view. We have already made a decision regarding this matter. Id like to  resond to [member name removed]. Everything we do as far as work and pricing is all put before the customer prior to any work being performed. We do have discounted pricing for our service agreement customers which we offer to everyone. There is no scam. Folks in San Antonio, remember it was thursday june 6, 2013 the san antonio ***** kicked off the first game of the NBA Finals against the miami heat. This night we were called out to the [member name removed] home. They were having guest over to watch the game. Please can you come out to my home it s 7pm and our AC is not working. So the technician performed an inspection, and made an analysis, and gave his recommendations . The biggest problem was his system was low on refrigerant , very low. We recommended to have a dye leak search performed . so we needed to fill the system with refrigerant and add a packet of dye into the system so we could come back at a later time and find the leak. As well as get the home cooling in the mean time. Which is what they wanted.

So [member name removed]agrees to go ahead with the logical next step. Have us go ahead and add refrigerant and dye for the leak search as well as replacing part on the out side unit. (Bye the way there is no side affects or harmful impact on an air conditioner by useing dye or additives.) So we are schedualed to come back out on the following wednsday to find were the leak is. So we find out it is the Evaporator coil. Its leaking in multiple places and the solution we recommend is to replace the evaporator coil. If they dont want to keep refilling it up with R-22. The technician wanted to find out if the coil still had a manufactures warranty so he called the local supply dealer and they let us know it was not. The technician informed [member name removed] what he had done and according to the technician that he had no business checking on the warranty statis of the unit. [member name removed] is upset at this time or appears that way according to the technicain. I dont blame people for being upset when they have expensive cost to deal with that they werent expecting.

Then we are informed that the Company who installed there systems 6 years ago, sold the [member name removed] a ten year parts and labor warranty through the manufacture. [member name removed]r told me she forgot that she had purchased the 10 year warranty until days later she was looking through her paper work. By the way we did our home work and found out that the company who sold them the warranty did not submitt the paper work that they are required to.

This is when they start complaining and wanting their money back. [member name removed] let me know he was a Colonel in the military so to let me know he wasnt going to budge an inch and that he was gong to dictate to me what was going to happen. That we fooled him . Nonsense . I tried to be reasonable with him and show some consideration.

I just want you all to know I personally went out to the [member name removed] home. I spoke with them and i also went up into the attic taking [member name removed] with me to perform my own leak search . I opened up the Evap Coil right in front of his eyes . There was dye in multiple places in the coil . i then used an electronic leak detector to see if it would detect freon leaking out . Yes the light went off there is no doubt it was leaking and i showed the customer again. again and again it repeated the process. If the leak is now sealed it is because the leak stop repair kit that we applied worked. Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Your answer is not factually accurate. Clearly there are differences in our narratives where it is your word against my word – except that I possess documentation that shows your version of events is incomplete, and therefore not true.  

For example, during his second service call **** wrote up paperwork to replace our coils. If the Stop Leak fixed the problem (which is the conclusion you reached at the very end of your narrative) - then why did **** tell us that we definitely needed a second, even larger repair during his follow-up visit? Had **** not told us that more costly repairs were needed, we never would have gotten a second opinion.

Had **** said during our follow-up visit that everything was OK – we would have settled this matter at that point. It was his desire to charge us another, more costly repair that caused us to investigate whether the second repair was necessary. While investigating, we discovered that with the exception of the Contractor Relay replacement during the initial repair – that any other portion of the bill could not be logically explained.

Your inability to logically explain work **** claimed to have performed set the tone of your response. I gave you the example of **** giving us paperwork stating that our coils needed replacement. Your response ignores this point because the paperwork **** gave us reveals the truth. **** said we needed a costly repair – when in fact we did not. How can you not answer this point and still consider your response to be acceptable?

Rather that address facts, you resorted to a personal attack on me. Your response uses words like “upset” (twice). You condescendingly reference my military rank – what
does that have to do with explaining the validity of your charges? You go in-depth describing a warranty – which also does nothing to justify your charges. Somehow you even found the San Antonio ***** to be pertinent. You wrote an answer that was longer than necessary to bring in irrelevant issues and give the appearance of a detailed answer. But you did not address specifics in my complaint because (concerning the facts alone) there is compelling evidence that I am telling the truth.

We are at the same point where **** was last June. Had he said “no further repairs are needed” there would have been finality. If you now say – “I don’t agree with you, but understand how you might draw the conclusion that you were not treated fairly” – and refund everything except the Contractor Relay replacement charge – you can still close this disagreement at this point. 

Regards,

**** ***********

Business Response: I reject  this complaint. This complaint is false.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The owner DOES NOT DENY that **** wrote up a second repair to replace the A/C coils - when the coils did not need to be replaced. Therefore the owner DOES NOT DENY that **** bills customers in an inappropriate manner. 

Customers should not be given an estimate for repairs in the thousands of dollars - when a repair is not needed. 

This fact alone should obtain a BBB decision in my favor. 

Regards,
**** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alexander Services came out to unclog my condensate line. They failed to correct the issue the first time, so they came back again a few days later. On both occasions, I explicitly stated that I wanted them to make sure the fittings were sealed properly. Weeks later, my ceiling starts leaking. My drywall in my bedroom and bathroom is soaked and damaged. I call a plumber to check it out. Apparently, the leak came from the condensate line-- it was not sealed properly. I call Alexander Services and tell them what happened. They tell me they'll have to check for themselves. ***, the owner, comes out and basically says it's not their fault. The joint is leaking, the pipe was sealed with their tape and yet he claims they never touched it. Why tape the pipe up if you didn't touch it? In a nutshell, they are not standing by their work. They couldn't get it right the first time and it looks like they couldn't do it the second time either. I gave them the opportunity to make things right but I guess doing the right thing is not important to them.

Business Response: Im sorry this happend to Mr *******. That he has water damage to his ceiling. Its unfortunate that he thinks blaming us for his faulty drain line is a good idea.  on June 6 2013 we were called out to his house to unclogg his air conditioner drain line , which we did , another unfortunate thing for Mr. ******* is that the original drain design , that goes into the lavatory sink , is a problematic drain design that causes it to clogg up much to often. The problem that he is now having 7 weeks later is an entirely differrent problem. And has nothing to do with the problem we were there to deal with in june.  I tried to show and explain that the glued joints further along his drain line are the original drain installation done at the time of the home being built.  When i told him the truth he was so enraged, that was his re action he was in no way going to consider a resonable explaination. He just keeps talking about the duct tape. Mr *******  every one uses that kind of duct tape in the AC business it is a code requirement to use that tape. And it doesnt matter who' s tape it  is  those pvc joints that are leaking have never been altered since they were installed 15 or so years ago. Mr *******s anger and frustration  make him difficult  to reason with and impossible to help.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Alexander Services drilled a hole into the PVC, then insulated and taped up the hole. Even if ***** claim that they never touched that leaky section, then they are still negligent as they knowingly taped up the PVC when there was a big hole present. *** himself acknowledged that it was their tape over the insulation.

I didn't really expect anything out of this. It's already quite clear that this company is pretty shady.



Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.